Customer Reviews


197 Reviews
5 star:
 (110)
4 star:
 (42)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (15)
1 star:
 (18)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


406 of 423 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Investment for All Your Battery Needs
This set includes 4 AA cells Made in Japan for Sony by Sanyo, as well as a timed charger, NOT a smart charger as its similar looking Sony variants.
The Sony Power Charger can recharge 4 AAA or AA cells at a time. Unlike the Panasonic BQ-390 which I also used and reviewed, this Sony uses a timer to stop charging. The Panasonic BQ-390 has advanced circuitry inside to...
Published on July 4, 2004 by Jack Wang

versus
101 of 112 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great batteries
This was the best deal I found on rechargable NiHM batteries and that too these are made in Japan by Sony. It has a capacity of 2300mAh.

There is one problem with this. This charger does not automatically shut off when the batteries finish charging. So the first time I charged them, I kept waiting for the indicator to go off and I realized after 18 hrs that...
Published on January 21, 2005 by jimj


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

406 of 423 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Investment for All Your Battery Needs, July 4, 2004
By 
Jack Wang (Waterloo, Ontario) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sony BCG34HLD4EN Cycle Energy Power Charger with 4 2500 mAh AA Batteries (Discontinued by Manufacturer) (Electronics)
This set includes 4 AA cells Made in Japan for Sony by Sanyo, as well as a timed charger, NOT a smart charger as its similar looking Sony variants.
The Sony Power Charger can recharge 4 AAA or AA cells at a time. Unlike the Panasonic BQ-390 which I also used and reviewed, this Sony uses a timer to stop charging. The Panasonic BQ-390 has advanced circuitry inside to monitor charging through temperature, voltage drop, and the cell's internal resistance, so that you'll get more precise charging and less damage from overcharging of simpler chargers. Sony also offers a similarly advanced product, but this model is a cheaper timed model. It charges the 2100mAH cells for 8 hours straight, or 800 mAh AAA cells for 7 hours straight. If you charge a partially used cell, it will not detect when the cell reaches full charge, and might overcharge. It's best to charge a fully depleted cell with timed chargers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


128 of 143 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Timer Charger, July 19, 2004
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sony BCG34HLD4EN Cycle Energy Power Charger with 4 2500 mAh AA Batteries (Discontinued by Manufacturer) (Electronics)
This is a timed charger, but well matched to the supplied 2100mAh NiMH batteries. The manual recommends charging after a full discharge, so it may overcharge your partially depleted cell or an older cell with lower capacity. As long as you recharge a fully empty, ~2100mAh cell, it shall be fine.
The included cells, actually made by Sanyo-GE, are premium cells, and only surpassed by Sanyo's latest 2300mAh cells.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


101 of 112 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great batteries, January 21, 2005
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sony BCG34HLD4EN Cycle Energy Power Charger with 4 2500 mAh AA Batteries (Discontinued by Manufacturer) (Electronics)
This was the best deal I found on rechargable NiHM batteries and that too these are made in Japan by Sony. It has a capacity of 2300mAh.

There is one problem with this. This charger does not automatically shut off when the batteries finish charging. So the first time I charged them, I kept waiting for the indicator to go off and I realized after 18 hrs that they are not going to go off.

So, though the batteries are good the charger is not. I would suggest people to go with another sony rechargable model that sells here for just a few dollars more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Charger getting better, batteries same old same old, January 6, 2011
This review is from: Sony BCG34HLD4EN Cycle Energy Power Charger with 4 2500 mAh AA Batteries (Discontinued by Manufacturer) (Electronics)
SONY has updated this package ("Sony Cycle Energy Power Charger with 4 2500 mAh AA Batteries") recently. It now looks quite different from what was once shown on the Amazon product description page. For example, the old charger is silver in color, while the new charger is white. But beside colors, they looked almost identical, and even share the same model number (BCG34HLD). So is this really a new and improved model, or just a simple cosmetic update?

According to all the older Amazon spotlight reviews, the old model is a timer-based dumb charger. I'm happy to report that this is no longer the case. The new model is actually a 'smart' charger, meaning that it monitors each battery's voltage independently during charging, and stops when each cell is fully charged. In fact, it is very nicely designed for such a value-priced charger. Here are some things I like about this charger:

+ Charges 1-4 AA/AAA cells individually - no need to charge in pairs
+ Compact, one-piece design with fold-down AC plugs - no need for power cords or wall adapters.
+ Low-profile (just 1.1" thick) so it fits in camera bags easily.
+ Accepts 100-240V universal voltage.
+ Bad cell detection - indicator light flashes in case the resistance is too high (alkaline cell).

The average charging current is 360mA for each AA cell (actually 1.44A pulsed at 25% duty cycle), 140mA for AAA cell. That means it takes about 7-8 hours to fully recharge 2500mAh AA cells.

The included four SONY AA batteries, however, appear to be just the same old 2500mAh cells with a new shiny wrapper. This is very disappointing, because that means they will also suffer from rapid self-discharge problem after just a few cycles. So you always have to recharge those batteries the night before you need to use them (remember this is a slow charger). Keeping a set of batteries in the charger does not help, because this charger does not maintain a trickle charge after charging is done.

If you like this charger but don't want to take chances with those 2500mAh batteries, my recommendation is to get the "Sony Cycle Energy BCG34HLD4KN Power Charger with 4 Pre-Charged 2000 mAh AA Batteries" package instead. It contains the same BCG34HLD charger, but comes with four low-self-discharge cells similar to SANYO eneloop. It is even priced a few dollars lower as of this writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great batteries & Charger, June 25, 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Sony BCG34HLD4EN Cycle Energy Power Charger with 4 2500 mAh AA Batteries (Discontinued by Manufacturer) (Electronics)
These 2100mah Sony AA batteries and charger are the best I own. I have many different brands, Energizer, Kodak, Panasonic etc. and probably a 1/2 dozen chargers.
As some may or may not know batteries that are "trickle or slow" charged will last a good bit longer. This charger takes about 6-7 hours before the full indicator light goes off. On quick charger 15-60 min ones they still fair well but of course not as nearly as long as slow charges.
If you have a digital camera and are using disposable batteries this is a necessary cost saving purchase. So often in Camera reviews people complain "It eats batteries" It is best to have 2 to 3 extra sets and a set runs down - who cares! Throw them in the charger and switch sets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars perfect solution for the inexpensive Canon A520, March 20, 2006
This review is from: Sony BCG34HLD4EN Cycle Energy Power Charger with 4 2500 mAh AA Batteries (Discontinued by Manufacturer) (Electronics)
This kit is exactly what I needed to keep my wife from throwing her camera in the junk drawer for good. The camera's flash would burn through the alkalines at a rediculous rate, and these Ni-MH power through hundreds of shots with ease. I'm really impressed - especially at the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I love these batteries., June 29, 2004
By 
Marie (Virginia Beach, VA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sony BCG34HLD4EN Cycle Energy Power Charger with 4 2500 mAh AA Batteries (Discontinued by Manufacturer) (Electronics)
I have had the same batteries in my digital camera for over a week now. I have taken about 70 pictures, played around with my new digital camera, transferred images to my PC and the batteries are still going. I went through two regular AA batteries in a few hours before I got this. I would highly recommend this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 37 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Charging time, May 27, 2004
By 
Henry (westminster, ca United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sony BCG34HLD4EN Cycle Energy Power Charger with 4 2500 mAh AA Batteries (Discontinued by Manufacturer) (Electronics)
I bought this without knowing what the charging time was. I took a risk since it was at an affordable price and found out to my dismay that the charging time is as follows:
1-4 batteries:
2100mAh Approx 7 hours
1700mAh Approx 6 hours
800mAh Approx 7 hours
700mAh Approx 6 hours
I haven't used the product yet...I just got it today. I don't know. I might return it for the Kodak 1 hour charger one for the same price (18.99) but the deal is gone for this product, it's back to 19.99. Anyways...pretty fast shipping though =)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great product, August 2, 2005
By 
A. Steuer (Wisconsin, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sony BCG34HLD4EN Cycle Energy Power Charger with 4 2500 mAh AA Batteries (Discontinued by Manufacturer) (Electronics)
This is especially great for my digital camera, which uses it's batteries somewhat quickly. The worldwide voltage feature was a plus for me, but you'd think that they would also include worldwide socket adaptors and not just the two-pronged American?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't waste your money...., June 3, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sony BCG34HLD4EN Cycle Energy Power Charger with 4 2500 mAh AA Batteries (Discontinued by Manufacturer) (Electronics)
I'v tried several times to use these batteries & recharge - they just do not last as advertised. I also watch for the
light to turn off so they do not stay plugged in too long. I then remove the batteries from the charger & place in a
zip-lock bag with my camera & accessories.

The batteries will not hold a charge - maybe 2 to 3 hours without being used. Waste of time to charge to take with you. These batteries only last
long enough for maybe 4 or 5 pictures, then too low to be useable.

Being used in a new Sony CyberShot DCS-S2100.
Also, great return policy Amazon - another waste.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.