Play album in Library Get the free Amazon Music app for iOS or Android to listen on the go.
Your Amazon Music account is currently associated with a different marketplace. To enjoy Prime Music, go to Your Music Library and transfer your account to (US).
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Soul of Minit Records Import

4 out of 5 stars 2 customer reviews

See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
New from Used from
Audio CD, Import, April 6, 2004
"Please retry"
$29.98 $20.96

Editorial Reviews

"soul of Minit Records" Kicks off with the Up-tempo Tunes "Shing a Ling" by Clydie King, the Trensations "Soulin' and Rollin" and the Persuasions "Party in the Woods". Jimmy Holiday was a Major Contributor to Minit as a Songwriter and Producer for a Variety of Artists, as Well as Releasing Twelve 45's and One LP Himself. His Talents Seemed to Sum Up the Spirit of the Label at the Time: Creating Tracks that Hit the Pop Charts as Well as the R 'n' B Charts. "Spread Your Love" was an R 'n' B Top 40 Hit in 1968 with Its Funky, Energetic, Cool Breaks - There is No Way You Can Listen to this and Keep Your Feet Still. The Final Track on this Compilation, "Yesterday Died", Has that Wonderful Quality of Being Reflective, Slightly Melancholic, Yet Uplifting and Positive all at Once.

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Shing A Ling - Clydie King
  2. Soulin And Rollin - Trensations
  3. Party In The Woods - The Persuasions
  4. Sookie Sookie - Tina Britt
  5. Spread Your Love - Jimmy Holiday
  6. I Had To Get With It - Jimmy Mccracklin
  7. One Of Those Good For Crying Over You Days - Clyde King
  8. Get Right - The Players
  9. A Hunk Of Funk - Gene Dozier And The Brotherhood
  10. Who Was That - Tina Britt
  11. Lillie Mae - Bobby Womack
  12. Dog (Part 1) - Jimmy Mccracklin
  13. Am I Ever Gonna See My Baby Again - Vernon Greene And Teh Me
  14. I'm Gonna Do All I Can (To Do Right Ny My Man) - Ike And Tin
  15. I Know You Know I Know - Homer Banks
  16. I Cant Stand The Pain - Dee Irwin
  17. Prove It - Lea Roberts
  18. Somebody Special - Bobby Womack
  19. I Know - Gloria Jones
  20. Testify (I Wanna)
  21. Memphis Soul Band
  22. I Wanna Jump - Ike And Tina Turner
  23. Soul Stroll - Gene Dozier And The Brotherhood
  24. Come Together - Ike And Tina Turner And The Ikettes
  25. Yesterday Died - Jimmy Holiday

Product Details

  • Audio CD (April 6, 2004)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Import
  • Label: EMI Import
  • ASIN: B0001E5UCS
  • Average Customer Review: 4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #138,936 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Customer Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See both customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Audio CD
this collection of songs from the latter days of Minit Records is guaranteed to get your toes tappiing and the rest of you moving. I found one selection particularly interesting, which is the song by the Persuasions, this time accompanied with instruments, and not strictly acapella. There are some other rare gems, here, too, so get it if you like funky soul music from back in the day.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Audio CD
A superb collection of Soul from New Orleans based Minit records, all great tracks. too many to mention. Lots of tracks that never broke out big so it is a goody bag of surprises!
Comment 1 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

Look for Similar Items by Category