Customer Reviews


170 Reviews
5 star:
 (53)
4 star:
 (27)
3 star:
 (16)
2 star:
 (22)
1 star:
 (52)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than I thought
I had heard many bad things about this game before I bought it, such as how difficult it was to play and how some of the story elements were just plain nonesense (such as Sonic having a romance with a human girl).

Now that I've played it, I have to say that it is not as bad as I thought. It did require a great amount of patience to deal with the controls, and I...
Published on March 25, 2011 by Jeanette Garver

versus
32 of 36 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not the good old Sonic!
I was a huge Sonic fan back when I had a Genesis. I havent played much Sonic in between, but I have a Xbox 360 and thought this game would be fun and nostalgic. The graphics are great and the cut scenes are entertaining, but overall this game is a huge dissapointment. I found myself frustrated and angry to say the least at the lack of save options, glitchy gameplay and...
Published on June 22, 2007 by Missy


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 36 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not the good old Sonic!, June 22, 2007
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Sonic the Hedgehog - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
I was a huge Sonic fan back when I had a Genesis. I havent played much Sonic in between, but I have a Xbox 360 and thought this game would be fun and nostalgic. The graphics are great and the cut scenes are entertaining, but overall this game is a huge dissapointment. I found myself frustrated and angry to say the least at the lack of save options, glitchy gameplay and unbearable load times. Repeating entire stretches of levels over and over becuase I cant save after one level- I have to wait until I complete 3! Well that just sucks the fun out of it. I think I need anger management classes after playing this. I've found plenty of challenging and entertaining videogames for my 360, and this is NOT one of them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The game that literally never was, September 24, 2013
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Sonic the Hedgehog - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
The hotly anticipated Sonic the Hedgehog game for the Xbox 360 and Playstation 3 was intended to celebrate the Blue Blur's 15th Anniversary. That's probably why it was called Sonic the Hedgehog instead of Sonic Adventure 3. As anticipated as it was, though, it was incredibly rushed in development and the result was arguably one of the worst Sonic games ever produced. Not the worst game of all time, of course, but this was still unbelievably BAD.

Sonic the Hedgehog follows the formula of the first Sonic Adventure pretty closely. Unfortunately, it's taken the worst of that game to the freaking max! Seriously!
Don't be surprised if you spend a good chunk of time wandering around the uninspired and bleak HUB worlds just so you can get to the next level or mission. Absolutely nothing sticks out in these HUB worlds. You just see same-y looking buildings, and whatever you're looking for is more-or-less hidden beneath all the monotony the HUB worlds offer.

Actually, monotony plays a semi-big role as one of the game's many major problems. Levels occasionally pit your character against enemies that you're forced to fight to move on. The problem is that you don't have many attacks to work with to kill them, causing you to perform the same attacks over and over again, which can become quite repetitive, especially since the Homing Attack (Sonic & Shadow's main means of mid-air attack) is slightly delayed every time you use it, unlike how you could freely spam it in the Adventure games.

Admittedly, the levels can feature some pretty decent level design, as there are indeed some multiple routes and crannies hidden in secret areas, similarly to the classic Sega Genesis Sonics. Unfortunately, there's so much frustration and annoyances thrown into the levels as well. Accompanying the monotony I described earlier is confusing navigation. Sometimes, you'll be likely to wander around the level not knowing where to progress next. And since the camera is also a technical enemy to fight off, don't be surprised if it doesn't give you a good view of anything at certain points.

Sonic the Hedgehog is divided into three campaigns + a "Final Story" segment that you unlock after completing the three. These campaigns have you play as Sonic, Shadow, and newcomer from the future Silver.
Players that have played the Sonic Adventure games may be somewhat familiar with how the game plays, but otherwise would remain puzzled as to what odd changes were made to the mechanics for this game.

Sonic's speed has been drastically reduced for this game. Some may see that as a good thing, but it doesn't help matters when the only instances of actual speed in the game are through the automation of dash pads and springs. It's still pretty fortunate that there's a giant emphasis on legit platforming action. Too bad you can't even jump on enemies anymore. Nope. You're forced to use the delayed Homing Attack. Granted, getting the Bounce Bracelet upgrade or leg sweeping can help at times, but in the end, it really wouldn't have killed Sonic Team to allow you to jump on enemies. Imagine if you can't jump on Goombas in a Mario platformer!
The highlight of Sonic's journey is the ability to purchase unfinished gem power-ups from the shop very later in the game. By unfinished, I mean that you can abuse the everloving crap out them! And we've got some pretty sweet powers coming from these gems. One gem behaves like a grappling hook, another lets Sonic boost, and one more allows Sonic to jump infinitely! This is why you don't rush your game development.

Shadow plays a little similarly to Sonic, except it's even more tedious to use the Homing Attack, because now this dude's "combat-orientated", meaning he has to perform a few kicks in mid-air if you wanna bash down baddies with health bars. Shadow also doesn't get to use the gems, and instead, has to deal with carrying around utterly useless Chaos powers (Until the final boss in the campaign).
For one reason or another, Shadow also has to be sporting vehicles in several of his stages, and their control feels rather sloppy, and some things you have to do with these vehicles ask for excessive precision (EX: When you have to shoot down Dr. Eggman's train while on a motorcycle).

Silver's play mechanics bring in a bunch of new things to the table. For example, he packs a little technique called Psychokinesis and he uses it to throw things at enemies! It's actually kinda fun to play around with, and it's not too shabby to have the ability to fly for a few seconds. Just wait til you have to try to pick up enemies themselves, though. You'll have a rough time doing that, because the hit detection absolutely SUCKS. And don't even get me started on the infamous BALL PUZZLE (In one level), which requires you to use your Psychokinesis on a metallic ball a limited amount of times so it can be thrown into the last of bunches of holes. If you fail here, the ball explodes and respawns back to start. It is much, MUCH easier said than done.

If playing as these three hedgehogs wasn't enough to satisfy your needs, the game also unnecessarily and abruptly switches your character to another every once in a suspiciously long while. These characters only appear exclusive to one hedgehog's campaign. Tails (fox guy) & Knuckles (red guy) make their appearances in Sonic's campaign, Omega (robot guy) and Rouge (supposedly a bat) are playable in Shadow's campaign, and Blaze (cat thing) and Amy (Sonic-obsessed fangirl) are in Silver's campaign. Each of these characters, despite not appearing that much at all, bring in some of their own unique tricks and problems.

Tails plays almost like he did in Sonic Adventure, except much worse. His weight (Actually...every character's weight for that matter) can never stay put. His ground speed is way too slow, but he moves fast when flying, and then he flat-out DROPS when out of breath in flight. His tedious attack? The Dummy Ring bomb, which while effective, takes too long to do, and this is his only method of attack. How creeeeaaative.
Knuckles/Rouge can glide in the air, but it couldn't feel any further off thanks to the heaviness of these characters. And as Knuckles sports almost useless punches, Rouge has bombs. Eesh. And even when climbing on a wall, it's difficult to LET GO.
Blaze is the most tolerable side-character of all, because she borrows assets and moves from Sonic. She's got a Homing Attack, effective fire attack, a double jump, etc.
Meanwhile, Amy's double jump is pathetic. This girl has also borrowed mechanics from Sonic Adventure, and they too have worsened here. On top of being as slow as Tails, Amy doesn't seem like she could attack in mid-air, and for some reason, can turn invisible, but what use is that? I mean, really.
Lastly, Omega the robot guy thingamabob shoots missiles that are usually hit-and-miss when it comes to collision. However, this robot also has a hovering move that can be easily abused thanks to how it cancels all vertical momentum. Just repeatedly mash the A button and explore.

Perhaps the most infamous topic this game has fallen under is physics, and how badly the game fails at capturing them. Sonic can stand upside-down on loop-de-loops, and you can make blocks fly and drown in sand. There's nothing more that needs to be said, other than you may as well watch some YouTube videos of people finding hilarious oddities like these all the time.

The huge lack of polish can also be seen within the game's multiple missions that you can access via the boring HUB worlds. They often consist of enemy sprees, orange rings, etc, but there seriously isn't that much of a variety. Some idiotic ones include that one mission where you have to guess who the Commander is (Who is the first person you speak to), and the three trials. Oh dear lord the three trials....
Thank GOD you only have to play a COUPLE of these god-forsaken missions.

.................I think this review has gone long enough for you to get the point I'm trying to make: This game is really, really bad. There's a BIT of fun to be had, but those moments are so incredibly far and few between.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Really Horrible, January 11, 2011
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Sonic the Hedgehog - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
This was my first Sonic game on the 360 and it is really bad. The graphics are not much. But that's not the worst part. The game really proceeds slowly. I think there are many unnecessary loads. For example, when doing a little mini-game to get something you have to wait for 20 seconds until it loads, then some guy explains what you must do and I usually press A to skip, at once another 20 second load starts. The mini-game takes about a minute and another 20 second load. If you fail, the whole load thing starts again. The controls are messed up too as well a camera angles. Save the money and buy something else. I got so bored with this game that I just quit after couple of levels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 30 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The game that MURDERED my childhood memories of this franchise..., December 14, 2012
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Sonic the Hedgehog - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
I had heard from a friend recently about Sonic the hedgehog (Sonic 06) and how bad it was. I haven't played a Sonic game since Sonic Adventure, and I grew up with the original series on the Sega Genesis. In fact, Sonic 2 was one of the first games I owned...so I had fond memories of this series, although I had been oblivious to the development of more recent titles.

I couldn't believe that it could be THAT bad, so I ended up purchasing a copy for 5 dollars at a local swap meet to sate my curiosity. This would turn out to be the worst 5 dollars I ever spent. After playing the game for about four hours, I couldn't take any more. Rather than continue playing it, I turned to youtube to watch and see if the ending was any better...as I simply did not want to play any more of it myself.

From a gameplay perspective, Sonic team truly botched this attempt. The camera is horrible, and controlling Sonic has never felt more sickening. Sonic can no longer rev up for a speed boost, and his movements feel jittery. Because of poor control, dying is common and frustrating because of the game's absolutely absurd loading times. I would predict about 10% of this game's length could be entirely loading screens...no joke.

The presentation is equally horrid. There's a lot of bad level design here, as even the hub worlds are way too big and difficult to navigate. Sonic and his friends are all here, poorly rendered and animated. Disturbingly, Sonic team decided to place these odd, furry, mascots alongside realistic looking human beings. If that weren't bad enough, Sonic even has a "romantic" relationship with one of these humans. The contrast here is jarring, and somewhat disturbing.

The story is absolutely insipid and the entire thing feels like bad fan fiction. The only fortunate thing is that the ending, which I looked up online, completely retcons the entirety of the game as if Sonic team knew before the game was complete that they wanted this to be forgotten.

In summation: Obnoxious controls, extremely long load times, a poor save feature that can make you lose lots of progress, bad level design, horrible presentation, awful story, and a literally forgettable ending...

Yeah...this game is horrible. One of the worst games ever. Period. If you were a fan of Sonic in the old days, this game will only destroy your fondness for the franchise.

I've been told games like Sonic Generations are better. Stay far away from this game, though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 66 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bad., December 22, 2006
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Sonic the Hedgehog - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
Everyone else has said it and I'll say it too. Horrible camera angles and extremely awkward controls. Load times are bad too. You'll find yourself waiting 30 seconds or more just to load a cheesy 3 second video clip followed by 30 seconds or more just to load the next stage. There are too many points in the game where you aren't really playing at all but simply pressing the jump button at crucial times and the springs and dash panels do all the rest. The game is a "learn as you go" style of play wherein the learning is not intuitive and you must figure it out by losing a life or two. This game is a disgrace to the Sonic franchise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't Bother, September 7, 2012
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Sonic the Hedgehog - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
There is no reason to buy this game other than to experience just how a publisher can rush a product and fool millions of people into buying it as it is. There is no reason why this game should cost $20.
At best if you wanted to try this abomination you should pay no more than $2.
Don't try it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Worst Sonic game ever, September 7, 2013
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sonic the Hedgehog - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
So I had played Sonic Unleashed and Sonic Generations before I bought this I hadn't read the history of the game and all the stuff about how the production was a mess and how it got horrible reviews when it first originally came out. Started playing this game with my daughter and now I know why it got such bad reviews.

This game is horrible. I grew up playing Sonic on Sega (had every Sega game) so my expectations have always been quite high for any Sonic games. I loved Sonic Unleashed (it's probably the best Sonic game that's come out during this new generation of Sonic games) But this one is just bad. The story line just seems so odd because Sonic is in this love relationship with a princess (which makes no sense because he never had people in his games). They made the people so realistic looking, which I guess would be a good thing, but it doesn't mesh right with the Sonic characters. They tried to make Eggman all realist looking which just doesn't work. I'm assuming that is why they went back to using more cartooney characters for Sonic Unleashed because that actually works better then what they did here.

The camera angles are flat out annoying and you always have to adjust the angles constantly which is a pain. The controls make no sense either.

Biggest complaint though is the glitches. There are SO MANY glitches in this games, it's ridiculous. Lots of times you'll go walk somewhere and you'll get stuck in a wall or you end up with a black screen with Sonic walking in mid air which forces you to restart the game. Tails constantly gets stuck in spots and then dies, which you'll hear him screaming while you're off running around. It's ridiculous.

Really glad we only spent like $5 on a used version because after only playing it for a little while, we ended up just switching back to Sonic Unleashed because it was just more annoying to play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


58 of 80 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A waste of a trip to the video store, November 18, 2006
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Sonic the Hedgehog - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
Don't bother even renting this game. It is by far the worst 360 game I've played. The most annoying feature is lack of configurable controls. The X-axis camera is inverted from what you'd typically find in a FPS game, and you can't change it. The camera gets blocked at the presence of any walls, as it doesn't move toward the character when encountering obstacles.

Definately do not buy this for kids. The game will only frustrate them. It has too many glitches, too many opportunities to accidently lose lives, and too many usability problems, taking away any chance of this game being remotely fun.

Thoroughly disappointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 30 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Camera angles and control make this game horrible, November 26, 2006
By 
K. Cavell (New Jersey, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Sonic the Hedgehog - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
I never write reviews on anything, although I enjoy reading other people's reviews (so thanks to everyone who does write them). This game was so frustrating to play that I had to write about how horrible it is. I recently got an Xbox360 and my girl friend decided to rent Sonic since she was a big original Sonic fan. We have been playing it for about 2 hours now and it is nearly impossible to control the character. The camera angles seem to be random and you have no way to control them. When fighting enemies you will be facing one, press the A (or X, depending on which character you are at the time) button to attack and the camera angles changes drastically. Enemy fire is coming in from all directions and there seems to be no way to smoothly control the character to attack them back. As another reviewer mentioned, you can't configure the controls at all. The only options are for video and audio! So in order to play you have to re-train your brain for the horrible user interface they put into this game. I'm used to an inverted look and total configurability (from playing Halo 2). As I was playing this game, I kept asking myself how a child would be able to play this game. I'm not sure how one could.

Bottom line: Don't buy this game, it is nearly impossible to play. I'm sure that after 5-10 hours of practice that I could have trained myself to handle the controls, but who wants to put that much time into just relearning? In the mean time you end up playing the same sequences over and over again! I left the room feeling extremely frustrated. I can't believe that a company could actually release a game that is this bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not good, but still not the worst game out there..., November 24, 2013
This review is from: Sonic the Hedgehog - Xbox 360 (Video Game)
To start off, I played little of this game. I don't even own it. Most of my experience was at a friend's house and from watching Youtube videos of various people playing the game. One of the first things I notice in the first episodes is reluctance, even loathing of the audience that suggested this game. All-around, SONIC THE HEDGEHOG (also known as Sonic '06 in this article) has met some fairly negative response. I have noticed several five-star reviews of this game as well as one-star reviews. I'm assuming that these reviews are from children and adults, respectively. Me, I'm the middle ground - a fairly immature teenager. I've had experience with Sonic games for many long years, and though I've rarely beaten any of them in my first playthrough, I can say that I have a moderate level of experience and ability. And this is where we get into gameplay. Sonic's running speed, from what I have heard, is much slower than in previous games. I, personally, was never bothered by a lack of speed, save for during breaks in Silver's story. Oh, Nayru, that jungle overworld... Moving on... My main problem with the game was when things heated up - specifically, when Sonic entered his Mach Speed sections. When I played some of the game at a friend's house, I lost all of my lives in the first level thanks to this mechanic. Here's the system in a nutshell - you're moving at mind-blowing speeds at last. You can only move left and right, as well as jump, until you hit a ramp. No acceleration, no deceleration. IN ADDITION, if Sonic runs into any obstacle, he will take damage. If you run into a large wall, you're practically screwed. I have seen some people pull these sections off in a moderate time, without failing miserably, but I have never pulled it off. Combat, like movement, has also been slowed down. Enemies have health bars, similarly to previous titles in the series, and some must be struck as many as six times to be defeated. In addition, Sonic can no longer jump into enemies to defeat them. The homing attack is now the basic form of combat. This should be no big deal for people who grew up with 3D Sonic games, such as myself, but people with much more experience will most likely dislike this change in the combat system. The Spin Dash, fortunately, makes a return, but is rather downgraded. For one, you can only use it while standing still. Using it on the fly is a no-go in this game. It is also lacking a cancellation feature - unlike in previous titles, you can't cancel your Spin Dash with a jump. You'll keep going, grounded, until you lose speed or fall off of the stage. If I remember correctly, the Boost made a return as well. As you progress, you can purchase upgrades that aid in gameplay. Normally, the upgrades drain an energy meter, but due to a glitch in Sonic's gameplay, his energy - that's right - never depletes. This means that you can use the many upgrades, such as infinite jumps, a magnetic field that attracts rings, and more OP abilities along those lines, as many times as needed. At last, a glitch that is actually USEFUL... But I digress. I still need to explain the other characters. Like in the Sonic Adventure titles, you are given control of several different characters, nine total. The characters are Sonic, Tails, Knuckles, Amy Rose, Shadow, Rouge, E-123 Omega, Blaze, and newcomer Silver. Sonic and Shadow's gameplay is practically the same, with Shadow's levels being focused more on combat than anything else. Blaze also handles similarly, and also has an admirable double jump that makes platform ing a cinch. I, admittedly, felt the most at home while controlling Blaze when I was at my friend's house. Tails, of course, is much slower, and moves through levels in a manner similarly to his levels in Sonic Adventure 1. However, his combat is solely reliant on Fake Ring Bombs, which are kind of sluggish and make gathering lost rings after taking damage a little cumbersome. When Tails gets tired from flight, he immediately begins falling rather than simply losing altitude over time. Knuckles and Rouge control similarly to their Sonic Adventure 2 appearances. However, during collection missions, you aren't given a radar, so you're stuck wandering for a while. Rouge, if I heard correctly, also relies on those pesky Fake Ring Bombs. Amy Rose is back to her Sonic Adventure 1 gameplay, but her double-jump not only puts Blaze to shame, but she also possesses a random and rather worthless invisibility power. E-123's combat is now based on sluggish ballistics, but I don't know much otherwise. And finally, Silver. Silver is a telekinetic hedgehog from the future and Blaze the Cat's best bud and sidekick. Silver, for a hedgehog, is surprisingly slow, and he cannot use Sonic and Shadow's homing attack. Instead, Silver relies on the most unique moveset in the game - his psychokinetic powers, which allow him to pluck bullets from the air, as well as miscellaneous objects from the ground, and send them hurtling at whatever unhappy camper is in his way. Silver also possesses a limited levitation technique. When I asked my friend if I could play Sonic '06, I was dead-set on trying out Silver. His psychokinesis combat style was often a little more interesting than simply spamming the Homing Attack, or hurling a Fake Ring Bomb. So, I've mentioned some negatives, so now I'll quickly list some positives about the gameplay. The character models and environments are detailed (although the contrast between cartoonish Sonic the Hedgehog and realistic Princess Elise is just unnerving), and the soundtrack is among the greatest of any Sonic game. If you're scared of the horrible gameplay, then I highly recommend purchasing the OST just to hear the game's greatest asset. And, of course, Silver - who is a total idiot in the story most of the time - gets kicked in the head by Shadow in one of the most loved scenes in the game. A gif of the scene can be found here - [...] - and that's about it. I'm not rating this based off of plot, but this is all I'm going to say... Sonic and Elise kiss. Bleh. I'm giving this game two stars mostly because of my lack of experience with Sonic '06. If I had more time to get to know and understand the game, the rating might be a lot higher... or a lot lower. I seriously enjoy the original soundtrack, and, though I don't hate Silver, it IS funny to watch him get completely owned by Shadow's Chaos Control/Roundhouse Kick combo over and over. This game's memories are both good and bad, and I may get my own copy just to see if it can bounce back from this mediocre rating. If you want a challenge for keeping your sanity in the face of rushed game features, and love the rockin' music, I truly recommend this game. Otherwise, I suggest keeping your distance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Sonic the Hedgehog - Xbox 360
Sonic the Hedgehog - Xbox 360 by Sega Of America, Inc. (Xbox 360)
$19.99 $17.98
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.