Customer Reviews


307 Reviews
5 star:
 (138)
4 star:
 (75)
3 star:
 (31)
2 star:
 (25)
1 star:
 (38)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


147 of 154 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally a good Lightning alarm clock
I've been waiting for someone to come out with a Lightning/iPhone 5 alarm clock for some time. Both iHome and Gear4 are (as of this writing) still not actually shipping, and I'm really glad since I'm much happier with this unit by Sony than I would have been with either of those other products. Very small footprint, white on black display (doesn't light up the room in the...
Published 18 months ago by Kevin OShea

versus
151 of 164 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars One dumb feature away from being good.
Small footprint is good, it works well with my iphone 5, the clock works fine and the sound from the speakers is fine, BUT (like its predecessor) if you use the radio to wake up to, then it displays the radio station when you wake up (not the TIME!). So if you have it set to station 101.9, every morning you wake up trying to figure out if you overslept or not because the...
Published 12 months ago by Amy R.


‹ Previous | 1 231 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

147 of 154 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally a good Lightning alarm clock, May 10, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sony ICFC11IP Lightning iPhone/iPod Clock Radio Speaker Dock (Black) (Discontinued by Manufacturer) (Electronics)
I've been waiting for someone to come out with a Lightning/iPhone 5 alarm clock for some time. Both iHome and Gear4 are (as of this writing) still not actually shipping, and I'm really glad since I'm much happier with this unit by Sony than I would have been with either of those other products. Very small footprint, white on black display (doesn't light up the room in the dark), dual alarms, and a decent iOS app to boot. In fairness, the sound quality is probably not as high-fidelity as some of the iHome offerings will be, but it was certainly good enough for my taste. I also really like the button arrangement, with the A&B alarm buttons on the sides of the unit - makes it very easy to adjust the alarm settings by touch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


151 of 164 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars One dumb feature away from being good., November 20, 2013
By 
Amy R. (Chicago, IL) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sony ICFC11IP Lightning iPhone/iPod Clock Radio Speaker Dock (Black) (Discontinued by Manufacturer) (Electronics)
Small footprint is good, it works well with my iphone 5, the clock works fine and the sound from the speakers is fine, BUT (like its predecessor) if you use the radio to wake up to, then it displays the radio station when you wake up (not the TIME!). So if you have it set to station 101.9, every morning you wake up trying to figure out if you overslept or not because the clock says "10:19". AHHHH!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


98 of 112 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Does not work out of the box for iPhones with cases, September 26, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sony ICFC11IP Lightning iPhone/iPod Clock Radio Speaker Dock (Black) (Discontinued by Manufacturer) (Electronics)
Along with most of the other reviews here, I enjoy this device.

I had the larger version for my old iPhone 3GS and then the 4S with the 30 pin connector. It served me well for over 3 years. I recently upgraded to the iPhone 5S and since it has lightning it was no longer useful. Additionally, I was not keen on using a 30-pin to lightning bolt adapter as I was not confident in the stability of the adapter.

This product works as advertised, out of the box, if you don't use a case. If you do use a case, you're out of luck... sort of.

There is a plastic bar molded around the lightning connector, and this prevents the lightning connector to connect even with thin cases such as the official Apple leather case for the 5/5S. The solution is to dremel down this bar so that the case can go past where the bar normally would be, and voila, now it works without any adapters and you don't have to take the case off!

I knocked off a star for this, because it honestly should be adjustable by now. Hardly anyone uses an iPhone without a case these days, so manufacturers should be considering that when they design their products.

For what it's worth, the larger, 30-pin version needed no such modifications. In fact, it came with plastic inserts for different models of iPhones/iPods. Removing it gave extra room for a case.

All in all, still a good product, but prepare to need to shave down that bar if you don't want to take your case off every time you use it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


330 of 391 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Useless since iOS 7.0.4, November 17, 2013
This review is from: Sony ICFC11IP Lightning iPhone/iPod Clock Radio Speaker Dock (Black) (Discontinued by Manufacturer) (Electronics)
Reasonably good device for a long time. Unfortunately, they've been using an uncertified charger, which since iOS7 resulted in a warning. Finally, in iOS 7.0.4, Apple has blocked all non certified chargers. This means that this has lost ALL iPhone functions as a result -- will not play, will not charge. Don't expect Apple to change their mind, so don't expect this to be useful anytime soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 35 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DOES NOT CHARGE WITH IOS 7, February 18, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sony ICFC11IP Lightning iPhone/iPod Clock Radio Speaker Dock (Black) (Discontinued by Manufacturer) (Electronics)
This clock radio will not charge if your phone is running IOS 7. Spent a hour with Sony on-line customer service who bluntly said that it does not and will not charge under IOS 7, so if you buy this product, you are throwing your money away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 44 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just about right..., July 28, 2013
This review is from: Sony ICFC11IP Lightning iPhone/iPod Clock Radio Speaker Dock (Black) (Discontinued by Manufacturer) (Electronics)
The only disappointment I've had with the iPhone 5 has been the slow adoption of the Lightning connector by the manufacturers in the "iThingy" ecosystem. There were a few released within a month or two, but they were from firms I had never heard of, didn't gain good ratings on Amazon (or anywhere else I found), and didn't seem to have a very useful feature set.

My first purchase was the Sony Speaker Dock Clock Radio with Lightning Connector for iPhone/iPod, Black, a larger version of this product and I'll put a review there also. The criticism below also applies to the larger one also. The reason I purchased this smaller edition was to reclaim some space on my night stand. This smaller product seems to have less than half the table-top footprint. The larger product does have better sound, but I don't listen to much music in bed--mostly podcasts--so big sound is not needed.

PROS
* Works with a fairly thin iPhone case. I am using the Amazon TPU case AmazonBasics Protective TPU Case with Screen Protector for iPhone 5 (Black) and it docks easily.
* Better sound than I expected. The volume is good and it is well tuned for speech for podcasts.
* Good feature set for a bedside device. Dual alarms that can be set for weekdays, weekends, everyday, etc.
* The buzzer/beep is effective and the volume can be selected at a humane level.

CONS
* The backlit LCD screen has useful dim/bright settings for indoor and nighttime use. That said, I find that most LED--not backlit LCD--displays are preferable for a bedside device. They tend to be red/orange which is easier for me to read when dim in the dark, the contrast is much better at nighttime brightness settings.
* The volume control on the side of such a lightweight device is not easy to use one-handed, in the dark, in bed. It's the one control that would be better if it was a tactile knob, probably on the top.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!, May 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sony ICFC11IP Lightning iPhone/iPod Clock Radio Speaker Dock (Black) (Discontinued by Manufacturer) (Electronics)
This radio is fantastic, very easy to use and the features are nice too. I especially like the remote control, plus it includes an AM antenna, so the radio reception is excellent. The docking feature works well, and there's even an app so you can set up the whole radio when the ipod isn't docked, then dock it and send all the data to the radio. It also works great with the new ipod nano.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Won't charge my phone, November 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sony ICFC11IP Lightning iPhone/iPod Clock Radio Speaker Dock (Black) (Discontinued by Manufacturer) (Electronics)
I really wanted to like it. But it just won't charge my phone. In or out of the case. It didn't even take a month for it to stop working. Sony keeps disappointing me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compatible with 4.7 inch iPhone 6, September 22, 2014
This review is from: Sony ICFC11IP Lightning iPhone/iPod Clock Radio Speaker Dock (Black) (Discontinued by Manufacturer) (Electronics)
Dual alarm clocks, easy to set, can be used as a radio alarm or an iPhone alarm. I like the fact you can change the brightness of the clock. I had been using it with the iPhone 5, just bought the 4.7 inch iPhone 6, it is compatible with that phone as well (even with the Apple case, it still fits).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dedicated Iphone 5 alarm clock, June 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sony ICFC11IP Lightning iPhone/iPod Clock Radio Speaker Dock (Black) (Discontinued by Manufacturer) (Electronics)
This is an excellent alarm clock. Small in size but large in features. Features 2 alarm settings which are adjustable for weekdays/weekends. 20 presets for AM &FM and reception is excellent. Snooze feature allows for multiple times not just 9/10 minutes(10/20/30 etc.
As usual Sony makes quality product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 231 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.