Customer Reviews


84 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (14)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Great Find.
Certainly not the best phone around, but definitely great considering the price range. It works well, the calls are clear, the sound quality on the MP3 player is impeccable (Yet expected, considering that it's a Sony) and the interface is beautiful. I was expecting a nice mid-range phone and I'll say it played quite nicely to and even exceeded those expectations in a few...
Published 18 months ago by Zachery McClean

versus
32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful phone, but, way too many lags
Pros:
1. Very beautiful phone, striking resemblance to the Xperia T the Bond Phone. You will fall in love with it as soon as you see it.
2. 4-in display with decent ppi, matches the Retina display of ipod Touch 5. I don't really mind that but this can be important to others.
3. 1750mAh battery produces one of the most impressive battery performance in the...
Published 17 months ago by evds22


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful phone, but, way too many lags, April 20, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sony Xperia J ST26a Unlocked Android Phone--U.S. Warranty (Black) (Wireless Phone Accessory)
Pros:
1. Very beautiful phone, striking resemblance to the Xperia T the Bond Phone. You will fall in love with it as soon as you see it.
2. 4-in display with decent ppi, matches the Retina display of ipod Touch 5. I don't really mind that but this can be important to others.
3. 1750mAh battery produces one of the most impressive battery performance in the Xperia family: I messed around with updating and downloading apps for the whole night and the battery level only dropped by 18%. Drops about 2% with WIFI and data off during the night.
4. Upgradable to 4.1.2 Jelly Bean.(But the upgrade comes WITHOUT the battery stamina mode as seen on Xperia Z, which is basically why I would ever bother checking for this upgrade.)
5. Camera takes decent pictures with 5-megapixels. Lots of options available. Adjusting exposure level, among others, is the most helpful.

Cons:
1. User interface experiences lags from time to time, i.e. when swiping through home panels, which from my perspective can be tolerated given its almost pathetic chipset.
2. When I tried to open and work on two webpages at the same time, specifically Google translate and Wiktionary as I'm learning a new language, the phone was slow to response. It took a good while to reach google translate, and it became a hellish journey trying to open a new tab and reach Wiktionary. This is the deal breaker. I did make sure to use ES task manager to close unnecessary background processes. I won't consider other browsers as integration of Google products is the only reason I can even bear the Android system.
3. Back cover is a little bit hard to lift up.
4. Wifi is rather slow: it took ages to download a 20MB Chrome update. While all the rest of my wifi-enabled devices can do much better than that at the same position.
5. Awkward placement of the power button: near the very top on the right-hand side above the volume rocker. Certainly takes time to get used to.

Conclusion:
I thought as a very light user it may be possible to get away with its poor chipset, but I was wrong. Too bad I have to return it, it is an absolute beauty. If Sony puts Xperia P level hardware in the J I would even be willing to pay $300 for such a phone.

5 stars for the design; 2 stars off for the disappointing hardware performance.

Note: I'm a user who uses the phone primarily for occasional IM chatting and web browsing during free times(about two hours a day altogether). The qualities I value the most are good battery performance, fluid UI, and fast internet browsing. To conserve battery and ensure a good performance I removed all the home panel widgets except for the connectivity control, the clock, and 3 or 4 shortcuts for apps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Great Find., March 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sony Xperia J ST26a Unlocked Android Phone--U.S. Warranty (Black) (Wireless Phone Accessory)
Certainly not the best phone around, but definitely great considering the price range. It works well, the calls are clear, the sound quality on the MP3 player is impeccable (Yet expected, considering that it's a Sony) and the interface is beautiful. I was expecting a nice mid-range phone and I'll say it played quite nicely to and even exceeded those expectations in a few respects. If you're looking for a capable, well built, attractive and moderately inexpensive Android Smartphone, the Xperia J is the one for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, June 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sony Xperia J ST26a Unlocked Android Phone--U.S. Warranty (Black) (Wireless Phone Accessory)
Very beautiful smartphone, i love it, sony is the best, great job of sony, congrats from venezuela, and wait for more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars If you plan on utilizing an sd-card, don't buy this phone., June 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The phone is ok for it's price, but the expandable storage is useless. I put in an sd-card and I wasn't able to use it for anything but music, pictures and videos. All apps are going to be within the 4gb of memory on the phone. After a few weeks I went to copy new music over and it no longer recognized my music files. I followed all the trouble shooting measures and tried reformatting the sd-card and used Sony Bridge software to copy music over. The software crashed. I restored the phone and had the same issues. I'm returning the phone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Product, December 1, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sony Xperia J ST26a Unlocked Android Phone--U.S. Warranty (Black) (Wireless Phone Accessory)
Fantastic Product. Exactly as described. I love its slick and unique design compared to alot of other smartphones. I find it perfect for my everday basic needs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It seems an excellent phone. It has very good applications, it is very light and very fast connected with the internet. The supp, November 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It seems an excellent phone. It has very good applications, it is very light and very fast connected with the internet. The supplier fulfilled with the delivery time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Unlocked Android Phone & Beautiful As Well, February 26, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sony Xperia J ST26a Unlocked Android Phone--U.S. Warranty (Black) (Wireless Phone Accessory)
I bought this phone for my son, who is a bit of a cell phone geek! He loves it and has all the "bells and whistles" that he was looking for. He said having the phone has made his life even a bit easier! Since he currently lives in Ethiopia, he needed a phone that is somewhat easy to navigate and was not attached to a particular phone company. Highly recommended, especially if you need one that is unlocked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excelente!, August 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sony Xperia J ST26a Unlocked Android Phone--U.S. Warranty (Black) (Wireless Phone Accessory)
Me gusta mucho este telefono, excelente eleccion, es rapido, y lo coloco como router wifi en mi casa.
La verdad no tengo queja!

I really like this phone, excellent choice, is fast, and I put it as my home wifi router.
Actually I have no complaints!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Device, May 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sony Xperia J ST26a Unlocked Android Phone--U.S. Warranty (Black) (Wireless Phone Accessory)
I bought this phone for the purpose of being able to have the the benefits of an android device as well as a better phone, It worked great, I watched many reviews and after carefully deciding I order this phone, It was better then expected, Works great, Was unlocked, The features are very satisfying, The price for such a mid range phone is great too, Well worth it, I have a 16Gb card and I'm using about 500mb's worth of application data, Running Jellybean and works fine, Camera could be a bit better for night use, But other wise it's fine, This is a fine phone and I would definitely recommend this for anyone who is looking for something to maintain and still be up to date with a os.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars good as a regular phone for calls/battery life, sucks at everything else., August 20, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I had very high expectations for this phone that have been completely defeated. It came with an Android system update that was exciting at first but then I realized how limited this phone was in so many other ways. I am still using it now because I cant afford an upgrade but as soon as I can this phone goes on the back burner. There are several little problems with this phone that you don't notice until after using it for a while like: 1) the music playback volume is very low b/c there a is a built in "silencer" that turns the volume down automatically (I cannot tell you how many times I have had to buy louder earphones or download a sound booster app) - which is VERY dissapointing considering that this is a SONY phone and they mostly make audio sound equipment, 2) the storage capacity is fixed so you can only download so many apps and take so many photos before the phone starts giving you an error message. literally I cannot dowload more than 10 aps and cannot update the aps I have without uninstalling the old ones first (if you use WhatsAp and any Google email services regularly this is not the phone for you), 3) the camera picture quality sucks painfully bad and the camera is so slow you have to press the button 30 secs before you set up for the picture because it takes that long for the camera to actually shoot. 4) there are serious problems with the lock-screen not working and deleting all my aps from the home screen (so now I have no aps on the home screen. (also there should be an option to uninstall google aps that we dont use, and to move certain larger aps to the phones internal storage system (this only comes with some aps) so that the tiny 500mb phone storage does not keep getting full and rejecting updates! the only upside to this phone is the battery life is solid and the call quality is much, much better than any samsung phone I have ever had.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.