Automotive Deals Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Crown the Empire Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Enter for the chance to win front row seats to Barbra Streisand Water Sports

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
11
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$4.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on October 15, 2013
This album has gotten a bit of a bum wrap with some reviewers saying it isn't nearly as good as the first two Sounds of Wood and Steel albums. I disagree. Some tunes, like Phil Keaggy's, Cajon Pass, is every bit as good as the best tunes from the first two albums, perhaps even better. Many tunes on this album are just as good as the first. I say that overall, the album is nearly as good because it does contain some tunes that don't feature the guitar as much as the first two albums, is overly orchestrated, and thereby spoils the original intent of the genre. However, this album is still worth having and contains tunes that many guitar players would want to try and emulate. Get it! It's not even that expensive; I paid $3.99 for mine new on Amazon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 27, 2011
The "Sounds of Wood and Steel" series is so good that I've listened to it over and over and over again. There's a mix of styles, so you won't get bored. If you play guitar you'll enjoy it even more, as you can learn the styles by listening. A very enjoyable set of CD's, though I believe the 1st in the series is now only available via download. Well worth the price.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 27, 2013
We had one and two when I saw this... I did not know about it. The same quality and total listening beauty. Our Bose speakers on the dock, Wood and Steel, and Rum punches. It don't gety NO BETTER! Thanks for the sale it was perfect! Jan Robinson
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 26, 2013
this is one of those cd's you paly when your day has gotten too hectic & you just want to get away from it all for a hour.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 24, 2009
As with many compliations, sometimes you just miss the mark.

The first two albums in this series were wonderful and eclectic. A great mix of country, blues and jazz.

And while Sounds of Wood & Steel 3 follows this same pattern, the choices left me (on a few tracks) flat.

Over all, it's a very good album, but I do find myself looking to fastforward past two or three tracks.

This is a wonderful introduction into several different artists and for that reason alone, makes the album worthy of keeping.

My suggestion: listen to the samples prior to purchasing.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 22, 2013
It was just what I expected, relaxing, creative musical compositions. I owned the second one and bought the first and third one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 2, 2013
Fun to listen to and has a different feel from the first 2 cd collections. This is really good and refreshing
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 30, 2015
Like the other 2 volumes, this is a great mix of guitar music from some of the best artist out there.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 8, 2014
Great, kind of jazzy, guitar CD. Quality sound as well as compositions!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 25, 2014
great musicians outstanding collection of different artists
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.