Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Beauty is something one is born with...
...Grace, Dignity and Humility is what separates one from everyone else. My own words after meeting and
observing the Legendary Icon through the years. "Sophia Style" captures many wonderful, minute flashes of her
incredible life experiences, along with the many era's that have made her who she is today. "Sophia Style" quite
adequately displays her...
Published on June 25, 2003 by peppi Turco

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nothing New but Lovely Because Sophia is Number one
I am Sophia Loren's number one fan (she has many "number one" fans!), I have grown up with her and have read ever virtually book available and this was a bit of a let down. I personally think Miss Donahue would have been better for a book on Audrey Hepburn or Grace Kelly because she does obviously not posses a knowledge regarding the tall hourglass figure to her subject...
Published on January 10, 2008 by SuperAmanda


Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Beauty is something one is born with..., June 25, 2003
By 
peppi Turco (Los Angeles, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sophia Style (Hardcover)
...Grace, Dignity and Humility is what separates one from everyone else. My own words after meeting and
observing the Legendary Icon through the years. "Sophia Style" captures many wonderful, minute flashes of her
incredible life experiences, along with the many era's that have made her who she is today. "Sophia Style" quite
adequately displays her Grace, Dignity, Humility, Class and Awesome Exotic Beauty. Beauty that exudes
deep from within, through the awesome one of a kind exotic Mediterranean bone structure. And beyond the
ageless olive complection and voluptuous features, casting a bright aura far ahead of her. She may be, for the
most part, reserved and to herself, but rises to the occasion of most gracious hospitality without hesitation. She
has no enemies and lives outside the hullabaloo of Hollywood amidst horse ranches in a tree shrouded Garden of
Eden she calls "La Concordia."
In just observing her relationship and interaction with her son Edoardo, I have learned what it is like to not only
truly be a parent, but a spiritual partner who actively participates in my children's lives.
I received "Sophia Style" a couple of years ago, after first meeting her some decades ago. In dealing with a
devastation within my own life, it was her words, wisdom and character that got me through when my own family
failed me. Sometimes I kept her book near me to remind me to keep rising above it all. It was acting with Grace,
Dignity and Humility that was inspired by her, that kept me from making incredibly horrible rash decisions.
At her Lifetime Achievement Awards in 1994, I insisted that she work again. She grasped me with both
hands in an incredible, yet most gracious way. And worked again she has, with five films since, including one
written and directed by Edoardo. And of course this book by Deirdre Donahue. Hopefully, there'll be many
more films, books and other treasures
to follow. Viva La Bella Donna!!
Affezionatissimo,
Guiseppe (Peppi) Turco
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Style + content, September 8, 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Sophia Style (Hardcover)
Wow! Stylish photography and unseen glimpses of an exceptional beauty with a thesis that holds it all together. Recommended as a gift, a read, an adornment...it will propel the uninitiated into the video store for a reassessment of the great Loren!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bella Bella Bella!!!, February 15, 2006
This review is from: Sophia Style (Hardcover)
Now around 70, Sophia Loren is still the world's most beautiful woman. Her exquisite poised classic charm is the one of a kind that only comes every few centuries. This book celebrates the distinctive beauty and style that has stayed alluring for half a century. Loren is a stand out still. In a world that only sees beauty as a physical expression ... Loren and her contemporaries (Catherine Deneuve, Sophie Marceau, Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis, etc)tell us that it is much much more. There is a priceless asset in poise, character, dignity, class, that no amount of plastic surgery can compensate for. Beauty is not about not making mistakes but it is about having the kind of self-respect to come out of it a stronger, better person. For all her childhood ostracism of being illigetimate in Catholic Italy during its facist phase, Loren has blossomed and risen above her early roots. One has to admire that despite an international sophisticated glamorous acting career ... Loren has managed to stay married for close to 50 years to her one and only spouse, and took her role as a mother seriously to her two sons. Rather than delegate motherhood to nannies and assistants, Loren made her family, in particular her children, a top priority. You have to respect that and see that beauty truly is what beauty does.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Sophia Through The Years!, September 26, 2002
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sophia Style (Hardcover)
Sophia Loren is so incredibly beautiful that Deirdre Donohue almost had to create this book in order to celebrate it! From her humble Italian beginnings to her mature beauty of today, there are photographs of her through it all, plus text to tell about her colorful life. My favorite photos are: Diva (p. 70) intersection of image (p. 88), at the Oscars (p. 96) and 1964 color photo (p. 109). If you love Sophia, do not miss "Sophia Style"!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nothing New but Lovely Because Sophia is Number one, January 10, 2008
This review is from: Sophia Style (Hardcover)
I am Sophia Loren's number one fan (she has many "number one" fans!), I have grown up with her and have read ever virtually book available and this was a bit of a let down. I personally think Miss Donahue would have been better for a book on Audrey Hepburn or Grace Kelly because she does obviously not posses a knowledge regarding the tall hourglass figure to her subject. Nowhere in the book does she seem to demonstrate a knowledge of how rare it is for a woman of such incredible proportions to be have such an elegant wardrobe and awesome style. Those of us who are tall and hourglassy have no real place to look for clothing inspiration as everything these days is low rise and cut for stick straight, small busted figures with no waist to hip ratio like Gisele or madonna. Secondly, seeing as she is a costume archivist, she have done extensive research on Sophia's more decorative films (Heller, Breath of Scandal, Madame, More than a Miracle etc tc) to give us an in-depth account of these EXQUISITE unrivalled creations, how the garments were created and perhaps photos of the costumes now as many have been preserved. THAT SAID the book is still VERY good, I just had hoped for new info but Deirdre Donahue does write well and did provide many unseen photos.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful and expressive, December 28, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sophia Style (Hardcover)
This is an excellent compilation of photos of an amazingly beautiful and expressive woman. It will appeal to movie lovers as well as those into fashion or photography; or anyone who loves beauty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sophia, August 5, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sophia Style (Hardcover)
If you think like I do that Sophia Loren is the most beautiful, and sexiest woman that ever walked the earth, then this book is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Sophia Style
Sophia Style by Deirdre Donohue (Hardcover - August 1, 2001)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.