Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Songs of Summer Fire TV Stick Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer showtimemulti showtimemulti showtimemulti  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro

Format: Amazon Video|Change
Price:$7.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon September 15, 2009
Yeah, I watched it! So what?! When you know what you're going in for, this kind of movie has many merits. Sorority Row is a movie about a killer who meanders through an alcohol-soaked, drug-fueled, sex-crazed, sorority McMansion during the end of the year party indiscriminately butchering the tight-bodied, scantily-clothed co-eds - and their dufus boyfriends - who may or may not have knowledge of a murder cover-up involving a senior soror who got chucked down a well like baby Jessica.

Additionally, the cheese-covered horror rules are followed perfectly: The phones get no reception unless receiving a horrifying, tension-increasing picture or video from the killer. A dark, mysterious figure in a face-covering graduation robe, the killer is so derivative that I imagined the character holding the fishing hook from I Know What You Did Last Summer (IKWYDLS) and wearing the mask from the Scream Trilogy, neither of which happened. There is full frontal nudity that serves no other purpose than checking off the nudity requirement. Characters who engage in illicit sex almost certainly die. Characters who elicit groans or disapproval from the audience are guaranteed excruciating deaths. And, finally, there is inevitably more than one "twist" to mislead the viewers attempting early killer recognition.

As for the characters, just picture IKWYDLS and replace the male characters with gorgeous, nubile, women in their early twenties. It's the "talented" Megan (Audrina Partridge); smokin' hot Cassidy (Briana Evigan), the girl with the moral compass; Chugs (Margo Harshman), the sorority's resident slut (who is present in all real life sororities); the sexy Claire (Jamie Chung), fulfills multicultural standards for the sorority's funding purposes; the blonde vixen Jessica (Leah Pipes), who is as ruthless as she is beautiful; and Ellie (Rumer Willis), the slack-jawed, kind of ugly girl (but with a nice body) all sororities need for term papers and to increase cumulative GPA. Aside from the main cast, there is an endless supply of hotties prancing around in lingerie (or less) and either dancing about in the soapy bubbles from an overflowing hot tub or having a feather pillow fight in pajamas with exposed behinds. Read that last sentence again.

As for the plot, a sorority prank goes wrong, one of the sisters dies and the rest of the movie is about the characters covering up the murder, repenting their actions, or playing a deadly game of cat-and-mouse with a tire-iron wielding killer who appears to have an oral fixation. Pretty standard, suspenseful stuff.

Aside from my belief that Ellie should have been the victim of the prank, thereby improving the possible skin-to-film ratio, the directing, acting, special effects, and all other aspects representative of any number of recent Hollywood horror flicks are sufficient. No awards will be won, but I'd probably watch it again for hot chicks and bad jokes.
66 comments| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 15, 2011
Sorority Row is actually a fun, teen horror-y movie. I really liked this one, it was cheesy but fun. The acting isn't great -- it could of had better acting but I still enjoyed it! I couldn't help but get this one on Blu-Ray. The picture is really good too. The movie is very similar to I Know What You Did Last Summer, but hey, all [teen] horror/thrillers movies are like that now days! Like:
The Roommate (2011) >>> Single White Female
Obsessed (2009) >>> Fatal Attraction

In the end, it's a fun movie and it has some good scares!
review image review image
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 22, 2009
What you see is what you get. This is a GREAT slasher, and CORRECTLY serves as a throwback to the 80s and 90s slashers we all loved so much. The kills are really creative and cool, the dialogue is funny and delightfuly cheesy. Means Girls + I Know What You Did Last Summer = Sorority Row...SLASHER GOLD!!
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 30, 2016
I remember the trailers and I remember thinking it looked stupid. But the truth is, Sorority Row is a nice and traditional slasher flick, it's now a SCREAM-clone. It's a proper throwback. If you appreciate slasher films, return to this one we all ignored it when it came out and that's our loss. But we still have time to make up for it.

The story is as simple as most slashers, and unfortunately still features a cast of characters that we all want to see die. But the suspense is still there and the reveal did catch me off guard.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 18, 2015
Oh, what an unexpected sinful pleasure this one was!
The word "Sorority" carries a lot of baggage in movie titles. I don't need to tell you what it's supposed to make you visualize; suffice it to say that it leads you to expect a lot of nudity fronting for a show that's pretty dumb. Not here. Oh there's a fair amount of nudity, although not as much as most Greek life films usually provide, and it's sexually quite raunchy, but the underlying story is anything but dumb, and this creative team realizes that story incredibly well.
The first part really had the feel of those movies, ranging from Will You Rather to Devil's Dozen to Truth or Dare that set out to explore human nature by putting a gang of interesting characters in an unimaginable situation and seeing what happens. Usually it doesn't work because the creators of the movie aren't as good at coming up with good characters as with wild scenarios, but in Truth of Dare and even more this movie, high caliber acting work and a great (though sometimes too elaborate) scenario come together to form something greater than the whole of its parts. Watch out for a show-stealing performance by Princess Leia, late of the Rebel Alliance.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Nice little slice and dicer with a couple of twists but basically the formula played out with competently and providing some decent chills along the way. There's nothing new here but the atmosphere is well maintained and the performances a cut above the usual mayhem. It'll fill an evening alone with just enough jumps and jolts to make it entertaining. The blu-ray transfer is decent and the sound holds up.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 17, 2015
This movie is okay. It's a guilty pleasure that I will add to my horror collection. I've never seen the old version, but I'm sure fans would say it's better than this one. Still, this movie is good for looking at pretty people and jumping at pop-out scary stuff.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 31, 2015
The daughters of Bruce Willis and Greg Evigan team up in Sorority Row, a remake of the 1983 Horror classic, The House on Sorority Row. The remake is of course modernized and takes the classic independent horror film to the next level, with terrific effects, increased levels of fright and gore, and of course a ton of beautiful people. Where is this college and how soon can I apply?! Every guy and girl featured in the film, with the exception of Carrie Fisher, could be models, despite being well passed the age of most college students. The story starts out much like the original film does, with a Sorority prank that goes horribly wrong. The girls decide to cover up the incident and put it behind them, but at a large cost to their sisterhood. A year later, at the same party, someone knows what happened last year, and have decided to make the whole Sorority pay for their crimes. This film is a classic 'who done it' mashed together with a slasher film, and the results are pure excitement. The truth is that most of these film don't have much in the way of a story line and the killer is obvious to everyone, but not this time. This film is very reminiscent of Scream, and it really had me on the edge of my seat. A good Horror film is hard enough to find, but one with all that suspense and a compelling story to follow, that's worth it's weight in gold! Sorority Row is a perfect choice for those who want to spend Halloween, in front of the TV watching a scary movie!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 13, 2014
"Sister Hood" This movie was AMAZING. I love it and watched it like 3 times in one weekend. I love it so much, the cast, the script, and the film. Some people might say its cheesy, but I say its a good time. It has a creepy killer hunting down the girls, and for an awesome reason. We are kept guessing on who the killer is, and I loved the mystery of the thing. First watch I just kept guessing and guessing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 11, 2011
You gotta love a movie that starts out with college girls jumping on a trampoline in pj's having a pillow fight. Clearly the writers know the formula for a successful slasher movie. The sorority girls are intelligent and snarky. Roofies? "A great way to have sex and get a good night's sleep all at the same time."

When one of the boyfriends of one of the girls cheats on him, they opt to play a joke on him. His gf pretends to be knocked out from roofies while he initiates sex. Then she vomits fake blood and pretends to die. In a fake panic the sisters take her and the unsuspecting bf out to a remote area to bury her, although she is not dead. In Hitchcock like fashion the boyfriend, Garrett, throws a wrench into the works...well okay a tire iron, but it had the same effect. Now with a real corpse, they decide to cover the whole episode up.

TV actress Leah Pipes plays Jessica. She is the blond ring leader of the group. Her dad is running for the senate. She is opposed by Cassidy (Briana Evigan of "Burning Bright") who has a raspy Demi Moore voice. Rumer Willis (daughter of Bruce Willis/ Demi Moore)plays Elle. She is the girl who goes along with everything. She wears glasses in this film which makes her look like Emma Stone on a bad hair day. She is the one that doesn't sound like Demi Moore. Jamie Chung, whose career has taken off (no thanks to this film), plays Claire as every movie now needs its token oriental babe, something Jessica makes clear. Margo Harshman plays chugs and rounds out the group of sisters because they needed a fourth to carry the body and dump it down a mine shaft, as Cassidy wouldn't help. Chugs is the drunk and slut in the group. Guess who dies first? In order to ensure her silence the sisters tell Cassidy she was the one that killed Megan (Audrina Patridge) as opposed to Garrett(Matt O'Leary).

Then the killing starts. The movie is about who lives, who dies, and who done it. Caroline D'Amore plays dead Megan's sister Maggie who is going to start college and decides to pledge the same theta pi sorority because we need one more killer suspect to prevent this from becoming a Scooby-doo mystery. Carrie Fisher plays the House Mother. She lets us know how far down she has fallen since being a princess.

Unfortunately this is just a me-too slasher film and doesn't really bring anything new to the table. Now if they had a better sound track that worked with the film and maybe a scene of Carrie Fisher with some Star War memorabilia, we could have bumped this up a notch.

F-bomb, sex, nudity Megan Wolfley (?)- nude butt on trampoline, Deja Kreutzberg (As the World Turns)-plays drop the towel, Nicole Moore (?) shower, Kimberly Jones(?)topless dancer
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$3.99
$3.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.