Customer Reviews


167 Reviews
5 star:
 (91)
4 star:
 (32)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (14)
1 star:
 (21)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


221 of 231 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars READ IF YOU PLAN ON UPGRADING HDD
Just got my 12GB slim and before firing it up I was going to put in my 500GB HDD. Please note the following:

* There is no physical 2.5" SATA drive installed.
* There is no HDD mounting bracket, that is a separate purchase of which the only one I could find available on Amazon is this:

TOMTOP Mounting Bracket System CECH 400x

So...
Published 12 months ago by Shaun M.

versus
111 of 137 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't be a cheapskate !!!
Prior to Walmarts Thanksgiving day sale this year, I was eyeballing their 12gb PS3 Slim which was selling for $199.00 and their 250gb PS3 bundle that came with a free game which was selling for $249.00 ( a $50.00 dollar difference ). It wasn't until I started reading reviews about the 12gb model that I found out that it doesn't come with the Hard Disc Drive ( HDD ) caddy...
Published 8 months ago by John


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

221 of 231 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars READ IF YOU PLAN ON UPGRADING HDD, August 22, 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Sony Computer Entertainment Playstation 3 12GB System (Video Game)
Just got my 12GB slim and before firing it up I was going to put in my 500GB HDD. Please note the following:

* There is no physical 2.5" SATA drive installed.
* There is no HDD mounting bracket, that is a separate purchase of which the only one I could find available on Amazon is this:

TOMTOP Mounting Bracket System CECH 400x

So another $15 unless you can find the $10 Sony branded kit.

I guess the problem was me assuming it had a 12GB 2.5" SSD, where in actuality it is flash memory embedded on the board. I have the drive in there and rigged up so its not going anywhere, but it's just unfortunate this was not well documented. Maybe it was and I missed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


111 of 137 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't be a cheapskate !!!, December 6, 2013
This review is from: Sony Computer Entertainment Playstation 3 12GB System (Video Game)
Prior to Walmarts Thanksgiving day sale this year, I was eyeballing their 12gb PS3 Slim which was selling for $199.00 and their 250gb PS3 bundle that came with a free game which was selling for $249.00 ( a $50.00 dollar difference ). It wasn't until I started reading reviews about the 12gb model that I found out that it doesn't come with the Hard Disc Drive ( HDD ) caddy ( bracket ) that is needed when you decide to go from only relying upon the 12gb PS3's internal memory and want additional storage space, and that the 12gb versions internal memory won't support some PS3 games because they require too much storage space. Luckily, I was smart enough to put off my purchase until the Thanksgiving day sale to see if Walmart were going to be offering any PS3 console deals and was able to pick up a 250gb console bundle, including 2 free games ( Batman : Arkham Origins & The Last of Us ~ $120.00 value ), for the same $199.00 dollar price that Walmart ordinarily sells the 12gb console for. Sorry ... I digress. Just spend the extra $50.00 dollars, buy a 250gb console, and save yourself the headache of eventually having to go out and buy the extra's for your 12gb console ... You'll be glad you did.

By the way, I think it's rather shady on Sony's part for not making it loud and clear that the 12gb PS3 Super Slim doesn't come with the HDD caddy that's going to be needed when you're ready to install a hard drive. Shame, Sony, shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a nice entry point from someone who wants a PS3 at the end of its hay day., December 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sony Computer Entertainment Playstation 3 12GB System (Video Game)
For serious gaming, a hard drive in addition to the 12GB of memory may be needed as most PS3 games require an install, the side ranging from only megabytes of data up to 10 GB of data. The hard drive is easy to upgrade, although you will need to purchase a mounting bracket for the hard drive (which is not included) (games like Call of Duty or Uncharted won't suffer from this because they don't require installs on disk beyond 100 MB, but Grand Theft Auto 5 has at least an 8 GB install that would easy be two thirds of the available space, and do not forget software updates that can easily be 1 GB in size).

The console makes it easy to set up a PSN account as well as set up Netflix and other streaming services. The top mounting disk tray is particularly interesting: instead of opening vertically, the disk tray opens horizontally which allows it to be placed in a snug location. Supporting CD, DVD, BluRay, DIVX, and MP3/MP4 formats (and others), this console can do quite a bit in terms of music and video playback. It supports external memory for console backup as well as for data transfer (save data, movies, etc. via USB). It has either wired or wireless internet via wifi as well.

It does not come with an HDMI cable, that will also have to be purchased separately.

This is a nice entry point for someone wants a PS3 at the end of its hay day, or if they want a second console or just a media center to stream content from their PC or to watch Netflix, Hulu Plus, or use other services such as those offered by the NHL. PlayStation Store also serves up movies and TV shows for either rent or purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Do your homework, February 10, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sony Computer Entertainment Playstation 3 12GB System (Video Game)
For me, when I purchased this system, the price of adding a hard drive was cheaper than buying one of the systems with greater capacity bundled with games I was unlikely to play. The 12GB isn't nearly enough unless your gaming style is to buy a game, play it more or less exclusively until you complete it, and then shelf it or sell it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good replacement for a dead PS3, but annoying it lacks all the features of earlier models, July 6, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sony Computer Entertainment Playstation 3 12GB System (Video Game)
Apart from the obvious design flaws (that tray door is ridiculous, and removing a disk is always annoying as you don't have enough free space to introduce your fingers ,particularly if the space for the previous PS3 you had makes it so that the top is very close to the ceiling of the space. It would have been better to have it be a front loader but... I guess they had to cut many costs. I don't like that it cannot play SACDs either, but again, cost cuts I guess. I do however recommend this system widely instead of the one that includes a hard drive, because for less than the difference you can buy the hard disk drive mounting bracket and a 750GB hard drive and get it working. I used the same one from my deceased Fat PS3 and it worked like a charm.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Missing Parts by Design, August 15, 2014
This review is from: Sony Computer Entertainment Playstation 3 12GB System (Video Game)
This model seems like a cheap replacement for an older PS3 slim.
12GB is not enough storage to install more than a couple games; this should be acceptable if you can salvage a hard drive from an older, dead PS3 or laptop - any 2.5" SATA drive will suffice.
Everything about this "super slim" model feels cheaper than the previous-generation "slim", from the sliding drive door to the snap-in, laptop-style disc holder to the spring-clipped end cover for hard drive access.
The pocket in which you could add a hard drive does not include the bracket necessary to hold a hard drive in place.
The user manual would suggest you buy Sony's $10 drive mounting kit - a piece of sheet metal and a handful of screws, included integral to all models larger than 12GB - yet Sony does not stock this part.
If you intend to play games, spend an extra $10 for a third-party hard drive mounting bracket when you buy this cheaped-out PS3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars legit, June 29, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sony Computer Entertainment Playstation 3 12GB System (Video Game)
Quick and easy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nice quality system, June 20, 2014
By 
This review is from: Sony Computer Entertainment Playstation 3 12GB System (Video Game)
Very quality system I use on a regular basis. It's been a staple of our household for the past 3 years and is still going strong. Starting to feel a bit dated compared to the newer systems out there, but can still hold its own. We continue to enjoy many of the apps such as netflix as well. Overall very nice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great product, June 1, 2014
This review is from: Sony Computer Entertainment Playstation 3 12GB System (Video Game)
Great product, low memory but still good. Wish it came with more than one controlelr though :\ had to go buy a second one.

a@1.com
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars terrible, May 31, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sony Computer Entertainment Playstation 3 12GB System (Video Game)
it is horrible, between three month it could not read a disk anymore. My advise Is not to buy it for any reason.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Sony Computer Entertainment Playstation 3 12GB System
Sony Computer Entertainment Playstation 3 12GB System by Sony Computer Entertainment (PlayStation 3)
$228.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.