Your Amazon Music account is currently associated with a different marketplace. To enjoy Prime Music, go to Your Music Library and transfer your account to (US).
& FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Details
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by
Gift-wrap available.
Sound City Beat has been added to your Cart
+ $3.99 shipping
Used: Like New | Details
Sold by MovieMars-CDs
Condition: Used: Like New
Comment: Sealed item. Like NEW. 30 Day Satisfaction Guarantee.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
  • Sound City Beat
  • Sorry, this item is not available in
  • Image not available
  • To view this video download Flash Player

Sound City Beat Import

1 customer review

See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Audio CD, Import, May 22, 2012
"Please retry"
$9.09 $2.27
$19.99 & FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Details Only 1 left in stock (more on the way). Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.

Frequently Bought Together

Sound City Beat + Ghostown
Price for both: $33.31

Buy the selected items together

Editorial Reviews

Dublin's original Punk Rock band the Radiators from Space issued one of the first Punk singles of the era, the coruscating Television Screen, soon transcending the genre and moving through Perfect Pop with the Tony Visconti produced Ghostown to the Agit Pop of 2007's Trouble Pilgrim. Their fourth Chiswick CD / Long Player Sound City Beat revisits their roots with a glorious jaunt through the 60s and 70s Irish Group scene.

They deliver 18 reinventions of songs from Rory Gallagher's Taste, Thin Lizzy, Van Morrison's Them, Horslips, Andwella's Dream, Skid Row, Eire Apparent and more arcane artists Peter Adler & the Next in Line, The Creatures and Orange Machine and more.

The music ranges from beat group melodic to twangsville guitar to psych pop and folk rock all brought into the 21st Century by Radiators founding members Phil Chevron, Pete Holidai and Steve Averill.

Guesting on the record are some luminaries from the original era, Terry Woods from Phil Chevron's other band The Pogues, Henry McCullough of Eire Apparent and a CV that spans The Grease Band to Wings and Eamon Carr, erstwhile drummer with Horslips who gives a beautiful reading of Phil Lynott's Dublin lyrics.

The CD comes equipped with a lavish 16 page booklet with an introductory note from our man on the spot Ted Carroll and a highly informative and moving paean to the era in Phil's epic history of the music of the times. All of this comes wrapped in a superbly designed cover by Steve Averill, the man behind all those U2 sleeves.

So this record hits a lot of buttons and will garner interest from 60s Beat Group and Psych Pop collectors, the 70s Punk Rockers, Pogues fans and anyone with any interest in music from Ireland that doesn't necessarily go tiddly aye.

1. Head For The Sun (as performed by The Movement)
2. It's Happened Before, It'll Happen Again (as performed by Taste)
3. I'm A King Bee (as performed by The King Bees)
4. 6. 10 Special (as performed by The Hootenannys)
5. Yes, I Need Someone (as performed by Eire Apparent)
6. Behind The Painted Screen (as performed by Andwella's Dream)
7. I'm Gonna Turn My Life Around (as performed by Peter Adler & The Next In Line)
8. You Got What I Need (as performed by Mitch Mahon & The Editions)
9. Gloria (as performed by Them)
10. Dublin (as performed by Thin Lizzy)
11. The Lady Wrestler (as performed by Horslips)
12. Turn Out The Light (as performed by The Creatures)
13. Morning Dew (as performed by Sugar Shack)
14. That's All Right (as performed by The Blues Aces)
15. Never And Everyday Thing (as performed by Granny's Intentions)
16. Dr. Crippen's Waiting Room (as performed by Orange Machine)
17. New Places, Old Faces (as performed by Skid Row)
18. You Turn Me On (The Turn-On Song)

Product Details

  • Audio CD (May 22, 2012)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Import
  • Label: Chiswick UK
  • ASIN: B006WAF1K6
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #412,015 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Customer Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

By Thomas Barnes on February 22, 2014
Format: Audio CD
Never had heard of them before - if you know and love your music (incl. Clash, Undertones etc.) go for this!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again


There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
First post:
Prompts for sign-in

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more
Sound City Beat
This item: Sound City Beat
Price: $19.99
Ships from and sold by

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Look for Similar Items by Category