Customer Reviews


90 Reviews
5 star:
 (54)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kart racing at it's finest.
Story / Level Design:
The racers and stages are all from the Sega universe, not just Sonic's world. It's not an evenly weighted ratio with more Sonic levels available than others. It makes sense since the typical gamer is only really familiar with the blue needle mouse.

The tracks are brilliant. The stage designs feel like F-Zero / Wipeout meshed with a...
Published on February 23, 2010 by Andrew Carvajal

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit more than Half a Mario Kart of Fun
Deserves 3 1/2 stars but I can't choose this.

I've played a few versions of Mario Kart, and always had a lot of fun with the variety of tracks, the interesting graphics, and the balance between having to be skilled to win but still welcoming to the new comer. This seems like an attempt to duplicate this, and it was done fairly well.

The first evening...
Published 21 months ago by R Reader


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kart racing at it's finest., February 23, 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Sonic & Sega All-Stars Racing (Video Game)
Story / Level Design:
The racers and stages are all from the Sega universe, not just Sonic's world. It's not an evenly weighted ratio with more Sonic levels available than others. It makes sense since the typical gamer is only really familiar with the blue needle mouse.

The tracks are brilliant. The stage designs feel like F-Zero / Wipeout meshed with a high definition coloring book wrapped in familiar surroundings.

Controls:
The 360's controls are sharp and responsive. The button layout isn't in any way cumbersome or complicated to master.

RT = gas
LT = drift
A = weapon drop

Drift through corners to build boost. When airborne, LT again to do tricks.

Gameplay:
The game engine isn't something completely revolutionary ... it's an updated Mario Kart. Much like the plumber's clones (Crash Team Racing, Diddy Kong Racing, NASCAR Kart Racing, etc), there are power-ups (missiles, stationary bombs, screen distorters), track shortcuts, and ground boosts / obstacles.

Where this game differs from the past is in something completely unheard of ... fairness. When in the lead, you're given the opportunity to really drill the competition. NO flood of blue shells during lap 3. There are no triple heat seeking red shell combos. There is no CPU assault of power-ups to lessen your lead. No matter when in first or last, you have the same opportunity to play.

Final thoughts:
As of today, this game is the undisputed king of racing games. The graphics, gameplay, and overall presentation is spectacular. I tried to not make so many comparisons to Mario Kart Wii, but it's hard not to. This game smokes Nintendo's offering. This game is what people want, a kart racer that feels familiar but is presented in 2010 gaming standards.

Again, this review is for the 360 version. I'm sure the Wii will try to incorporate some goofy Wiimote motion controls with washed out graphics, so don't apply these comments to that version.

With the PS3's exclusive ModNation Racers due sometime this year, Sega's Kart offering might not stay king for long, but it's definitely worth a play. If you enjoy Mario Kart Wii, this is a must play. If you hated Mario Kart Wii because of its flaws, Sonic Racing feels redeeming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally! A Sonic game that's actually good and it's racing to boot!, March 12, 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Sonic & Sega All-Stars Racing (Video Game)
If you keep up on video games at all, the words: "Sonic all star racing" immediately strike dread, fear, sadness, frustration, or disappointment in your heart. How many Sonic games have promised to bring the blu blur back to his former glory but failed utterly? Racing games in particularly have been hard for Sonic to nail (ironic,isn't it?) with the last two "Sonic Riders" being tolerable but still providing enough frustration and disappointment to be worthwhile entries in the Sonic Hall of Infamy.
Apparently, Sonic needs some outside help.
Enter Sonic All star racing. Arguably the best kart-racer since Mario Kart Double Dash.
-Smooth, precise, controls? Check
-Plenty of variety ins racers? Check (with the exception of Big)
-awesomely cool, zany race tracks? Check (almost too much so)
-crazy cool unique catch up moves? check
-local four player mode? check
-Easy to learn? check
-plenty of depth for masters? check
-no insane requirements for unlockables? check
-sweet soundtrack? check
-cool, useful items? check
-FAIR, EVEN, distribution of said items? Check and check

This game may merely be a mario kart clone, but honestly, what kart racer isn't? What matters is that this clone is nearly as good as the original with nearly no dis-functioning parts. There are some minor flaws: racers occasionally fall through the track. Big the Cat. Sonic still needs a vehicle to race.(maybe he's handicapping himself?)

All in all, if you want a great racing game to play with your kids (or your parents) you can't go wrong with Sonic All Star Racing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love Mario Kart Wii...but Sonic Is Even Better! Here's Why:, February 28, 2010
By 
M. Williams (Oklahoma City, OK USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Sonic & Sega All-Stars Racing (Video Game)
Since we got the Wii a year ago, we had Mario Kart from day one and love it! It was probably the premier karting game, so it is nearly impossible to describe this game without comparing the two. I also have not tried the Wii version of the game, but considered buying it.

We got an Xbox for Christmas and the trailer for Sonic & SEGA Racing looked pretty fun, but I was torn over getting it for the Wii or Xbox, so I downloaded the demo on Xbox Live and tried it out. My kids loved it, so I decided to get the game for Xbox so that we can race in Hi-Def and play against friends over Xbox Live as well.

First of all, the real game is WAY better than the demo! SEGA could have sold more with a better demo, in my opinion. Why is it more fun than Mario Kart Wii? Well, I think the racing action is a little easier on the Xbox controller than the Wii-mote. Additionally, each character has their own unique abilities and "All Star" moves, which are hilarious for some of the characters, such as AIAI the monkey! The Bonanza Bros. also perform silly antics throughout each race, which made for lots of laughter from everyone in our house. :-D Some characters are clearly better than others, which is a shift from the "one size fits all" or "win with anyone" gameplay in Mario Kart.

One of the best differences is how you earn new tracks and racers. As you race, you earn "SEGA miles" points, and I believe you earn more points per race if you have more players in multi-play. With the SEGA miles, you purchase new tracks or racers. This is a HUGE improvement over Mario Kart, where you had to unlock everything in single-player mode to be able to race with them in multi-player mode! That process took hours for one player, and if the license got accidentally erased by a kid, those hours were lost forever. With SEGA miles, everyone can keep racing and you have the freedom to choose new tracks and characters as you wish!

You can also choose the number of laps per race, rather than the standard 3. My 10-year-old said that more laps = more SEGA miles. Another fun thing is that being in 1st place on the last lap does NOT put a bullseye on you, with the unrelenting barrage of "blue shells" (missiles, bombs, boxing gloves in Sonic) like in Mario Kart.

Pros:
- Unique characters with their own special All Star moves and fun vehicles
- Ability to "unlock" new characters and tracks in multi-player mode
- Some characters are very silly and/or have silly antics which boosts the fun factor of the game :-)
- Improved steering control while drifting (over Mario Kart) = longer drifts and bigger speed boosts
- Items on the track are dispersed evenly--no last lap onslaught against 1st place = fair racing throughout
- Xbox version is Hi-Def with the ability to race friends on Xbox Live or as your avatar

Cons:
- Some tracks have a really bright racing surface, which kind of hurts to look at sometimes
- Some "haunted" tracks such as Curien Mansion, Deadly Route, have zombies walking around (nothing gross or gruesome, just creepy), which bothered my younger racers; this can easily be avoided by not racing those tracks
- When you cross the finish line, you don't know what place you got until everyone finishes and it shows the final results
- No track maps while racing, just a timeline in the center of the split-screen which shows your position relative to the whole race and other racers

All in all, very fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shazam, August 22, 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sonic & Sega All-Stars Racing (Video Game)
Awesome woooooooo!!!! I really love playing this game and so does my wife. Big fans of Mario Kart, we decided to give this a try. We're in love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars serious Mario Kart contender, November 23, 2010
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sonic & Sega All-Stars Racing (Video Game)
I had my reservations about this game when I first got it, but from the reviews and opinions of others, I decided to give it a try, and I'm glad I did. This game is amazing, I think that it is actually more fun then Mario Kart. If you've played through MK, then you can notice that the feeling of speed (going fast) gets lost and it just seems liek you are going really slow, but with this game, i felt the speed throughout the game. The missions are a great place to start because it helps to teach you the basics and slowly build you up in difficult and skill. Playing others is also fun, be it online or in person. The roster of playable characters is pretty big, and the amount of tracks is decent. you should totally try this game if you have gotten bored of other kart racers, you won't be sorry
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great game for Mario Kart lovers!, June 14, 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sonic & Sega All-Stars Racing (Video Game)
My husband wasn't a big videogamer until I got him hooked on Mario Kart a few months ago. Then he began wondering if there were any similar games out there he could play, that involved cartoony characters and neat, varied courses with big jumps.

After searching high and low (and trying some pretty lame games) I finally bought Sonic & Sega All-Stars Racing and it is a blast!! The thing he likes most about it, besides the fun of the racing, is the fact that you don't have to win cups to unlock characters and other courses. You rack up what are called Sega Miles, and you get those by playing anything, even time trials. You buy new courses, characters, and music with the Sega Miles.

There are several modes of play. There are the standard cup races, of course, and then there are time trials. There is also a single-race option, where you only race one race, and if you win you get a ton of miles. Also, there is a challenge mode where you have different goals to accomplish to move on to the next challenge. And there are multiplayer options as well but since we only have one controller I haven't tested those out.

The characters are fun, the vehicles very different and neat, and the courses are a blast. It is easy to steer and use the power-ups, and the music is peppy. My husband still prefers Mario Kart, but he ranks this game a very close second. Highly recommended!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Kart Racer Yet, May 31, 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Sonic & Sega All-Stars Racing (Video Game)
When I first saw Sonic and Sega All Star Racing I was excited and skeptical. Excited to finally having a cart racer on the 360, but skeptical about the Sonic and Sega in the title.Over the last few years Sega has turned out some less then admirable games featuring their iconic star. Fortunately for me and many others it seems like they took their heads out of their asses and put out a very good cart racer.

Presentation

Sonic and Sega All Stars Racing doesn't shy away from Mario Kart instead it took what Mario Kart does well and built on that formula. Even the power ups one gets as they race around the track have direct similarities to Mario Kart. The red homing shell is replaced by red homing rockets, the green shells are green boxing gloves even the mushroom speed bursts are replaced by Sonic shoes.

The player is also given a great deal of variety with 20 playable racers and 24 tracks (21 and 25 with the new DLC). Besides the variety of players and tracks there are multiple game modes. In single player you have the typical Grand Prix in which the racer enters into the racing circuit winning a series of races to complete the cups. There is mission mode where the player must complete challenges or specific tasks: one example is drifting as much as possible around a track in a minute's time. Earning an "A" Rating or higher will unlock the next mission. They are great fun when you are not up to entering into a full race.

The multiplayer is a joy and also disappoints. There are a plethora of options and game modes to choose from in the multiplayer. You have racing which includes 4 person split screen and competing over live. There are also several battle modes: Regular "death match" battle mode where you compete against your opponent and try to knock them out using the games power ups and then there are King of the Hill, Diamond Grab, and a twist on the racing called knockout. I found all of the modes enjoyable, but the one issue I have with the Arena is the lack of maps. While the racing boasts 24 tracks the battle mode only has three, I assume that more will be released in the form of DLC.

Game Play

What makes the game great and a hell of a lot of fun to play is the game play itself. The controls are very tight and responsive which allows for anyone to easily pick up and play. In fact my four year old has no problem playing and winning races. The tracks are superior to any in the cart racer genre. They are well design and are different enough to make you feel like you are playing twenty four different tracks.

What really separates Sonic and Sega All Star Racing is the all-star moves. When a player falls behind they have a chance to pick up an all star in one of the item boxes which gives the player super speed and the ability to knockout any player in their way. Banjo and Kazooie whip out Mungo's wrench and begin to have "jiggys" fall from the sky. It a great part of the game and keeps the player who falls behind in the race. What the game doesn't have is the hail storm of blue turtle shells the leaders normally get in Mario Kart. If you get the lead you still have to play defensive, but you don't have to worry about a player in 6th place knocking you out to allow the player trailing you to take the lead.

Intangibles

While most racers/Cart games require a player to win certain races and cups in order to unlock the extra characters and tracks Sonic's racing game take a different approach. Every race, mission, and battle game gives the player "Sega Miles" which can be redeemed as cash to "buy" the characters and tracks in any order you chose. So if there is a certain track you want to race right away...just earn enough "Sega Miles" and it will be yours. What I did find interesting was for 400 Microsoft points you could unlock all the characters and tracks right off the bat. A great feature for some, but I preferred "earning" my unlockables.

Final Verdict

Buy...this game is loads of fun especially any variation of the multiplayer. There is enough variety and great controls to keep you coming back for more. For me nothing was more fun then trailing behind as Big Cat getting the All Star and hopping my way to the lead only to be overtaken by Beat. For cart racers who don't have a Wii you will not find a better game version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit more than Half a Mario Kart of Fun, September 24, 2012
By 
R Reader (All Over USA) - See all my reviews
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sonic & Sega All-Stars Racing (Video Game)
Deserves 3 1/2 stars but I can't choose this.

I've played a few versions of Mario Kart, and always had a lot of fun with the variety of tracks, the interesting graphics, and the balance between having to be skilled to win but still welcoming to the new comer. This seems like an attempt to duplicate this, and it was done fairly well.

The first evening I played this I thought I had found a new Mario Kart, but after another night of playing, I began to see some repetition in the tracks, a tiny bit less ability to control the Kart, fewer available tracks to choose from, and graphics that aren't quite up to par with Mario kart. It is fun, and I recommend it for people that want an XBOX equivalent of Mario Kart, but just know that it isn't quite equal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well, its definitely not MarioKart, September 23, 2012
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sonic & Sega All-Stars Racing (Video Game)
First off, I bought this game to attempt and replace MarioKart for the Wii on my Xbox after my Wii finally bit the dust. This was for my 5 year old son, mostly, but I like to take a spin around the track myself.

While I very much like the game, it just doesnt seem nearly as polished as MarioKart. The menus are too complicated, the way the cars move just doesnt feel quite right, and there is no satisfying event when you hit an opposing racers with a weapon (ie they just blink while slowing down....maybe they will do a quick flip, but no real impact). I love the tracks for the most part, but there just doesnt seem to be any 'simple' tracks for young kids getting the hang of it.

Dont get me wrong, I very much like this game, its just not to the same level as MarioKart yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun For People of All Ages, April 20, 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sonic & Sega All-Stars Racing (Video Game)
This game is fun for everyone in my family and a good group activity. Its easy enough that even children or older less talented gamers will be able to play and enjoy it. The graphics are beautiful. The tracks range from easy to advanced. The content is vast and easily unlockable for people of all skill levels. You earn points by racing and then spend those on tracks and characters. Its great because you get to choose the order you unlock things in and can get the stuff you really want first. Many different characters to play as. Very fun "all star" special ability that is different for each character and really helps you out if you suck haha.

If you like CTR or Mario Cart you will love this.

Very fun racing game. Highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Sonic & Sega All-Stars Racing
Sonic & Sega All-Stars Racing by Sega Of America, Inc. (Xbox 360)
$29.99 $18.30
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.