Customer Reviews


352 Reviews
5 star:
 (99)
4 star:
 (109)
3 star:
 (63)
2 star:
 (39)
1 star:
 (42)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


610 of 626 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great quality video but focus lags
I've had this camera for about a week now and have been loving it ever since. I've used another "flip" camcorder and the Bloggie Touch puts it to shame.

Pros:
1. Love the quick on and record. Great for spontaneous videos of the little one.
2. The touch screen interface makes it both useful and fun to use the big screen.
3. The still pictures come...
Published on November 5, 2010 by Zainul Charbiwala

versus
50 of 51 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 3 & 1/2 STARS: Nice camera with a few drawbacks...
Customer Video Review     Length:: 6:55 Mins
This is a sleek little camera, but had some quirks about it that bothered me. The #1 being that if you hold it vertically, you get a lonely strip down the middle of the tv screen instead of a full screen video. I've been recording and playing with this video camera for days, and the only way to not have that was to make sure I started recording...
Published on December 28, 2010 by H.F.


‹ Previous | 1 236 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

610 of 626 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great quality video but focus lags, November 5, 2010
By 
Zainul Charbiwala (Los Angeles, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sony Bloggie Touch Camera, 4-Hour (Black) (Camera)
I've had this camera for about a week now and have been loving it ever since. I've used another "flip" camcorder and the Bloggie Touch puts it to shame.

Pros:
1. Love the quick on and record. Great for spontaneous videos of the little one.
2. The touch screen interface makes it both useful and fun to use the big screen.
3. The still pictures come out brilliant, when the lighting and focus is good.
4. The battery charges up super fast and stays with you for a whole day of shooting.
5. The image stabilization is good. You can take decent video while walking around and panning too. Note that it is not optical, but electronic SteadyShot stabilization.
6. The lens is very good quality and the pictures are crisp.
7. Really like the "snap picture while recording" feature. I find myself using that feature the most. The video doesn't stall while the picture (full 12M resolution) is being taken and since the focus and exposure are usually locked well while you're in the middle of the video, the pictures come out great.

Cons:
1. In low lighting, there is quite a bit of graininess and using the digital zoom makes it much worse.
2. While the lens is good quality, the auto-focus mechanism is really very slow. If you move around the camera too much before focus has locked on, the auto-focus will almost never lock.
3. What I really miss with this camera is a flash. Even a tiny one would help with low light pictures.
4. Minor annoyance: to preview a picture right after you take it, you have to go through at least two clicks. Sony could have designed it so that it always goes to the last picture taken by default, instead of the thumbnail list of all pictures/video on the device.

I decided to purchase this camera over a still camera that can do video because:
1. This one is dead simple. One button to turn on, one to take video and one to take stills. This makes it both easy and quick to use.
2. This one can do 1080p video and 720p at 60fps.
3. Its under $200 and is smaller than your phone.
4. Its got internal flash and USB connector - no more SD cards or cables. 8GB is enough to get you through the day before you can come back to your laptop to dump the pictures.

I decided to purchase this camera over other ones in the same category because:
1. Its got a big display and the touch screen is fun to use.
2. Its got a better lens system than the others.
3. Its got (some) image stabilization.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


127 of 132 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wow, wow, 1080! And so easy to use with the touch controls (pc and now apple compatible), November 22, 2010
This review is from: Sony Bloggie Touch Camera, 4-Hour (Black) (Camera)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
Well it almost seems like everything is now like an iPad! Operating this little device is definately one touch and not multi touch. IT was fully charged when you switch on the device (that was a plus). The packaging was beautiful and I thought I was getting a nice of piece of jewelry!

This little camcorder/camera has a glass face that provides most of the functions with the exception of an one/off button, camera button and another button for start/stop video recording. There is an initial set up prompt menu when you first start the device and a demo video that gets you all excited that you immediately want to play with it!
Pros of this device
1) camera provides photo size of 12megap, 8m, or 2m
2) movie size 1080 (30p), 720 (60p), 720 (30p)
3) camera self timer (2 or 10 minutes)
4) zoom touch
5) camera has a single face recognition
6) delete and view of saved items very easy to navigate
7) mini hdmi to allow view to television
8) auto focus , not fastest response, but if panning slowly, it works great
9) a USB that is neatly stored in body of camera
10) allows for a mini tripod to be attached
11) for each of the saved photo/movie youncan tag it to you tube, facebook, flickr, and prelabeled email addresses.
12) the picture will rotate likemit is an iPhone/touch!
13) volume adjust on playback is great and picks up voices very well.
14) weighs less than iphone4

Con: you have to buy a separate pouch! Does get warm after using for half an hour continuously. This can only be used with windows and is not compatible to Mac! Hmm, not good.( update as of February 2011, software is now available to Mac users to allow download to a MAC! Yeah)
Also, wish there were some rubber gribs around the edge as it can get a little slippery to hold, but you do get use to it and adjust your grip to accomodate it.

Results: even in low lighting, both the camera and camcorder recorded pretty good results. The auto zoom will adjust from a moderate panning speed to avoid blurs. We were quite impressed with how well the auto focus adjusted.
Setting up the software was easy and detected the device immediately. The picture is a little grainy whe using less than 12 megapixel, and the playback on the hd1080 (I, which is what we suspect) was actually not bad on our 46 inch tv!
It is simple to use and I am usually the one that needs the manual and get over whelmed with the numerous functionalities. It was very intuitive and really simple to use for the market it is aimed at: shooting fun footages to share with family and friends.

Update: December 12th: in low light and indoor shoorting: the picture/video can come out with a tinge of yellow. This result will happen if you shoot too quickly without allowing the camera to 'accumulate' a little more light. The results are great for outdoors and very sharp finish (then again this is more for outdoor than indoor! We are still loving how light it is and that with the touch screen you can move the focus and hold the Touch with one hand!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 51 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 3 & 1/2 STARS: Nice camera with a few drawbacks..., December 28, 2010
This review is from: Sony Bloggie Touch Camera, 4-Hour (Black) (Camera)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
Length:: 6:55 Mins

This is a sleek little camera, but had some quirks about it that bothered me. The #1 being that if you hold it vertically, you get a lonely strip down the middle of the tv screen instead of a full screen video. I've been recording and playing with this video camera for days, and the only way to not have that was to make sure I started recording holding the camera horizontally. Imagine you're recording a once in a lifetime event, and later you realized you started holding the camera vertically, and the whole video is just a tiny strip down the middle of your tv. That's an "oops!" that will make you mad for a lifetime.

#2: problem with the focus. I've had to do a lot of fiddling around to get it to attempt to focus on anything. Otherwise it would just continue to film unfocused, which is odd. I'm fine with a moment or two to get oriented, but it was just straight up not bothering.

#3: I recorded some 1080 video, and it did not play well on my computer. So far I cannot get the sound/video to sync together which is very frustrating. I'm guessing this is all because my laptop is a couple years old and really not made to play 1080 video. So I think that setting will only turn out to be useful for watching on the tv. Otherwise for facebook uploads and online viewing, I'm going to record in 720 from now on.

Otherwise, it's fairly easy to use, most of it is just common sense. Not too many buttons to get lost in. It will depend which way you're more comfortable holding the camera too, I like holding it vertically but for those horizontal people, this will work well for them. The plus side to holding it this way is that you'd also most likely use two hands, which will stabilize it and make your video less shaky.

When you plug it in to a USB port, the software should automatically load. It was up and running in minutes. The software was simple with no good editing capabilities. When you take a video, you can check mark it to be uploaded to facebook, youtube etc when you plug it in, or just leave it alone and do whatever you like with it manually. The screen size is excellent, but you've got to be careful you don't hit it when you're just holding it since it is a touch screen. It would have been great if they included a little carrying case.

Cute camera, easy to use, but my preference is still the flip.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


114 of 123 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five star review for the Sony Bloggie Touch, January 13, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Consider this to be a rebuttal of the reviews of the Sony Bloggie Touch which were badly written by non-photographers, whiners, people who don't read camera manuals, people who don't understand that a camera needs, YES!, light ... Like flash? Get one of the thousands of cameras that feature automatic, built-in flash. Do you understand that a camera, even one with anti-shake features, must be held as motion-free as possible for best results, particularly in poor light? Video cameras don't use flash. Sorry, incorporating a video light on this camera would at least quadruple it's really handy size. Don't like the touch interface? Are you a Luddite? This is the most fantastic camera interface I have ever used. A touch interface like this is the main feature that makes the iPhone, Touch, and iPad so popular with tens of millions of people worldwide.

The focusing is quite satisfactory - do you want a ring around the lens so you can focus yourself like twenty years ago? Do you think a very, very small form factor 1080p video/still camera which costs less than $160 with the touch interface making it the most easy-to-use camera of its type must do everything perfectly seeing that no camera is perfect regardless of price or class? I think the ergonomics are superb just as the iPod ergonomics are superb.

I like my iPod Nano for the same reasons I admire the Sony Bloggie Touch design: small, elegant, easy interface, excellent performance within the design constraints imposed by current technology. Attach the wrist loop, hold the Bloggie as instructed in the PDF user manual (did you read that?), practice for 30 seconds and Voilà! Success. If you have a tripod so cheap it doesn't have a vertical flip capability, you have no right speak about tripod use.

My use so far has shown the Bloggie Touch to be everything I hoped it would be in video and stills. I have numerous cameras including Nikon SLRs, Leicas, Fuji, and Canon from the days of film up to the present. Some photos I've posted online have gotten tens of thousands of views. I have been a press photographer. I love cameras and am inclined to say there are no bad cameras, only bad photographers. Having a camera with oneself and knowing how to use it with style and making use of its features, whatever they may be, is the mark of a photographer. You want quicker focus, get a Leica M9 and focus by hand. Get a Nikon D3 and a few thousands of dollars worth of lenses and other accessories to get the features you think the Bloggie Touch should have but doesn't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


180 of 199 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Terrible focus hunting problems and ergonomics, November 17, 2010
By 
dcJohn "jwind" (Bethesda, MD United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sony Bloggie Touch Camera, 4-Hour (Black) (Camera)
I wanted to like this camera, but it's been a complete disappointment. First and foremost, the automatic focusing is terrible. The image is often out of focus, and there's no way to tell the camera to try focusing again. (Why not add this and handle it like the iphone does? Just touch on the subject you want in focus.) Most portable video cameras like this (e.g. flip and kodak) have fixed focus, and I was looking forward to the Sony's ability to focus, since it helps get better macro shots. Instead, the camera is just constantly hunting for focus and often not getting it.

The ergonomics are also a problem. I often want to hold the camera vertically, because it's more comfortable, but still take the usual landscape wide angle footage (again, like my flip and kodak cameras handle it). Instead, the Sony switches to verticle orientation when you hold it vertically. So, you've got to hold it sideways all the time, which isn't wildly comfortable for any length of time.

Adding insult to injury, none of the useful tools for sharing footage online work with the mac (though it will import into imovie).

The touch screen is nice and responsive and the video quality is good when it's in focus (though with the Sony's typical slightly colder color/white balance). But the camera's downsides--particularly the terrible constant focus hunting & missing--far outweigh its pluses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 48 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great camera if you know what you are looking for!, November 26, 2010
This review is from: Sony Bloggie Touch Camera, 4-Hour (Black) (Camera)
I purchased this camera a few days ago and I absolutely love it. I wanted to get a pocket sized HD video camera for under $200 and I was considering this item to the Flip Mino and Flip Ultra. I settled on this item over those two Flip cameras for the following reasons:

1. Can record in 1080p.
2. 3" screen over 2" screen.
3. Can take still photos with Bloggie. Cannot do this with Flip.
4. Can record in 16:9 or 4:3.
5. Bloggie has 4x digital zoom compared to 2x digital zoom for Flip.

The biggest selling point for me is being able to record in 1080p. It makes a difference if you are going to output to a TV (via HDMI) that can support 1080p.

Now, I will say that the accessories for the Flip are much cooler but I wasn't shopping for accessories.

Also, some people complain of the video quality in low-lighting. Duh! The Flip, Bloggie, Zi8 type cameras are not really designed for low light settings. If you want a HD video recorder/camera that fits in your pocket, easy to use, has a nice wide screen, and takes great video for under $200 I strongly suggest the Bloggie. If you want a HD video recorder/camera that is perfect for all situations in all sorts of lighting for under $200 you're not going to find it.

Edit on 12/29/2010: I just learned today that while I can have over four hours of recording when using the 720p 30fps setting I cannot record continuously for over 30 minutes. I'm still very pleased with the bloggie but the 30 minute time limit is a big disappointment. If for example you do some kind of martial arts class and you want to set it on a stand and record the entire hour long class you will not be able to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Does NOT record past 30 minutes at a time., December 2, 2010
By 
ben23 (buffalo, ny) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sony Bloggie Touch Camera, 4-Hour (Black) (Camera)
I tried this out at a concert and I was disappointed to find out that what I thought was recording was not recording because the camera will just stop if it's reached about 30 minutes -- don't know if the flip does this or other cameras but found this to be very annoying. Also, like everyone else said, it sometimes takes forever to adjust and of course it's not good for long distance rendering the zoom pretty much useless. Also, I guess the default is 720p -- not sure how to change it. There is no power cord with this, but the way to charge it is through a usb charger which is included. The drawback unlike the flip is that you can't just switch batteries, so you are kinda stuck after 4 hours. I just got it, so still trying to see how it goes. I like the 1080p and the 12 megapixel camera -- seems like a great combination which is the reason I chose this over the flip.

*******Here is the response from sony:

Depending on the camera, the recording time for each movie is limited to approximately 25-29 minutes and the maximum size of one movie file is 2 GB. Therefore, recording is automatically stopped when the file size reaches 2 GB or if 25-29 minutes of uninterrupted recording occurs. This is normal operation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Despite The Name, A Very Capable Pocket Camcorder, December 29, 2010
By 
Ed (San Francisco Bay Area) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Sony Bloggie Touch Camera, 4-Hour (Black) (Camera)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
Sony has introduced an interesting twist to the saturated pocket camcorder market with the new Bloggie Touch (MHS-TS20). Unlike the touch controls of the Flip MinoHD, the Bloggie Touch has a large 3.0 inch widescreen touch screen. Anything to add to the already stale stable of current pocket camcorders is a welcome change. Ultimately though, two main requirements need to be met for this style of video recording device; they must be easy to use and have good video quality. On both counts, the Sony Bloggie delivers.

PROS:
- Great video quality
- Easy to use
- 12.8MP still camera
- 1080p supported (as well as 720p)
- Built-in USB port
- Built-in mini-HDMI port
- Attractive appearance
- SteadyShot image stabilization (not optical)

CONS:
- Middling still photo quality
- No optical stabilization
- Hard to grip
- No pouch or case included
- Goofy name
- Only digital zoom

A couple of years ago, I bought one of the original Flip pocket camcorders from Costco. It was somewhat bulky, took standard definition video and ran on AA batteries. But we loved it as a family for being super simple, fairly cheap, and allowing us to capture spontaneous memories. We then upgraded to a Flip MinoHD but never had the same affection for it the way we did with our original Flip. I also had experience using the Creative Labs Vado and so I had a good sampling of what the pocket camcorder market offered. When I initially ordered the Sony Bloggie through Amazon's Vine Program, I was expecting a toy-like camcorder-- a My First Sony camcorder. I was wrong. The cutesy, youth-oriented name disguised the fact that the Bloggie Touch was a very capable, easy, and fun to use pocket camcorder.

USABILITY
Even if you haven't used a touch screen device before, the Bloggie Touch will be very easy to figure out. Once you get past the initial demo video, you'll be prompted to set the language, date, and time and then you'll be ready to shoot your first video. The large 3.0" widescreen touch screen is fun to use and responsive. The itty bitty screens of the Flip or Vado were a bit of a chore to preview videos with but not so with the Bloggie Touch. There are just three physical buttons on the Bloggie- Power ON/OFF, Movie Button, and the still image shutter. That's it. All other functions and settings are are accessed through the touch screen. Though you can hold and record the Bloggie Touch in portrait or landscape orientations, keep in mind that it will be recorded in those orientations. Unlike the Flip or Vado, the Bloggie Touch is really meant to be used in landscape. The only problem I had with the Bloggie Touch was holding it correctly without it slipping out of my hands. The Bloggie Touch is very svelte and made out of slippery plastic. The front has a brushed finish while the side and back are a matte finish. Since you're supposed to hold it in landscape mode, it can be challenging to hold it with two hands without covering the lens with a finger from your left hand. It can be used with a single hand but since it's so slick, I felt the need to use both hands. Luckily, a wrist strap is provided.

VIDEO QUALITY
The Bloggie Touch has three video recording settings-- 1080/30p, 720/60p, and 720/30p. I found that the 720/60p had the best balance of video quality and size. FYI, there is a 29 minute limit for continuous recording and a 2GB file size limit. The Bloggie Touch uses Variable Bit Rate (VBR) format for video so the size and times of the video can differ depending on the type of video being recorded. Below is the estimated recording times for each recording setting:

1080/30p 1h20m
720/60p 2h40m
720/30p 4h00m

It performed very well outside in daylight. The autofocus actually worked really well. I should note that I immediately upgraded the firmware to v1.05 before I recorded a single video or took a single still. Firmware v1.05 is supposed to improve the format function, touch panel operation, and focusing. As I mentioned, I had no problems with focusing so perhaps some of the focus issues that the Bloggie Touch had initially were addressed in this upgrade. Indoors, it worked well for the most part, but as with most pocket camcorders, it struggled to keep up in low light. I did not expect any different.

PHOTO QUALITY
Outdoors, during daylight, the still shots that I took with the Bloggie Touch were rather good. Indoors, in good light, it was just ok and pretty awful in low light. The problem with still photos is that the Bloggie Touch does not have a flash so it's pretty useless indoors unless you have very good lighting. Except for the shots outdoors, I thought that my Droid X smartphone took as good a photo, if not better, than the Bloggie Touch. I was disappointed overall with the still pictures but still happy to at least have the option. In fact, you can take a still picture while recording a video.

SOFTWARE
I was never a big fan of the FlipShare software for Flip camcorders but did like it for it's ability to export videos and rename the files automatically by date. It was ok. The Sony software however seems to have no real added benefit other than organization and importing the videos from the Bloggie Touch to your computer. Yes, you can tag your videos and photos for automatic uploading but I don't personally find uploading my files to Facebook, Picasa, and others to be troubling to begin with. I suppose it would be decent for the super newbie. One feature I did like was the ability to trim videos, but that was about it.

CONCLUSION
Of all the pocket camcorders I have owned and used, the Sony Bloggie Touch is probably the most fun and versatile. It's a little more challenging to hold because you have to hold it in landscape mode and is a bit slippery, but the nice 3.0" touch screen makes up for it. If you already have a good HD pocket camcorder, I wouldn't say that the Bloggie Touch is worth switching to, but if don't already own one, the Sony Bloggie Touch is definitely worth a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Digital camera meets iPhone touchability, November 22, 2010
This review is from: Sony Bloggie Touch Camera, 4-Hour (Black) (Camera)
Vine Customer Review of Free Product (What's this?)
3" touchscreen is probably the biggest selling point of this very capable Sony mini cam / still cam combo, making controls, interaction and options as simple as a touch, on the very well lit and easy to use rear screen.
Quick shoot capability with the "hit the big button" simplicity is also a plus when grappling for that perfect shot, still, or movie of often fleeting "kodak moments" that are harder to capture with high end, complicated equipment.
8GB is pretty good internal memory as well, 2-4 hours of video, with up to 1080p resolution, in web friendly MP4 format. It even has included software for Facebook, and YouTube integration. It has a nice built in microphone with surprisingly good audio on the video takes
Nice and discreet, easily fits into any jacket or shirt pocket at just over 4" x 2" in size, and 0.6" thick.
The still camera is amazing, up to 12.8MP with great clarity, with a F/2.8 aperture range, it also tilts automatically when turning the camera between landscape and portrait, I like this personally, but agree with other reviews that an override would have been nice. I also noticed, as others have mentioned the auto focus can be a bit of a bear at times, but I didn't consider it a deal breaker.
No viewfinder (obviously) as everything is done through the touchscreen, which is pretty easy to see, even in direct sunlight.
Unfortunately no flash, so low lighting shots and video are grainy. Why no flash? You ask, well I would imagine that this would eat the battery life at such a rate, it would spend more time on charge, than in your pocket. I did knock off a star for this, as there were times when a flash would have been great for still images, but you can't have everything I suppose.
Prior to this I owned one of the cheaper Flip Video's, which although it was adequate, was a world removed from this for picture quality, video resolution, and build quality. Something I am pleased to see seems to still be reliable with the SONY brand.
Overall 4 stars. A great multi function camera.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good if you need a dedicated camera, November 23, 2010
Overall I like it, though I'm beginning to really question why I need a dedicated camera when the newer smart phones take such great video and photos. I don't know that it performs that much better than my iPhone 4 that it's worth carrying a separate device. That said, if you don't have an Android or iPhone, and want a dedicated device, this is a good one.

Pros:
- Video quality is crisp and clear
- Records at 60 frames per second, which gives the videos a very smooth look when you're panning or changing focus
- Dedicated buttons for taking a picture and recording video
- Sturdy construction
- HDMI out

Cons:
- Touch screen is very laggy
- UI is not straight forward. I had to go to the manual for basic operation.
- No mac software at the moment (though iPhoto picks up photos and videos fine)
- Low light video recording is grainy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 236 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.