Customer Reviews


326 Reviews
5 star:
 (98)
4 star:
 (110)
3 star:
 (50)
2 star:
 (22)
1 star:
 (46)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


763 of 771 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good improvement over the DVP-CX985V
I have had the previous version (985V) for about two years now, and most of this review will refer to differences between the two. I have enjoyed the ability to store all my DVD's in one place (I have three children; and this prevents them from having to sort through the movies by hand).

The software is mediocre at best, though a large improvement over the...
Published on September 19, 2005 by Bill

versus
162 of 172 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not one of Sony's better efforts.
The Sony DVP-CX995V. Hmmm. Let's get the obvious out of the way.

Yes. It will play your movies, your CD's and MP3's. The picture and sound is more than acceptable.

Yes. It will hold a lot of discs in a relatively compact space and eliminate clutter in your A/V / Home Theater Room.

Saying that, the product falls short of being truly usable...
Published on January 5, 2006 by goldenrool


‹ Previous | 18 9 1033 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars my 3rd sony mega DvD changer, February 10, 2007
This review is from: Sony DVPCX995V 400-Disc DVD Mega Changer/Player (2009 Model) (Electronics)
have had the 200 disk changer, the 301 disk changer (with flipping option) and now this one.

I blew out both the 200 disk and 301 disk changer due to over use. yes, the machines just stopped reading the disks due to them being used way to much. to be 100% fair to sony, these are not industrial rated products. all products have a basic "time of use" built in depending on the componets being used in building them. be it 15000 or 500000 hours of use. You do get what you pay for. I have owned both a consumer VHS player and a industrial player.. the industrial lasted, the consumer burned out in 2 years.

way to much = 24 hours a day, 365 days a year. over 8000 hours a year give or take. the machines rarely ever got turned off

great things:

--400 disks ;)

--small remote. yes, some are complaining about this. I had all of sonys fat wheel remotes, never really used them much. just reporgram a universal.

--faster page flipping in the browser

-- HDMI

-- little easier software controls over all..cleaned up

-- bragging rights with friends...haha..5 disk changer..eat my 400 disk!

bad:

--Still slow as dirt compared to a 386 computer. COME ON sony. consumers would be willing to pay an extra 50 bucks for more speed in browsing

--Data STILL not loading for all companies disks. Sony..guys...play nice and ask them to put title data on their disks. I know this is not 100% your fault..but COME ON. its been YEARS since the 200 came out.

-- can't go through the browser by punching in disk numbers? a step BACKWARDS

-- no flipping disks...ya, I know companies are getting away from 2 sided..but still

-- no uplink to another one. yes, people have more then 400disks...uplink controls and number the disks for each unit beyond the first 401-800, etc

even after all that, I love sony for making these. my disks stay 100% perfect after all these years. only time they get handled is moving them between machines.

now..onto the 500 disk Blu-ray mega player sony..I know you got it in you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super Product!, January 25, 2007
This review is from: Sony DVPCX995V 400-Disc DVD Mega Changer/Player (2009 Model) (Electronics)
Forget any negative review you may read. This is a super product!! Just think, with this dvd player you NEVER have to get up to change a disc. All your movies at your fingertips, and you can really clear space. This should be every movie lovers standard!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Long load times but excellent picture and sound, January 24, 2007
By 
This review is from: Sony DVPCX995V 400-Disc DVD Mega Changer/Player (2009 Model) (Electronics)
This unit replaced an old sony dvd that had died. The load times are long which comes into play when you try to get all of the names entered. The auto load only generated about 1/3rd of the titles (I know this is an issue with the discs not the player). However, when the movies started I was blown away with the quality of the picture and the sound. I purchased some polk RTI8 speakers and I had not heard them produce such amazing sounds. The surround sound output is so much more enveloping. The picture is great as well. The other thing I noticed is that there is almost zero transition time between layers. I would recommend this unit for DVD's. If you want random cd transitions I wouldn't buy it. However, it does read mp3's so make a party mix and move on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Convenient access to 400 discs. SACD and HDMI are a problem for me..., June 22, 2006
By 
D. Lloyd (California, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sony DVPCX995V 400-Disc DVD Mega Changer/Player (2009 Model) (Electronics)
I recently purchased the Sony DVP-CX995V to replace our older DVP-CX985V. For us, the main differences between the two were the reasons for upgrading to the newer model; digital HDMI video output with upscaling of DVD movies to high-definition, the new version of Sony's Disc Explorer, and 192kHz/24-bit audio D/A converter (the same specification as the DVP-CX777ES model) for SACD playback.

The new Disc Explorer is faster, mainly because it does not display the jacket cover pictures for each disc in the main menu as did the previous versions. Other than that the two players are fairly similar.

Video and digital audio quality is very good (I'm using an HDMI-DVI cable for the video and a high quality DH Labs D-75 coaxial cable for the digital audio). The player also plays back JPEG pictures and MP3 audio (burnt onto CD-R discs in this case). MP3 audio is output as 44.1 kHz PCM. The DVP-CX995V does not have any external control ports (such as Sony Control S or Control A1II).

A few general points to note about previous and current Sony DVD/SACD changers:

- SACD (Super Audio Compact Disc) playback is analog output only.

- DVD-audio discs cannot be played.

This model, like most others, cannot play the second side of a dual-sided DVD disc (the only model which did this was the now discontinued DVP-CX875P).

The majority of DVD video discs do not have title information (which is displayed in the Disc Explorer menu). For this you will have to type in the information by attaching a keyboard to the player. This can be tedious if you have a large number of DVD movies, but it works very well. I have never experienced loosing the title information which I have entered.

All of the SACD discs we own already have title information on the disc. For discs which do contain title information, the text cannot be edited.

Actually, out of the four Sony DVD magachangers we have owned, I by far preferred the design of the DVP-CX875P to the other models.

There are two problems I am experiencing with the DVP-CX995V:

- SACD playback.

For reasons unknown, I experience random audio dropouts when listening to SACDs. I have over 30 titles, all of which are brand new, with no scratches/dust/fingerprints. The DVP-CX995V is installed on an isolation platform (using four isolation bearings for vibration dampening), is supplied with clean power (as is all of the other AV equipment), and is connected to my preamplifier using two high quality DH Labs analog interconnect cables with locking RCA connectors. I have tried cleaning the lens of the DVP-CX995V several times, but I still get random audio dropouts regardless of which SACD title I play...

I have never experienced any problems with digital audio from the player.

Also, I can't get SACD surround sound, as the analog inputs on my preamplifier are two channel (stereo) only. (5.1 surround output needs six inputs).

I really wish Sony would get their act together and make digital output standard for all SACD playback. Currently a few of the ES receivers have iLink inputs for digital SACD playback, and only a few ES models of single disc players have iLink output. Having to use analog audio connections between components is far from ideal, and vastly limits the potential of this audio format.

- HDMI upscaling.

The HDMI upscaling on my DVP-CX995V does not work, period.

The reason why ? Because it is connected to a Sony high definition screen (PFM-42X1/B) using HDMI output from the player into a DVI input on the display. The player recognizes an HDMI connection, but will only output 640p. Even the Disk Explorer menu is displayed as 4:3 on a 16:9 screen (automatically switching between 16:9 and 4:3 for DVD movie playback does work).

Calling Sony support didn't provide a solution.

The thing that really worries me is that Sony are moving towards HDMI output on all of their consumer video products, and it is highly likely that they won't work with DVI either.

** Update ** We recently replaced our Sony SAT-T60 Tivo DVR with a DirecTV HR20 HD DVR, and it outputs 480i/480p/720p/1080i to the Sony PFM-42X1/B via HDMI with no problems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sony DVPCX995V 400-Disc DVD Changer Review, January 9, 2007
By 
JK "John" (Sinking Spring, PA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sony DVPCX995V 400-Disc DVD Mega Changer/Player (2009 Model) (Electronics)
I have been running this changer for about 3 months now and here's the scoop.

The good:

1) It appears Sony has indeed fixed the disc scratch issues they had with prior players

2) Keyboard input is great, it saves a lot of time and I would never by a changer that didn't have this option

3) Upconvert looks clean, didn't see any issues with this at all

The bad:

1) Sorting is incorrect, it will sort Caps before lowercase. So movie "XYZ" will be before "abc". Sony needs to ignore case for proper sorting

2) No override for disc info burned into the disc. This doesn't seem major but you will run into a lot of odd things. Most movies have the proper data, but movies like "Hackers", "Platoon" and some others fill in movie tiles on the disc with the directors name, etc. There is no way to remove this.

3) There are a handful of movies whos title does not fit in the characters alotted. Star Wars X: xxxxxxx xxx xxxx is a good example.

Future Needs:

1) It would be nice to link these machines like prior generations, though most good recievers out there can handle multiple players so it's not huge.

2) Fix the case sensitivity issue

3) Allow user defined fields in the DVD info screens. I would love to put more data in there but you don't get much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Greeat DVD Player...One Downfall, March 24, 2006
This review is from: Sony DVPCX995V 400-Disc DVD Mega Changer/Player (2009 Model) (Electronics)
I agree with most of the other reviews on this 400 DVD disc player. I have had mine for three years now and it is a great piece of equipment but there is one downfall that I have found with my system. Two years ago, I bought a DVD recorder that records DVD+R/RW. Now according to the manual on my Sony 400 DVD player, the system should play my recorded DVD+R DVDs, however, I have had problems getting my Sony 400 DVD player to play these recorded DVD discs. The DVD will stick or show pixels in the picture while playing. I have done my homework to find out if it was the dvd disc or player. The DVD discs work fine on all my other players so I have narrowed it down to being my Sony 400 DVD player that isn't compatible with all my recorded dvd discs. That being said, this is a wonderful unit but if you are going to make your own dvd discs, do not expect them to always work in the Sony 400 DVD Player.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sony DVPCX995V 400-Disc DVD and SACD comments, February 18, 2006
By 
This review is from: Sony DVPCX995V 400-Disc DVD Mega Changer/Player (2009 Model) (Electronics)
PROS:

- you can hold lots of different discs on one place, and you do not need to put them in order - player has option to select and separate CDs and DVDs at different folders upon your preferences - pretty easy to set it up.

- CD SACD and DVD quality is excellent. Signal to Noise ratio is exceptional too.

CONS:

- Software written to drive that unit is quite deficient. Way too many options hard to figure out what is what. You have to read the manual first to get the picture how and what to do.

- as soon as you remove the disc to put it in another player, it forgets the title and all other information you put for the disc slot. It means you have to program it every time you remove the disc - no comments.

- Sony did very silly thing removing the disc title scrolling feature from player small screen - you change the disc and the screen exhibits the disc name flawlessly. To be able to see what is the name of the disc you have to turn on and use the TV screen, because the local screen of the DVD/CD player misses that option. Older Sony 400 CD only player has that feature, and it is very convenient - you can use the player even without remote control.

- Remote control is also messy to use, by the same reason. I use few buttons of it, and still do not know how to get fast to the disc I like without scrolling,

- This player is SLOW to change discs, takes almost forever (in microseconds). If you expect fast shuttling the discs - it won't do it. Loading, initial reading and disc recognition is quite slow - expect 30-40 seconds per disc change.

-It does automatically recognize CD discs and put their names in the menu, but it rarely recognize DVD discs - be ready to use a keyboard to enter information manually.

In general, if you like to spend no more than $300 for such a changer you should buy it, you get what you pay for. It plays perfect, but is a pain to set it user friendly mode. Otherwise better buy $400-$600 changers from other companies. There is no free lunch as we all know. Regards, Angel
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you have a LOT of dvd's...Here is the answer., March 2, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sony DVPCX995V 400-Disc DVD Mega Changer/Player (2009 Model) (Electronics)
I must admit, the main thing that drew me to the DVPCX995V was the fact that it had an HDMI output. This might not be important to most, but we just purchased a 50in Plasma HDtv and I soon became aware of the importance of the HDMI cable. It allows a 1 cable digital connection of vidio & audio which is very important when dealing with HDtv. So...after being drawn in by that feature I then moved on to the fact that we have well over 200 dvd's and simply finding a piece of furniture to hold them all is a pain. The idea of putting them all in 1 unit and being able to simply call them up on demand was very attractive.

The onscreen menu takes a while to get used to but once you play with it a bit its really easy to call up your discs. It is a rather large unit. Very deep and it sticks out of most standard shelving units. But not much.

Overall we are VERY happy with this purchase and are enjoying our home theater experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Convenience In A Big Package, July 10, 2006
By 
L. Kelsey (Redondo Beach, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sony DVPCX995V 400-Disc DVD Mega Changer/Player (2009 Model) (Electronics)
I read all of the customer reviews of the Sony DVPCX995V before buying so I was not surprised when it lived up to and down to the "Pros" and "Cons" of the reviews. The best feature strangely enough is the price and the Player works great with my 62" DLP HD television. I am using the HDMI hookup and the picture is fabulous with the 1080 upconvert. Using the Player is quite easy if, as I was warned by other reviewers, you don't get hung up with some of "convenience" features. I am still inputing the titles, etc. But in the meantime my "non-digital" handwritten matrix works well. Not surprisingly the Player's "turntable changer" results in a unit that is quite deep-front to back...Not a problem in my setup but would be for someone with narrow shelving or a shallow media center.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If you want a DVD Jukebox...this is it, May 27, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sony DVPCX995V 400-Disc DVD Mega Changer/Player (2009 Model) (Electronics)
Pretty much works as advertised. The only thing you should know before buying is that the UPCONVERSION (to 720p and 1080i) only works over the HDMI output. Output choices for Component are 480i and 480p. The primary value of this player is that it can hold and catalog up to 400 DVDs. You can plug in a standard PC keyboard to make data entry easier. Picture and sound quality is fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 18 9 1033 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.