Customer Reviews


55 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Single to the Maxi
Madonna's latest single Sorry has been given the Maxi treatment following in the footsteps of the #1 hit "Hung Up" - which is a hard thing to do for any artist, but Madonna very capably achieves conquering her previous hit.

1. Sorry (Single Edit) - the version we've all been hearing on the radio. Basically the album cut with a fade-out ending. With the very...
Published on March 2, 2006 by Adam

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Madonna is still the master
It is rare indeed that the original 'album' version of a song is superior than the mixes from renowned djs whose work comes weeks or months later. Most of the mixes (on cd singles) that stemmed from "Music" and "American Life" were superior than the original versions. They were freshly reinterpreted and a bit more polished as danceable tracks making most of the original...
Published on November 6, 2007 by Globalaza


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Single to the Maxi, March 2, 2006
By 
Adam (MV, MO USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sorry (Audio CD)
Madonna's latest single Sorry has been given the Maxi treatment following in the footsteps of the #1 hit "Hung Up" - which is a hard thing to do for any artist, but Madonna very capably achieves conquering her previous hit.

1. Sorry (Single Edit) - the version we've all been hearing on the radio. Basically the album cut with a fade-out ending. With the very catchy and unapologetic lyrics "I've heard it all before", this may very well be one of the few kiss-off songs Madonna's done that come across with a kiss-my-ass attitude. 5 stars

2. Sorry (Man With Guitar Edit) - this edit of Sorry is probably one of my favorites on this Maxi. It is basically an extended version of this song with a crazy synthetic guitar thromping throughout. It's very reminiscent of Madonna's early days a'la "Burning Up". 5 Stars

3. Sorry (PSB Maxi-Mix) - Pet Shop Boys. That's enough said to warrant this a must have cut of Sorry. I'm surprised at the amount of freshness that is exuded by this remix. It very cleverly uses the original music from the song, only re-recorded, and gives it a very retro-futuristic sound. 5 stars

4. Sorry (Paul Oakenfold Remix) - ahh... good ole' Oakenfold. This is the first remix I've liked of his since he remixed "Hollywood". It almost sounds like he samples "As the Rush Comes" by Motorcycle through the song. The lyrical content is very cut-down. Mostly just the hook is repeated through the song, but it's still very upbeat and a great song for the clubs. 4 1/2 Stars

5. Sorry (Green Velvet Remix) - This remix is just okay. It's got these beep noises throughout that get kind've annoying, but the way Madonna's lyrics resonate over the beeping is enough to save the song. This is a great remix due to the way they looped the lyrics. They make it sound like Madge is singing "he's sorry" in a very arrogant, 'I'm so over you' way. 4 1/2 stars

6. Let It Will Be (Paper Faces Vocal Edit) - The only non-Sorry mix on the Maxi. Although it's exciting to hear one of the songs that will not likely be a single from the album remixed, it's not a very good mix. It takes away from the original's beat and lyrical content, as well as becomes repetative very quickly, which isn't a good thing for a 5 and a half minute song. But it isn't terrible, so I'd say 4 stars

All in all, I'd say that this is a necessity for any music collection. Madonna's hardcore fans will be glad for the remixes and the gorgeous cover photo.

4 1/2 Stars Total.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't go wrong with this track!, February 28, 2006
By 
Asad (California, United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sorry (Audio CD)
"Sorry" is by far one of the catchiest and most fun singles from the Queen of Pop in a long time. Pure, unfiltered and immaculately produced, it is one of the most attention-grabbing tracks on "Confessions on a Dance Floor" and provides a listener with a fantastic euro-pop dance groove. The lyrics are light, and the woman-scorned message provides a powerful tool to this hook-laden track. The lyrics are finely worked into the dance rythm of this song, with the digitalized line "heard it all before" working its way deep into the listeners mind.

Releasing this as the second single is Madonna and her team's smartest move, making up for the huge mistake of releasing "Hollywood" as the second single from "American Life." Coupled with brilliant mixes, this is one of the hottest single with dance mixes to hit the racks since classics like "It's Not Right (But it's Okay)." The Paul Oakenfold mix as well as the Pet Shop Boys mix provide awesome takes on an already powerful dance track, providing a different angle to one of the neatest pop releases in a very long time. The radio edit version of "Sorry" continues to shine and stand on its own as well.

A great (and welcome) surprise on this CD is the inclusion of the Paper Faces Vocal Edit of "Let It Will Be" - my personal favorite track on "Confessions..." This is among Madonna's strongest work to date, and will hopefully be released as a single on its as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No need to say sorry, March 7, 2006
By 
Dogville (Sunny Island) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sorry (Audio CD)
Sorry is the #1 UK followup to the worldwide smash Hung Up. Beginning with Madonna saying Sorry in many different languages, the song then breaks into a rapturous electronic-disco track that also features an irresistably addictive beat throughout.

Included here on this maxi are some of the best remixes of a Madonna song in recent years. In the absence of Rahoufer and Calderone, we see a surpise here being 80's pop icon Pet Shop

Boys doing a brilliant mix of Sorry. With Neil Tennant's added vocals and trademark PSB production, it's hard to think that the boys have never worked with Madonna until now (given that they had written Heart in 88 with Madonna in mind but didn't dare risk disappointment so it was never handed to her). The Oakenfold remix of Sorry has to be his best for Madonna yet. Edgy and anthemic, it brings new energy to the song to create a stomper. Green Velvet's remix is set to a fast-tempo electronic beat with enough beeps and blips to keep you dancing. The only bland mix would be Stuart Price's (co-writer of Sorry) Man with Guitar Mix.

The other surprise would be the excellent Paper Faces Mix of Let It Will Be which was heard at one of Madonna's live performance. With added beats and a stylish makeover, the song screams for a release of its own. (A)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PSB mix out of this world, February 22, 2006
By 
This review is from: Sorry (Audio CD)
I don't know what one of the previous reviewers was listening to, but the PSB mix of Sorry is amazing! It's one of the best Madonna mixes in some time. The Pet Shop Boys ingratiate themselves subtly into the mix, giving the song an 80s feel, and kicking the song into a mix of electro-house. This mix will fill the floors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good maxi--but not great for completists..., March 18, 2006
By 
This review is from: Sorry (Audio CD)
Don't you just hate when you buy a maxi single, and one or more of the mixes has the word "edit" in the remix title? Well, get yourself the Holland CD single or Japanese CD single with 3 tracks and you'll have the single mix, the full 7 minute and 23 second Man With the Guitar version of "Sorry" a well as the full 7 minute and 28 second Paper Faces version of "Let It Will Be".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars my favourite single from CONFESSIONS....., May 20, 2006
By 
PHUNKlamb (sugarland, TX USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sorry (Audio CD)
'sorry" is my favourite track off her lastest, hands down.... her voice is so haunting and the engaging dance track backing her up is just phenomonal!!!! the video is great as well... i love the krumpin and them dancing in the skating rink...

madonna has done it again and she always does something to reclaim her thrown in the POP world....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I've Heard It All Before, February 28, 2006
By 
Tim Chapin (Madison, Wisconsin United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sorry (Audio CD)
1. Sorry (Single Edit) - 5 Stars

A great radio edit for a change - doesn't take away at all the effect of the album mix.

2. Sorry (Man With Guitar Edit) - 3 Stars

Pretty basic mix - nothing to fresh or new sounding here. Probably going to be a skip over track for me on this maxi.

3. Sorry (Psb Maxi-Mix) - 5 Stars

Definately my favorite mix, and the first mix I listened to on this maxi. It's about time Madonna teamed with the PSB. I'm not a huge fan of the PSB, but they sound amazing next to Madonna's vocals! Definately a club worthy cut here!

4. Sorry (Paul Oakenfold Remix) - 4 Stars

Your standard Oakenfold remix, which I do love. Going to sound awesome in the clubs - but the one thing is that this mix lacks in vocals.

5. Sorry (Green Velvet Remix) - 3 Star

Another pretty good mix, but reminds me way too much of a standard Peter Rauhofer mix - which I am definately over. We needed one more fresh, new sounding mix on this maxi.

6. Let It Will Be (Paper Faces Vocal Edit) - 1 Star

Definately a throw away mix, too rough sounding. I don't know why they even added this track, should have left it out or on the imports only.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pretty Darn Impressive, March 24, 2006
This review is from: Sorry (Audio CD)
I was NOT a fan of "Hung Up" at all. As her latest album's leading single, I really cannot explain why I bought it at all. But I did, and that is a separate review.

I always enjoyed "Sorry", though, save for the annoying attempts at multi-linguism in the beginning. I was excited about the remix single though because what I had heard was that it was suited more to the european club crowd. Boy am I pleased they were right! Each of these remixes are great in their own right!

The Man With Guitar mix is interesting, taking the original a step further and giving us harder beats but maintaining most of what the song already sounded like, making that weird drip/soda-being-opened noise more of an event than a background number.

The PSB (Pet Shop Boys) Maxi-Mix give the song their own spin while retaining much of the original. It sounds more electro than the original, more progressive. Definitely a good cut.

Paul Oakenfold gives it his best shot as well, providing us with a great remix that vaguely reminds me of Motorcycle's "As The Rush Comes". I am a fan of this mix.

However, I like the Green Velvet mix the best. It provides the most solid dance beat and has a great buildup towards the end that is truly satisfying.

Paper Faces take a stab at the mediocre track "Let It Will Be" as well, giving us a grungy, noise-hungry remix that may or may not be your cup of tea.

You'll be..."Sorry"...if you don't pick this up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AT LAST PET SHOP BOYS AND MADONNA TOGETHER, EXCELLENT!, March 16, 2006
This review is from: Sorry (Audio CD)
FOR THE FIRST TIME THE BRITISH DUO PET SHOP BOYS WORK WITH THE QUEEN MADONNA. THE RESULT IS BRILLIANT. THE ADITIONAL CHORUS OF NEIL TENNANT IS GREAT IS THE SECRET INGREDIENT OF THE RECIPE OF MAKING GOOD MUSIC.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Features the best released Sorry remixes, March 15, 2006
This review is from: Sorry (Audio CD)
A perfect follow-up single to Hung Up. This CD features great versions of Sorry as follows:

1. [Single Edit] A nicely condensed album version.

2. [Man With Guitar Edit] A condensed version of the [Man With Guitar Mix] found on the Japanese three track single. This track, mixed by Stuart Price, grooves with guitar and bassy riffs with Madonna and electronically enhanced voice repeatedly singing only chorus lyrics and reciting the various languages.

3. [PSB Maxi-Mix] - The Sorry Club Anthem remixed by the Pet Shop Boys. This remix includes most lyrics from the original. The various language lyrics recited in the middle of the original song are omitted. However, new lyrics are added at the beginning of the song. A small chorus of electronically enhanced Madonna voices sing, "I'm sorry. So sorry...I'm sorry. Please forgive me. SORRY!!!". During most of the song, the electronically enhanced Madonna voice sings in unison with Madonna's voice and at one point sings two lines of lyrics. Add the thumping bass beat and it is a remix full of energy.

4. [Paul Oakenfold Remix] A trancey remix that only includes the various language lyrics, the electronic voice repeating "I heard it all before." and Madonna repeating "Sorry." During the middle of the song Madonna sings the chorus. A good remix to end a late night at the club especially at closing time.

5. [Green Velvet Remix] - An alternative remix, which includes all lyrics. Madonna's voice is refreshingly stripped of the electronic voice. This remix does not contain the obvious arrangement from the original song that is very inherent in the previous remixes. Not a hard-core dance track, but is danceable all the same.

6. [Paper Faces Vocal Edit] - A hard hitting alternative rock remix that includes all lyrics from the album version. Unlike the the original, Madonna's voice does not sing in unison with electronically enhanced versions of her voice. A related track,[Paper Faces Mix], is probably a longer version, which can be found on the Japanese three track single.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Sorry
Sorry by Madonna (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.