Customer Reviews


168 Reviews
5 star:
 (91)
4 star:
 (50)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


82 of 93 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The hedgehog is seeing stars in a true-blue adventure
Don't listen to people who tell you that this game is gimmicky and unfortunate, like most other Sonic games. This is a hedgehog of a different color.
Taking the best elements of Sonic Unleashed and of recent outings like Sonic 4, this game is all about speed, with Sonic taking advantage of the power of the alien wisps to traverse beautiful alien landscapes in a...
Published on November 16, 2010 by That-One-Guy

versus
16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "Colors" is Golden... Almost
It's hard to believe that I was a wee young lad of eleven years when "Sonic Adventure" was released for the Dreamcast to all the hype and excitement Sega could muster. At that age, I really did not care to slow down and notice the bugs, glitches, and terrible design choices that riddled the game - I was too busy running fast and standing in awe of what might have been the...
Published on January 25, 2011 by Clifton Gardner


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

82 of 93 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The hedgehog is seeing stars in a true-blue adventure, November 16, 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Sonic Colors - Nintendo Wii (Video Game)
Don't listen to people who tell you that this game is gimmicky and unfortunate, like most other Sonic games. This is a hedgehog of a different color.
Taking the best elements of Sonic Unleashed and of recent outings like Sonic 4, this game is all about speed, with Sonic taking advantage of the power of the alien wisps to traverse beautiful alien landscapes in a frantic platforming adventure.
The alien powers come in different colors, each one granting Sonic a useful ability. Most of them, with a few exceptions, are fun and keep the game fast and furious, as it should be.
The farther into the game you get, the more of these alien powers you earn. These can be used in previous levels, creating a fantastic replay value, allowing you to traverse levels in a number of different ways.
Sonic doesn't dissapoint this time, this game is pure fun. Aside from a startling number of cheap deaths and strange physics, this game is a solid effort by Sonic Team. Despite it's kiddy premise and storyline, there is much more to this game than meets the eye, and a more difficult, hardcore game can be found beneath the surface. Beautiful graphics and clever gameplay keep this game a step ahead of the previous Sonic disasters.
Sonic Colors is a fantastic game and is extremley inventive and colorul. I commend Sonic Team's efforts, this Sonic isn't as slow as the others, and I give it only my full reccomendation!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sonic is back!!!!, November 23, 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Sonic Colors - Nintendo Wii (Video Game)
(Wait, was he ever gone?)

Sonic Colors has superb controls awesome levels excellent music ('cept Asteroid Coaster) stunning graphics (for Wii) but the story is silly and the voices are off but there is SUPER SONIC in the MAIN LEVELS!!!!

All right, I'll now decipher the above sentence. First of all, this game proves that Sonic the Hedgehog games still can appeal to a wide audience of gamers. I mean, the professional critics are running out of stuff to pick at! Myself, I am an enormous fan of Sonic, and have played nearly every game he has ever starred in, own and have read nearly all his hundreds of comic books, and watched almost every TV show of his. Obsessive? Maybe, but come on, he's "Way past cool"! (Comics fans will know where that came from) Now, I'm in a strange position, however, because faced with the game that so nearly reaches perfection, if find myself unable to give it five stars, even though it has far fewer flaws than Sonic Unleashed(which I rate a five). But let's get on to the game itself, and compare its many aspects.

+ Controls? Spot-on accurate. Sonic moves when you move the joystick, he jumps when you press A. There's no twitchiness, no lag, no headaches. The camera is fixed, but it's fixed in the proper location for each shot. This game also has a complement of several power-ups. They come in the form of aliens endowed with "Color Powers". One transforms Sonic into a drill, another into a laser, and so on. They make the game have immense replayability, as many areas are unreachable until certain power-ups are unlocked later on in the game.

+ Level design? Beautiful, fast, challenging, and yet intuitive. Did you want a 3D Sonic with levels in the style of the Genesis Classics? Here it is. Over the years Sonic Adventure always seemed to me to be the most like the originals in level design, but Sonic Colors ----if it was transformed into 2D and given 16-bit rendering---- would not seem out of place in the slightest. They are expansive, there are multiple pathways throughout them, and their artistic flair, coloring, and details are incredible. And finally, SEGA has given us a game where Sonic can adventure under water! Sonic Adventure is the only other 3D Sonic game where this is possible ----and that came out in 1999! I think a lot of fans have waited a long time for this (I know I have!), and Sonic Team delivered. Plus, if one presses the jump button repeatedly while underwater, Sonic can actually swim upwards! Yes, for those who care, this kind of messes with the whole "Sonic can't swim" backstory, but it makes the game a whole lot funner. Aquarium Park represents the pinnacle of this game's achievement, in my opinion. The soft twilight lighting, the elaborate detail of the Asian pagodas and buildings, the blue-domed sky, the majestic yet haunting beauty of the lumionous sea creatures in the dark water ----oh, it's magnificient. One of the best zones in all of Sonic history, and probably platform gaming! One must also not fail to mention the inclusion of the classic "badniks" from older entries into the series. To see robots like "Crabmeat" and "Buzzbomber" in a modern 3D Sonic game lends such a classic authenticity to the title, reminding me of the Genesis originals and the excellent TV show Sonic The Hedgehog - The Complete Series ("SatAm"). In addition to all of this single-player extravagance, there is an excellent two-player area as well. Sonic Adventure 2 Battle (2001) was probably the last main game in the series to have a multiplayer aspect that was worth playing. Sonic Colors has a whole zone called "Sonic Simulator" where two players can race each other to the finish with multicolored "Sonic Robots" or their Mii avatars. The levels are simple, with players pretty much traversing paths through worlds of few colors and backgrounds composed of floating shapes, but this allows the graphics to remain top-notch without succumbing to framerate slowdown. The music is remixed versions of the main levels, rendered in "retro" video game fashion. Players can help or hinder each other, and the competion encountered while playing can be hilarious. The Boss Battles are some of the best in the series, mixing speed and agility in a gripping balance. Some of the early ones are pretty easy, but by the end of the game you will definitely find yourself challenged.

+ Music? Memorable, pleasant, well-orchestrated, and vibrantly detailed. Aquarium Park (there's that place again!) holds top honors; Terminal Velocity guards the bottom of the barrel position.
Tropical Resort has a sort of surfer theme to it. It is fast paced and fun, with a steady beat and a great array of guitars that are not screaching out heavy metal riffs.
Starlight carnival goes a more techno route, and yet is very upbeat and happy ----exactly what one would like in a carnival.
Planet Wisp has a beautiful theme based around a piano. Its soft and thoughtful, somewhat melancholy, yet pretty in its own right.
Sweet mountain is one of the weaker entries here, yet it is still entertaining, what with its mix of 1940s trumpets and early 1960s guitars. Its not entirely memorable, but it's not grating.
Aquarium Park. Heart-achingly stunning! Piano! Violins! Soft yet steady drums! Electronic synthesizers used to perfection! Just thinking about the music makes me want to cry with happiness. It has an Asian-styled theme that is mournful at times, optimistic at others, and always beautiful. These tracks alone would justify buying the soundtrack (which comes out in Japan late December. Check out amazon.co.jp if you are interested). One of my favorite bits of video-game music. Huh, it's one of the best pieces of music I've heard this year.
Asteroid Coaster jarringly shifts into rock, which in a game this artistic in approach felt quite jarring. It has a distinctive pattern running through it, but it just feels lacking compared to the other music here. Even as rock goes, it was not quite fantastic. About the only person who can pull off rock in a Sonic game is Jun Senoue (Sonic Adventure 1 and 2, Sonic Heroes, etc.). A lot of his Sonic music may be on the harsh side, but at least it is memorable and about as "epic" as rock can get. The music here was just kind of bland and irritating. But things can always get worse...
....and they do in Terminal Velocity. Take all of the complaints lodged above (note "bland") and apply that here to the bland whines of this level. Did I mention bland?

+Graphics? Probably the best on the Wii. At times you could mistake this for a PlayStation3 game. Of course on closer observation one could note their error, but "closer" bears key importance here. The imagery is really that good.

Here come the problems with the game.
-The story is really pretty light. Basically, the evil Dr. Eggman claims to have given up his evil ways, and to prove his good will he has constructed an enormous amusement park in outer space. Sonic figures it's just a scheme for power, and of course he's right. Sonic and his friend Tails the two-tailed fox go up to space to investigate. They find that Eggman is using his park as a means to capture a certain race of aliens called Wisps. He intends to use their power to fuel a mind-control ray down to Mobius, the world where Sonic lives. While this premise sounds reasonably threatening (and somewhat comic-book-like), it is executed as a comedy. Is there anything wrong with that? Not really. But it just seems to miss a bit of heart. When I think of Sonic the Hedgehog stories ----whether it be in video game, comic book, or cartoon form---- I think of comedy, but the overarching memory is that of a story that really was gripping in an emotional sense. Sonic Advenure 1 and 2 are prime examples of this. Their storys could be transferred directly to the big screen and few would scoff. Sonic and the Black Knightwas imaginative and sad, but had a powerful message. The story in Sonic Colors is about as "epic" as its name (translation: it's not!) Yes, this is a game. Yes, it's a platforming game. Yes, stories are not really integral to this kind of game. But a great story doesn't hurt. This story wasn't bad, but it was just filled with jokes. Non-offensive, thankfully, but just puns and slapstick and childish humor. In many ways it resembled a story one would find in a Ratchet & Clank Future: Tools of Destructiongame(except that, as mentioned earlier, the jokes in Sonic Colors are not offensive). The voice actors for all but Dr. Eggman have been changed. For those new to the series this has little impact. Some familiar with the series will find this welcome. Yet I do not believe I am alone in missing the old voice of Sonic and his friends. This is really getting into minor impact territory, but it still has an impact.

-Semi-minor annoyance: In every other Sonic game, when the player collects one hundred rings, they are granted an extra life. I believe this is the only game in which this is not true, and its absence is sorely missed (especially on those challenging levels!). Here's hoping this is just a one-time event.

-The difficulty is often rather low. Not that that is a bad thing, as this game was designed primarily for younger children. Sometimes though, a little extra challenge would have been nice.

-The game is kind of short. The story mode can be beaten in a day. Even to go back and collect the bonuses does not take very long. I and my siblings have been playing this game since it came out on Nov. 16, and as of Nov. 23 we have finished about 75% of the games side missions.

All in all, this game is highly recommended, and is a brilliant revelation of the fact that SEGA has learned from its successes and failures with the franchise.
It's not the greatest Sonic, but its a high-ranking title in the series.

P.S. ----Did I mention that you can play Super Sonic in the main levels? That is AWESOME! When all of the 180 special rings have been collected, and all of the Sonic Simulator levels have been completed, Sonic can transform into his invulnerable, superfast "Super" form. You can go back and replay any of the main levels in this form (after collecting 50 rings in the level). This game is the first 3D Sonic game in which this is possible. It brings back so many memories of the Genesis classics! A brilliant move that was well worth the wait.

Ryan Robledo
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally!, November 16, 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Sonic Colors - Nintendo Wii (Video Game)
I've been a fan of Sonic since the first time I picked up Sonic the Hedgehog on my Sega Genesis. Unfortunately, he's tested my will for the last several years with some horrible 3D efforts.

Sonic Colors, surprisingly, gets everything right. As I played through the game, I couldn't help but anticipate something wrong to happen...it was just too good to be true. This time, they throw in some aspects new to the series, in the form of small aliens called Wisps that give you different powers. These are a fun addition to the series, and allows for much more creative level design without slowing down the Sonic speed that we play the games for.

The story is mostly standard, cutesy Sonic fare, with the welcomed addition of some honest, self-aware humor from Sonic Team. The graphics are some of the best on the Wii, in both character and level design. Like the name says, the colors and lighting are gorgeous on this game. Even the sound is good...the voice acting is actually pretty decent!

The biggest plus is the gameplay, which unsurprisingly, plays a bit like a faster Super Mario Bros game. The controls are tight, and the level design is nearly perfect. Sonic still moves fast, and this time it's actually fun to control. There's about 12 hours of gameplay through the story, and a lot of incentive to keep playing to find the challenging red rings in the levels. The game suddenly hits you with a big difficulty curve. I had quite a few moments of frustration that nearly killed the entire game for me. We're talking serious wanna-chuck-the-controller-into-expensive-television moments.

Pros: Great graphics, level design, and gameplay.
Cons: Steep difficulty curve, some menus look very thrown-together.

In conclusion, this is a great game I'd recommend to new gamers, and experienced veterans alike. It's the first Sonic game of the last three years I can honestly tell fans of the series to go pick up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "Colors" is Golden... Almost, January 25, 2011
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sonic Colors - Nintendo Wii (Video Game)
It's hard to believe that I was a wee young lad of eleven years when "Sonic Adventure" was released for the Dreamcast to all the hype and excitement Sega could muster. At that age, I really did not care to slow down and notice the bugs, glitches, and terrible design choices that riddled the game - I was too busy running fast and standing in awe of what might have been the most impressive graphics of the day. However, the game certainly has not aged well. Enter sequel after sequel of bad 3D hedgehog platformers that required the patience of Mother Theresa to play. Does "Colors" follow the trend, or set Sonic back on his speedy path?

The latter, to a certain extent. "Colors" is definitely a step in the right direction, and the game very much reminds me of those moments in the "Sonic Adventure" games when they fired on all cylinders and gave us healthy doses of speed. Thankfully, many of the issues that plagued the earlier games are fixed here.

Let's start with the story. Well, let's call it a premise, since there's very little plot development here (a good thing). Dr. Robotn - excuse me, Eggman - has built a giant multi-planet amusement park under the guise of being sorry for his past misdeeds. Sonic pays a visit and finds a bunch of aliens called "Wisps" being enslaved by Eggman for the purpose of powering a gigantic death ray. That's it. No deathly serious tales of anthropomorphic hedgehogs and humans sharing disturbing emotional attachments. No amnesiac biological experiments serving under demonic alien masters. No overweight felines searching for pet frogs. "Colors" is all lighthearted - and self-aware - Saturday morning cartoon fare, and while it's rather kiddie in its approach, the delivery is more than passable. Sonic is more of a lovable idiot than a gnarly 80s snowboarder with serious 'tude, Tails sounds like a boy for once, and Dr. Eggman is, well, Dr. Eggman. Animations are smooth, and cutscenes are (mostly) well-scripted.

The graphics on display here are great. Even at 4:3 and 480i, colors are vibrant, textures are smooth, and the environments look great. However, I have encountered one area in Sweet Mountain where, upon using the drill power, the frame-rate took a significant hit, to the tune of around 10-20 frames per second. Some occasional slow-down is acceptable, but in this case, it altered the playability of the game. Likewise, the sound effects are good. Everything sounds about how a Sonic game should be expected to sound. The music here has been dialed back from the pseudo-speed-metal of previous entries, favoring a fast-paced pop-rock soundtrack. Preference is key here, as the soundtrack is decidedly fitting, but I actually somewhat miss the "cheese" factor of the music from previous games.

Gameplay is primarily where the game stumbles. I have a high tolerance for gameplay issues (after all, I actually enjoyed the admittedly terrible "Shadow the Hedgehog"), but when the gameplay is so polished in much of "Colors," the rougher portions stick out like a sore thumb. Sonic controls very tightly, as long as he stays on the ground (or under it, for that matter). Rail-grinding, a staple of 3D Sonic games since "Adventure 2," is simplified to the point of becoming superfluous. The fully 3D parts of the game are handled well for the most part, but they often lose their momentum by virtually playing themselves (almost half of the impressive-looking Starlight Carnival, Act 1 plays completely free of player input). I recognize that much of the "Adventure" games had similar sections, but they are not as numerous and as long-lasting as those in "Colors." What little gameplay is here is actually excellent, and causes me to wonder why these sections of true 3D gameplay are so few and far between. Instead, "Colors" ends up being a side-scroller with 3D sections allowing the player a break from the action. Perhaps Sega was, for once, being a bit too conservative in their design choices here. Fortunately, transitions between the two perspectives are smooth. Jumping, on the other hand, is a different story. The control is passable, but it is far from tight. I found simple 2D platforming action to be a chore, and some environmental challenges such as the candy swings in "Sweet Mountain" were downright frustrating. The frustrations are few and far between, though, and Sonic's controls are improved tenfold from previous games. Thankfully, the camera shoots the action from appropriate angles and rarely, if ever, gets stuck or blocks something important from view.

Environment design is fantastic, but level design is a different story. It's not bad, it's just not great. The introduction of multiple pathways utilizing the different Wisp abilities is certainly welcome, but nothing here is particularly memorable. In the "Adventure" series, Sonic escaped a killer whale that demolished the very bridge he ran along, ran straight down the side of a building while dodging obstacles, snowboarded down a steep city street, and boarded a rocket launching towards space. While everything else in "Color's" is much more polished, it seems to lack any true "Wow" moments (at least, until halfway through the game, where I am now). Design is just a little boring and a little generic. Likewise, level length is woefully unbalanced, with one mission taking a full six or seven minutes to complete on an initial run-through, and the next taking fewer than forty-five seconds. Much to the game's benefit, however, there are numerous routes and secrets through levels, and the speed-and-ring-count ranks are back (from best to worst: S, A, B, C, D, E). There are also forty-four stages, each with 5 red rings to locate, so there is plenty of game here to keep the player busy. Some aspects of exploration simply feel a bit forced, and trimming the fat could provide opportunity for adding a more cinematic quality to the game.

Maybe I'm being a bit harsh on "Colors," but after so much disappointment, I have to compare "Colors" to the blue hedgehog's troubled past. The results are promising but not altogether convincing. This is no "Super Mario Galaxy 2," nor is it a "Shadow the Hedgehog." But as a gaming icon, Sonic's future looks much brighter with "Colors," and, when it comes down to it, the game rarely stops being fun. I fear that previous disappointment, as well as the game's silly story and cartoon-like presentation, will land Sonic's appeal squarely in a much younger demographic. However, Sega obviously realizes that older fans such as myself have had their patience tested and their nerves tried for a decade now. Perhaps the focus toward ten- and twelve-year-olds could salvage the beaten mascot's image for a new generation of gamers. Still, there is quite a bit of depth here worth the cash, even if blood, guts, and guns is your thing. Wholeheartedly recommended to families, and cautiously recommended to older gamers. Just don't let me convince you to purchase this platformer if you have not bought any of Nintendo's chubby, red-hatted plumber's Wii titles, especially "Super Mario Galaxy 2."

Ten-point scale: 7/10 - Good
Pros: Sense of speed, excellent graphics, decent sound and voice acting, simplicity of control, multiple paths and secrets encourage exploration, replay value, "Sonic The Hedgehog 2" style 2-player mode.
Cons: Somewhat boring level design, unbalanced level length, mid-air control is slippery, too little genuine 3D action, plays itself entirely too often.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Old School Sonic Back in Style., November 16, 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Sonic Colors - Nintendo Wii (Video Game)
I preordered this game seeing this as a golden chance for the hedgehog to finally have a good game. Here are my thoughts.

Once again like the last sonic game Unleashed for the Wii you have a choice between using 3 different control schemes. The Wii remote/ Nunchuk, Classic Controller, And Gamecube controller. So far i have only tried out the Wii and Nunchuk and i believe this game is the game alot of sonic fans have been waiting for. It adds all the elements that people loved about the day time stages in sonic unleashed and takes it now into space against Dr. Robotnik's badniks robots and a amusement park that has everything from shiny colors to even a foot planet that will make you hungry. I believe this game is a step in the right direction for not only old sonic fans but even new sonic fans. Including the final change of the voice actors. (They finally replace Tails's voice actor with a boy for once.) As well as having a beautiful box art with sonic and the aliens coming right at you.

Pros: Good controls for a Game that many people were thinking was gonna be another horrific sonic game.
Good story showing some new elements as well as the new alien power ups.
New voice actors replacing the horrible 4Kids voice actors that every sonic fan hated.
Sticking straight to the main characters and not adding a bunch of useless characters (amy cream cheese and Big the cat) Just having Sonic Tails Dr. Robotnik, And the bad guys.

Cons: Controls were a little bit hard to get used to. But very quickly after a few tries you will master them with ease.
Some pitfalls here and there can get a little annoying but with practice you can pass them after playing the game through a few times on each level.

Final Score: 8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sonic Colors, January 17, 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sonic Colors - Nintendo Wii (Video Game)
Good price, great game, my 6 years old LOVES it ! It is chalenging for him, but not violet, good for young kids. And the best part it was delivered in 2 business days !!, I ordered on 12/15/10 & on the 12/20/10 already received it, well before Christmas, I was happy with that!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good, very short, November 29, 2010
By 
K. Gray "you know, that guy" (Oneonta, NY United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sonic Colors - Nintendo Wii (Video Game)
This is the best 3-D Sonic game. Let's just start there. Sonic Team finally dropped the gimmicks, the useless characters, and the over-the-top storylines and brought Sonic back to his roots while still utilizing the current-gen look and feel. A lot of what works here seems to have been inspired by Mario Galaxy, but that doesn't really bother me since the original Sonic for the Genesis was also a reaction to Mario. In this game, Sonic Team managed to find a camera system that works very well (why'd it take so long?), the controls are fine most of the time, and this is some of the best music - minus the opening theme song - that Jun Senoue has composed. For the first time in ages I enjoyed playing a Sonic game. The use of Wisps is very well done. While there are some levels where you need to use them to complete the stage, in others the Wisps are optional, and it's great to be able to return to levels with new Wisp powers and find new areas. The added bonus of collecting red coins to open levels in the 'virtual' Sonic stages is a very nice touch (although it's best to play these levels by yourself, 2 player is kind of annoying).

I hope that SEGA has enough success with this game that we get a sequel, and in that sequel I hope that some niggling bugs can get worked out. First, this game is short. There is great opportunity for replayability by finding all the red coins, but your first runthrough should be no more than 7 or 8 hours. Secondly, there is quite a bit of inconsistency in quality between levels. Some are very long, have a great pace and lots of hidden areas, but then you'll hit two or three in a row that are ridiculously short, have little gimmicks in them that seemed designed to do nother more than kill you over and over, and are just not much fun. I don't want to spoil anything, but I'll just say that the final couple of levels and boss fights are remarkably irritating. It very much feels like Sonic Team either lost some of their inspiration towards the end, or just ran out of time.

But after such a long stretch of terrible Sonic games, it's hard for me to stay mad at Sonic Colors' less endearing quirks for too long. This is a huge step in the right direction, and I only hope that future versions of this series expand on what has been developed here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good! Great! Awesome! Outstanding! Amazing!, July 6, 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Sonic Colors - Nintendo Wii (Video Game)
Intro

The blue blur aka Sonic the hedgehog - Platform king of the early 1990's gaming world whose games took a turn for the worse in the mid-90's and continued on a downward spiral for the rest of the next decade. While once Sonic stood level with Mario representing the best of the genre, in recent years his games had become a bad joke. Who would have thought that after 13 years of failed attempts Sonic Team would finally get it right. That's exactly what Sonic Colours does and it's a joy to behold. But before I tell you why, let's have a quick review of the major games that followed the Megadrive era greats of Sonic, Sonic 2, Sonic CD, Sonic 3 & S&K-

Sonic R (1997) Saturn-
Misguided attempt at a racing game featuring horrible controls, clunky pixilated graphics & uninspired level design.

Sonic Adventure 1&2 (1998, 2001) DC-
Sonic's big comeback & his first true 3D platform game arrived in Sonic Adventure on SEGA's new Dreamcast console. For SA, Sonic's character design was updated with longer quills, a slimmer physique and green eyes. Today the SA games are fondly remembered and while some of the levels were genuinely well designed (Speed Highway- SA & City Escape- SA2) the games were cursed with a number of faults and as a result ultimately sucked. Primary among these faults were terrible controls (just try keeping Sonic in the middle of a track during banked turns), an even worse camera that often would not even allow the player see Sonic, plus an abundance of arduous Mech levels in the even worse SA2. The only people who recall these games fondly are those who originally played them as children.

Sonic Heroes (2004) Xbox, PS2, GC-
Sonic's first multi platform title after the end of SEGA as a console manufacturer in 2001. Here Sonic, Tails & Knuckles work as a unit tethered together as they run through levels with the player switching between one of the mammals (each of whom sports a special ability) to lead the group depending on what obstacle lies ahead. It Might have sounded cool on paper but in game the sense of freedom Sonic games of the past evoked was lost as you were constantly tied to two other characters. Worse than this many levels were re-hashes from previous games- Seaside Hill- Green Hill Zone (S1), Casino Park- Casino Night Zone (S2), Frog Forrest- Green Forrest (SA2) etc... An improvement over the Adventure games as the camera and controls were slightly better but ultimately another soulless experience bereft of any of the great gameplay, music or level design of the Megadrive games.

Sonic the Hedgehog (2006) 360, PS3-
By this point I had given up on Sonic and passed on picking this one up. Once the reviews came out, boy was I glad. Sonic's 15th anniversary game got universally panned by the gaming press and is today recognized as the worst entry of the series.

Sonic Unleashed (2008) 360, PS3-
Running on Sonic Team's `Hedgehog engine' not only did this game look beautiful, but Sonic's controls actually felt pretty good. Beefing up his move set to include `boost' & `quick step' made Sonic feel more rounded, but most importantly the left analogue stick now accurately controlled his directional movement at high speed. At long last it would seem they had nailed Modern Sonic's gameplay. Unfortunately the thrilling high speed Sonic levels only represented one third of the game, with the other two thirds taken up with the painful hack and slash levels of the `Werehog' (don't ask) and an abundance of soul destroying RPG-light hub worlds were the player must hunt down a series of medals in order to play the main acts. WTF?!

Review

That brings us to Sonic Colours. For this game Sonic Team listened to feedback and built a game tailored to the fans, the result? The best game since S&K in 1994 and a game that can stand side by side with the Megadrive series in terms of quality. While the enjoyable daytime levels of Sonic Unleashed were based on real world locations, this aspect meant such stages did not convey the same sense of surreal wonder that the classic games provided. For Sonic Colours the levels are rooted firmly in fantasy once more and all the better for it.

In `Sweet Mountain' Sonic races through a world of giant hamburgers, candy canes, lollipops & gingerbread men. This type of sweet themed world recalls Willy Wonka's factory and has been seen in games before, but never realised as well as this. `Planet Wisp' juxtaposes the serenity of white cliffs and green hills with ominous rust hued industrial structures stretching into the sky. Act 4 being a particular highlight - its great level design & vertical progression recalling the best levels of Super Mario Sunshine. Another standout world is `Aquarium Park' - an oriental themed water world with tunnel sections that evoke memories of Scud Race. Here Sonic can travel underwater Megadrive style as he gulps air bubbles to stay alive and fights off overgrown versions of classic badniks such as Chopper, or Crabmeat on land.

Sonic Colours is FUN!, controls well, features stunning worlds that capture ones imagination, no camera problems, beautiful graphics, awesome music throughout, expansive platforming areas, switches seamlessly from 3D to 2D sections, Sonic is the only playable character, no RPG levels, no annoying side missions, fun boss battles with a gradual learning curve, amazing final boss fight, a new set of power-ups which allow Sonic to change form and access different parts of the level, multiple routes, great replay value, awesomely designed menus and the voice acting / cut scenes are not even annoying! Instead they're almost charming.

The only way I could fault this game is to say that Sonic's jump feels a little floaty, but that's just Modern Sonic and he has felt like this since the re-design in 1998. Without question this is the best 3D Sonic game to date and one that can stand side by side with the Mario Galaxies & Little Big Planet's as the cream of this generations platform games. Welcome back Sonic! 10/10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Sonic Gameplay, January 7, 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Sonic Colors - Nintendo Wii (Video Game)
After I heard this game was reviving much of its 90 theme gameplay, I just had to get it. First I had to buy a Wii console since this wasn't available for the 360. And it was well worth the $250 just to play something that I loved so dearly. Brings back memories from classic sonic gameplay such as underwater exploration, fish robots, bees, spin attack, catchy music, 2d puzzles and best of yet, SUPER SONIC!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as Sonic Adventure 1 & 2, but far better than Sonic 2006, November 27, 2010
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sonic Colors - Nintendo Wii (Video Game)
This game is basically a combination of Sonic & The Secret Rings and any standard 2-D Sonic game. It's actually pretty cool, but is just missing the element that made Sonic Adventure 1 & 2 awesome.

The game more or less plays straight-forward (like running in the opposite direction of the camera) or sideways like 2-D games and switches periodically. It could be my TV again, but I have trouble seeing what is what on the screen.

The graphics are unbelievably beautiful! The colors just come alive and are just amazing to look at! Everything in the game is just so well animated and detailed as far as cartoons go. I find it pretty funny that Sonic's eyes are very... umm... reflecting like mirrors. Creepy. Nah, it's cool. The game isn't super-shiny, but isn't dull either.

The way the game works is you start off with a movie (probably the E3 movie), see the classic SEGA logo, but modernized, and then see a really cool title that just says PRESS START (New Game + Continue). You get a map screen with 7 or 8 worlds (much like in Super Mario 3 or New Super Mario Bros.) and within each world, you have at least 5 stages and a boss level. You race through the levels and just like in the classic games, get the high score and best times. You also get ranks, but I haven't found out if they do anything like in Sonic Adventure series. Clear a world, the next one opens up. It's a pretty straight forward game.

I think the music is a little out of place. It's like some orchestrations and I guess rock. I switched the language to Japanese because it still uses the original voice actors from the first games. I didn't like the English voice acting. You can have English and Japanese spoken and English, German, Japanese, French, Italian, and Spanish (which is pretty rare for games these days).

The bottom-line, Sonic Colors is a great return to the classic Sonic series and has simple, fun gameplay to offer. This game is geared towards fans of the classic series and new Sonic fans.

Compatible controls (which is very important for me) is basically anything that plugs into a Wii. That is Gamecube controller, Classic Controller, Wii-mote (SW), Wii-chuck, and 3rd party (non-gun) controllers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Sonic Colors - Nintendo Wii
Sonic Colors - Nintendo Wii by Sega Of America, Inc. (Nintendo Wii)
$29.99 $16.25
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.