Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Horrifically Outstanding!
"Soulless Light" by Joann Buchanan is a fast paced horrific masterpiece that will give you chills unlike any other! It is a clear warning to all that you must be careful what you wish for - because you might just get it.

Julia is growing up in a small village in the early 1300's and has began an apprenticeship with the village midwife, Ruth, when she meets...
Published on September 21, 2011 by Audrey_Bounty

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars ffurter1964
Story was ok. I knew it was a short story but it was much shorter than I thought it would be and lacked detail because of this.
Published 24 months ago by Frank Morales


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Horrifically Outstanding!, September 21, 2011
This review is from: Soulless Light (Paperback)
"Soulless Light" by Joann Buchanan is a fast paced horrific masterpiece that will give you chills unlike any other! It is a clear warning to all that you must be careful what you wish for - because you might just get it.

Julia is growing up in a small village in the early 1300's and has began an apprenticeship with the village midwife, Ruth, when she meets Ruth's son, Joseph. As the story unfolds, so does the romance between Julia and Joseph, until one day the Templar Knights ride into the village and Hell walks the Earth.

A must read for any horror fanatic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Promising New Author, September 20, 2011
This review is from: Soulless Light (Paperback)
Soulless Light is the first novella I've read. The main reason is that I have questioned how a complete and engrossing story could actually fit in such a small amount of space. Author Joann Bucanan has shown that it is not only possible to do this, but she shows that space limitations are truly in the mind.

Taking place in the 1300's, a small, peaceful village sees the typical activity of the time. Julia discovers her career path in life . . . that of a midwife. She loves the idea of bringing new life into the world. Despite the long and crazy hours such a job brings, she loves what she does. She also falls in love with Joseph, a childhood friend.

Naturally, the tranquility is broken by Templar Knights, who claim that someone in the town is practicing witchcraft. Being complete religious fanatics, they believe it is their mission to rid the countryside of such a demonic presence. The only problem is, no one was practicing witchcraft.

The atrocity that is committed in the name of God is a chilling reminder of the times (although such atrocities are committed even now in the name of religion). What the knights failed to realize is that their intense desire to find witches and demons would be granted to them in the form of a vengeful Revenant in the form of a murdered Julia.

The descriptions in this novella will chill you to the soul. The intense violence is not for the weak at heart. There is rape and murder here. Even young children are not immune. The overarching theme is vengeance, and the vengeance is quite awesome. Very creative story. If this is merely a sample of what we will see from this author, I am really looking forward to her next work, especially if it is a full length novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars She loved her peaceful village and being able to bring life ..., August 3, 2014
This review is from: Soulless Light (Paperback)
I recently just met Joann H. Buchanan and decided to check out the books that amazon had of hers. The first book that I purchased was Soulless Light because it sounded out of the box and being a paranormal fan it was something that intrigued me. The book which follows main character Julia is a bright spirited young woman who has chosen the path of a midwife and being in the 1300s there was not a huge supply for these. She loved her peaceful village and being able to bring life into the world and in addition to finding her love for a career she also grows to love her child hood friend Joseph.

Things suddenly become a disaster after the Templar Knights who believe someone in the village is practicing witchcraft and is a sin against god. However, there really isn’t anyone who is doing wrong but after they massacre the entire village an angered spirited Julia is given the chance in death to have her revenge that she could not have or prevent in life.

Soulless Light was written to spook you, shake you and keep you on edge and this talented writer did that and more. The bloodshed and action that is packed in this short novella will surprise you and I was actually sad once it was over. I enjoyed the way that the author captured the feelings and depicted a picture that I mentally could see myself there as things were happening. You will not regret reading this book and honestly I cannot wait to move on to the next book on my list by Joann H. Buchanan which is I Am Wolf!!!! If you have yet to read Soulless Light you are definitely missing you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost Too Short, September 26, 2011
By 
S. E. Townsend (Moses Lake, WA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Soulless Light (Paperback)
Soulless Light is an engrossing, engaging, scary, bloody, and unfortunately short tale of what happens when you mess with the wrong soul. Set in a village in 1363 (I'm sure a wonderful time to be alive) it's what happens with the soul of a murdered young woman, Julia, takes revenge on a rapacious mob of Knights Templar. The only thing a horror fan could wish for is perhaps more. The novella is over far too quickly. Very well written (but with a couple of anachronisms) and an exciting read. Horror fans will love it and I (not a horror fan) liked it a lot. A good first effort from Joann H. Buchanan. It will be great to see what she could do with a novel-length story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great novella!, July 12, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Soulless Light (Kindle Edition)
I really enjoyed this short story! The love story was so sweet & the plot was so suspenseful! Great start for a great author!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Creepy Little Horror Story, October 26, 2011
By 
Tracy Sharp (Clifton Park, NY, US) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Soulless Light (Paperback)
This story is not for the meek. A chilling story about the mass murder of a village in the 1300s in the name of religion. The villagers are slaughtered after being falsely accused of practicing witchcraft. The soul of Julia, a young midwife's apprentice, is so outraged at the atrocity that she seeks revenge, after death, on the knights who massacred her village.

This story is a dark, spooky and thrilling read. Horror fans will be delighted by the creepiness of it. Gripping, unique, imaginative and relentless. Well done, Joann!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Horrifically Outstanding!, September 21, 2011
This review is from: Soulless Light (Kindle Edition)
"Soulless Light" by Joann Buchanan is a fast paced horrific masterpiece that will give you chills unlike any other! It is a clear warning to all that you must be careful what you wish for - because you might just get it.

Julia is growing up in a small village in the early 1300's and has began an apprenticeship with the village midwife, Ruth, when she meets Ruth's son, Joseph. As the story unfolds, so does the romance between Julia and Joseph, until one day the Templar Knights ride into the village and Hell walks the Earth.

A must read for any horror fanatic!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must read short story, January 7, 2012
By 
This review is from: Soulless Light (Kindle Edition)
Julia & Joseph is an everlasting love. When they are all attacked & killed, Julia's soul isn't at rest. She gains a power of being able to destroy the ones that killed her family and friends and will still get the enternity with the one she loves. Joann Buchanan did an excellent job on this. I would love to see a follow up of it and with her next book coming out, I know it will be just as wonderful as this one was.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A thrilling suspense, October 19, 2011
This review is from: Soulless Light (Paperback)
I thoroughly enjoyed Soulless Light from beginning to end! Joann Buchanan did a fantastic job; not only in storytelling, but in the development of her characters. I really liked the way she depicted an accurate (in my opinion) description of the villian in this story, the Templar Knights; who wreak havock and destroy lives in the name of "their God."

Although I cannot say that "Good triumps over evil" in this story- it doesn't need to! I find myself forming a bond with Julia, as she serves up revenge,justice and then some!My only complaint is that I wanted more! Though the story was complete, I was sad to see it end.

I whole heartedly give this book 5 stars on every level. I highly recommend Soulless Light to all lovers of paranormal fiction and I cannot wait to see what Mrs. Buchanan writes next
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved It!, September 28, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Soulless Light (Paperback)
Joann H. Buchanan did a incredible job of combining the sweetest love story with amazing horror. I truly loved the story and how she is able to write so you actually see the entire thing in your mind as you go along. Definitely a page turner and one that I did not want to end. Enjoyed it so much that I have reread it several times and I cannot wait to see what Joann publishes next. If it's anywhere near as good as this is, it will be a best seller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Soulless Light
Soulless Light by Joann Buchanan
$0.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.