Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Krill Oil
Tried two others but this one works. Don't know if the reported cardio health impact is there but I had a mild skin condition that doctors just gave me hydrocortisone for claiming it was an allergic reaction and all they could do. I have had this condition for years - very minor but annoying itch around the ears with some flaking where they connect to the head. When I...
Published on June 9, 2011 by beikokunotora

versus
42 of 44 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars It works, but they add Fish Oil to boost their numbers!!
I started taking Fish Oil one year ago (the HUGE pill form) to see if I would notice any health benefits. I am a healthy 28 year old male. It was only when I ran out that I realized that a "crackle" in my left ear I had experienced for years around loud noises had been cured... and returned weeks after running out. I was sold. I figured if there's just one drastic...
Published on April 25, 2012 by /\/\\/\/


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

42 of 44 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars It works, but they add Fish Oil to boost their numbers!!, April 25, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I started taking Fish Oil one year ago (the HUGE pill form) to see if I would notice any health benefits. I am a healthy 28 year old male. It was only when I ran out that I realized that a "crackle" in my left ear I had experienced for years around loud noises had been cured... and returned weeks after running out. I was sold. I figured if there's just one drastic noticable benefit, there are likely many benefits behind the scenes.

So I did my research and concluded that Source Naturals makes quality Krill Oil (Krill is superior to Fish as it absorps easier, so less is required), and charges accordingly. I bought the bottle of 120 - Source Naturals ArcticPure Krill Oil 500mg, 120 Softgels. Within a few weeks, my left ear was no longer crackling or popping unless I'm around something dangerously loud.

The bottle and pills do have a slightly fishy smell, but taste completely neutral. I never experienced any burps or anything unpleasant.

Now that the bottle is about to run dry, I'm back on Amazon to research the best Krill bang for my buck. I found that the Source Naturals ArticPure I have been using also contain Fish Oil, along with Krill. The label lists this in the Other Ingredients section, which I hadn't noticed (Amazon now includes this in the description). Fish Oil Omega-3's do not absorb as readily, and essentially are not as potent. This is why you pay a premium for Krill in the first place!

Since this is not specifically labeled Neptune Krill Oil, my bet is the krill oil here has less EPA and DHA per serving. So Source Naturals added cheaper Fish Oil for marketing, to boost these numbers, which is HIGHLY deceiving and unethical and borders on false advertising. When this is the case, it becomes impossible to determine how much quality krill EPA and DHA your body will be absorbing. Are those numbers 80% from the krill? 10%? Who knows.

This product worked, and I didn't spend my days burping up shrimp byproducts, so I consider it effective. But I also feel deceived. The COMPANY NAME includes "Pure", so it is easy to read the label and assume "Pure Krill Oil". It's fun for everyone when corporations get clever like that. I would rate this 1 star for unethical marketing, but because I still noticed a positive difference, I'm giving it 2.

Either way, I have decided to go with NutriGold NKO Neptune Krill Oil Gold, 1000mg, 60 Softgels (100% Pure NKO Neptune Krill Oil with Astaxanthin) #1 in Omega 3 Krill Oil Supplements for my next purchase. Pure Krill (no fish), made to seemingly very high standards, but cheaper than Source Naturals NKO at the time of purchase. And one 1000mg pill of Krill daily sounds great. I am purchasing Vitamin D and Astaxanthin to explore their benefits as well.

2/25/13 Update: Was going through my reviews and changed this from 3 to 2 stars. If I went to the grocery store and bought "Florida Pure Orange Juice", and later found that the fine print said "50% juice", I'd be pretty mad. Or how long before a company called "Yukon 24-Karat" gets shut down because all they sell is 10-Karat gold? I don't see how this is different.

Also, wanted to add that I have no idea if that Vitamin D has done anything for me, but I HIGHLY recommend the Astaxanthin. I was wondering why all these Krill labels were advertising it, so I looked into it, and have been taking one a day for about a year now. Twice in 2012 I should have been completely sunburned, and this stuff actually helps fight that internally in a big way, among other benefits. One of those times I only stayed burned for the next day (vs 5-7 normally), and the other time I was tan the next day instead, which is not normal for me. Check it out, pretty amazing stuff!

I went from 1000mg of krill to 500mg daily, and haven't noticed any change in its benefits. Currently, along with good multi-vitamins, I take one per day of:
NOW Foods Neptune Krill Oil 500mg, 120 Softgels, and
Natural Astaxanthin GOLD, 4mg, 120 Softgels (#1 in Astaxanthin Supplements)

Thanks for reading, I hope this helps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Krill Oil, June 9, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Tried two others but this one works. Don't know if the reported cardio health impact is there but I had a mild skin condition that doctors just gave me hydrocortisone for claiming it was an allergic reaction and all they could do. I have had this condition for years - very minor but annoying itch around the ears with some flaking where they connect to the head. When I tried this brand of krill oil, within a month these areas had completely healed up and no itching. This was not a pyschological effect since I had not thought that it was related to the krill oil until I later ran out of this brand and bought another brand - one month later it was back. Unfortunately there are no standards for vitamins/supplements but in this case I am listening to my body - the fact that this skin irritation went away means it has some beneficial effects and thus it is the only one I buy now. Recommended this to a friend with psoriasis and his skin problems went away in a few months of taking this. It seems to have some active ingrediant that helps immune/allergic type issues.

Only negative is that it is not readily available in stores near where I live and it is more expensive that other brands, but it appears with Krill oil you get what you pay for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Source Naturals Arctic Pure Krill Oil vs Nine Leading Krill Oils And A Leading Fish Oil, August 12, 2013
By 
RWM (New York, New York) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Source Naturals ArcticPure Krill Oil 500mg, 60 Softgels (Health and Beauty)
*****
This is a side-by-side comparison of ten leading brands of krill oil: Nutrigold Krill Oil Gold (1000 mgs), Nutrigold Krill Oil Gold (500 mgs), Now Foods Neptune Krill Oil (1000 mgs), Now Foods Neptune Krill Oil (500 mgs), Schiff Mega Red Extra Strength Omega-3 Krill Oil, Schiff MegaRed Omega-3 Krill Oil, Viva Labs Krill Oil, Jarrow Formulas Neptune Krill Oil, Source Naturals NKO Neptune Krill Oil, and Source Naturals Arctic Pure Krill Oil, and a leading brand of omega-3 fish oil, Nutrigold Triple Strength Omega-3 Gold Fish Oil.

OMEGA-3 FATTY ACIDS: Omega-3 fatty acids are what make krill oil and fish oil so beneficial. There are three major components of omega-3 fatty acids in these products: EPA (which is good for your heart, circulatory system, lowering triglycerides, depression and mood orientation, and is a powerful anti-inflammatory for soothing joint pains), DHA (which is good for your mental acuity, or if you are pregnant, nursing an infant, or for children), and "other." Other omega-3s, like DPA and SDA, are types of fatty acids which are easily converted to EPA in the body. In most fish oils, the amount of these other fatty acids is low, but in highly concentrated oils, it can be a significant amount. The important components are EPA and DHA.

KRILL OIL VS FISH OIL: Krill oil is an omega-3 nutrient and is an alternative source of omega-3 than fish oil. Some folks prefer krill oil over fish oil because they believe it has increased bioavailability and better absorption than fish oil, and contains the additional nutrients, Astaxanthin and Phospholipids. In fact, this is correct. Krill oil has better bioavailability and absorption than fish oil and contains Astaxanthin and Phospholipids, neither of which are contained in fish oil. However, from the perspective of potency, krill oil contains less omega-3 fatty acids per gel cap than a high grade fish oil gel cap such as Nutrigold Triple Strength Omega-3 Gold Fish Oil. So, in order to obtain the same omega-3 benefits from krill oil that you do from a high grade fish oil, you need to take more krill oil gel caps, despite the fact that krill oil is more bioavailable and better absorbed than fish oil. This translates into additional cost.

ASTAXANTHIN: Astaxanthin is a powerful anti-oxidant and anti-inflammatory. It is a red-pink substance found in various seafoods such as salmon, trout, krill, lobster and cooked shrimp. It is responsible for the red color of salmon meat, cooked shellfish and flamingo feathers. It is present in krill oil but not in fish oil.

The presence of astaxanthin in krill oil, combined with other naturally occurring antioxidants in the oil (Vitamins E and A), provides protection against oxidation of the oil, making it stable for a long time. It also protects the body against free radical attacks which can cause aging of the cells. Antioxidants are usually added in fish oil to prevent the oil from oxidizing as they do not have any on their own.

PHOSPHOLIPIDS: Phospholipids facilitate the absorption of omega-3 into your system. It, too, is present in krill oil but not in fish oil. In krill oil, the omega-3 fatty acids are attached to phospholipids whereas the omega-3 fatty acids in fish oil are attached to triglycerides. The phospholipids contribute to better absorption and utilization of the EPA & DHA by the cells, making krill oil more bio-effective than fish oil.

SOURCE OF KRILL OIL AND FISH OIL: Unlike fish oil, which comes primarily from fish such as anchovies, sardines, mackerel, cod, pollock and whiting, krill oil comes from krill, a crustacean that looks somewhat like a small shrimp.

ALERGIC REACTION TO KRILL OIL: Since krill is a crustacean, many folks may have an allergic reaction to krill oil. If you are allergic to shellfish, you need to be aware of this.

BREAKDOWN: Below is a breakdown of these supplements.

Nutrigold Krill Oil Gold (1000 mgs) (See, Nutrigold Krill Gold - Neptune Krill Oil (Double Strength NKO), 1000 mg, 60 softgels)
*****
Not certified Kosher or Halal
$ N/A for 60 1000 mg gel caps on Amazon
Recommended Serving: one gel cap
Price per gel cap = $ N/A (using Amazon's price)
One 1000 mg gel cap contains a total of:
EPA = 150 mgs
DHA = 90 mgs
EPA/DHA ratio = 1.5 to 1
Other Omega-3 = 60 mgs
Total Omega-3 = 300 mgs
Percentage Omega-3 per gel cap = 30%
No soy
No GMOs
Contains cholesterol
No mercury
Not enteric coated
Not vegetarian
Phospholipids = 420 mgs
Astaxanthin = 1.25 mgs
IKOS Rating = ***** (five stars, top rating)
Phone Number: (800) 476-3542
Manufactured in the U.S.A.
Ingredients: shellfish (krill), softgel (bovine gelatin, non-GMO vegetable glycerin, purified water), sorbitol, and vanillin

Nutrigold Krill Oil Gold (500 mgs) (See, Nutrigold Krill Gold - Neptune Krill Oil (Clinically-proven NKO), 500 mg, 120 softgels)
*****
Not certified Kosher or Halal
$41.26 for 120 500 mg gel caps on Amazon
Recommended Serving: two gel caps
Price per gel cap = $.34 (using Amazon's price)
One 500 mg gel cap contains a total of:
EPA = 63 mgs
DHA = 36.5 mgs
EPA/DHA ratio = 1.5 to 1
Other Omega-3 = 26.5 mgs
Total Omega-3 = 126 mgs
Percentage Omega-3 per gel cap = 25%
No soy
No GMOs
Contains cholesterol
No mercury
Not enteric coated
Not vegetarian
Phospholipids = 262.5 mgs
Astaxanthin = 460 mcgs
IKOS Rating = ***** (five stars, top rating)
Phone Number: (800) 476-3542
Manufactured in the U.S.A.
Ingredients: shellfish (krill), softgel (bovine gelatin, non-GMO vegetable glycerin, and purified water)

Now Foods Neptune Krill Oil (1000 mgs) (See, Now Foods Neptune Krill Oil 1000mg Soft-gels, 60-Count)
*****
Not certified Kosher or Halal
$29.95 for 60 1000 mg gel caps on Amazon
Recommended Serving: one gel cap
Price per gel cap = $.50 (using Amazon's price)
One 1000 mg gel cap contains a total of:
EPA = 120 mgs
DHA = 70 mgs
EPA/DHA ratio = 1.5 to 1
Other Omega-3 = 40 mgs
Total Omega-3 = 230 mgs
Percentage Omega-3 per gel cap = 23%
No soy
No GMOs
No cholesterol
No mercury
Enteric coated
Not vegetarian
Phospholipids = 390 mgs
Astaxanthin = .75 mgs
IKOS Rating = Not rated
Phone Number: (888) 669-3663
Manufactured in the U.S.A.
Ingredients: shellfish (krill), softgel capsule (gelatin, glycerin, enteric coating, water) and glycerin

Now Foods Neptune Krill Oil (500 mgs) (See, NOW Foods Neptune Krill Oil 500mg, 120 Softgels,)
*****
Not certified Kosher or Halal
$29.65 for 120 500 mg gel caps on Amazon
Recommended Serving: one gel cap
Price per gel cap = $.25 (using Amazon's price)
One 500 mg gel cap contains a total of:
EPA = 70 mgs
DHA = 40 mgs
EPA/DHA ratio = 1.5 to 1
Other Omega-3 = 5 mgs
Total Omega-3 = 115 mgs
Percentage Omega-3 per gel cap = 23%
No soy
No GMOs
No cholesterol
No mercury
Not enteric coated
Not vegetarian
Phospholipids = 195 mgs
Astaxanthin = .50 mgs
IKOS Rating = Not rated
Phone Number: (888) 669-3663
Manufactured in the U.S.A.
Ingredients: shellfish (krill), softgel capsule (gelatin, glycerin, enteric coating, water), and glycerin

Schiff Mega Red Extra Strength Omega-3 Krill Oil (See, Megared Extra Strength Krill Oil Softgel, 80 Count)
***
Not certified Kosher or Halal
$24.00 for 80 500 mg gel caps on Amazon
$18.59 for 80 500 mg gel caps from Costco
Recommended Serving: one gel cap
Price per gel cap = $.30 using Amazon's price)
One 500 mg gel cap contains a total of:
EPA = 64 mgs
DHA = 30 mgs
EPA/DHA ratio = 2 to 1
Other Omega-3 = 21 mgs
Total Omega-3 = 115 mgs
Percentage Omega-3 per gel cap = 23%
No soy
Contains GMOs
Contains cholesterol
Molecularly distilled
No mercury
Not enteric coated
Not vegetarian
Phospholipids = 167 mgs
Astaxanthin = 25 mcgs (.025 mgs) *
IKOS Rating = Not rated
Phone Number: (800) 526-6251
Manufactured in the U.S.A.
Ingredients: shellfish (krill), gelatin, and glycerin

Schiff MegaRed Omega-3 Krill Oil (See, Schiff MegaRed Omega-3 Krill Oil 300 mg - 90 Softgels)
**
Not certified Kosher or Halal
$22.49 for 90 500 mg gel caps on Amazon
$17.99 for 110 300 mg gel caps from Costco
Recommended Serving: one gel cap
Price per gel cap = $.25 (using Amazon's price)
One 300 mg gel cap contains a total of:
EPA = 50 mgs
DHA = 24 mgs
EPA/DHA ratio = 2 to 1
Other Omega-3 = 16 mgs
Total Omega-3 = 90 mgs
Percentage Omega-3 per gel cap = 30%
No soy
Contains GMOs
Contains cholesterol
Molecularly distilled
No mercury
Not enteric coated
Not vegetarian
Phospholipids = 130 mgs
Astaxanthin = None
IKOS Rating = Not rated
Phone Number: (800) 526-6251
Manufactured in the U.S.A.
Ingredients: shellfish (krill), gelatin, glycerin ethyl vanillin, water, and sorbitol

Viva Labs Krill Oil (See, Viva Labs Krill Oil (Formerly Everest Nutrition): 100% Pure Cold Pressed Antarctic Krill Oil - Highest Levels of Omega-3s in the Industry, 1250mg/serving, 60 Capliques)
****
Not certified Kosher or Halal
$26.95 for 60 625 mg capliques on Amazon
Recommended Serving: two capliques
Price per caplique = $.45 (using Amazon's price)
One 625 mg caplique contains a total of:
EPA = 82.5 mgs
DHA = 47.5 mgs
EPA/DHA ratio = 2 to 1
Other Omega-3 = 20 mgs
Total Omega-3 = 150 mgs
Percentage Omega-3 per caplique = 24%
No soy
No GMOs
Contains cholesterol
Molecularly distilled
Mercury free
Not enteric coated
Not vegetarian
Phospholipids = 250 mgs
Astaxanthin = .80 mgs
IKOS Rating = ***** (five stars, top rating)
Phone Number: (800) 290-7831
Manufactured in the U.S.A.
Ingredients: shellfish (krill), hypromeltose, and water

Jarrow Formulas Neptune Krill Oil (See, Jarrow Formulas Neptune Krill Oil, 30 Capsules)
***
Not certified Kosher or Halal
$11.67 for 30 500 mg gel caps from Amazon
Recommended Serving: two gel caps
Price per gel cap = $.39 (using Amazon's price)
One 500 mg gel cap contains a total of:
EPA = 57.5 mgs
DHA = 32.5 mgs
EPA/DHA ratio = 2 to 1
Other Omega-3 = 25 mgs
Total Omega-3 = 115 mgs
Percentage Omega-3 per gel cap = 23%
No soy
Contains GMOs
No cholesterol
No mercury
Not enteric coated
Not vegetarian
Phospholipids = 200 mgs
Astaxanthin = 25 mcgs (.025 mgs)
IKOS Rating = Not rated
Phone Number: (310) 204-6936
Manufactured in the U.S.A.
Ingredients: shellfish (krill), softgel consists of gelatin, glycerin, purified water, maltitol, and natural flavor

Source Naturals NKO Neptune Krill Oil (See, Longevity Neptune Krill Oil NKO 500Mg 60 Softgel)
*****
Not certified Kosher or Halal
$38.05 for 120 500 mg gel caps from Amazon
Recommended Serving: two gel caps
Price per gel cap = $.32 (using Amazon's price)
One 500 mg gel cap contains a total of:
EPA = 75 mgs
DHA = 45 mgs
EPA/DHA ratio = 2 to 1
Other Omega-3 = 30 mgs
Total Omega-3 = 150 mgs
Percentage Omega-3 per gel cap = 30%
No soy
No GMOs
Contains cholesterol
No mercury
Not enteric coated
Not vegetarian
Phospholipids = 190 mgs
Astaxanthin = .75 mgs
IKOS Rating = Not rated
Phone Number: (800) 777-5677
Manufactured in the U.S.A.
Ingredients: shellfish (krill), gelatin, glycerin, purified water, and natural lemon oil

Source Naturals Arctic Pure Krill Oil (See, Source Naturals ArcticPure Krill Oil 500mg, 60 Softgels)
*****
Not certified Kosher or Halal
$35.49 for 120 500 mg gel caps from Amazon
Recommended Serving: two gel caps
Price per gel cap = $.30 (using Amazon's price)
One 500 mg gel cap contains a total of:
EPA = 75 mgs
DHA = 45 mgs
EPA/DHA ratio = 2 to 1
Other Omega-3 = 30 mgs
Total Omega-3 = 150 mgs
Percentage Omega-3 per gel cap =30%
Contains soy
No GMOs
Contains cholesterol
No mercury
Not enteric coated
Not vegetarian
Phospholipids = 190 mgs
Astaxanthin = .75 mgs
IKOS Rating = Not rated
Phone Number: (800) 777-5677
Manufactured in the U.S.A.
Ingredients: shellfish (krill), medium chain triglycerides, gelatin, glycerin, purified water, natural lemon oil, and d-alpha tocopherol

Nutrigold Triple Strength Fish Oil Omega-3 Gold
Ethyl Esters form
Not certified Kosher or Halal
$36.99 for 180 1250 mg gel caps on Amazon
Recommended Serving: 1 gel cap
Price per gel cap = $.21 (using Amazon's price)
Price per 1000 mgs omega-3 = $.19 (using Amazon's price)
One 1250 mg gel cap contains a total of:
EPA = 750 mgs
DHA = 250 mgs
EPA/DHA ratio = 3 to 1
Other Omega-3 = 60 mgs
Total Omega-3 = 1060 mgs
Percentage Omega-3 per gel cap = 85%
Soy allergen free
No GMOs
No cholesterol
No mercury
Molecularly distilled
Not enteric coated
Not vegetarian
IFOS Rating = ***** (five stars, top rating)
Phone Number: (800) 476-3542
Manufactured in the U.S.A.
Ingredients: pharmaceutical grade purified fish oil (from certified sustainable wild-caught pacific cod and pollock from Alaskan waters), softgel capsule (bovine gelatin, vegetable glycerin, purified water), and natural mixed tocopherols

IKOS: The International Krill Oil Standards Program ("IKOS") is a third-party testing and accreditation program for omega-3 krill oil products. Nutrigold Krill Oil Gold (500 mgs), Nutrigold Krill Oil Gold (1000 mgs), and Viva Labs Krill Oil are listed as five star krill oil products, which is the highest rating attainable.

IFOS: The International Fish Oil Standards Program ("IFOS") (Google "IFOS consumer reports") is an independent third party omega-3 testing organization that provides batch-specific summaries of a product's IFOS testing results. The reports include a 5-star rating for each product containing greater than 60% concentration of EPA and DHA per gram of fish oil, allowing consumers to compare fish oil products based on their safety, purity and quality. Most of the highly rated omega-3 fish oil products are listed. Nutrigold Triple Strength Fish Oil Omega-3 Gold is listed as a five star omega-3 fish oil product, which is the highest rating attainable.

OMEGA-3 CONTENT: Nutrigold Krill Oil Gold (1000 mgs) (300 mgs) contains the most omega-3 per pill of those in the comparison; followed by Now Foods Neptune Krill Oil (1000 mgs)(230 mgs); followed by Viva Labs Krill Oil (150 mgs), Source Naturals NKO Neptune Krill Oil (150 mgs), and Source Naturals Arctic Pure Krill Oil (150 mgs); followed by Nutrigold Krill Oil Gold (500 mgs)(126 mgs); followed by Now Foods Neptune Krill Oil (500 mgs)(115 mgs), Schiff Mega Red Extra Strength Omega-3 Krill Oil (115 mgs), and Jarrow Formulas Neptune Krill Oil (115 mgs); and followed by Schiff MegaRed Omega-3 Krill Oil (90 mgs), which contains the least amount of omega-3 per pill of those in the comparison.

PRICE PER PILL: Now Foods Neptune Krill Oil (1000 mgs) ($.50 per gel cap) is the most expensive per pill of those in the comparison; followed by Viva Labs Krill Oil ($.45 per caplique); followed by Jarrow Formulas Neptune Krill Oil ($.39 per gel cap); followed by Nutrigold Krill Oil Gold (500 mgs) ($.34 per gel cap); followed by Source Naturals NKO Neptune Krill Oil ($.32 per gel cap); followed by Schiff Mega Red Extra Strength Omega-3 Krill Oil ($.30 per gel cap) and Source Naturals Arctic Pure Krill Oil ($.30 per gel cap); and followed by Now Foods Neptune Krill Oil (500 mgs) ($.25 per gel cap) and Schiff MegaRed Omega-3 Krill Oil ($.25 per gel cap), which are the least expensive per pill of those in the comparison.

GMOs: Now Foods Neptune Krill Oil (1000 mgs), Now Foods Neptune Krill Oil (500 mgs), Nutrigold Krill Oil Gold (1000 mgs), Nutrigold Krill Oil Gold (500 mgs), Viva Labs Krill Oil, Source Naturals NKO Neptune Krill Oil, and Source Naturals Arctic Pure Krill Oil do not contain GMOs, whereas Schiff Mega Red Extra Strength Omega-3 Krill Oil, Schiff MegaRed Omega-3 Krill Oil, and Jarrow Formulas Neptune Krill Oil contain GMOs.

SOY: None of these products contain soy, except Source Naturals Arctic Pure Krill Oil.

CHOLESTEROL: Now Foods Neptune Krill Oil (1000 mgs), Now Foods Neptune Krill Oil (500 mgs), and Jarrow Formulas Neptune Krill Oil do not contain cholesterol. Nutrigold Krill Oil Gold (1000 mgs), Nutrigold Krill Oil Gold (500 mgs), Schiff Mega Red Extra Strength Omega-3 Krill Oil, Schiff MegaRed Omega-3 Krill Oil, Viva Labs Krill Oil, Source Naturals NKO Neptune Krill Oil, and Source Naturals Arctic Pure Krill Oil contain cholesterol.

PHOSPHOLIPIDS: Nutrigold Krill Oil Gold (1000 mgs)(420 mgs) contains the most Phospholipids per pill of those in the comparison; followed by Now Foods Krill Oil (1000 mgs)(390 mgs); followed by Nutrigold Krill Oil Gold (500 mgs)(262.5 mgs); followed by Viva Labs Krill Oil (250 mgs); followed by Jarrow Formulas Neptune Krill Oil (200 mgs); followed by Now Foods Neptune Krill Oil (500 mgs)(195 mgs); followed by Source Naturals NKO Neptune Krill Oil (190 mgs) and Source Naturals Arctic Pure Krill Oil (190 mgs); followed by Schiff Mega Red Extra Strength Omega-3 Krill Oil (167 mgs); and followed by Schiff MegaRed Omega-3 Krill Oil (130 mgs), which contains the least amount of Phospholipids per pill of those in the comparison.

ASTAXANTHIN: Nutrigold Krill Oil Gold (1000 mgs)(1.25 mgs) contains the most Astaxanthin per pill of those in the comparison; followed by Viva Labs Krill Oil (.80 mgs); followed by Now Foods Krill Oil (1000 mgs)(.75 mgs); followed by Source Naturals NKO Neptune Krill Oil (.75 mgs) and Source Naturals Arctic Pure Krill Oil (.75 mgs); followed by Now Foods Neptune Krill Oil (500 mgs)(.50 mgs); followed by Nutrigold Krill Oil Gold (500 mgs)(460 mcgs); followed by Schiff Mega Red Extra Strength Omega-3 Krill Oil (25 mcgs) and Jarrow Formulas Neptune Krill Oil (25 mcgs); and followed by Schiff MegaRed Omega-3 Krill Oil (None), which contains the least amount of Astaxanthin per pill of those in the comparison.

ENCAPSULATION PROBLEM: Nutrigold has explained that that krill oil is an extremely difficult product to encapsulate and can easily produce leaky softgels post-production. It claims that it experienced this exact issue with its previous lot of Krill Oil, lot K12053. It further claims that it has since removed all existing inventory of the Krill Gold product from the K12053 lot and has had it sent back to its manufacturer for additional QA / QC testing. It further claims that it has contained the problem to have only affected one lot of product.

Nutrigold has now gone on record and explained this difficulty. It has also offered me a credible and understandable explanation why it took Nutrigold so long to publicly acknowledge the problem, which has been cured. I believe Nutrigold has acted in good faith and any transparency concerns I might have had about the company have now been resolved.

DISTINCTION BETWEEN SOURCE NATURALS NKO NEPTUNE KRILL OIL AND SOURCE NATURALS ARCTIC PURE KRILL OIL: These two products are the same in terms of omega-3 content, cholesterol, Phospholipids content, Astaxanthin content, and price per gel cap. Neither contains GMOs. However, Source Naturals Arctic Pure Krill Oil contains soy and Source Naturals NKO Neptune Krill Oil does not contain soy. The ingredients are also different. Source Naturals Arctic Pure Krill Oil contains shellfish (krill), medium chain triglycerides, gelatin, glycerin, purified water, natural lemon oil, and d-alpha tocopherol, whereas Source Naturals NKO Neptune Krill Oil contains shellfish (krill), gelatin, glycerin, purified water, and natural lemon oil.

OPINION: Krill oil contains far less EPA and DHA than a high potency fish oil. I would not recommend any krill oil product as a substitute for fish oil, regardless of the fact that they contain Phospholipids and Astaxanthin, unless they are taken in much greater quantities, resulting in significantly greater cost.

Furthermore, the amount of Astaxanthin present in krill oil is extremely small, as you need 4-12 mgs of Astaxanthin daily for it to be really beneficial. Some krill oil brands, like Schiff and Jarrow, contain abysmally small amounts of Astaxanthin, measured in micrograms (not milligrams; 1000 micrograms equals one milligram), which, I believe, is caused by the fact that the Astaxanthin has been processed out of the product or has dissipated over time after a period of shelf life.

RECOMMENDATION: There are a couple of options, in my view:

1. If you're looking for a fish oil product that is very rich in omega-3 fatty acids, Nutrigold Triple Strength Fish Oil Omega-3 Gold Fish Oil would be a good choice, since you want to take at least 1000 mgs of omega-3 fatty acids daily. Of course, you could take four to six Viva Labs Krill Oil, Nutrigold Krill Oil Gold (500 mgs), Schiff Mega Red Extra Strength Omega-3 Krill Oil, or Jarrow Formulas Krill Oil gel caps daily, or two to three Nutrigold Krill Oil Gold (1000 mgs) or Now Foods Neptune Krill Oil (1000 mgs) gel caps daily, to make up the difference in the reduced quantity of omega-3 fatty acids in krill oil (allowing for the increased bio-availability of krill oil over fish oil), but that can become very expensive.

2. If you decide to go with fish oil rather than krill oil, you don't want to forget about sufficient quantities of Astaxanthin and Phospholipids which are generally not present in fish oil. So, you could take an excellent Astaxanthin supplement such as Nutrigold Natural Astaxanthin Gold, and, if you wish, eat foods such as egg yolks, liver, peanuts, and raw tuna (sashimi) for Phospholipids.

RATING:

I rated Nutrigold Krill Oil Gold (1000 mgs), Nutrigold Krill Oil Gold (500 mgs), Now Foods Neptune Krill Oil (1000 mgs), Now Foods Neptune Krill Oil (500 mgs), Source Naturals NKO Neptune Krill Oil, and Source Naturals Arctic Pure Krill Oil five stars.

I rated Schiff MegaRed Extra Strength Omega-3 Krill Oil three stars because it contains only 25 mcgs of Astaxanthin, which is an extremely small amount.

I rated Viva Labs Krill Oil four stars because the company refuses to divulge the source of its krill oil, taking the position that it is "proprietary information," and that, in my opinion, creates a transparency issue with the company, because the source of the company's krill oil is not "proprietary information."

I rated Jarrow Formulas Neptune Krill Oil three stars because it contains only 25 mcgs of Astaxanthin, which is an extremely small amount.

I rated Schiff MegaRed Omega-3 Krill Oil two stars, primarily because of its poor quality and because it contains NO Astaxanthin.

I rated Nutrigold Triple Strength Fish Oil Omega-3 Gold five stars because it has one of the highest omega-3 potencies on the market (85%), it is IFOS five star rated, it is molecularly distilled, it is soy free, it is GMO free, it is mercury free, it is cholesterol free, and it is one of the least expensive high quality omega-3 fish oil products available.

I have separately reviewed all of these products.

* 1000 micrograms (mcg) equal one milligram (mg).

Prices current as of 08/20/2014.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars what a savings, August 7, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
went to health food store and they were so expensive to buy so I went to Amazon vitamins and came up to Source Naturals . wow the cost saved me money and the value was just what I wanted. three times as much product and at a cost you could not beat,. take them every day and would buy again went needed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible results, December 7, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Source Naturals ArcticPure Krill Oil 500mg, 60 Softgels (Health and Beauty)
After reading up on the benefits of Krill Oil I decided to give this product a try. I have osteoarthritis and bone spurs in my right hip which caused daily pain and stiffness. Couldn't walk for any distance without pain and limited my ability to do aerobic exercise. I started out with the recommended dose of 2 capsules of Krill Oil per day and almost immediately the pain in my hip was gone. Now on 1 capsule per day I'm exercising more and can walk at a rapid pace for an hour or more without a twinge. No burping or fishy smell to this Krill Oil either. If you suffer from arthritis or other chronic inflammation get some Krill Oil -- it's the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Shrimpy., December 12, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I purchased these because they were a little cheaper than the Source Naturals NKO--I will not make that mistake again. While they do not smell as bad as the NKO in the bottle, I do often get noticeable shrimpy smelling burps from these, but not with the NKO.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Krill Oil Fish Oil Blend, June 13, 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is one of the better balanced and potent Krill oils on the market. I don't burp it and it doesn't smell like fish. I believe there are only two suppliers of Krill in the US. All the vitamin companies get their Krill from those two sources. But there are differences in how each one packages it and processes it.

I like the balance of EPA and DHA in Arctic Krill. Source Naturals is a good company in terms of producing quality products. On the communication side they are butt-heads.

This version of Krill contains some fish oil. It's approximately 30% to 48% per pill. It varies during manufacturing so on average each pill contains 39% fish oil. Fish oil and Krill are almost the same except for a slight molecular change that allows more Krill to be absorbed during digestion. Increases in absorption for Krill range between 1.5 and 5 times that of fish oil. There are other benefits to Krill over fish oil but the differences are not thoroughly proven in research studies. I prefer Krill because it's easier for me to swallow and digest compared to fish oil pills. The pills are smaller for the same dose of EPA and DHA and it's been shown to be more effective. However, it costs a lot more than fish oil.

If you want PURE Krill oil, Source Naturals makes NKO which is Neptune Krill Oil. They don't add any fish oil to it. It is stronger smelling and red in color. I've taken both. I prefer the Arctic Pure but I've started mixing them taking two of each per day.

It has a long shelf life, 2 to 4 years, so I order several bottles when I can find a good price and when it's available. Web pricing varies. Sometimes Amazon is cheaper sometimes it's not. Amazon sell Krill from a lot of different sources. I usually compare their prices to SourceNaturalsCatalog.com
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Krill Oil, December 19, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Opted for this brand as a component of a heart health regimen after researching various krill choices reviewed on the consumer lab site. It scored well on all criterion and seemed decent value for the money - so far I have no reason to doubt any of that. In general I've found omega 3 to be an extremely effective anti-inflammatory and very useful in addressing a wide range of issues in our human and animal family. We switched to krill as it's generally thought to be significantly more potent than fish oil, meaning one can take less of it, and, with much less of a fishy taste, easier to take. MCO
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Krill Oil! No Smell & Great Results, December 1, 2011
This is the best krill oil! I switched brands a few times and the difference is evident. These capsules are small, no smell and I really feel the difference. Great quality & price, especially with Amazon's subscribe & save!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great product, June 13, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I started Krill after seeing on Dr. Oz. I was amazed that it brought my LDL cholesterol down 60 pounds within just a few months. Much better for me than omega fish oil. My regular cholesterol also came down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Source Naturals ArcticPure Krill Oil 500mg, 60 Softgels
$36.50 $18.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.