Sorcery and the Single Girl: A Humorous Paranormal Romance and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Buy Used
$3.50
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Eligible for Amazon's FREE Super Saver/Prime Shipping, 24/7 Customer Service, and package tracking. 100% Satisfaction Guarantee.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Sorcery And The Single Girl (Red Dress Ink Novels) Paperback – October 1, 2007


See all 5 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Paperback, October 1, 2007
$9.43 $0.01

Best Books of the Month
See the Best Books of the Month
Want to know our Editors' picks for the best books of the month? Browse Best Books of the Month, featuring our favorite new books in more than a dozen categories.
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

Best Books of the Month
Best Books of the Month
Want to know our Editors' picks for the best books of the month? Browse Best Books of the Month, featuring our favorite new books in more than a dozen categories.

Product Details

  • Series: Red Dress Ink Novels
  • Paperback: 400 pages
  • Publisher: Red Dress Ink; Original edition (October 1, 2007)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0373895631
  • ISBN-13: 978-0373895632
  • Product Dimensions: 5.1 x 1.1 x 8 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 11.2 ounces
  • Average Customer Review: 4.2 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (52 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #1,268,551 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

From Publishers Weekly

Klasky emphasizes the importance of being true to yourself and having faith in friends and family in her bewitching second romance featuring fledgling witch Jane Madison (after Girl's Guide to Witchcraft). Young librarian Jane believes getting into the elite Washington Coven, ruled by the prodigious Teresa Alison Sidney, is of major importance. If Jane wants to hold on to her familiar, her valuable book and gemstone collection andDavid Montrose, her hunky protector and instructor, she has to meet the coven's standards for knowledge and skill. When slickly seductive Graeme Henderson starts laying it on suspiciously thick, and David insists that friendly coven witch Haylee can't be trusted, Jane must decide what's most important: trying to impress the popular coven snobs, or taking control of her power and doing what she knows is best for herself. Klasky's moral lesson is obvious, but readers who identify with Jane's remembered high school social angst will cheer her all the way. (Oct.)
Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved.

Review

"Fans of Shanna Swendson's Enchanted, Inc. series will find much to love in Klasky's zesty blend of fantasy and romance as well as in her winsome heroine." -- Booklist on Girl's Guide to Witchcraft

"This is an irresistible tale . . . surprisingly charming and insightful." -- Romantic Times BOOKreviews

Customer Reviews

Just purchased book 3 and can't wait to start reading it!
Cara Jackson
The characters were well developed, There was plenty of humor and suspense.
linda rogers
I can't wait for the third book to come out next October!
J.L. McHale

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful By Hello Kitty Ellen on March 13, 2008
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
I was really disappointed in this book, after loving the first in the series of 3. Was this one rushed into production? So many things could have been edited out. Every page seemed to have the main character whining about something, either making cappucinos at her library job, how she was never popular in school, her best friend and the coven witches aren't nice enough to her, she has to do storytime reading to kids and she hates them.... She's so incompetent she can't even manage to bake brownies! I thought the first book was fun as she had just discovered a magical trove of books in her basement. She seemed set on becoming a strong woman, one with magical powers. Now the character is just a whiny mess, and not a good role model for any teens reading the book. Many situations in the book and its plot already happened in the first book: the mysterious boyfriend who she instantly falls in love with, for instance. He is drop-dead gorgeous, with a British accent, a man of the world, yet she continually goes on about her frizzy hair, not wearing makeup, being a few pounds too heavy, not having sexy clothes... and she never questions why he shows up and wants to be with her? Much of the book is completely silly like this.
2 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
9 of 11 people found the following review helpful By Book Addict on September 28, 2007
Format: Paperback
Oh how the time flew by since book #1! I was eagerly anticipating this book and it didn't disappoint! Jane continues her journey to become a stronger person as well as a stronger witch. Readers get a taste of bigger magic spells than book one had. Reading the first book over again before starting #2 would be helpful as a refresher (I wish I had done that.). I can't wait for #3!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful By Gary Roulston on January 17, 2012
Format: Kindle Edition
My wife was in the ER this last weekend for 17 hours. I bought the book after finishing every thing else in my library. As a disabled individual on Social Security often price is the factor that determines if I can buy. I have never not finished a book with one exception. This was not repeat not that exception. I do not normally care for chick books but this was a major exception. The characters were developed enough to identify with some and recognize others from my college days.
The author has hooked me on this series and is good enough that I will buy her (gasp)- Harliquein books.
For a reader who.normally only reads military SiFi that is like Republicans accepting a gay presidential candidate. You can start holding your breath because come payday I will buy the next book in this series. Agggruah I can not believe it, but you can because this lady is one darn good story teller.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By Staci M. Free on November 4, 2008
Format: Paperback
I Loved this Book, I picked it up because I liked the cover... that is right I judge books by the cover, I started reading it and was really confused since I didn't realise this was the second in the series until I was almost half way through it. After I picked up on the lingo which I am sure it was explained in the first book I couldn't put it down. I Loved this book I am starting the first in the series just to catch up on what I missed but I will forsurely be getting the third in the series!!!
I would recommed this book.... but I would read the first one first! lol
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By J.L. McHale VINE VOICE on October 22, 2007
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
This second novel in the Jane Madison series is fantastic! She really comes into her own in this one as she takes on Teresa Alison Sidney and the other members of the Washington Coven. The parallels between Jane trying to fit in with these women vs. her inability to fit in with the "popular crowd" when she was growing up are great. And the character interaction is as entertaining as always - Gotta love the antics of Neko! I can't wait for the third book to come out next October! Two thumbs - WAY up!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By J. Henry on November 4, 2007
Format: Paperback
This book was just as fun as the first! I picked up the first book accidentally and loved it, I have been waiting for months for this one. I can't wait until the next book comes out!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful By Bethesda, MD on January 2, 2008
Format: Paperback
I liked this book...pretty much. I was somewhat disappointed that I felt the story with the David just dropped. I also was annoyed with the references to the other book...making this tale somewhat redundant (we know she loves mojitos already!). There was a lot going on in this book and I enjoyed the magic and the writing, as usual. I read this book fairly quickly, and will probably purchase a future book in this series. I cannot put my finger on it, but I'd say something is missing.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Nikkie on October 13, 2007
Format: Paperback
I must say a year was worth the wait. I enjoyed this book emmensley. Mindy's characters are still a colorful as they were in the last book. And I can't wait to find out what will happen to Jane in the third installment coming out next year!!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Recent Customer Reviews


More About the Authors

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?