Customer Reviews


55 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fine First Course
This is the first major biography of the 111th Supreme Court justice, but it is determined by the laws of biographical writing not to be the last: the years 2009 and 2010 have seen biographies of newly-retired justice John Paul Stevens, William Brennan (who retired in 1990), Louis Brandeis (who retired in 1939), current justice Antonin Scalia, as well as at least three...
Published on January 9, 2011 by G.X. Larson

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Sonia Sotomayor: The True American Dream
Well, it was like a paper a student had written for a college class. It went on for too long. I got information i did not know about .Sonia but it culd have been done in 3 chapters. i'd like to read Sonia's words next,
Published 22 months ago by anne felber


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fine First Course, January 9, 2011
By 
G.X. Larson (Southeastern Michigan) - See all my reviews
This is the first major biography of the 111th Supreme Court justice, but it is determined by the laws of biographical writing not to be the last: the years 2009 and 2010 have seen biographies of newly-retired justice John Paul Stevens, William Brennan (who retired in 1990), Louis Brandeis (who retired in 1939), current justice Antonin Scalia, as well as at least three new books on the Supreme Court during the FDR years (respectively authored by Solomon, Shesel, and Feldman). That is, this is determined to be the first of at least several books on history's first Hispanic Supreme Court justice.

Since this book was penned roughly one year after Sotomayor chosen to fill David Souter's seat on the bench, we get very little information on Sotomayor's Supreme Court jurisprudence. This is, of course, understandable, as this book is almost entirely concerned with Sotomayor's life before 2009. We learn that her parents came from very humble Puerto Rican origins, and we learn that Sonia herself came from very humble "Nuyorican" (Puerto Rican + New York City) origins. Neither Felix nor Sotomayor herself shy away from the fact that Sotomayor was admitted to Princeton as an undergraduate with the help of affirmative action. Indeed, we learn that Sonia initially struggled vis-à-vis other affluent students at Princeton; but she stayed tough and put herself through the ringer and graduated summa cum laude (with no help from affirmative action, we must add).

After Yale Law Sonia landed a prestigious position in New York City's DA office, where she spent several years as a hard-working prosecutor. She then moved into private practice where she helped clients go after NYC's counterfeiters. After a few years of interesting work in that field she was appointed as a federal judge for New York's southern district, where she presided over the famous MLB player's strike case. In 1998 she was appointed by President Clinton to the Second Circuit Court of Appeals, and in 2009 she was appointed by President Obama to the nation's highest court. The rest will be history.

Overall, this is a very warm and interesting first biography on Justice Sotomayor. Many details of her life are portrayed in great detail, such as what types of papers she wrote as a Princeton undergrad, several of her cases as a prosecutor, her interesting adventures against NYC counterfeiters, and her decisions in the MLB case. Her "wise Latina" remark is necessarily nuanced in this biography as well. Overall, this book is (and will continue to be) a necessary read for those looking for a portrait of the Sotomayor's life before her career on the Supreme Court.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Contemporary Heroine, July 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Sotomayor offers us, particularly women and especially young women, a model, a heroine of our time. Sonia Sotomayor could have become someone so much less worthy or our admiration, so much less well-educated, less passionate and less compassionate. Instead, because of the bonds of a close and loving family, with the help of a society anxious to reward hard work and high intellect and because also of the attention of exceptional teachers, Sotomayor rose to unprescedented heights for a woman of her economic background and ethnicity. Sotomayor's memoir is touching in its truthfulness; because she wrote without ghostwriter and wrote about not just the good that happened to her and her family, but the unfortunate circumstances which she overcame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Why do we still have prejudice in this country?, June 15, 2013
I enjoyed hearing so much about the character of the judge. I knew she was intelligent and strong, but not just how much she did for her community and how good a judge she will make. am reading the book for a book club.

Francesca Gamondi
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LOVED THIS BOOK!!!, August 4, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I HIGHLY RECOMMEND this book. It is well written, encouraging and very self-affirming. Her story is truly an American story. I look forward to her next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PHENOMENAL - Go Sonia the world is yours..., November 2, 2013
Phenomenal book kept you engaged from cover to end. Exceptional book. I am a loyal fan and have read all her books. She is a role model for ALL. Not just minority women, but men also, who have t overcome all obstacles to achieve their goals/dreams.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Good Biography, September 6, 2010
By 
stingray (Covina, Ca. United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I loved the book. I read it because is about the first Hispanic to become a supreme court judge . Being Hispanic, I was interested in her life. The book covers the remarkable life of growing up in New York, going to Ivy League and becoming famous and a supreme court judge.
i recommend this book. I learned a lot about the courts and the supreme court.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, August 4, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The book held my interest, Ms Sotomayor is definitely an example to follow. I have given my book to a female friend going thru a personal trial this book should be an inspiration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Sonia Sotomayor: The True American Dream, February 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Well, it was like a paper a student had written for a college class. It went on for too long. I got information i did not know about .Sonia but it culd have been done in 3 chapters. i'd like to read Sonia's words next,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Important insight to a liberal mind, May 27, 2014
By 
Dr. Donald W. Haynes (Asheboro, NC United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Book was received promptly and is new. Content is important because as a political conservative I am miles from Ms. Sotomayor but this gets me "into" her mind and judicial outlook. As an American, I need to understand those who see the Republic very differently.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 15, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
She is one special lady from childhood to now. I wish I could meet her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Sonia Sotomayor: The True American Dream
Sonia Sotomayor: The True American Dream by Antonia Felix (Paperback - September 6, 2011)
Used & New from: $21.54
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.