Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Stephen Marley Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro STEM

Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$14.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 13, 2003
There are a lot of hardcore bands out there now a days... A lot of them sound the same. Their screams sound the same, so do their guitars and drums. Avenged Sevenfold has its own unique sound that is both good and original.
I cant stop listening to this album, its that good. Its really lengthy too, which is good. Its really melodic in the guitar riffs and vocals too, he does growl, but also sings beautifully.
Highly recommended if youre into metal, punk, hardcore what have you. It borrows from many different genres. Do yourself a favor and get this, youll thank me later!
11 comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 12, 2005
I don't understand all the people calling A7X hardcore, punk and/or emo. Aside from occasional tinges of the former which crop up, this album is metal, plain and simple. Ironic how bands like Korn and Linkin Park get to usurp and collectively soil the banner of metal, yet when a band comes along that deserves the title, no one gives it!

True enough that there are a few punk-ish passages to be heard on this album, and the singer's vocals hover somewhere between a black metal rasp and hardcore yelling; but the total package comes off sounding much more like something out of Gothenburg Sweden than something from the states.

At any rate, whatever people insist upon calling them, A7X is a blissful breath of fresh air into the local erm... "heavy rock" secene. Hopefully more bands will follow their example and put down the DJs, learn how to write a guitar melody, and discover how to carry a tune.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 12, 2010
I'm a huge Avenged Sevenfold fan. I had every CD from Waking The Fallen all the way to Nightmare. All amazing albums. I always heard this album was much heavier so I've always wanted to check it out. To be honest, it's a little hard to listen to at times. There's really A LOT of screaming. I started listening the band after waking the fallen came out so I knew what to expect. It's just different hearing A7X like this after they evolved into this new arena metal band. Don't get me wrong, I find their newer material far more superb than the older stuff. Still it's cool to see where this band came from and if your a fan of the band (or metalcore/screaming at all) then it's really worth giving it a listen.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 12, 2002
This cd, in an essence, is amazing. I would be the first person to tell you that hardcore isn't my choice of music, and this cd STILL is nothing short of astounding. The five piece from California is capable of literally any kind of music they put their mind to. Throughout the "Sounding the Seventh Trumpet" you will hear styles ranging from 80's metal to hardcore, and from punk rock to even a rock ballad featuring the vocalist M. Shadows on piano.
each member of the band is amazingly talented at their instruments, and it definitely shows on this album. On guitar, we have Synyster Gates and Zacky Vengeance. These two are better than 75% of guitarists making 100% more money these days. From the first song till the last song, you'll hear riff after solo after riff, each jaw-dropping in its own unique way. Next is Dameon Ash (replaced by Justin Sane) on bass. He's got the metal riffing down, but usually is drowned out by the guitars and (hella)awesome drums of The Reverend Tholomew Plague. If there's a drummer in this world that should be worshipped, it is this man. He is one of the fastest and most elaborate drummers in the punk/hardcore scene, and it definitely can not go unnoticed in "Trumpet". Lastly, but not least(ly), there is M. Shadows on vocals. He makes the band what they are. What are they? Nobody knows, actually. There's no real label you can put on them, and part of the reason is Shadows. He can go from straight glass gargling hardcore growling, to melodic emo singing, and polishing it off with Greg Graffin of Bad Religion styled punk rock harmonizing.
if you're in the mood for something new, and you're completely sick and tired of nickelback and good charlotte, you should definitely pick up Avenged Sevenfold's "Sounding the Seventh Trumpet".
best songs: darkness surrounding, lips of deceit, warmness on the soul, and shattered by broken dreams
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 14, 2004
I love this Cd!! Whenever I'm upset I put this cd in..there is no mistaking how angery someone is when this Cd is cranked up to ear drum bursting volume. If your looking for a band that reminds you of the 80's type of metal...then this is your group! trust me, if you want to release some anger...you need this cd.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 3, 2003
When writing a review for an album such as this, you always have a nagging fear that there are a couple things you are leaving when trying to convey the greatness of it.
Despite these fears I will review it anyway.
This album is basically a metalcore/hardcore album. But that's only the basis of it, they bring very many different influences into the songs without making it sounding forced there. They have alot of old metal influences like Iron Maiden, with a little Guns N Roses, and they also bring in some fast punk in the style of Good Riddance, with acoustic parts as well. Each and every track on this album is distinctly different from the next, creatively throwing many different influences into a song, utilizing brutal screams and beautiful melodies, while each member flexes their muscle in musicianship (espcially the drummer).
I could give you a breakdown of each song, but I don't think anyone wants to read that, but you should definitely check out their songs on mp3.com
This album has raised the bar in heavy music, many will try, but few will clear it.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 8, 2005
this is the cd a7x wrote when they were around 18. This cd is quite diffrent from waking the fallen because it has more of a punkier sound. it is still a great cd. you better get it. a7x=love
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 21, 2013
I will not start speaking of Avenged Sevenfold otherwise I will need a website on its own. For the non-metal and rock fans, listen to the classics and drama behind the screaming. If you only hear screaming, heavy metal and rock, you don't have a music ear. The singer Matthew Sanders (M. Shadows) has an amazing talent reaching highs and lows with a strong scream-like voice with no miss whatsoever even live. Thank you A7X for switching me from the Madonnas, Trances, EDMs, and Club Music, to only YOU. Love you, your style, your voices, the talents of the guitarists syncing with the drummer, and the hard work behind each and every song. I hear their Hail to the King new album being released on Tuesday the 27th of August 2013 and it is already pre-ordered. This latest album is inspired by the group gathering and listening to classical music from Bach, Mozart and others, and trying to understand what makes these classical composers so great. And they understood, wrote and produced songs that are nothing but their own style but with a greater classical and drama sense only a music ear can hear. DADT; dgaf
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 14, 2011
I love metal. So when this came out I was just suprised of the awesomeness and pure simplistic nature it brought to the stage. All these guys knew what they were doing, I just wish Synyster was in it more. And fyi to all the new fans, I like A7X for the newer stuff first, not this. But I still love this cd. It really shows how they got to where they are today and the journey they went on through the years. RIP The Rev, we'll miss you forever.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 7, 2011
It's Avenged Sevenfold's debut album, what more do you need to know? Just one example of their musical mastery, even before their legendary five members finally came together to form the godly brilliance that would go on to create Waking the Fallen, City of Evil and the Avenged Sevenfold self-titled album (and Nightmare, to some extent). Highlights, for me, include We Come Out At Night, Darkness Surrounding and The Art of Subconscious Illusion. This album is also the only time we are graced by Valary DiBenedetto's spine-tingling scream vocals. This album started it. You are not a true Avenged Sevenfold fan if you do not possess this album. Buy it, listen to it and love it!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$5.87
$4.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.