Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The REAL Sonic 4!!!
I love Episode 1 and all, but as much as I enjoy playing it, it's easy to see why others bashed it. It was a good Sonic game, but we were expecting a Sonic 4. And since the game was composed nearly entirely of rehashed materials of Sonics 1 & 2 (It may as well be called Sonic Pocket Adventure 2), it did not deliver the experience a sequel should.

What's...
Published on May 15, 2012 by Ryan Sil. (Gamer & PC/Android ...

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A Step Up from Episode 1
It's clear that Dimps (developer of Sonic 4) simply have lost the understanding of what made the original Genesis classics (and even their more recent forays onto handhelds such as the Advance Series and Pocket Adventure) so fun to play: fun, tightly-controlled momentum-based platforming. While Episode 2 is definitely a much, much better experience than the broken and...
Published 20 months ago by Garrett


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The REAL Sonic 4!!!, May 15, 2012
This review is from: Sonic The Hedgehog 4 Episode 2 [Download] (Software Download)
I love Episode 1 and all, but as much as I enjoy playing it, it's easy to see why others bashed it. It was a good Sonic game, but we were expecting a Sonic 4. And since the game was composed nearly entirely of rehashed materials of Sonics 1 & 2 (It may as well be called Sonic Pocket Adventure 2), it did not deliver the experience a sequel should.

What's important about Episode 2 is that it IS that Sonic 4 we've been waiting for! It's complete with all-new zones, Tails, catchy music (Catchier than Episode 1, too), and even more elements that made the Genesis Sonics so great (It has momentum, people!).

As with the gameplay itself, it's pure 2D Sonic platforming action remastered, and boy has it held up pretty well! Everything has that exciting feel from the original Genesis games. The graphics are beyond-awesome (Check out them backgrounds!), the music is catchy as heck, and the game as a whole is just flowing with excellence! 4 zones (Not counting Death Egg Mk. II Zone) may sound like this would be a short game, but the levels themselves last for 2 to 4 minutes (Sonic 3 and Knuckles did this as well)! I timed myself once, and the game lasted 1 hour and 35 minutes, which is just as long, if not slightly longer, than a Genesis Sonic title. And that's without collecting the Chaos Emeralds, via Special Stages, and Red Rings scattered around in levels. Both of those elements make for some nice replayability.

And of course, we have Tails. How does Sonic's sidekick help enhance the gameplay? Well, if you have played Sonic 3, you would know that he could fly, and even helped lift Sonic out of danger. This game has that feature, but now you can also have him hold onto Sonic as you control him swimming underwater! This is a MUST for me, because I really don't enjoy playing water levels so much. It's not as cheap as you may think it is, because you still have to worry about the surrounding enemies and Sonic's amount of air. And of course, we have the cool-lookin' Rolling Combo attack (Think Sonic's Spin Dash x 2).

The story is being followed amazingly here. In Episode 1, we can't focus on that so much since we're seeing Sonic go through suspiciously familiar environments as he did before. Here, BOOSH! Metal Sonic comes into the action, after being revived by Eggm-er... Robotnik, except he's more badass than ever! Metal Sonic doesn't mess around. In Sonic CD, he's just introduced and you have to instantly race him (He kidnapped Amy, too, but...you know what I'm trying to say. He didn't play a BIG role). And let's not forget Robotnik, who has went on to create HUGE machines used for boss fights! Speaking of which, unlike Episode 1, this game manages to actually be challenging! I usually beat Episode 1 in a walk. Meanwhile, there's actually some difficulty here! You may get a couple Game Overs during a first try at the game.

Although this is one heck of a Sonic game (especially as a Sonic 4), there's still a few minor things I'll have to mention. For example, I think the boss fights could last a little shorter (1 or 1 1/2 minutes) rather than 3 minutes, and I still think the price tag is a bit steep for a classic Sonic game (Hey. It deserves being in that category in my book).

But overall, this is it. This is Sonic 4! And it definitely proves itself worthy of the name. If you are on the fence for a Sonic game, you should go get this game, even if you don't own the classic Sonic games already. If you are wondering to buy either Episode 1 or 2, WHY THINK ABOUT IT? Skip Episode 1 and go straight to here (Although owning both results in allowing you to download "Episode Metal", letting you play as Metal Sonic through enhanced levels)! But before downloading, BE SURE TO HAVE STEAM INSTALLED. That program/service is required for this great game.

UPDATE: I've recently gotten ahold of Sonic 4: Episode Metal. Really, it's Metal Sonic traveling through 4 levels, with each based off of the 4 zones of Episode 1. The only real problem I found is that Mad Gear Zone has a few pretty cheap areas that'll cost you some lives. Other than that, it plays just fine, and it's a nice way to kill 15 minutes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sonic Rush, May 21, 2012
This review is from: Sonic The Hedgehog 4 Episode 2 [Download] (Software Download)
It has been 20 years since Sonic The Hedgehog has been with a loveable sidekick, and that is definitely the joy of the simple and adorable Tails. Since his debut in Sonic The Hedgehog 20 on the old Sega Genesis back in 1992, he has been just as much a joy to watch. But it has been awhile since Sonic The Hedgehog has shown a drive from his classic 2-D Genesis days. Gamers have seen that last year with Sonic The Hedgehog 4: Episode 1. That game was more like a throwback to the original Sonic The Hedgehog, but it didn't drive as much in gameplay as the older games showed from the 90's. Now that Sega has decided to give it another go again, they have a lot more to offer overall with the new Sonic The Hedgehog 4: Episode 2. But is it worth the money in challenge. For die-hard gamers it is a yes, and for what made Sonic so popular in the first place for new ones, that could be a no.

Sonic The Hedgehog 4: Episode 2, for download is actually a step back into the old direction that many gamers have loved about Sonic The Hedgehog 2 and 3 very well from the classic Sega Genesis days. The gameplay handles better as Sonic & Tails team up again to fight against Dr. Robotnik, and his plot to take over the universe, and stop Sonic at all costs. The graphics stand well just like Sonic 4: Episode did, but it has a bit more in the gameplay that is nostalgic, from the levels and bosses, all the way to the special stages for those chaos emeralds. The stages take it up a notch, while paying homage to Sonic 2 in its half-pipe speed stages. But the control handles better in the game, as you try and defeat menacing bosses, including the return of the vulgar Metal Sonic from Sonic CD, and a nasty boss fight with Dr. Robotnik in the Death Egg Zone, where a brawl awaits beyond control.

All in all, this is what the first Sonic The Hedgehog 4 should've been made in the first place. Overall, there was much more that gamers have awaited, but should've been made sooner to continue celebrating Sonic's 20th anniversary. But it was made up for Tails celebration instead. If you have download Sonic The Hedgehog 4: Episode 1, and was dissapointed by it, than you'll definitely find the challenge here.

Graphics: B

Sound: B-

Control: B

Fun & Enjoyment: B 1/2+

Overall: B
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Serious review this time, May 16, 2012
This review is from: Sonic The Hedgehog 4 Episode 2 [Download] (Software Download)
While short, the games is satisfying and greatly improves what SEGA had going with episode one, but it's still definitely not my favorite. I definitely liked how they changed the physics-- the way that you control sonic just feels so much better. The levels were more creative, so it felt more like a sequel than a tribute this time around. I also have to complement them on the new graphics engine. The lighting and water effects are gorgeous, though I must wonder why they didn't just go with DirectX 11 after finally jumping up from 9. The character models were particularly impressive in their animation. I took loads of screenshots, and in each one, Sonic and Tails had expressions on their faces to reflect their surroundings. I can't remember seeing that since Wind Waker. All-in-all, it's a great game, but I'd recommend waiting for a sale to buy it; $15 is a bit much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sonic, February 10, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sonic The Hedgehog 4 Episode 2 [Download] (Software Download)
We had a sega game system some years ago & don't have it anymore. I loved & missed sonic the hedgehog. I am very pleased to find a downloadable pc version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great Sonic game that looks amazing, December 25, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sonic The Hedgehog 4 Episode 2 [Download] (Software Download)
Sonic 4 Episode 2 is a vast improvement over the first game. The physics now play as a modern side-scrolling Sonic game should. Tails is a great addition, though only being able to play as him alone in multiplayer makes the "I Love Tails" achievement rather annoying to achieve. The boss fights are new (the first boss also pays homage to the Aquatic Run (sonic 2) boss), and the level design is much better, but there is some deliberate re-making involved (ie. Sky Fortress). After my computer failed to run Generations, it was nice to play this with full specs, the game looks great! The only thing stopping this from being 5 stars is that it is not the total experience that Sonic 4 should have been, but it is still a great Sonic game. In my opinion, it could have used elemental shields and Knuckles, and then it would be a true sequel, rather than a nostalgic kick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sonic The Hedgehog 4 Episode 2 review, February 8, 2014
By 
Tyrel "Brandon" (Virginia, VA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sonic The Hedgehog 4 Episode 2 [Download] (Software Download)
great graphics episode 2 includes tails and tails helps sonic along the way of their new adventure very fun and nice sega game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A Step Up from Episode 1, March 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sonic The Hedgehog 4 Episode 2 [Download] (Software Download)
It's clear that Dimps (developer of Sonic 4) simply have lost the understanding of what made the original Genesis classics (and even their more recent forays onto handhelds such as the Advance Series and Pocket Adventure) so fun to play: fun, tightly-controlled momentum-based platforming. While Episode 2 is definitely a much, much better experience than the broken and unimpressive episode 1, it still has its share of problems. While momentum has been improved, it's still not perfect; hills do not get you going as fast as it ought, and linear levels still feel like a huge step backward from the bar-setting Sonic 3 & Knuckles. Speed boosters still abound, taking away much of the skill needed to go fast, and mandatory use of team moves causes the game to feel like a slog.

Still, it has its fun moments, and while it doesn't compare to previous games in the series, or even do anything to make it stand with its own identity, it can still be considered solid. Be warned, however, the last two zones see an immense spike in difficulty that will drive you crazy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sonic the way I remember, February 16, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sonic The Hedgehog 4 Episode 2 [Download] (Software Download)
And great update to the original formula. Great co-op experience too. Fun yet simple enough to play coop with my girlfriend. Nostalgia at it's modern best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sonic boom!, January 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sonic The Hedgehog 4 Episode 2 [Download] (Software Download)
Great game guys . Kinda short but i bought it on cyber Monday for 3.50 so no complaints! A great throwback!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Well... It's not AS bad., January 10, 2013
By 
Jacob Davis (Alexandria, VA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sonic The Hedgehog 4 Episode 2 [Download] (Software Download)
I purchased the first STH4 here on Amazon a while back. I installed it, played approximately 10 minutes of it, then uninstalled the game, and asked for a refund. Amazon obliged me, and I never touched it again. I grabbed this one when it went on sale, and played a bit. It's honestly bearable, not great, but it's worth playing if you can grab it on sale, and if you like the classic Sonic titles. It has some interesting gameplay mechanics, and I plan to play more of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.