Facility Spring Cleaning Textbook Trade In Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon The Jayhawks Fire TV Stick Beauty Gifts Made in Italy Amazon Gift Card Offer out2 out2 out2  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Spring Arrivals in Outdoor Clothing SnS

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on April 20, 2013
Pros:
1. Very beautiful phone, striking resemblance to the Xperia T the Bond Phone. You will fall in love with it as soon as you see it.
2. 4-in display with decent ppi, matches the Retina display of ipod Touch 5. I don't really mind that but this can be important to others.
3. 1750mAh battery produces one of the most impressive battery performance in the Xperia family: I messed around with updating and downloading apps for the whole night and the battery level only dropped by 18%. Drops about 2% with WIFI and data off during the night.
4. Upgradable to 4.1.2 Jelly Bean.(But the upgrade comes WITHOUT the battery stamina mode as seen on Xperia Z, which is basically why I would ever bother checking for this upgrade.)
5. Camera takes decent pictures with 5-megapixels. Lots of options available. Adjusting exposure level, among others, is the most helpful.

Cons:
1. User interface experiences lags from time to time, i.e. when swiping through home panels, which from my perspective can be tolerated given its almost pathetic chipset.
2. When I tried to open and work on two webpages at the same time, specifically Google translate and Wiktionary as I'm learning a new language, the phone was slow to response. It took a good while to reach google translate, and it became a hellish journey trying to open a new tab and reach Wiktionary. This is the deal breaker. I did make sure to use ES task manager to close unnecessary background processes. I won't consider other browsers as integration of Google products is the only reason I can even bear the Android system.
3. Back cover is a little bit hard to lift up.
4. Wifi is rather slow: it took ages to download a 20MB Chrome update. While all the rest of my wifi-enabled devices can do much better than that at the same position.
5. Awkward placement of the power button: near the very top on the right-hand side above the volume rocker. Certainly takes time to get used to.

Conclusion:
I thought as a very light user it may be possible to get away with its poor chipset, but I was wrong. Too bad I have to return it, it is an absolute beauty. If Sony puts Xperia P level hardware in the J I would even be willing to pay $300 for such a phone.

5 stars for the design; 2 stars off for the disappointing hardware performance.

Note: I'm a user who uses the phone primarily for occasional IM chatting and web browsing during free times(about two hours a day altogether). The qualities I value the most are good battery performance, fluid UI, and fast internet browsing. To conserve battery and ensure a good performance I removed all the home panel widgets except for the connectivity control, the clock, and 3 or 4 shortcuts for apps.
22 comments|34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 6, 2013
Certainly not the best phone around, but definitely great considering the price range. It works well, the calls are clear, the sound quality on the MP3 player is impeccable (Yet expected, considering that it's a Sony) and the interface is beautiful. I was expecting a nice mid-range phone and I'll say it played quite nicely to and even exceeded those expectations in a few respects. If you're looking for a capable, well built, attractive and moderately inexpensive Android Smartphone, the Xperia J is the one for you.
22 comments|22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 27, 2013
The phone is ok for it's price, but the expandable storage is useless. I put in an sd-card and I wasn't able to use it for anything but music, pictures and videos. All apps are going to be within the 4gb of memory on the phone. After a few weeks I went to copy new music over and it no longer recognized my music files. I followed all the trouble shooting measures and tried reformatting the sd-card and used Sony Bridge software to copy music over. The software crashed. I restored the phone and had the same issues. I'm returning the phone.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 26, 2013
Very beautiful smartphone, i love it, sony is the best, great job of sony, congrats from venezuela, and wait for more.
11 comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 30, 2013
I bought this phone for my Dad, think it's time he upgrades from old button phones! So first thing I noticed was how easy it was to setup, although I didn't get any headphones with, thanks Amazon, it was packaged well enough and the basics setup was a breeze. Depending on where you are and what service you use, some of the more detailed settings could be a bit tedious where you need to manually enter settings, such as access point info, etc.
The display is large and crisp, and very responsive and the wi-fi works pretty well. Transfer speeds were pretty good. I upgraded the phone to 4.1.2 Jellybean through my wi-fi, the install files downloaded in almost 3 minutes (128mb file). I had to wait a while for the OS to install, but it was smooth, and works great.

The camera could have been better, but has simple to use features and the exposure can be adjusted to compensate for low light levels. Internal memory will fill up pretty fast when installing apps, and I would suggest the use of apps such as Easy Uninstaller, app2SD and Advanced Task Manager to help move, stop or uninstall files easily. Sound quality from the phone speakers are decent, but sucks through most of the headphones I tried and some video files even when converted by the software provided didn't play, I had to use QQ player to play them. The radio doesn't work very well where I am (Trinidad).
The phone is very customizable if you know your way around a Sony xperia and it does perform tasks well. Calls work fine, sound quality on calls are excellent. For the price, I think it's worth a look as a budget Xperia phone.

An update, it just suddenly started rebooting as it starts up, and won't stop no matter what I try. I am extremely disappointed, since it was working great for a while there. Will be returning this phone to Amazon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 2, 2013
I bought Xperia J at GB sales and was very happy with the phone, knowing how much I had paid for it. The phone is gorgous and its curved body makes holding a pleasure. I use my company iPhone when traveling. I dont' find too big difference between them except a few issues listed below.

The screen was good but not visible at the sun. The balck is very black (very good contrast) so that the text is really clear. If you want to get a headset, don't buy those for old sony phones. Sony recently changes the headset to the more popular one, similar to iPhone and Samsung phones.

However, I was frustrated by the camera which took OK pictures sometimes but very poor pictures most of the time. After many thorough experiments, I concluded it could not focus at far distance. I searched on internet and found many complaints on the cameras. So, I decided to return it with a sad feeling since I actually liked the rest of the phone.

I would recommend this phone, had not been the defective camera, to casual smart phone users. This phone is good enough to get some gadgets for Andriod OS. But, its not-instant responses might bother some users who expect a $200 phone should perform like $600 phones.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 13, 2015
do not get this phone, it is one of the worst phones ever it got damage 3 times, first was the water seal from the audio jack got damage and water got in it, sony replace it, the second time i had a stress crack on the screen and sony fix the problem, and the final time the phone was out of warranty and it had another stress crack on the screen and the phone will not work even with if it has a very small crack in the screen, due to the water seal that sony told me it had, the problem is that i did not drop my phone it just got really hot and it was done the screen crack and sony did not replace it at that point and it no longer works. do not get it get a better version of this phone, they do have a very good warranty program.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 3, 2013
I bought 2 for my friend's kids in Brazil. They love it for features as well for battery life a good price. Unfortunately, one handset had screen problem in 4 months. I had to bring back into US for service, had to spend huge time calling to get RMA number and sent by UPS wrapping securely as per the recommendation by Sony Ericsson. Got a call from customer service manager from Texas saying that he will do his best to repair the handset. To my surprise, I got package from them in 1 week. When I opened it I found a piece of paper with photos saying that not repairable as per the Company policy! The person who owned never made any damage nor did I. In one word, they do not care customers. They only care carriers where they cannot say not to replace or repair. I never had good result with Sony Ericsson and it will be my last purchase ever from them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 26, 2014
I bought this phone for my son, who is a bit of a cell phone geek! He loves it and has all the "bells and whistles" that he was looking for. He said having the phone has made his life even a bit easier! Since he currently lives in Ethiopia, he needed a phone that is somewhat easy to navigate and was not attached to a particular phone company. Highly recommended, especially if you need one that is unlocked.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 14, 2013
The phone look so great and nice, the color and sound very good, this is a sony specialty. Download and running prog good speed. Only the RAM 512MB is a little less.
Overall I love this phone very much
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 65 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.