Customer Reviews


96 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


100 of 102 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Portable DVD player with basic features
This DVD player from Sony is a good value for the price. It's a small unit with 7 inch screen, decent audio and basic features of any DVD player such as play, pause, menu, audio, return, options, volume, fast forward/reverse, etc. I do have to agree that the controls could be more sensitive, but are certainly completely functional. It also has a A/V out as well as a...
Published on July 6, 2012 by Jaroslav Melgr

versus
62 of 63 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sony DVP-FX780 - Pros and Cons, Get 9" one, Short Cord, Tests, Review Corrections
This review is for: Sony DVP-FX780 Portable DVD Player (Introduced March '12)

OVERVIEW:
-----------

We have been using Sony portable DVD players for many years and have always been very happy with them. However, although this has the usual GREAT PICTURE AND SOUND we expect from Sony portable DVD players, CONSIDER A HIGHER END SONY MODEL...
Published 16 months ago by Neil E. Isenberg


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

100 of 102 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Portable DVD player with basic features, July 6, 2012
This review is from: Sony DVPFX780 7-Inch Screen DVD Portable (Electronics)
This DVD player from Sony is a good value for the price. It's a small unit with 7 inch screen, decent audio and basic features of any DVD player such as play, pause, menu, audio, return, options, volume, fast forward/reverse, etc. I do have to agree that the controls could be more sensitive, but are certainly completely functional. It also has a A/V out as well as a headphone jack. It's a bit "fat" but fairly light and portable. The exterior design has a nice feel to it, it feels better than plain surface.

Among my criteria for selecting a DVD player was a good brand, which Sony certainly is. It's been working well for me the few months I've had it. The other criteria for selecting this unit was the battery life. This unit has a 4-hour battery life and so far I can say that my battery has been holding up near that long. I've never actually ran it completely out, but used it for nearly 4 hours on a few occasions and battery still had a bit left in it. The full charge takes nearly 4 hours.

There is no doubt that there will be newer and better players coming out with newer features, longer lasting batteries, etc. but overall, this is a great value for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


62 of 63 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sony DVP-FX780 - Pros and Cons, Get 9" one, Short Cord, Tests, Review Corrections, May 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sony DVPFX780 7-Inch Screen DVD Portable (Electronics)
This review is for: Sony DVP-FX780 Portable DVD Player (Introduced March '12)

OVERVIEW:
-----------

We have been using Sony portable DVD players for many years and have always been very happy with them. However, although this has the usual GREAT PICTURE AND SOUND we expect from Sony portable DVD players, CONSIDER A HIGHER END SONY MODEL.

This is an excellent entry point into Sony's portable DVD players. However, for only $20-$30ish more one can leap to a 9" screen (9" diagonal) with higher resolution to boot, a much better choice. The 9" models available at the time of this review:
Sony DVPFX980 9-Inch Screen DVD Portable
Sony BDPSX910 Portable Blu-ray Player

One negative that stands out is its RIDICULOUSLY SHORT CORD compared to past models. The new cord plug-in port is incompatible with past cords so if you are replacing an old model, you can't use the old much longer cord. Sony said they don't sell a long version of the new cord, if you find one from a third party company, please add that information in a comment :).

The Sony line-up has changed considerably. Gone are the mid-range models with 6 hour battery, 2 headphone ports, etc. They are now just offering very competent models at the low end and getting to high-end features is now a $200ish affair (at the time of this review). I hope to see models with 6+ hour batteries in the low to mid-range models again.

IF MONEY IS NO ISSUE:
-----------------------

If an additional $100-$150 to get the best works for you, skip this review and get a Sony BDP-SX910 (there might be something better by the time you read this, of course) whether or not you play Blu-Ray discs, due to superior overall features that apply to DVDs, too. It was introduced April 2012 so hopefully they have ironed out any new model easy-fixes by now.
Sony BDPSX910 Portable Blu-ray Player

PROS:
------

- The usual GREAT PICTURE and SOUND of a Sony portable DVD player.

- Excellent BATTERY TIME:
--> 3 hours 30 mins at default backlight setting of 10 (out of 1-20).
--> 3 hours 45 mins at backlight setting of 5.

- Includes car lighter charging adapter.

- An A/V (Audio/Video) input/output port.

- As always for the Sony's appears well built, a simple good-looking design with a hard shell.

CONS:
------

- RIDICULOUSLY SHORT CORD (3'2") compared to past Sony DVD portable players.

- I hesitate to mention this since I never noticed it until I looked it up, however the resolution is 480x234, whereas even the lower-end 9" version that costs $20ish more has 800x480.

- 7" Diagonal screen, which although works fine, again for only $20ish you can get a 9" screen which is a much better option.

- In previous models you could Fast Forward and Fast Reverse with right/left arrows. This new model refresh instead only recognizes dual use of the skip buttons to cover FF/FR AND Skip, depending on the timing of the push. It is thus now easy to ACCIDENTALLY SKIP INSTEAD OF FF and vice verse. That said, you should be able to get used to it once you figure it out.

- If the design needs to be so stingy as to have a super shorter cord, it makes one wonder where else money was saved that one can't see.

FEATURES ON SOME HIGHER END SONY MODELS:
-----------------------------------------------

Before committing to this model, you might consider looking at some of Sony's higher end models. Here are some of their features to consider:

- A 9" DISPLAY size is easily worth the extra cost in my opinion.

- 3.5-4 hours BATTERY TIME is excellent for inexpensive players, however, look for 4.5+ hours at the high end.

- This model has 1 headset port, the top end Sony Blu-Ray/DVD portable player has 2 HEADSET PORTS.

- The top end Sony model's SCREEN CAN SWIVEL to face any direction.

- Higher end models come with a REMOTE CONTROL.

LESSER CONS:
--------------

- The CORD IS INCOMPATIBLE WITH MOST PREVIOUS MODELS' CORDS, so you probably can't use an old cord to overcome the very short cord with this model.

- I hesitate to mention this since it is not an issue for us, however the spoke that holds the DVD is a tight fit for dvds (compared to our other Sony DVD portable players), so to avoid breakage you might not want little ones changing DVDs on it.

- Doesn't charge while used (see below under "Tested").

TESTED:
--------

- Actual BATTERY TIME IS 3 hours 30 mins (at default backlight level of 10 out of 1-20), 3 hours 45 mins at backlight level of 5. The first blinking yellow charge light warning came on roughly half an hour before running out.

- From same tests as above, confirmed there is NO VALUE TO CHARGE AFTER YELLOW CHARGE LIGHT TURNS OFF.

- I semi-confirmed the claim that it mostly DOESN'T CHARGE WHILE PLAYING (but it keeps it from draining). More precisely, limited tests suggest it charges at a rate of roughly 1 min per 8 minutes of play time, so there might be a very slight bit of charging up going on.

CORRECTIONS FOR REVIEWS:
----------------------------

- It RETURNS TO SAME SPOT YOU WERE WATCHING AFTER YOU TURN IT OFF AND ON. One review said you can't, this is incorrect.

- You CAN ADJUST COLOR, CONTRAST, Hue, and Backlight. One review may suggest you can't adjust the first two, this is incorrect.

- The screen is 7" diagonal, one review could be construed to suggest it may be smaller than this, which would be incorrect.

ACCESSORIES:
--------------

- The Sony parts phone # is 1-800-282-2848.

- Sony Part#988516759 is a $36 adapter that plugs into the unit's A/V outlet and gives you standard/composite out (red, white, yellow), allowing you to DRIVE A LARGER DISPLAY. It comes standard with the 9" model.

USAGE NOTE:
-------------

- To SKIP FORWARD tap the 3rd button up on the skip forward icon once with a quick tap.

- To SKIP BACK tap the 3rd button up skip back icon twice with two quick taps.

- To FAST FORWARD hold your finger on the same skip forward button for a second or so. Do that again for more speed. Do that yet again for even more speed.

- To FAST BACK, it is the same as Fast Forward but with the skip back button.

Hope this helps someone :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First Impressions.., June 27, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sony DVPFX780 7-Inch Screen DVD Portable (Electronics)
First of all, I would like to preface my review by saying that I haven't gotten down to using the DVD player extensively. I just un-boxed it today and tested a couple of DVDs. So these are first impressions. The player looks nice and solid; I like the textured design which is meant to keep those finger prints at bay. The video quality wasn't exactly stellar but not bad either (which I believe is typical for players this size). The audio was quite clear though. The unit comes with an AC adapter as well as a Car adapter.But no remote; all the functions are on the unit itself. Please note that the Amazon description gives the battery life as 3 hours, but the unit box claims 4 hours of battery life, which was a welcome surprise! A few minor complaints - the AC adapter has a very short chord and I wish the indents for placing the fingers while plucking out the DVD were better-positioned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great little DVD player, July 21, 2012
This review is from: Sony DVPFX780 7-Inch Screen DVD Portable (Electronics)
I bought this DVD player a week ago and I just love it. It's super light and has great audio. The screen size is just fine too. The battery life is wonderful. I was able to watch 4 hours of a 6 hr. movie and I watched the remaining two hours while the DVD player was charging. I would definitely recommend this item.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Works great for a limited time -- I expected more, Sony!, February 4, 2013
This review is from: Sony DVPFX780 7-Inch Screen DVD Portable (Electronics)
Like many other reviewers, I purchased this for my kid (toddler, actually) to watch Sesame Street on 1 plane trip and for a handful of long (30 minute) car rides--it worked great. For less than 6 months.

I charged the DVD player fully after every use and noticed after 6 months of light use, the battery wouldn't hold a great charge--after 30 minutes, it was a goner last week. Today: I didn't get 4 minutes down the road after a full charge, and it was done--empty battery symbol flashed and that was the end of it!

There's no way to replace the battery (design flaw or planned obsolesence to drive future sales??), which is disappointing. I hate the idea of spending money on a disposable DVD player--I neither want to purchase a new one nor toss this otherwise fine DVD player in the landfill.

For the next generation of these DVD players, Sony needs to create acessible and replacable batteries. This product was an annoying waste of my time and money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Even a Kid can use it., June 17, 2012
By 
Maria L Richter (Duvall, WA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sony DVPFX780 7-Inch Screen DVD Portable (Electronics)
I bought this product to keep my 8 yo son entertained on a long car trip. He loved it. He even dropped it once and it was fine. I prefer to change the disks myself because the center really holds on to them. I figure that keeps them from shifting while the device is mobile. When my son got cranky from sitting too long this really did the trick. I would also take it on a plane too. They don't usually have Scooby Doo movies on planes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Durable, Light, Not bulky..but sound could be better, September 19, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sony DVPFX780 7-Inch Screen DVD Portable (Electronics)
This is a great DVD player for a child in the car, but my son uses his headphone's because the speakers are a little fuzzy at a certin volume. Ive owned a Ventura for years and it still sound better then this Sony. But all in all its a good purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grandson's present, August 29, 2012
By 
joepost (FORT EUSTIS, VIRGINIA, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sony DVPFX780 7-Inch Screen DVD Portable (Electronics)
After much research bought this for 7 year old grandson. He never leaves it behind. I think he sleeps with it. So far no problems except his brother and sister wants one also.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect., November 17, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sony DVPFX780 7-Inch Screen DVD Portable (Electronics)
Sony nailed this product. A simple and easy to use high quality unit, just like we expect from the good designers at Sony. Intuitive to operate, great image quality and tough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Picture very sharp., March 4, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sony DVPFX780 7-Inch Screen DVD Portable (Electronics)
The picture quality is sharp and the color is good. I have tried others that weren't this good. My preference is for Sony.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Sony DVPFX780 7-Inch Screen DVD Portable
$89.99 $85.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.