Customer Reviews


64 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


129 of 139 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I've been waiting for this, and as a professional videographer used to a C100, i'm very satisfied.
I miss my EX1, or rather, i miss the parfocal smooth ENG zoom lens that goes with such a camera. It's something we're missing in the interchangeable lens market. At the moment, sony is the only one making decent range power zooms, but they're not even constant max aperture. The 24-200mm equivalent F2.8 lens of the RX10 was by far the most attractive thing to both myself,...
Published 9 months ago by Darren Levine

versus
4 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great camera, but Sony Playmemories is worthless
Putting things up front, this camera itself should be rated at least 4 stars, but why only 3 stars? I'll explain later.

First the pros of this camera:

- 24mm to 200mm f2.8 Carl Zeiss zoom lens: The lens is really good, sharp, low observed distortion. Some may not like how slow the zoom works, but it works fine for me. I do find myself hoping for...
Published 1 month ago by Dr. D


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

129 of 139 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I've been waiting for this, and as a professional videographer used to a C100, i'm very satisfied., December 5, 2013
This review is from: Sony DSCRX10/B Cybershot 20.2 MP Digital Still Camera with 3-Inch LCD Screen (Electronics)
I miss my EX1, or rather, i miss the parfocal smooth ENG zoom lens that goes with such a camera. It's something we're missing in the interchangeable lens market. At the moment, sony is the only one making decent range power zooms, but they're not even constant max aperture. The 24-200mm equivalent F2.8 lens of the RX10 was by far the most attractive thing to both myself, and probably everyone else who saw the first spec sheet. The pairing of the rx100 mark 2's sensor with such a lens sounds just amazing in theory. Now we're getting to see if it holds up to trials.

Note that i'm reviewing this camera mostly for its video abilities, it does do great photos, but i won't be focusing on that. I've uploaded some video frame grabs into amazon's gallery that i'll reference here.

The sensor.

No, it's not full frame, no it's not aps-c, no it's not m43, and no i seriously don't care. It's no secret i'm at odds with big sensor fanboys. Since aquiring the C100 (aps-c) my 5d mark 2 (full frame) gets very little use. And now that i have the RX10, it will be my primary walk around/vacation/stock footage camera. So what's the big deal some people make about wanting a big sensor? the two biggies are low light and shallow depth of field. Anyone whose shot an EX1 knows that with the 1/2" sensor and the f1.9 lens, you can get some nice background bokeh/separation. So imagine the RX10 which has a 1" sensor, it's much bigger than the ex1, it's bigger than the black magic pocket camera by a smidge, and many people are quite happy with the DOF abilities.

Then there's the low light performance. I do wish it were a 12mp sensor and not 20, but what's the point in nitpicking? Up to iso 1600 is great, up to 3200 can still be darn good if you have correct exposure, and above that does get you something depending on the situation. The girl with the blanket in the amazon photo gallery is iso 2000

I'm a C100 shooter, i'm used to using 12,800 iso if so desired and not taking a huge IQ hit. But there's no way i'm going to throw the same expectation towards the RX10. The most sensible way i can put it: If you're used to point and shoot cameras, the RX10 is bloody brilliant in low light. If you're used to interchangeable lens type cameras, you'll find the RX10 is satisfactory in low light. In my informal tests, i favored using a slower shutter instead of higher iso. 1/30 shutter is totally cheatable in anything but high motion scenes, and if shooting something where there's not much motion at all, sometimes a 1/15 can even work, and can help keep that ISO down.
Rolling shutter should also be noted exists but is very well controlled, i had to really try to create it to see any.

The lens

8.3x zoom doesn't sound great if you're used to 50x point and shoot cameras. And in fact, sony's marketing team are horribly brilliant with the angle they took it on, and instead of pushing an '8.3x' zoom, they marketed the 35mm equivalant range of 24-200mm, and said it's like having their 24-70 and 70-200mm f2.8 big camera lenses all packed into this tiny form factor. And of course we all went holy crap that's great, because when you put it like that, in the correct perspective of someone whose used to interchangeable lens cameras, it's just brilliant. Oh, and it's a ZEISS lens! If that doesn't mean anything to you, it just means it should be held to high standards.

Like i said, i miss having a power eng zoom lens so i can get a great zoom in or zoom out shot. There are practically zero options on the market for a fast constant aperture, wide range zoom lens that doesn't cost a mortgage for any interchangeable lens camera. People like me have been pining for one, and it's never come. Sony has made a few interesting power zoom lenses which i wish canon made for us canon shooters, but it's just never come. The lens on the RX10 is exactly that, it's a seemingly parfocal, fast, constant aperture power zoom lens which goes from reasonably wide, to reasonably telephoto, you also have an up to 2x digital crop called Clear Image Zoom, which is somewhat loss-less. It compares to the GH camera's ETC mode, which just means it's taking a smaller portion of the sensor to create the 1080 end image, and this should result in no resolution loss since these cameras are in fact photo cameras with many more pixels than is needed to make a 1080 video. I like that this extra reach is not just an on/off 2x switch, but rather similar to a point and shoot, when you activate it, it acts as a power-zoomable extension to the optical zoom, so once you hit the optical limit, it will smoothly go into the digital crop as if it were optical. It's not entirely perfect, there is an inconsistent transition between optical and digital which is expected. And while there technically isn't any resolution loss from this digital zoom, you are still effectively magnifying any noise. For this reason, i'd only recommend CIZ at lower ISOs, though it's always worth a try and if you like what you see, use it! This shot is 2x CIZ, so effectively 400mm.

And as you can see with the girl's eyes closeup in the amazon photo gallery, the CIZ can actually look fantastic, but still, only use it if you need to. For all intensive purposes in considering the 2x CIZ, you could look at this camera as a 24-400mm full frame equivalent.

It truly is a first for anything remotely near this market segment and price. The performance of the lens, thus far has lived up to the zeiss name. Even at wide open, it's sharp and mostly free of unwanted artifacts. Most likely there's in camera corrections happening, but that's just another benefit of the lens being non-interchangeable, it allows the engineers to really match the lens to the sensor as much as possible. Distortion is very minimal, with very true lines. You can spot some color fringing/CA'ing at longer focal lengths in high contrast situations, but most would consider it well controlled.

Lens controls and operation.

One of the things that really shows they were thinking of video people are the lens controls. You have a multi use ring which can be used for zooming or focusing, and an aperture ring which can be clicked or clickless. Starting with the multi use ring, it's very nicely dampened and smooth, but it's fly by wire, which i'm not happy about, but accept it for what it is. It means there's no real mechanical connection to you turning the ring, it's electronic. Because of this, it's not a great experience when manual focusing. If you're used to setting markers, forget it, no 2 pulls will be the same. I really hope sony refines this more, it seems like all the pieces are there to be able to make it far better than what it is, but as it is, you have to pull focus completely by eye and almost not at all by feel. Autofocus is very useful especially in decent lighting, and if you learn the settings, you can use the settable focus point to have the camera perform an admirable rack focus for you. That of course wouldn't be all that peachy for more complex situations but hey, for some simple stuff it should work pretty nicely.

So when you switch the multi use ring to zoom mode, you have two options: full zooming, or step zoom. Step zoom gives you the feel of a bag of primes, since it locks in at common focal lengths. While that's nice, i've yet to use that ring much at all for zooming, and instead opt for the zoom control lever on the handle. This is another wish i have for sony: refine this more, it is pressure sensitive, but i for the life of me haven't tamed it. I've conceded to just pushing it slightly which gives a pleasingly slow but not laborious zoom speed. Some people have shown concern over the lens's slow movement, and that they'll miss quick happening shots because of it. Well, for video i don't see this as much of a concern, as i'd rather have a zooming in shot anyway, but for photos it might be a nuisance. The lens at its fastest takes just over 2 second to fully zoom in or out. The final little drawback i've found is that if you're zoomed to 200mm, when you start to zoom back out, theres a little bit of a wobble in the image, like it's kicking back into gear or something, and while it's not a disastrous thing, it is certainly noticeable and should be kept in mind for narrative works where something like that could break the 4th wall.

Did i forget to mention this thing has an ND filter built in? Like, and actual, 3 stop ND filter! NDs are important to us video fellas, and having it in there is a great valuable feature, especially considering the aperture only goes to f/16!

The codec

If i had to pick my least favorite part of the camera, the codec would be it. Codecs are a tricky thing, and just because it says avchd 24mb/s, doesn't mean it's the same as avchd 24mb/s in the FS700, or C100, and in this case this codec seems to suffer a tid bit more from motion artifacting/macro blocking. Meaning that high amounts of motion in the image will cause blockiness in those areas. This could be solved by one simple thing: a higher bitrate. If i were to suggest something for the troops to rally around and urge sony to address, it would be to up the bitrate. I've already submitted my request to them, citing the panasonic GH3 as a reasonable competitor, who has a bitrate of 72mb/s. But you can't go in expecting them to change anything, so the question is: am i satisfied with it as it stands? The answer is yes, not an enthusiastic yes, but yes the recorded image is very satisfying especially if the motion isn't all over the place like a leafy tree in high wind. And there is a silver lining as well: They gave us clean uncompressed HDMI output, meaning you can plug in a $700 ninja-2 and get 4:2:2 prores that should be pristine, it's still 8 bit, but again we're talking about a mostly consumer oriented camera here. It should be noted though that it's an HDMI micro connector, which is tiny and easily dislodged, and i hope there's a solution out there to keep it secure other than vicious amounts of gaffers tape.

There's a little nuisance with certain sony cameras that you'll experience when dropping the files into editing: to see the full range you'll need to correct the white and black output levels from 0-255, to 15-235, which is basically bringing up the shadows, and down the highlights to where they're supposed to be. The camera records above 100 IRE, and this is especially important if you have blown out highlights, you'll be able to bring some of them back with this correction.

One of the special things about how this camera processes its video is that it doesn't skip lines like most DSLRs, instead it samples the entire sensor, which means it out-resolves most of the photo cameras out there when it comes to video. I put it up to my crappy resolution chart, and that 1000 line section of the chart is clear as day, this thing resolves 1000+ lines like a 1080 camera should. Compare that to most Canon DSLRs like the 5d mark 2, 70d, t5i, etc.. which are all resolving a good notch under 1000 lines in video mode. This is especially apparent in landscapes, i've never been satisfied shooting landscape videos with my 5d2, but the RX10 gets them nice and crisp.

It should also be noted that aliasing and moire are also very well controlled and practically a non-issue. You can easily spot it on that test chart, but no one is shooting test charts in real life. My real life test is bobby the conure, and he looks as adorable as ever, nearly artifact free. (see amazon photo gallery for the RX10)

The body and controls

Feels great, it's mostly a good strong metal and feels built more like a professional camera than it does a consumer camera. It's supposedly dust and moisture sealed, though i'm wondering just how so being that the lens does a whole lot of moving in and out for zoom. The lens when extended does have some wiggle. All the buttons and switches seem solid, though as a person with medium to large size hands, such a small camera takes some getting used to.

The monitors

You get both a quality LCD and a quality EVF. The EVF is much better than my C100's, and i really like that it sticks out a bit from the body so your nose isn't smushed up against the LCD. That does create a caveat though: since the LCD can rotate to face up or down, if pointed strait up, the EVF is blocking quite a bit of it. Why Sony couldn't you use a left mounted swivel screen? But anyways, both screens are more than adequate, and feel more like something you'd find on a pro oriented camera, rather than a consumer oriented camera.

Focus peaking is included which was a nice addition, but for now i've pretty much stopped using it, the dots are too darn big, making me second guess focus quite a bit. It depends on the situation, some instances it helps a lot and some i switch it off, so it's nice to have the option. You also get a digital punch in focus assist, which is a more surefire way of verifying focus, and yes you can use it while recording, and you can also move it around, making it very versatile and great.

It's also a nice touch that we get a top readout LCD, but to be honest, i've yet to use it in practice, the LCD and EVF do what i need.

Options and features

This thing is stuffed full of features. The smartphone app is neat: you can use your phone to see a live, nearly lag free image from the camera, and even zoom in and out and take photos from your phone/tablet. The big disappointment though, is that you can't control video at all. Be sure to bug sony about this. This feature has lots of potential and would be great to gain additional functionality. Sony has an API for this function, so if you're savy about that stuff, please dive in.

You also have reasonable control over the image, you can't get cinestyle onto it, but you can get a pretty flat image. I've found the portrait profile the be the flattest, but neutral, deep, and standard all are pretty similar with contrast dialed down. You get contrast, saturation, and sharpness control over each profile, but only +/- 3. The contrast control has a significant effect on the profiles, but i've found that sharpness and saturation have much less of an effect. I find that saturation and contrast at -3 and sharpness at 0 gives me the most out of it. If you've used a C100/300, i've likened it to the WideDR profile, but a tad flatter.

You also get nearly complete control over setting buttons and whatnot, they fit the most buttons one could reasonably fit into this size body. You also get a fn button for a quick settings menu which you can set a bunch of menu items to for quick access. I'm overly pleased with how i've set mine up: the main dial on the back i set for iso, so iso is changed just like aperture or shutter: just turn the dial. the C button on top i set to ND filter, and the AEL button i set to focus punch in. Shutter speed has it's own dial on back and aperture is of course set with that aperture ring on the lens.

Final thoughts

My main use for this camera is to be my walkaround, have on me most of the time, vacation lens. I suspect that i might also use it for certain event type coverage where that parfocal zoom would get me shots that i otherwise wouldn't be able to get with my C100. If i happen to need a second camera for a shoot, i wouldn't hesitate to bring out the RX10, i'd pick it up over my 5d2 for video 9 out of 10 times.

Is it overpriced? I was willing to shell out 1300 for it, and it looks like many others were as well, so i'd say no it isn't overpriced. I think it would have been a lot more attractive at $999, but i think i got what i paid for, it doesn't exist anywhere else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


59 of 64 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unexpected, January 17, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sony DSCRX10/B Cybershot 20.2 MP Digital Still Camera with 3-Inch LCD Screen (Electronics)
I purchased this camera to take on a vacation to the Amazon in South America. I did not not want to haul my heavy professional Nikon and lenses on the trip, as well as a video camera. There are many sites that review the technical aspects of this camera, and I have found them to match my experience with the camera.

However, something I never expected happened. The camera has caused me to change the way I take photos. Let me try to explain...

I spent many, many years learning how to operate the controls of a camera so that I could get the exposure and depth of field desired. When looking in the viewfinder, I could NOT see with my eyes the results of my settings, but I knew from experience what I was going to get. Moving to digital shortened the time it took to see the results of my settings, but the technical process of taking a photo did not change much.

With the electronic viewfinder of the RX-10, when I make a setting on the camera I can see with my eyes the effect in real time. What I see in the viewfinder is what I am going to get. No waiting, no guessing.

The technical aspect of taking a photo is now so darn easy, and I don't need to haul around all those lenses and a video camera.

It should be the perfect camera for what I am going to use it for!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


64 of 77 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than most, and almost there., November 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sony DSCRX10/B Cybershot 20.2 MP Digital Still Camera with 3-Inch LCD Screen (Electronics)
Better than the RX100 for the lens, and dials, but that's it.

Pros:

1. Relatively simple to use, and feels more like a camera than my RX100 (albeit 5x the size).
2. Construction seems well done, but still slightly plasticy feeling.
3. Faster aperture over most of the zoom range.
4. Sharp lens, better than the RX100 on the longer end of things (>70mm eq.)
5. Tiling screen is nice to have, but could have been touch capable at this price.
6. Real lens hood and cap (familiar and perhaps preferred, to those used to slr types of camera).
7. Great EVF. Really, this one is as good as, or better than the EM-5 IMO.
8. Shutter button feel is great.
9. Aperture ring the hails to a time when we used such things. Nice touch.
10. Detents available on the aperture ring (but more on this later).
11. Smooth and relatively even zoom, although slow (more on this later).
12. Well balanced in your hand(s), even with the zoom fully extended.
13. UI is pretty simple to navigate, and to find what you expected/needed to find.
14. Weather sealing is a nice feature, but I don't anticipate shooting in a down pour very much.
15. When sounds are disabled, the shutter is virtually silent. Great work Sony.

Cons:

1. Squeaky tilt screen (yeah, it squeaks when moving into the down low shooting position).
2. Sloooooo....oooow zoom. Too slow IMO. The linkage/communication should be more direct between the ring and the movement of the lens.
3. The aperture ring, while an excellent idea, only has the knurled portions in two areas of the ring. This makes it so that I constantly turn the switch that controls the detent function, into the off position. When you grab it where the knurled areas are not, you simply cannot turn it very well as your fingers impact the fingers that hold the grip. Poor design there.
4. Write times are decent, but you hit the buffer and it gets very slow. It clears reasonably quickly tho, so not too bad.
5. No AF-on style button, or function. Major oversight.
6. Bug in the software: This means that if you accidentally plug the camera in to your computer (while the computer is in sleep mode) to charge your battery,and the camera's power switch is in the on position, it will disable your camera's ability to connect to your computer. You then have to use a card reader. Silly bug, and it needs a fix.
7. Average responsiveness in the AF dept., although it does hit the target most of the time. This is actually unacceptably slow for me after trying for two days.
8. Battery life: Real world use is not what they claim. If you plan to use the camera to frame your image, or review many of your images, be prepared for something like 200 shots or so. Not terrible, but not great either. (Caveat: I am using the EVF mostly).

Overall then, this is a solid bit of kit, but not the one I had hoped for when placing the order. It lacks some of what I expected it to accomplish easily.

What I feel are missing: The refined movements/operation of a high end camera, and the AF performance anticipated by the much touted new AF system. It lags behind my RX100 for AF speed by about half the speed.

The battery charging in the camera has caused some frustration, and caused the camera to malfunction. This occurred/occurs, when inadvertently connected to a USB then to your Mac, while the Mac is "asleep". Dumb oversight Sony. Get that fixed please.

In the hand, its just about tall enough to feel like a real camera, but not quite tall enough to really "hold" like one. I have medium sized hands, so that is for my grip. Another of the tactile things is that the buttons seem lost on the back of the camera when you have it to your eye (which you will probably find yourself doing with this EVF). You can probably find the buttons ok, by training yourself to go to the horizontal wheel, then carefully moving your thumb down till you feel them. Also, the lens rattles at the front end, whether its turned off, on or fully extended. Not a lot of rattle, but I noticed it "clicking" around as I moved about and bumped my elbows into objects for stability.

What it does well (esp. considering the size of sensor) is to capture and retain shadow and highlight details. As with the RX100, I found myself setting a negative 1/3 stop of exposure for most automated shooting. I played with processing a few jpeg images, and even they held up pretty well. The images will do better keeping details in the shadows, than in highlights though. So keep your highlights in check, your ISO's lower, and you can recover a healthy amount from those shadows.

This lens is very, very good. I shoot with the Nikon 70-200/2.8 and have had the Canon version of that lens some years ago. Neither of those lenses can out perform this one for its purpose. Unlike those lenses, this one does pincushion pretty severely, but when you consider the other end (25mm), its totally acceptable IMO. Very nice job.

So then, is it a keeper? I really want to, but I am fighting with myself.

On the one hand I REALLY want a one stop bridge camera like this. On the other hand, it holds back in some areas that feel like Sony were not quite paying attention. I probably will keep it as it does most of what I hoped it would, and frankly, I can probably learn to work around the "issues" I have with it.

Nice but not quite there. Perhaps the" version II" will address these few bugs. Just need some more beta testers like me to speak up until they listen, as they did with the RX100/RX100 II.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very nice camera., November 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sony DSCRX10/B Cybershot 20.2 MP Digital Still Camera with 3-Inch LCD Screen (Electronics)
Great image quality, very nice zoom range. Crisp sharp images with great low light focus. I was looking for a nice carry around camera and after trying several others such as olympus omd m1, panasonics fz200 and canon hs50 and finally the fuji xs1(which is the only one of the group I kept) none compared to the rx10 in features or image quality. This camera is a nice compliment to the canon gear I am currently using for work - t5i, 7d, 70d, 6d and 5d miii.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nearly perfect do-everything camera despite one big WARNING, July 26, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sony DSCRX10/B Cybershot 20.2 MP Digital Still Camera with 3-Inch LCD Screen (Electronics)
The RX10 is a nearly perfect camera for someone who wants a single, do-everything, go-almost-anywhere camera that takes excellent pictures and video in a wide variety of shooting conditions but doesn't want the expense or trouble of carrying an interchangeable lens camera body and two or more lenses.

The RX10 is nearly as large and weighs about the same as a compact consumer DSLR with kit lens. If you're coming from a compact point-and-shoot, it'll seem heavy around your neck after an hour; pick up a decent shoulder strap (like this one Fotasy NSQF Anti-Slip Sling Neck Strap with Rapid Fasten, Comfort, Ergonomic Design (Black)) and you'll be comfortable all day.

I also own a Nikon D40X DSLR with two lenses (18-55mm and 55-200mm) and two "enthusiast compact" cameras with 1/1.7" sensors (Canon S90 and Nikon P7700). The DSLR takes better pictures, of course, but has two disadvantages: (1) carrying it around and traveling with it is more trouble, and (2) you have to swap lenses when you want to switch from a wide shot to a telephoto shot; this takes time and as a result I've lost some good shots. The S90 and P7700 take much better pictures than mass-market consumer cameras with 1/2.3" sensors, and were often good enough for most of my needs. But I wanted something better.

Before buying the RX10, I seriously considered a micro 4/3 system like the Olympus OMD-EM10, which is a bit easier to travel with than a DSLR, but there's still the trouble of swapping lenses. Also, I didn't think I'd be happy with the kit lens and a cheap zoom; to realize the camera's potential, I'd want to spend a lot more on lenses. I started researching lenses and loading some into my Amazon cart, and quickly approached $2000 for the body and 2 good lenses. If you're really serious about photography, I can see spending $2000 or more on gear. I'm not quite that serious.

But I am serious enough to spend around $1000 if it's the right camera, and the RX10 is the right camera for me.

I chose it over the new Panasonic FZ1000. The FZ1000 looks like a really great camera, and will be a better option for many of you. According to most professional reviews, image/video quality and performance are roughly equal or very similar between the two cameras. But as you probably know, the FZ1000 has a much longer zoom (16X instead of 8.3X on the RX10), a fully-articulating display (whereas the RX10's can only tilt up or down), and can shoot 4K video.

For me, the FZ1000's 4K video capability is useless, while the RX10's video capabilities are truly outstanding. I drool over the FZ1000's longer zoom, but the extra reach is a novelty I wouldn't often use, as most of my shots are well within the RX10's 24-200mm range.

I chose the RX10 because it has better build quality (it's made of magnesium alloy whereas the FZ1000 is made of plastic), the great Zeiss glass, and because the RX10 strikes me as the zoom/bridge version of the RX100 series, which is universally lauded by professional reviewers. (I seriously considered an RX100, but just couldn't see myself being happy with such a short zoom range.)

But the FZ1000 might be the better choice for you. In the first comment to this review, I've added a couple links to professional reviewers that compare the two cameras.

One common complaint I've seen in reviews of the RX10 is that zooming from 24 to 200 or back is slow on the RX10. In my opinion, it's not so slow as to be even mildly annoying, and it's certainly much quicker than changing lenses on my DSLR. Besides, the zoom motor is pushing a lot of glass; I'd be surprised if the FZ1000, with similarly large glass and a huge range, zooms any faster.

I have one serious gripe about the RX10, and you should know about it before spending your hard-earned $$$. Sony advertises the RX10 as "dust- and moisture-resistant." Based on this statement, some professional reviews suggest that it's safe to use this camera in inclement weather, or even go so far as saying that the RX10 is "weather-sealed." This is grossly misleading. The RX10's manual says:

"WARNING: To reduce fire or shock hazard, do not expose the unit to rain or moisture." (p.3)

"This camera is designed to be dust and moisture-resistant, but is not waterproof or splash-proof." (p.33)

"Do not use/store the camera in the following places
* In sandy or dusty places
Be careful not to let sand or dust get into the camera. This may cause the camera to malfunction, and in some cases this malfunction cannot be repaired." (pp.33-34)

So, how is this camera "dust- and moisture-resistant"? I asked a Sony customer service rep via Sony's online chat. The rep didn't know (much of anything) so she looked it up or asked someone, and reported to me that this camera is dust- and moisture-resistant because it is constructed from magnesium alloy. Really??

I think it would be wise to assume that the RX10 has no special weather sealing and shouldn't be used in weather conditions where you'd be uncomfortable using a camera that was not advertised as moisture- or dust-resistant.

This is disappointing. But of course, it's extremely common for companies to misrepresent or overstate the benefits of the products they sell. While I would have much preferred it if the RX10 were weather-proof and while I'm disappointed to learn it's basically like any other camera in this respect, I don't for a minute regret my purchase. I'm still very enthusiastic about this camera and still recommend it highly, but I wanted others to know so you could have realistic expectations before making your purchase decision.

If you buy this camera (or a similar one), you should consider some accessories. Here are some I own and recommend:

* protect your premium Zeiss glass with a filter, here's a great one:
B+W 62mm Clear UV Haze with Multi-Resistant Coating (010M)

* protect the display from scratches
Expert Shield - THE Screen Protector for: Sony DSC RX10 *Lifetime Guarantee*

* compact camera bag has built-in rain shield and room for accessories
Lowepro Toploader Zoom 45 AW (Sea Blue)

* save your neck, get a more comfortable shoulder strap
Fotasy NSQF Anti-Slip Sling Neck Strap with Rapid Fasten, Comfort, Ergonomic Design (Black)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It WILL Become a Classic, January 8, 2014
By 
Carlton D. Garrard (Rancho Santa Margarita, CA, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sony DSCRX10/B Cybershot 20.2 MP Digital Still Camera with 3-Inch LCD Screen (Electronics)
My review is a bit jumpy and all over the place so be warned- just calling it as it comes to me and I see it:

Sony's best cameras used to be just fixed lens digicams prior to buying Minolta and expanding the interchangeable lens NEX and Alpha system. Cybershot used to be the star of the show. The encore has begun.

They have the most experience in fixed lens digicams in the world in my opinion- and the RX10 shows it. The Cybershot division is on a tear lately and the RX10 is a shining example of their capabilities. To me, the RX10 is the best built digicam Sony has ever made, and second only to the Digilux 2/LC1 from Leica and Panasonic in build quality to all digicams ever made. A VERY close second- almost a tie.

If you haven't held one, you won't know just how beautiful the engineering on this camera is. This quality alone honestly justifies it's price, never mind its ridiculous feature set and capability. Oh yeah and its weather and dust resistant, just to stick the cherry on top. Using it is highly satisfying, the menu system is very logical, packed, but not overly. All three monitors are excellent, class leading too. They aren't the best out there, but excellent. Considering it has 3, battery life is even more impressive. 400 shots plus is plenty for all day shooting, and that makes a great vacation camera. Take two batteries and a drive/flight and enjoy yourself.

It's smaller in hand than pictures would have you believe, and the weight is just right considering its telephoto capability (a bit of heft keeps it steady). It feels in essence, just right. This is a serious tool, and I've not used anything like it. It's destined to be a classic. For those that like an all in one camera, they are going to get the RX10 (understand it). Probably fall in love with it too(quirks and all). Of course it's not perfect, but as an all in one design, its unequaled ever in its category.

It's price is only expensive until you add up what a system camera would cost you that would equal what the RX10 can do right out of the box. And, you'll not find any system camera that can pack what the RX10 does in such a small and convenient space.

This is a true grab and go, grab and grow camera.

As more people use it and buy it, I foresee a lot of happy owners spreading the word about it- and it becoming a cult classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great compromise between size and image quality, January 7, 2014
This review is from: Sony DSCRX10/B Cybershot 20.2 MP Digital Still Camera with 3-Inch LCD Screen (Electronics)
After I purchased this camera, I sold my DSLR and my superzoom lens. While giving up some in terms of image noise, it makes up for it in sharpness and focusing speed in poorly lit environments. I purchased it at a sale price, and to be honest, I don't know if it would have paid full price for it, but it was totally worth what I paid for it. Love this lens, love the handling of the camera. Can easily handle images up to 3200 iso without a significant drop in quality (to my non-professional eyes). Great vibration reduction. I can get images at 1/10 sec that I couldn't get with my DSLR.

The 28-200 equiv 2.8 Zeiss lens is the star of the camera. I think that it pairs well with the sensor and I love to be able to shoot in dim lighting conditions because of its speed.

Build quality is excellent. It claims to be weather resistant, though I do not plan to test that claim. Grip is nice and rubbery, but I wish it was a little larger. I plan to put a strap on it to make it a little more secure. I love the exposure dial and aperture ring. The LCD display at the top is very useful, especially since I tend to turn the LCD off and use the EVF as if it were a DSLR. I seem to get better battery life that way.

So far, I have shot with this camera in concert environments, indoors with crummy CFL lighting, some outdoors and some random portraiture. In every case, I have been pleased with how my images came out. I get "keepers" much more frequently on this camera than I did on either my D80 or D5100. I appreciate little things like the Sweep Panorama mode which is so much easier to use than other cameras, lots of control over which buttons to assign to what, creative modes aplenty that I may never use, but enjoy playing with.

Video is smooth and I appreciate having the fast lens and the ability to shift apertures smoothly if I want to. To be honest, I don't plan to shoot that much video but I hear that people are considering buying this camera as a run and gun solution.

So what do I think could be better?

- I don't like the pop up flash and agree w/ Ming Thein that I suspect its finicky fold-down design will result in accidentally broken flashes in the future. It also does not flip up to bounce flash like the ones on the well regarded RX100 II. Incidentally, I found that using a bounce card (or in my case, the plastic case that hold my lens cleaning cloth) works just fine for a bounce flash.

- I do with the zoom dial would move the lens more responsively. There is a small lag and I do miss the speed that I could change zoom ranges w/ my old superzoom. I find myself using the zoom switch around the shutter button and it works just fine. Just have to anticipate my shots better.

- I wish you could have a setting where you shoot w/ the EVF but then have the image display on the LCD, like a real DSLR. As it is, you can either use the EVF exclusively or the LCD exclusively, or have it automatically switch in between but always having a screen on. I would prefer it if the screen would go off if the camera was just sitting stationary, go to EVF when your eye went to the viewfinder and then displayed the photo for viewing on the LCD. There is no setting like this.

- There is no manual included with the camera which I find strange at this price range as well as no external battery charger. (There are cheap generic ones available on Amazon- I recommend getting one. Thus far they seem to be working well)

Will this get better images than a APS DSLR with 2.8 zoom lenses throughout its range? No. But that would cost $2-3K more and be much heavier to carry around.

Will this get as good bokeh as a fast prime? No, the sensor is too small. But the bokeh isn't bad, especially at the tele end of the zoom. My other camera is a NEX-C3 w/ a 50mm 1.8 lens. This has all the bokeh I need so I'm ok sacrificing some in a superzoom.

Is this as small as the Olympus Stylus 1? No, it is not, it is significantly larger and heavier, however, neither one is particularly small and the RX10 has much better low light, high ISO performance. If I was doing all outdoor or favorable lighting pictures, I would probably have considered the Stylus. However, I do a lot of indoor shooting in unfavorable lighting.

Can this camera take images which can be printed at larger sizes like 20" x 30"? I've heard some people being able to do it at ISO 125. To be honest, I am not professional and rarely print anything above 8.5x11 in a photobook.

This camera is a compromise and an excellent one and for me it helped me capture the images that I was missing from my previous DSLR/sigma combo. For me, it is utterly worth the investment.

For some pics that I took recently, feel free to check out picasa albums:

[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Video Camera for this Price!, December 26, 2013
This review is from: Sony DSCRX10/B Cybershot 20.2 MP Digital Still Camera with 3-Inch LCD Screen (Electronics)
I bought this camera almost entirely for video, I don't think I even took a photo with it so this review will reflect on its video performance. And boy is it amazing. The RX10 easily beat camcorders that cost twice more and it is one of the most ergonomic camera I used in a while, all the features for video like peaking, zebra, focus magnification, servo zoom, ND filter, audio controls are all there, many of which the GH3 and the BMPC does not have. Not to mention the 24-200 Zeiss lens!

Pros:
- Wonderful super 16mm equivalent sensor
- Fantastic 24-200mm constant f2.8 lens, with active stabilization on it becomes a 29-300mm lens for greater range
- ND filter, this feature alone is worth the price saved me countless hours screwing on filters
- Peaking and zebra! I believe this is the first consumer camera ever to have both features
- Step-less aperture ring!
- Great EVF, more responsive and better in low light than the NEX7 EVF
- Weather sealed
- Very sharp video
- Clear image zoom work well for video does not look mushy like regular digital zoom
- Very moire and aliasing resistant

Cons:
- Battery life not great for video and it is my biggest complaint, I need 2 batteries for a moderate day of filming, I wish Sony used the M class batteries for the Alpha cameras
- Low light performance not stellar, 3200iso is about the limit but that is pretty good given the sensor size
- AVCHD not the greatest codec for grading but image is fine out of the camera
- While moire rarely occur it cans till show up in extremely fine patterns, I only encountered one such issue

To be honest videography is not all about large sensors and DOF control, the super 16mm format is amazing in its own right, the RX10 really stand on its own here, I tested the BMPC (also super 16mm) and it does not come close in terms of ergonomics and usability, and a RAW work flow is just too much hassle for run and gun shooting. I would recommend the RX10 to any documentary maker, journalist or events shooter
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The PERFECT camera?, December 4, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sony DSCRX10/B Cybershot 20.2 MP Digital Still Camera with 3-Inch LCD Screen (Electronics)
I just got this camera and got to use it over the Thanksgiving holiday. I LOVE IT! Once I learned about this camera, I immediately sold my Sony NEX6 and my Panasonic FZ200 and I don't regret it one bit. The RX10 pictures easily match the quality of my NEX6. I am very impressed. I took it to work this week to compare it with my co-worker's newly purchased Panasonic G5 (Micro-4/3)... We took pictures of the same objects at the same angles with the same zoom. The pictures that I took with the RX10 were noticeably better in every aspect than those taken with the G5. The G5 has a bigger sensor, but the kit lens is no match for that on the RX10. My pictures were much brighter, sharper, and cleaner. I am not knocking the Panasonic G5... It is a good camera. Just wanted to provide some comparison.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best compact out there, January 25, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sony DSCRX10/B Cybershot 20.2 MP Digital Still Camera with 3-Inch LCD Screen (Electronics)
The price of this compact camera seems to me to be totally worth it considering its larger sensor size and its wide maximum aperture. As well as the fact of its ability for video rather than just stills. Because it appears to me that Sony also considered the Video crowd as well as the Stills crowd in that video was not just an afterthought like a lot of other compacts.

And this camera, for me, comes as close as I can get to Sony's R1 compact from a few years ago but without the high price. As well as the RX100M2 (which I also have) but with a longer zoom range. So I suppose you can say that this camera combines a lot of the qualities as the R1 and the RX100M2. And this camera has the same processor as Sony's A7 which I have been also considering but may wait now for a future upgrade to that A7 full-frame light-weight camera. I have been a longtime fan of Nikon DSLR's and own their 5100 and 7100. But I am slowly shifting my interests to Sony's full-frame and lighterweight cameras.

I have been also a consumer of Sony's compact cameras since their F-828 which I still have and love. I don't think you can go wrong with this camera especially since Sony has a lot of experience with single-lens compact cameras and so they make a very good dependable product.

Finally, in closing, digital camera author, Gary Friedman, just announced within the past week that he will be coming out with a book about the RX10 during the 2nd quarter of 2014. He originally mentioned that though the camera was a very capable camera, their didn't seem to be that much interest in a book. But that has since changed so I am looking forward to that book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.