Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Some day, probably sooner than you think, you'll wish you had these
Customer Video Review     Length:: 1:45 Mins
The Sony Anti Fog Sheet is pretty much a must have for your Action Cam. Changes in temperature and humidity can cause fog to form on your camera lens or inside the case of your action cam. Inserting one of these anti-fog pads can pretty much eliminate that from happening. Not having these could result in fog forming and ruining an important...
Published 11 months ago by M. Erb

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Necessary Evil
The item works fine, but the price is crazy and I haven’t really found a similar generic. Additionally, the camera is basically unusable without them, especially with humidity levels here in FL, so Sony should be ashamed to sell these without a few included in the actual camera’s original package. The camera gets very hot, very fast and about 5 minutes into...
Published 6 months ago by JK


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Some day, probably sooner than you think, you'll wish you had these, December 26, 2013
This review is from: Sony AKA-AF1 Action Cam Anti Fog Sheet (Silver) (Electronics)
Length:: 1:45 Mins

The Sony Anti Fog Sheet is pretty much a must have for your Action Cam. Changes in temperature and humidity can cause fog to form on your camera lens or inside the case of your action cam. Inserting one of these anti-fog pads can pretty much eliminate that from happening. Not having these could result in fog forming and ruining an important shot. You wouldn't want to shoot the rapids and then find out after the fact that your action cam was all fogged up and your video is basically ruined because of it.

It'd be nice if Sony had included an anti-fog pad with their action cam but GoPro doesn't do that either.

Save yourself some frustration and just get these. You'll be glad you did. Put one in your waterproof housing an hour or so before you go out. Let the pads air dry before you put them back in the pouch after use. With reasonable care they should last 200 or so times according to Sony, I've lost count and will just use them until they don't work any more.

Caveat: Don't rip open the foil pouch haphazardly... you'll want to open it carefully so you can store the pads in it when you're not using them.

I was provided a sample for review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sony Action Cam Anti Fog Sheets (AKA-AF1) Review, August 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sony AKA-AF1 Action Cam Anti Fog Sheet (Silver) (Electronics)
Product works as describes and eliminates fog buildup when using the sealed waterproof housing (Sony SPK-AS1 Waterproof Case for Action Cam). You'll start to see the lens get fogged up within 10-15 minutes without using the sheets so they really are a must have item.

Be sure to hold onto the Ziploc style bag that the sheets come in so that have a clean and obvious place to store the sheets when you're not using them.

My only complaint with these sheets isn't with the product but with Sony's decision not to include them with the Action Video Camera Sony HDR-AS15. The Anti Fog Sheets are more of a necessity to the camera for normal use than an accessory and really should have come in the box in the first place.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Works well in preventin internal misting, August 20, 2013
By 
Sony A77 Fan (Washington. USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sony AKA-AF1 Action Cam Anti Fog Sheet (Silver) (Electronics)
Used the Sony HDR AS15 initially without these and internal misting occurred frequently.

Installing these (both at once) 30 mins before use in the same environment prevented all misting thereafter.

Works well and as advertised.

Recommended for the Sony HDR AS10 or 15, and any other camera that suffers from misting when enclosed in a watertight container.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for all sealed housings, August 21, 2013
By 
John Freedman (Decatur, IL USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sony AKA-AF1 Action Cam Anti Fog Sheet (Silver) (Electronics)
The first time I used the camera was on a warm day, with no signs of rain, yet the camera fogged up. I had similar problems with Gopros, so now I ALWAYS put in anti fog inserts to all housings. It is a cheap way of keeping your sanity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Necessary Evil, May 25, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sony AKA-AF1 Action Cam Anti Fog Sheet (Silver) (Electronics)
The item works fine, but the price is crazy and I haven’t really found a similar generic. Additionally, the camera is basically unusable without them, especially with humidity levels here in FL, so Sony should be ashamed to sell these without a few included in the actual camera’s original package. The camera gets very hot, very fast and about 5 minutes into recording fogs up the waterproof housing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fog free video, April 14, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sony AKA-AF1 Action Cam Anti Fog Sheet (Silver) (Electronics)
Crystal-clear pictures. No more fogging. Worked perfectly with my HDR-AS100. Why doesn't Sony include these in the camera package? You need to have these! Works great, but 15 bucks is a bit steep for two of these little buggers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Work as expected but you may need to put 2 in, March 9, 2014
This review is from: Sony AKA-AF1 Action Cam Anti Fog Sheet (Silver) (Electronics)
We went to snowboarding and the Action Cam get fogged up pretty easily, within 15 minutes of ride. Bought this and we put a sheet inside the housing before I reach the ski resort. It keep the camera defogged for 1-2 hours. But then it get fogged up slightly (visible in videos recorded).

As it comes with 2 sheets, next time when we go snowboarding, we will put both sheets inside the housing for much better defog.

It says you can reuse it up to 200 times. After every use, we use a hairdryer to blow them inside the original Ziploc for few tens seconds.

p.s. the Ziploc bag was also carefully designed. When you tear it off for the first time, the torn off is always straight and clean. I think they embedded a small thread inside the bag to guide the tearing and keep it straight. Kudos to Sony.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just what I needed!, March 15, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sony AKA-AF1 Action Cam Anti Fog Sheet (Silver) (Electronics)
Riding the motorcycle on the Gulf Coast during the winter months it can start out a little chilly and rapidly warm up when the sun is out causing fogging in the waterproof case. The Anti Fog Sheet delivers!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really works to keep it from fogging up., February 17, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sony AKA-AF1 Action Cam Anti Fog Sheet (Silver) (Electronics)
I wasn't sure if it made a difference so I used it in the cold without these pads and it got fogged up. But ever since I started using them the camera in the waterproof case remains fog free.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sony actioncam still fogged up during scuba diving., August 9, 2014
By 
Simmer "itsme0209" (Philadelphia, PA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sony AKA-AF1 Action Cam Anti Fog Sheet (Silver) (Electronics)
These sheets did not seem to help the camera from fogging much during scuba diving in curacao (60ft).

It seemed to happen shortly after I dived after watching the videos.

It also happened on several dives I did throughout the week.

I tried moving the fog sheet in different locations in the case, even directly beneath the lens with no difference.

Every time I came up I seen the case steamed and foggy in my waterproof case.

I think I even used 2 sheets at one time before and it still didnt keep it from fully fogging.

I wont say it didnt help at all, but it definitely did not completely alleviate the issue.

I can really say I recommend these sheet specifically. I have yet to try another brand.

I will update if I do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.