Customer Reviews


113 Reviews
5 star:
 (77)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


207 of 213 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent lens, apparently a cosmetically re-labelled Konica Minolta 75-300 (D) Zoom lens
According to a photo magazine, this is a cosmetically re-labelled Konica Minolta 75-300 (D) zoom telephoto, which is a lens that I own (it certainly looks exactly the same as the KM 75-300 lens, but with the 'Sony' name). In which case, I have the following review:
(1) Excellent construction quality, this is a very nicely made lens, excellent finish, not too...
Published on August 21, 2006 by Reviewer

versus
95 of 106 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Solid performer
This repackaging of the Konica-Minolta 75-300 is a solid performer, at a reasonably good price. If you like to stay with the camera manufacturer's own products, then you'll not be disappointed. Packaging includes the front & rear caps; lens shade & 1 year warranty.

Keeping in mind that the KM lenses came out well before any digital SLRs from that brand, you...
Published on July 26, 2006 by Hiram Grant


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

207 of 213 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent lens, apparently a cosmetically re-labelled Konica Minolta 75-300 (D) Zoom lens, August 21, 2006
By 
Reviewer (Brooklyn, NY) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sony 75-300mm f/4.5-5.6 Compact Super Telephoto Zoom Lens for Sony Alpha Digital SLR Camera (Electronics)
According to a photo magazine, this is a cosmetically re-labelled Konica Minolta 75-300 (D) zoom telephoto, which is a lens that I own (it certainly looks exactly the same as the KM 75-300 lens, but with the 'Sony' name). In which case, I have the following review:
(1) Excellent construction quality, this is a very nicely made lens, excellent finish, not too heavy but solid and without the 'plastic' feel of many medium-priced lenses;
(2) Excellent optical quality, with good sharpness even at the longest 300mm focal length where most zooms begin to show poor quality;
(3) VERY UNUSUAL: near-zero distortion throughout the entire range of focal lengths (very different from some Sigma zooms that I own, which have conspicuously visible pincushion distortion). This may well be the lowest-distortion 75-300 telephoto from any maker.
(4) ONE CAVEAT: AUTOFOCUS IN LOW LIGHT: on my Minolta Maxxum 7 film camera, whose autofocus system is apparently quite similar to the Sony Alpha 100, the camera has difficulty autofocussing the 75-300 lens at the 300 mm setting (where the aperture is only f/5.6) in light weaker than direct sunlight. This is probably the same with any f/5.6 or slower lens. I have found myself switching to manual focus at the 300 mm setting if the subject is not brightly lit.

NOTE: the Konica Minolta 75-300 (D) lens is still available, for about $140, and reportedly will work with Sony Alpha cameras just as well as the similar lens labelled Sony.

UPDATE, January 2013: the new Sony SLT-A37, SLT-A57, SLT-A65, SLT-A77 cameras have firmware called `Lens Compensation' which corrects several lens aberrations for certain specific lenses. The aberrations corrected are: Chromatic Aberration (color fringing), Corner Shading (vignetting), and distortion. The Sony 75-300mm (D) lens was designed by Minolta before low-dispersion (ELD) glasses were widely used, and would benefit from Lens Compensation for color fringing.
Unfortunately, Sony's `Lens Compensation' firmware does not cover the 75-300mm (D) lens as of January 2013. To see the list of Sony lenses covered by Lens Compensation, go to Sony's `eSupport' page, choose `Alpha NEX and DSLR Cameras' and enter `Lens Compensation' in the search box at the top. Lens Compensation is programmed for 22 Sony lenses as of January 2013, and for 31 Sony lenses as of August 2013.
The 75-300mm (D) lens is by far the most popular Sony lens on Amazon. Sony recently introduced a new 55-300mm lens, but far more people currently own the 75-300 (D) lens. If Sony cares about its customers, Sony should update Lens Compensation firmware to cover the 75-300 (D) lens. Owners of Sony SLT-A37, SLT-A57, SLT-A65, SLT-A77 cameras may want to contact Sony to urge them to provide Lens Compensation for the 75-300 (D) lens.

UPDATE, June 2013: Sony now makes a newer and more modern lens, the Sony 55-300mm F/4.5-5.6 DT Zoom Lens for Sony Alpha Digital SLR Cameras for APS-C (not full-frame) DSLR cameras, which include all Sony DSLRs other than the new full-frame SLT-A99 and the earlier A900 and A850 DSLRs. It will not fit the newest Sony A7r and A7 cameras.To compare the optical performance of the Sony 55-300mm lens with the Sony 75-300 mm lens, see: kurtmunger.com, LENS REVIEWS, where one can find tests of both lenses.

The Lens Compensation firmware (see above) on the SLT-A37, SLT-A57, SLT-A65, SLT-A77 cameras also covers the Sony 55-300 mm lens. The 55-300 mm lens offers better optical performance for APS-C cameras.

For full-frame cameras such as the Sony Alpha SLT-A99V Full-Frame 24.3 MP SLR Digital Camera with 3-Inch LED - Body Only (Black) in addition to the Sony 75-300 mm lens, Sony also offers a considerably more expensive Sony SAL70300G 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6 SSM ED G-Series Compact Super Telephoto Zoom Lens with superior optical performance. The Tamron AF 70-300mm f/4.0-5.6 SP Di USD XLD for Sony Digital SLR Cameras offers similar superior optical performance, at a lower price. Both of these lenses can be used on all Sony DSLRs, both full-frame and APS-C. The Sony and Tamron 70-300 mm lenses are twice as heavy as the Sony 75-300 mm lens.

UPDATE, December 2013: the newest Sony a7 Full-Frame 24.3 MP Interchangeable Digital Lens Camera - Body Only and Sony a7R Full-Frame 36.3 MP Interchangeable Digital Lens Camera - Body Only full-frame cameras have a different lens mount (E-mount), but the Sony and Tamron full-frame A-mount lenses in the paragraph above can be mounted on them using the Sony LAEA4 Tripod Camera Mounts adapter, which also allows autofocussing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


73 of 75 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What A Bargain!, June 24, 2008
By 
This review is from: Sony 75-300mm f/4.5-5.6 Compact Super Telephoto Zoom Lens for Sony Alpha Digital SLR Camera (Electronics)
Prequel: I am coming from a strict Nikon background and due to having my $4000 kit(D80, 3 VR, 3 2.8 pro lenses, etc) stolen out of my car, am starting all over again. That being said, I don't have $4000 to plop down at once, so I decided to get an "entry to mid-level" system and after many internal battles, decided to try something different and go with the Alpha system. My thoughts were if things didn't work out with this setup, I haven't spent that much and could use it for a carry-around camera. So far I see absolutely NO reason to go back to Nikon. Yes, this system is THAT good.

Sony 75-200mm f/4.5-5.6 Lens: Wow. I sincerely cannot BELIEVE this lens is only $229! As many reviews point out, this lens has virtually ZERO distortion from 75mm all the way up to 300mm and purple fringing(CA) is contained nicely. Needless to say, for a lens at this price point to preform this well is unheard of. This lens combined with the super quick AF of the a200 is a perfect marriage. I compared this to the super sharp Nikon 70-200mm f/2.8 VR, and although the Nikon is a bit sharper and performs better in low light, the IQ difference is surprisingly small. I can highly recommend this lens and the Sony Alpha system as a whole!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


105 of 111 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Lens But Takes Some Getting Used Too!, November 9, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sony 75-300mm f/4.5-5.6 Compact Super Telephoto Zoom Lens for Sony Alpha Digital SLR Camera (Electronics)
Recently, I moved from the SONY DSC 707 to the SONY A 100 DSLR. The change in cameras from the Cybershot to the DSLR took some getting used to. I purchased the SONY 75-300mm Telephoto lens from Amazon and as soon as it arrived I attached the lens and began to use it.

I am definitely pleased with the lens, the price and it's capabilities.

Having used a SLR for almost 30 years, moving to the DSLR takes some time and patience. The SONY A 100 is a solid perfomer, and it is my fourth SONY digital camera.

For the avid photographer, the SONY 75-300mm Telephoto lens is priced well and will provide exceptional performance. Once you attach the lens you will discover when in maximum telephoto mode, the lens is quite long. If you attach the lens shade it's even longer and takes some handling considerations in tight spaces.

The extreme focusing speeds of the A 100 are rapid and vary as it adjusts to the optimim focus. The lens in AUTO mode is in constant adjustment. This focus issue takes some getting used to. The lens balances quite nicely on th A 100. As with most photographers, you need to find the best hand positions on the camera body and lens so you can feel comfortable while you shoot. The lens is ultra depth of field sensitive.

Having had the lens on the camera now for a month, I am beginning to adjust to its "sometimes hyper adjustment activity"! I am in no way disappointed in the lens because the telephoto shots I have kept and recorded are first rate with the SONY A 100 and the SONY 75-300mm lens.

As with all new cameras, it takes time to become familiar with the camera settings and lens activity. I highly recommend the lens with an awarness of it's sensitivity and length. After hours of shooting I am pleased with the lens, and SONY's attention to detail in both lens construction and performance. If you own a SONY A 100 DSLR, or plan to invest in the SONY DSLR system, this lens will not let you down. You will review your photos and be pleased with the results the SONY lens provides you.

I intend to invest in other SONY lens in the future. As for now, the two SONY lenses fulfill my photographic needs quite nicely. SONY has entered the DSLR market with an outstanding camera and quality accessories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


95 of 106 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Solid performer, July 26, 2006
This review is from: Sony 75-300mm f/4.5-5.6 Compact Super Telephoto Zoom Lens for Sony Alpha Digital SLR Camera (Electronics)
This repackaging of the Konica-Minolta 75-300 is a solid performer, at a reasonably good price. If you like to stay with the camera manufacturer's own products, then you'll not be disappointed. Packaging includes the front & rear caps; lens shade & 1 year warranty.

Keeping in mind that the KM lenses came out well before any digital SLRs from that brand, you might want to check out the Tamron 70-300 LD Di zoom. It's a new optic that's "Digitally Integrated", has a 1:2 close-up mode, "Low Dispersion" glass, and a six year warranty.

Additionally, you might look around for one of the Konica-Minolta lenses at a discount.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good lens for a new photographer., March 27, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sony 75-300mm f/4.5-5.6 Compact Super Telephoto Zoom Lens for Sony Alpha Digital SLR Camera (Electronics)
I bought this together with the Sony Alpha (very good deal from Amazon). The lens is a great complement to the kit lens or the identical but older KM 18-70. Images are very sharp and the lens is built very well. Great for wildlife imaging. The other reviewers are right; the AF isn't too good at the long end of this lens but overall a great camera.

The end of the lens DOES ROTATE while zooming. It may not be good for some filters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Zoom Performance, November 10, 2007
This review is from: Sony 75-300mm f/4.5-5.6 Compact Super Telephoto Zoom Lens for Sony Alpha Digital SLR Camera (Electronics)
I bought this item to replace an old "beer can" 7 to 200 Minolta Zoom that I was using for my Sony Alpha. I was leaving on a trip to India where I wanted the have the capability of getting close-in on individual images with a lighter weight lens. And it was on sale!!!

The initial results are great. I was able to get real close to 3 Bengal Tigers on a game preserve that were at least 100 yards away. I got faces, and colors and exciting things that would not have been as good as as on my old Minolta Lens.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average lens for an average price, Good as a starter lens, June 19, 2008
By 
Loves Home Decorator (Avon, OH, United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sony 75-300mm f/4.5-5.6 Compact Super Telephoto Zoom Lens for Sony Alpha Digital SLR Camera (Electronics)
Nice starter lens to get long ranges but does not perform well in lower light, as it was not designed to. I got this with the ALpha 200 kit for an extra $100 and it was worth that for sure, but if you are spending $200 or more, I would go with a walkaround lens 28mm to 300mm, you'll use it more and can usually find something decent for around $300.

If you are getting as an add on and are on a budget, this is a great lens and will fit lots of situations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific lens, June 11, 2008
This review is from: Sony 75-300mm f/4.5-5.6 Compact Super Telephoto Zoom Lens for Sony Alpha Digital SLR Camera (Electronics)
I have the identical Konica Minolta version of this lens. It is a very nice lens and since it is fairly small and light and not too expensive, perfect for travel if you need a tele zoom. Uses common less expensive 55mm filter size.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This lens is worth every dollar, April 5, 2008
By 
This review is from: Sony 75-300mm f/4.5-5.6 Compact Super Telephoto Zoom Lens for Sony Alpha Digital SLR Camera (Electronics)
Dont let this lens fool you.yes, it's plastic on the outside and glass on the inside.But it is of very high quality optically for the price you will not be disappointed I spent more on the Canon 40D with the 28-135 kit lens with IS and even on the sharpest settings this camera the A200 and 75-300 F4.5-5.6 smokes it in image quality the 300 end is a little soft but if you stop it down to f8 it sharpens up ...Not as sharp as the 70-300G ssm but a good budget lens until you can afford the G LENS
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great lens, but slow AF in low light, April 11, 2008
This review is from: Sony 75-300mm f/4.5-5.6 Compact Super Telephoto Zoom Lens for Sony Alpha Digital SLR Camera (Electronics)
This is only telephoto lens I have, so I can't compare it to anything. The thing I noticed is that autofocus in low light is very slow (1-2 seconds, sometimes even more), and sometimes it doesn't even manage to get a focus. The good thing is that is has pretty large manual focusing ring, which is easy to use, much better (wider and much more to rotate) than on standard 18-70 that came with Sony camera kit.
In good lighting conditions it focuses almost as fast as 18-70.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.