Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Sonic All Star Racing - Nintendo DS
Safety Month BOTMKT Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Adele The best from Bose just got wireless Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks STEM Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Best Camping & Hiking Gear in Outdoors STEM

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars45
Platform: Nintendo DS|Change
Price:$19.10+ $3.98 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on February 26, 2010
Sonic Sega All Stars racing is definitely an updated version of Mario Kart. Graphics are great, it has the same concept as Mario Kart; trying to hit bonuses to help you get into the lead. I think children will love the Sonic characters involved, and the fun tracks. Much faster than Mario Kart, which takes some practice and getting used to. I give it 5 stars, as it's a game that can be enjoyed by all.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 29, 2010
My nine-year-old son loves this game. It is more fun than MarioKart. He enjoys the racing action and the characters. Once he starts playing, it's difficult to get him to stop. It's worth the money. You can't go wrong.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 17, 2011
Very few games lately can be played by both my 3 and 5 year old, my 5 year old has hit the age of games and my 3 year old wants to be like his brother but just doesn't get the concept or can read to do them himself. I like this game because BOTH my kids can enjoy the game and it has fun options that they both like. Typical racing game with fun characters you can unlock from sonic.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 28, 2010
We bought this yesterday for my 7 year old and he is helping me with this review. Since getting it, he has played it for MANY hours and really loves it. He loves Mario Kart too, but is enjoying the change of characters and the fact that the races are faster than Mario Kart. He really loves earning money to buy additional players, racing tracks and music. It's great to see him enjoy it so much!
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 12, 2013
Game was ordered as used but did come in a case so that made it excellent! Game didn't work at first but maybe that was because our system was freezing earlier. My husband and I are using the 3DS systems to play regular DS games because the control stick is better and we only have 1 DS. Very happy this product did work. The multiplayer is alright, but with only one game cartridge you can only do download play with 1 other person, which didn't bother me because my husband and I were the only ones to play the game anyway. Game graphics are awesome and the characters and levels are impressive. Just wish download play wouldn't make you only do one level, then turn off the system of whoever was doing the second player without the cartridge. If only the download play wouldn't shut off after 1 race, the game would be rated a 5. The waiting time for that 1 race with 2 players is about 60 secs, which is good and bad. Good for the reason you can do other things at the time but bad if you really are impatient. Overall, my husband and I find this game pretty fun.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 23, 2013
First of all if you have young kids you have to buy this. They will really enjoy it. Being a big kid I still find this game very amusing. There is plenty to do to keep you busy and the game play is very fun. You can acquire miles to purchase on new items and there is an extensive amount of replay ability.

If you are a huge Sega fan like me you'll love the inclusion of great Sega characters from all generations including one long forgotten, Alex Kidd!

There’s probably no greater feeling in gaming than that of a welcome surprise. Sonic & SEGA All-Stars Racing works hard to surprise, enthrall and thrill players, with a polished title that pays homage to its nostalgia with well-executed game-play, rather than relying upon it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 9, 2010
You might read the title of this review and think, "What?!? How can this game be better than Mario Kart". There are some people who, even after playing this game, decide that Mario Kart is superior. I, however, hold a different opinion. Basically, Sega waited for Mario Kart to come out. Then, they made a game that was extremely similar, only they added stuff that would make it more interesting and removed stuff that was unnecessary or weakened the game.

Gameplay:
The controls are almost exactly the same as Mario Kart DS, except for the tricks you can do while in the air. However, you can get an All-Star move occasionally if you are in a really bad position. The All-Star move itself is varies, but each one is pretty much an invincible form that has super speed, smashes enemies, and sometimes attacks. Sega did a better job making each character unique than Nintendo did. The one mistake Sega made was making Opa-Opa to good. If the CPU is using Opa-Opa, you should probably quit and hope that Opa-Opa won't be an opponent when you try again. Oh yeah, Sonic and Sega also emphasizes drifting a lot.

Grand Prix:
The Grand Prix is pretty neat. They removed Mirror Mode, which is a good idea since, if your friend chooses regular in a multi-player race and you have been playing lots of Mirror, you will have trouble re-learning the courses, giving your friend an advantage. They shouldn't have removed the ratings, though, because they give the player something extra to work for. Plus, you will be rewarded the same whether you beat all of the Grand Prix on Hard or on Easy. The Grand Prix is not really the highlight of the game.

Multi-player:
I haven't tried the Wi-Fi yet since the random opponent you're racing could make their account name anything they want. I like the fact that you can do Wi-Fi with people you've registered as "friends"; I hope to try that feature soon. The download play is OK. The Multi-card play gives you courses to choose from that both players have unlocked. Unfortunately, after each race, you are moved back to where you choose characters, rather than selecting something where you can simply do race after race after race without stopping t re-select your characters.

Missions:
This is what I consider the highlight of Sonic and Sega All-Stars Racing. The missions are of greater variety than Mario Kart, although they removed the "mega-boss battles". The layout of how you unlock new missions is complicated (you need a certain number of stars obtained on previous mission(s) to unlock the next mission), but is better than simply having different sets of missions. The missions are also more challenging. The only annoying thing is that they made the final mission way too easy.

Overall, Sonic and Sega does have some bad points. Then again, Mario Kart has comparatively more bad points. In my opinion, the good outweighs the bad in Sonic and Sega. Sorry Mario...
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
It's kinda interesting how there are Sonic games that tend to be exclusive to handheld gaming systems while spin-off games featuring Sonic tend to mirror the versions released on consoles. Sonic & Sega All-Stars Racing continues this trend, as it shares (mostly?) the same content with that of the versions on Wii, Xbox 360, Playstation 3, and PC, except made to fit onto the smaller screen of course. It's actually a very impressive conversion! As for the game itself, Sonic & Sega All-Stars Racing may feature Sonic and co. but it really seems like Sonic only gets top billing in the title just to garner sales; the focus is more on Sega franchises in general. Yeah! Sega actually has more than one video game series! Who knew?

Bit of sarcasm aside, this game is basically what you would get if you combined Mario Kart with the concept of Super Smash Bros, except with Sega instead of Nintendo. You get characters and tracks based on series like Sonic, Super Monkey Ball, Jet Set Radio, Samba de Amigo, Alex Kidd, and the list goes on. You race in the Grand Prix, take on the many tracks individually, or partake in various different kinds of Challenges the courses have to offer. The works, really, and I'm not just saying that because that's what I expect out of the usual kart race; I literally mean it works fine as is.

If you've played Mario Kart before, you know exactly how this will work. Drive around an elaborate and colorful track (based on a game in this case), use items collected from item capsules scattered around the track to provide benefits and hinder opponents' progress. Dash panels are also around for extra boosts, but there will also be obstacles on the track that can act as items against you. Drifting is also useful for speed and sharp turns, and ramps allow you to perform mid-air stunts for more boosts, almost like in Mario Kart Wii.

With the gameplay sum-up said, this game does a great job at emulating what works in Mario Kart! The tracks are memorable and truly elaborate; there is even quite some eye candy to be found along the track surroundings! The graphics are lush and vibrant (the game even mostly runs at a silky-smooth 60fps) and the music is full of remixes from the games that the tracks represent. It almost makes me wish there was a 3D Sonic game on the DS, or a Samba game that could somehow work on the DS. A new Alex Kidd probably wouldn't hurt, either.

But yeah, this game is a lot of fun............ON EASY MODE. There's a good reason why I don't FULLY recommend this game; honestly, if you tried playing this game on the Medium or Hard settings, you'll find yourself with AI that is unthinkably unfair. Every time I tried playing the game on these difficulties, I usually end up having an item hit me around every five seconds, and since you lose all momentum when struck, the problem becomes that much more glaring. If you can manage to do well on Medium or Hard, then more power to you! It doesn't change the fact that I'll take Mario Kart's 150cc or Mirror cc over this! It's also kind of a bummer that Nintendo Wi-Fi Connection is extinct, so to play this game online, I highly suggest going to the iOS/Android or PC ports, unless if you LOVE giving Microsoft and/or Sony precious money for something as little as online multiplayer.

However, the issues at least don't punish you by restricting the features you could potentially access; you purchase unlockable content with the in-game "Sega Miles" currency, which can be earned by playing races regardless of difficulty. So that said, Sonic & Sega All-Stars Racing is a worthy addition to your DS library if you can accept another kart-racer on the DS that's not called Mario Kart.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 19, 2010
In 2005 Mario Kart DS was born.
People were amazed by the graphics and gameplay. Hands down Mario Kart is a great game but it needed some improvement.
Sonic and Sega All Stars Racing just kicks Mario Kart in the face.

Graphics: The graphics are absolutely jaw dropping and the colors just really pop off the screen. I didnt expect too much especially coming from a Wii user. In my opinion they are better than Mario Kart.

Gameplay: The game runs very smoothly and there are no frame rate issues. The graphics arent pixelated like a lot of other DS games too.

Controls: A is Gas. B is brake. L is the item button, and R is for drifting. The controls work very well and are very similar to other racing games.

Tracks and Characters: Of course a cart racing game wouldn't be good without good tracks right? Tracks like "Whale Lagoon" and "Ocean Ruin" looks amazing on the DS. Although I do find some of the tracks to be short the majority of them are well constructed.There are 24 tracks

The game also has a "Missions" mode that lets you go on tracks with a certain objective. One can be to go through all of the rings in the selected time, collect all the rings, drift at high speeds, or just beat the race.There is also a single player mode which all you do is pick your character,track then your ready to race. Last but not least is the Grand Prix mode in which you enter a cup to win.

Overall i definately reccomend this game to anybody. It is truly a great game that will keep you playing for hours.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 1, 2013
We were both pleasantly surprise on the quick delivery. My son was so excited that it came so quickly, not to mention me as well. You know how the little ones can drive you nuts. "Did my game come yet?" Thanks!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 2 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.