Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Sources of Chinese Tradition, Vol. 1
Safety Month botysf16 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums The best from Bose just got wireless Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks STEM Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Best Camping & Hiking Gear in Outdoors

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars16
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$38.64+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on April 8, 2005
This book gets the majority of its bulk from direct translations of actual Chinese texts, and as such it is an indespensible tool for any student interested in Chinese religions and philosohpies. There is very little input on the part of the editors and I, personally, was very thankful this. It can be dreadfully difficult trying to find sources that aren't mired in thousands of pages of theory and speculation, and sometimes a person just needs the root text! An awesome book.
0Comment|31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 3, 2003
I'll make this short...For anyone interested in Chinese history, literature, or culture, this volume is an absolutely essential collection of primary sources, and includes prefaces and explanations by China scholars. There is no one better than de Bary, and this new edition includes everything from the 1960 edition up through the Jiang Zemin era.
22 comments|28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 22, 2013
I am a native Chinese and I am a political science major student in a relatively prestigious school. I have been knowing Chinese history for years, with living in China and study Chinese history in my high school. HOWEVER, this book is truly amazing and revealed many things and insights about my own cultural roots. A must read!
Highly recommended!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 23, 2011
Bought it for a college course and surprise (!) ended up reading it! It can be a bit dry of course, but its a pretty interesting read if you're into that kind of stuff. If you have no interest in history well then obviously this book is not for you.

Also it is HUGE. I definitely did not read the entire textbook. At whatever price you are paying for this book, the price per page is less than a penny. It weighs about 5 pounds and is fatter than a two cheeeseburgers stacked on top of each other.

Still, decent read, heavy, and if you can get it for under 10 dollars you are probably getting a good deal.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 20, 2016
the book content is great and detailed, yet it is not as new as I expected, still, I am really satisfied with the price and the quality!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 17, 2012
An amazing resource for Chinese history in a beautiful layout. I would definitely recommend this and the 2nd volume to anyone interested in diving into primary Chinese source material.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 30, 2014
The book is quite boring. I only got it because of a requirement for a Chinese history class. Full of ideologies from great Chinese philosophers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 8, 2013
De Bary and colleagues have compiled useful original documents to illustrate the major trends and traditions in China over the milennia
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 16, 2009
Bought this book for a course. Comprehensive - very detailed accounts of history and philosophy. The professor doesn't really "teach," so this book has been an invaluable resource.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 29, 2015
This is a wonderful book with hard to find translations. If you want to deepen your understanding of China this is a great book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse