Automotive Holiday Deals Up to 50% Off Select Books Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Train egg_2015 All-New Amazon Fire TV Luxury Beauty Gifts Under $50 Amazon Gift Card Offer cm15 cm15 cm15 $30 Off Amazon Echo $30 Off Fire HD 6 Kindle Cyber Monday Deals Classics and Essentials in CDs & Vinyl Outdoor Deals on Tikes

Price:$12.75+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

56 of 63 people found the following review helpful
on February 3, 2008
In reading reviews to avoid repeating the same sentiments -- I was befuddled by the negative reviews. This game is so much fun and is always building on itself, that I anticipate it to continue to be my favorite game for some time. Why spend $50 on a game that can be broken in one weekend? The only thing I can figure is the negative reviews are from hard-core gamers, which I certainly am not. I got the Wii for Xmas 07 and previously had only had the Atari 2600 in the 80's. (clue as to why the reviews of the hair band sound track doesn't bother me)

People should post what level they have gotten to and how much time they have given to a game. I've had it for a month and have gotten the 3rd Dinosaur level unlocked. I didn't play for about a week and had to revisit some of the Prologue to get back in the groove. Which I think is awesome. The game is still fresh. I think it's amazing how much they've packed into one disk. So many levels, so many skills.

Why does anyone care about the quality of the story? Buy a novel if you want a good read. And the graphics...I'm too concentrated on the skills to reach the goal, making medal level time, and finding fire souls to notice how many pixels are used to build the fires.

I recommend reading C. Alfaro "Teo" 's review for an in depth review of the game.

And if that wasn't enough for $30, you get bonus party games that are a like getting a whole other disk. Way more variety than "Carnival". And contrary to another reviewer, yes you can choose the games you prefer in the "library". More party games are unlocked as you beat more levels in the main game.

Yes, the Prologue is mandatory, but it has a purpose. You have to learn how to use the remote to make the future games enjoyable. And the games there are still fun. I've returned back to beat the clock and earn a medal. (The table of contents keeps track of medals won, fire souls found). So if you rent first -- you should give it a fair chance. (In comparison, I found the mandatory start up in Boogie and Play to be far more annoying).

I recommend disconnecting the wrist strap for comfort (yes, shame on me, but your not going to fling the remote it's used more like a game pad [party games however do use more of the Wii movement, so put the wrist strap back on]). The + will get you past the story book. Yes, jumping is on the release of 2, that is because the length of depressing 2 determines the strength of the jump (read the CD insert). You need to press the directional up to last longer while fighting multiple enemies. Equip your ring with as many possible skill points as you earn them. Read the skills -- several reviewers mention slowness, but there is a skill to get a burst of speed when the count down is at one. You will eventually earn the skill to resume speed after losing it to rugged terrain. The directional up gives Sonic his burst of speed. Later on when you earn skills like faster breaking and smoother grinding, you can return to previous beaten screens for faster times or more points.
33 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
on October 5, 2007
I for one love this game. Honestly, I can't put it down. The game certainly has problems, the only question is, is the game worth playing in spite of them? For me, the answer is yes.

The aspects of the game that I love are the ones that remind me of the old Sonic games from the early 90's. The race to the goal missions have the same "it never gets old" feeling that the original Sonic the Hedgehog games, and the speed breaks take me back to the days when I was glued to my T.V in awe of how fast the world was going by in Sonics I and II. These two aspects in combination make for a lot of fun indeed.

Unfortunately, the same cannot be said for absolutely every other aspect of the game.

The unbelievably long list of bonus missions (Don't take damage, don't defeat enemies, etc) have absolutely no re-play value and are certainly not fun. Getting through them is nothing more than a necessary chore to unlock more levels. Since there are only seven full tracks in the game, this is obviously a way to make the game seem longer, but personally, I would have been happy with seven tracks.

These bonus run-throughs are the biggest flaw in the game, especially due to the clunky controls. The control in Sonic and the Secret Rings is certainly good enough to race through a stage, but when the game requires you to carry out specific objectives like collecting 50 rings, dodging enemies, and running through a complex level within a short time limit, you start to notice how jerky the controls really are. They are serviceable, but were not designed for precision. Unfortunately, the bonus levels ARE designed for precision, and the controls (while not horrible) are simply not up to the task.

If you can labor through the bonus missions, you will find that the main tracks are remarkably fun to run through, especially when you are not bound by further objectives to get to more stages. If you have not gotten through the remainder of the bonus missions however, you may ask your self if it's worth it to keep going. This will mean the difference between a buy, a rental, and a tossing of the game out the window for a lot of people.

The game certainly could have been better, and if a sequel is ever made (and it should be because the game has a lot of potential), some of these problems might be dealt with. In the mean time however, I would recommend the bare bones elements of the game to anyone who loved the Sonic the Hedgehog games of the 90's. The main tracks really are that fast, and they really are that fun!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
27 of 33 people found the following review helpful
on March 18, 2007
I see a lot of bad reviews for the game and after reading them, I find a common problem at lot of players get aggrivated with and quit before the game gets a chance to show its merit. 2 of the reviews I found the user was actually playing the game wrong. I'd like to add that when reading reviews for a game, if the review is short, the user probably knows very little about the game. Take the time to read longer reviews.

The game is an interesting one though and it should always be remembered when playing, Sonic runs on his own; if you want to slow to avoid something, you are going to have to slow him down. Sonic is Built for speed, most problems in the game you can get through using such, very rarely does the game require you to stop and wait. However there is that occasion that you want to stop and readjust yourself, or backtrack for some loot; the Camera will not turn around you mostly have to just backtrack knowing what was there.

This gets into the control scheme, which is so simple, it was throwing many users off. The remote is held sideways, with the + button on the top.(Which incidentally is also the Start Button as well as how you skip Cut scenes; The book explains this people, read it, it has a LOT of game tips) To run, do NOTHING, Sonic will automatically accelerate to top speed; as well as this, the game is built in a track which you can very rarely veer off. This being known, Sonic turns most corners for you. By tilting the remote to the sides, you can make sonic move left and right no the track. He isnt walking left and right, but more "changing Lanes" which attributes the game to more a Racing feel, you need to remember that Sonic will always be moving forward. To back track, you must tip the controller far enough back, which is nearly upside-down. [2]button is slide and Jump. tapping it is a small hop, holding it will slide, then long jump when released. [1]button is your brakes, stopping sonic, even in mid jump. The only complex manuever is using the homing attack/air-dash; to do so, the player must 'thrust the controller forward.' I found this description very innacurate as there are in fact 3 ways to do this and get the same result, the players who read this can pick the best one for them: First there is the obvious, thrust the controller forward; I find this one uncomfortable as you often have to exagerate the movement. Second theres a flicking motion that works, let go of the remote wit the hand thats is

NOT strapped to it and simply flick it forward; this one is easy to do, but sometimes you get a wrist cramp. Last, and my personal favorite; flick the remote instead upwards then back down, just like flicking the reigns of a horse; I find this one works because its easy and reliable and gives Sonic his "giddy-up." Lastly, the D-Pad is eventually used for your super moves.

As you progress through gameplay, you'll accumulate experience and eventually levels, allowing access to those cool skills you saw in the teasers for the game. Such skills as Speed Break and Time Break, making your normal moves do damage, such as sliding and cancel jump, and lastly give boosting abilities to Sonic Manuevers, like smoother control, longer jumps, and easier execution. Any of these skill can be equipped through the skill rings once they are unlocked, however you only have so many Skill points and must choose your skills wisely. They can be changes any time between missions however.

Story wise, if you are a normal watch of anime or anything subbed. I first recomend that you go into the options and change the game to Japanese with subtitles. The Japanese Voice Actors sound a hell of a lot better and it usually makes for less agitating Cut Scenes. Yes, I did just say the cut scenes are agitating, but not always. After certain missions a cut scene will automatically play, this happens every time you beat the mission, even if you just go back to get a better time. Luckily, all these can be skipped by pressing the [+]button. The Story is represented through these Cut Scenes in a comic book style, representing Sonic Being in 1001 Arabian Nights, the setting for the game. Sonic, accompanied by Shahra the Genie must collect the 7 World Rings and stop the Erazor Djinn from destroying 1001 Arabian Nights and entering the real world. On the way he meets all heroes and legends from the book with some famillier faces as they help him on his way to stop Erazor Djinn and the beast he brings to life from the old stories. My first impression of the game story was not so good, I though the PS3 version had a much better game premise, but the more I played the more I got into the idea of the game and found myself more attracted to the idea of being in 1001 Arabian Nights. Many of the side characters and heroes from the tales are personified by Sonis's old friends. Tails as Alibaba, Knuckles as Sinbad, etc. and is met with some comical features too, such as the Erazor Djinn with a 'switch-blade' sword that looks to be an old shaving razor.

Gameplay itself is fast paced, as Sonic can get moving pretty quick, but you still get a chance to observer the beautiful surroundings. You'll meet several stages per world, some with new challenges than the other stages, others suspiciously simmilar to another stage in the same world, but with a completely differnt objective, giving plenty of mix to the game. Sometimes you'll need to beat the clock, other times you'll neet to collect 100 rings to beat 20 baddies. Sometimes its just ot make it through the level in one piece. No matter which way you play it, Sonic will give you a high speed ride through some fantastically beautiful worlds.

The only drawback to the game is the music score. Every level of each world is met by the same song per world. You'll also find you're quickly put off by the repetitive song played at the end of every stage or mission. I dont think the musoc score for the game had much thought put into it. My recomendation, turn off BGM and put some CD's in your stereo.

Overall, Many skeptics have blammed the game right off, though they refuse to commit to it to actually find out if it is any good. Finish the intro world (Last Prologue) and play through a couple real game stages, you'll get a much better feel for it. Also, relax, you dont need to drive Sonic on, remember, HE RUNS ON HIS OWN. You'll still need to guide him, but theres a reason that he always runs, and he always tried to get to top speed, he wouldn't be called 'Sonic' for any other reason if he wasen't made to go fast. So, ignore the 2 line reviews that say, oh I rented this game and it sucks. If you have a Wii, you can afford to try it for yourself, renting isnt that expensive, But if you keep this guide in mind, you'll find that you wont be dissapointed in your purchase.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
61 of 82 people found the following review helpful
on February 26, 2007
Call me crazy, call me a fan of deep gameplay, but I've just never understood this whole Sonic the Hedgehog hullaballoo. Back when Sonic made his console debut in the early 90s he immediately separated himself from his biggest competitor, a chubby plumber, and in doing so, set himself apart as the "cool" console mascot. And cool he was. While Mario was busy breaking bricks and lollygagging his way through pipes, Sonic was flying through worlds with ease, doing all sorts of cool tricks in the process. However, what Mario lacked in "coolness" he always made up for with deep, addictive gameplay. Sonic was cool, yeah, but when it came down to the quality of the gaming experience, he just never could gain ground on that chubby guy.

This flaw of Sonic followed him into the 3D era as well. The arrival of the Sega Dreamcast brought Sonic fans the Sonic Adventure series, which often slowed down the speedy hedgehog in favor of more traditional 3D platforming. In a way, it worked. But this was Sonic, and you can't very well have Sonic and not have speed! So Sonic the Hedgehog has been in sort of a drought over the better part of a decade, trying his best to keep up in his old age. Often plagued by poor camera control and even poorer character control, Sega's mascot is no longer the poster child for "cool" gaming, but the perfect example of what a video game shouldn't be.

The light at the end of the tunnel for Sonic was supposed to be his latest adventure, Sonic and the Secret Rings, and at first look, it seems like a pretty solid idea. Bring Sonic back to his roots, make him fast, recreate the 2D Sonic experience in 3D. So the folks over at Sega have Sonic constantly moving in this game along a set path, the player steers him left and right by tilting the Wii remote accordingly. To jump, simply hit the 2 button. Shove the remote forward mid-air to perform a homing attack (a gesture that really feels quite solid).

So far so good. Sonic is once again running through worlds, collecting rings and other valuables while blasting into enemies. But then the core flaw of Sonic the Hedgehog once again becomes apparant. The gameplay is still pretty shallow. Sega has tried to paint over this problem by allowing Sonic to gain experience points throughout his adventure, making him faster, stronger, and more cocky. Still, this is 2007. Running fast and collecting rings may have been compelling, or jaw dropping in 1991, but we've come to expect more from our games nowadays, especially when they're platformers. Sadly, Sonic and the Secret Rings does not recreate the excitement and experience of the traditional Sonic game, nor does it create a new experience to get excited about. It's simply disappointing.

However, from a visual standpoint, Sonic and the Secret Rings does not disappoint. You won't find the benefits of high definition gaming as you would Sonic's other current-generation endeavors. But what Sonic and the Secret Rings lacks in polish and shine, it makes up for in beauty and detail. The worlds that Sonic speeds through are beautifully and meticulously created, often giving players something to gawk at when the game slows its pace occasionally. Having played Sonic the Hedgehog on Xbox 360, I can safely say that Sonic and the Secret Rings is a much more satisfying game where both visuals and gameplay are concerned.

In the end, the gamers will decide if Sonic and the Secret Rings is a hit or a miss. Sonic fans of old may enjoy the new twist on the old gameplay, but fans who never really latched on to the series will most likely be disappointed again. Is it the best 3D Sonic game? It really depends on what you're looking for. As a traditional 3D platformer it fails, but in recreating the 2D world of Sonic in 3D it at least comes close. Sonic may not be as cool as he used to be, but at least he's trying.

6.0 Presentation

Menus and cutscenes are artistically created, and work in setting the environment of the world of the Arabian Nights. But the story is a little silly, and largely unnecessary.

8.9 Graphics

Some of the best graphics available on the Wii, and the level design is often meticulously crafted to enhance the experience.

4.9 Sound

The music in the game is worse than Excite Truck, but unfortunately the game does not offer the custom sountrack option. As always, Sonic is better when he's not talking, but he still won't shut up.

4.5 Gameplay

Going fast is fun for a while, but then it wears off. The game suffers from the same follies of the original Sonic games, with the added problem of going backwards which is neither intuitive nor fun.

6.0 Lasting Appeal

RPG fans may find some saving grace in the experience points, but the tacked-on party games are just lame and poorly presented.


(out of 10 / not an average)
1111 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on December 1, 2012
...was so BORING!

"Sonic Colors" = 8.9
"Sonic Generations" = 8.7
"Sonic Unleashed" = 8.0
The great category.

"Sonic the Hedgehog (2006)" = 0.1
The terrible category.

Sonic and the Secret Rings joins the 2006 waste of time being so boring and lame.
My best friend played one round, then looked at me, we nodded our heads, and I went up immediately and changed the disc to Super Smash Bros. Brawl, which is actually a game you should spend your money on.

Buy Smash Bros or Sonic Colors and give this one a pass.
For Moms doing Christmas shopping, for gamers, for Sonic fans, all a ya. Trust me, you'll do yourselves a favor.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
on March 11, 2007
Sonic, after a long vacation of none speed oriented games (excluding Sonic Rush) is finally back and ready for some fast moving action. Although not perfect, the controls definitely add something and do respond to your motions almost immediately. The graphics are colorful and fit Sonic with their cartoony feel. Eggman (Dr. Robotnik) is taking break in this game and the storyline does take a hit from losing its infamous villain, but still is interesting in a deferent way. This game also introduces something Sonic's never done before: minigames.


Some reviewers have jumped on the fact that this game has a weak if not bad storyline. I agree with them, but it's still a good game even if it does have a bad storyline. Sonic has never really had a great storyline, but it did have a good one. This game's plot is that an evil sorcerer is taking away the pages from the 1001 Arabian Nights. The Erazor Djinn, as he is called, is the villain. The cutscenes that reveal what's happening next in the plot are shown in a comic-book-like way. This is sort of cool, but I'd rather have the classic 3-D animation type. The plot is sub-par, but that is no reason to hate the game.


The gameplay is smooth and uses the Wii-mote well. You move Sonic by tilting the Wii-mote left or right to make him move left or right on the screen. The game turns for you so you just have to move left and right to avoid obstacles. As you get used to the controls you can control Sonic more easily and allow him to gain more speed. Speed is what Sonic games are supposed to be about and the controls really capture this. To jump you press the 2 button and to use the Homing Attack (Sonic jumps in the air and lunges forward to attack a nearby enemy) you jump then shove the Wii-mote forward as if tackling the enemy. All this works smoothly and responds well to your actions. The only thing I don't think works well is walking backwards. When you miss an item or something and you want to go back, you tilt the Wii-mote backwards. For some reason it doesn't pick up this motion, and even if it does it doesn't allow you to easily keep going backwards. I found myself twisting my wrist as far as it can go to get him to move and keep moving. Altogether the controls mostly consist of tilting the Wii-mote in the direction you want Sonic to go in and generally work well.

Level Design and Music:

Each individual level is designed well, but you must replay the same course multiple times while trying to complete different missions. Because each level is designed quite well this is okay, but a little more variety in levels would be nice. There are only really 7 totally different levels each with its own song, single song. By the time you've played the course 10 times, you have probably memorized what it's like. Luckily the obstacles change and the enemies move, but unluckily the music is the same. The first time I heard the music I liked it, but after listening to the same song twenty times in a row I got really tired of it. The music is good, but nothing special. I really liked the music in Sonic Adventure 2, and was hoping for more of that, but this isn't as good. Okay music is replayed way too many times and the levels are recycled over and over, but each in its own is good and is okay to play multiple times. This game makes you play or hear them a few too many times though.

Replay Value:

This game has many unlockables, and many secrets, but there isn't really a good reason to get them. Sonic gets experience after every level and every once in a while grows a level. If he beats a level and gets more secret items he gets more experience. When he grows a level he gets skills. These skills allow him to do new things, like start the level with a few rings, make his homing attack range longer, and many other things. Very few of these actually help you, so there really isn't a point to get them.


The minigames are addictive and fun, but the AI (artificial intelligence) is terrible. Most minigames are quite fun and great for groups of people, but a few are boring and stupid. The AI is horrible, but sometimes when you're playing with a bunch of people it's fun to watch the CPU mess up so badly. In one minigame you're supposed to play a violin. In this minigame the CPU players will squeak and hold notes WAY too long until its impossible for you to lose. Even though this is hilarious, if you want to have any challenge in the minigames you're going to have to play with your friends, not CPUs.


If you like the classic Sonic games you'll probably like this one. Even if you've never played Sonic games before this is a very good game and uses the Wii-mote well.


-Gameplay uses the Wii-mote well

-It's easy to go fast and have fun speeding through levels

-The music is good

-The levels are long

-The minigames are fun and funny


-Music is played over and over

-Levels are recycled

-Storyline is boring and bad

-The AI is horrible
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
on July 16, 2008
This game is horrid. The controls are unresoonsive. The story plain sucks. Sonic turned weird (He says "hell" to make him "cool.") Eggman isn't the enemy, and the party games are unresponsive back. Buy Sonic Adventure 2 Battle for Gamecube instead. It's way more fun.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
on March 10, 2007
Sonic hasn't aged very well. His fast, hyperactive youth has long since been replaced by mediocrity and disappointment. Once an A student, this hedgehog was sent to the counselor and in need of serious changes, lest he be shunned further away from his gaming peers. SEGA and Sonic Team seem to have done just right with their little blue guy; Sonic and the Secret Rings marks his first appearance on Wii and he shows a lot of promise and improvement.

Our hedgehog friend is awakened one day by a genie named Shahra. Her dilemma is that the Erazor Djinn is erasing pages right out of the book Arabian Nights, and without Sonic's immediate help, Erazor will destroy the story in the book and begin dominating Sonic's world. The story is a departure from the typical Dr. Robotnik schemes of the past, but familiar characters make an appearance in the Arabian-themed world. Unfortunately, the story doesn't take advantage of Wii hardware as much as it could. Similar to Elebits, Red Steel, and Trauma Center: Second Opinion, the majority of the story is told in artistic frames rather than real-time scenes.

Sonic's disappointing line of recent games have shared similar problems; bad camera angles, terrible controls, and uninspired level design have since been thorns in his shoes. Sonic and the Secret Rings fixes this problem by being much more like the hedgehog's two-dimensional adventures. In fact, it is accurate to say that the game plays like the 2D games, only turned forward so that Sonic is running into the screen rather than to its side. Using Wii's motion-sensing controller, all of the gameplay is done by turning the remote to its side and tilting it, pressing buttons to jump, brake, and activate special moves. Moving Sonic around the screen as he constantly runs forward is a breeze, and feels similar to but better than games like Tony Hawk's Downhill Jam and Excite Truck. Not all control mechanics work so well, but I'll get to that in a second.

The gameplay is fleshed out in Adventure Mode, which features seven different worlds and more than 100 missions to play. Missions range in difficulty and ask different things of Sonic. Some simply ask that he reach a certain point, others have him collecting rings, defeating enemies, or racing against the clock. As Sonic completes missions and earns experience points, he can earn and equip different skills that let him become an even more agile character. These skills vary in utility: some expand Sonic's homing attack range or increase the smoothness of his running and sliding, others aren't as useful and allow him to do things like hop backward and harm enemies. Adventure Mode is quite deep and offers, at the very least, 15-20 hours of gameplay. Earning gold medals on all of the missions would take much, much longer.

Sonic's only gameplay flaws come from some of the inconsistent mechanics. Sonic's homing attack is sometimes wild and uncontrollable and often sends him flying past enemies or objects that he's locked onto. Jumping is done differently here than in any other Sonic game: rather than pressing the 2 button to send Sonic into the air, Sonic has to "charge" his jump with the press of the 2 button. This makes jumping a heinous task that it shouldn't be. Moving backward at any time during the game is particularly annoying, since the camera doesn't reverse or even pan out to allow for an improved view of what's behind Sonic. Stoppage in the fast-paced action is abrupt and sometimes forced; for example, the camera mechanics and level design go hand-in-hand. Some obstructions were intentionally placed in the levels to slow the game down and allow the camera to catch up; this certainly detracts from the fast sense of speed and seems like a cheap way to put in difficult jumps and platform sequences. These gripes actually don't harm the overall experience much, but they come along and are definitely worth mentioning.

Legend of Zelda: Twilight Princess is the only Wii title to date that looks better than Sonic and the Secret Rings. Sonic's Arabian surroundings vary in design and detail. The levels are all quite different in theme, and therefore look nothing like each other. The floating sky levels, sandy deserts, the pirate ships-they're all fun to look at and run through. Special effects are done very well for the most part. Unfortunately, the soundtrack is among the worst in video games. I'm not sure why Sonic Team and SEGA are adamant about featuring such crummy music for their spunky character, and Sonic and the Secret Rings has quite possibly the most annoying background menu music I've ever heard. Fortunately the voice acting isn't as miserable as it has been in the past and the sound effects are appropriate.

Sonic's Adventure mode isn't the only noteworthy feature: there's a four-player party mode that has around 40 mini-games to play. It's a very nice addition to the game that would almost make a fine game on its own; in fact, the only multi-player games on Wii that offer more are Rayman Raving Rabbids! and Wii Sports. The multi-player offering doesn't ever feel shallow, either-in my experience, the game lasted for quite a lot of time and never ceased to be entertaining.

Sonic still isn't quite up to grade with his peers, but at least he's managed to get around the harsh reprimands of his critics (mostly). Sonic and the Secret Rings is a great addition to one's Wii library. I'd hope that in the future, SEGA and Sonic Team work on improving this formula rather than that used in the Xbox 360 and PlayStation 3 Sonic the Hedgehog title. Sonic on Wii is much more entertaining, accessible, and most of all, fun.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on October 5, 2008
My how the mighty have fallen. What have they done to Sonic the Hedgehog? I bought this game under the impression that it would be a fun divergence from the traditional Sonic game. I was wrong.

The basic concept is simple: Sonic moves forward on a pre-set course through each level. Holding the Wii-mote horizontally, you control his turning, jumping, and slowing down. Apparently, you can even go backwards. But, like many things, it may sound fine on paper, but the final product is a failure.

The controls are terrible. They don't respond well at all. Many times, while trying to reverse (by leaning the controller back), Sonic would actually move forward faster, or even jump. Attempts to use the homing attack often received the same treatment. This makes for a very frustrating experience. It's a waste of time reversing step by agonizing step to attempt to get something you missed on the way through the course, as this ruins your final time, making each course one you will more than likely repeat. And it won't be any fun the next time you play it either.

Steer clear of this game. The slow pace, less than interesting story, and horrible control system makes this game everything a Sonic game shouldn't be. It's nothing like any Sonic game you've ever played, and that's NOT a good thing. Let's just pray SEGA never releases another game like this again.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on March 4, 2011
I bought this game after getting a Wii and a couple other Sonic games( Unleashed and Sonic and the Black Knight)and thinking this one would be fun. It is 'fun' but the controller is very frustrating. I dislike the setup. My hands cramp after about five minutes plus some of it makes little sense. The game is in control, not you. That and they make you start over at horrible spots sometimes like where speed is needed to make a jump but not enough space to get it. It's frustrating. Don't get me wrong. I like this game but I enjoy Sonic Unleashed much more.

Interesting story
Easy level ups

horrible controls
repetitive soundtrack ( can get really annoying)
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 5 answered questions

Customers who viewed this also viewed
Sonic and the Black Knight - Nintendo Wii
Sonic and the Black Knight - Nintendo Wii by Sega Of America, Inc. (Nintendo Wii)

Sonic Unleashed
Sonic Unleashed by Sega Of America, Inc. (Nintendo Wii)

Sonic Colors - Nintendo Wii
Sonic Colors - Nintendo Wii by Sega Of America, Inc. (Nintendo Wii)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.