South, America: A Jack Prine Novel and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Qty:1
  • List Price: $24.95
  • Save: $2.49 (10%)
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Only 18 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by WildcardJack
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: "Minor to moderate wear, no highlights or writing seen on flip through"
Trade in your item
Get a $0.68
Gift Card.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

South, America Paperback – April 5, 2014


See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
$22.46
$22.35 $16.00


Customers Who Viewed This Item Also Viewed

If you buy a new print edition of this book (or purchased one in the past), you can buy the Kindle edition for only $2.99 (Save 70%). Print edition purchase must be sold by Amazon. Learn more.


Hero Quick Promo
Browse in Books with Buzz and explore more details on selected titles, including the current pick, "The Bone Clocks" by David Mitchell.

Product Details

  • Paperback: 260 pages
  • Publisher: NewSouth Books (April 5, 2014)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1603063153
  • ISBN-13: 978-1603063159
  • Product Dimensions: 0.6 x 5.9 x 8.9 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 13.6 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 4.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (5 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #1,356,463 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

Review

"Author Rod Davis had me right from the start of his new novel, South, America. By the way, don't miss the comma in the title. That pause is important. Davis sets a lively pace...Throw in some voodoo, the mob, race relations in the pre-Katrina South (the book is set in 2000), as well as some classic and modern art, and you have a recipe for a good page-turner."--Gary Jacobson, The Dallas Morning News

"What Rod Davis tackles masterfully in this faux hard-boiled mystery is the capturing in a simple plot of murder, investigation, solution, and deserved punishment of the essential truths of what it is to be born, nurtured, schooled, and acclimated to existence in the American South. [Jack Prine's] struggle to understand the nature of where he truly lives provides this powerfully fascinating novel with energy, soul, and a hope that he'll return in another narrative to 'the hard shadowed streets of the Vieux Carre, the American landfall for the fallen." -- Gerald Duff, Southern Literary Review

"There is much here that brings to mind the Dave Robicheaux novels of James Lee Burke, and Burke’s norteamericano version of magical realism….For readers’ sakes, if not for Jack Prine’s, I sincerely hope those sequels are on the way.”  —Jim Sherman, The Texas Observer

"A fine Southern crime noir novel.... evokes the uniquely beautiful but sometimes deadly topographies of New Orleans, the Delta and the Deep South."--Annette Clifford, Montgomery Advertiser

“…suspense and drama in this gritty volume of Southern noir….The backdrop of pre-Katrina New Orleans is perfect for this novel. Davis paints it in tones that show an abiding admiration for the place and its people, and a respect for its enigmatic beauty.”
Yvette Benavides, San Antonio Express-News

"Rod Davis' new thriller is labeled 'A Jack Prine Novel,' and introduces its world-weary hero, savvy and muscular enough to carry on his back what promises to be an engaging Southern noir series… Like the coy comma in the book's title that redetermines its meaning, the novel proceeds by indirection and sly tangent, through sudden explosions of violence into meditations on Southern history and its persistent burdens on the present.” --Mike King, The Austin Chronicle

More About the Author

Biography information: Rod Davis

Rod Davis's new crime noir, "South, America," is now available from NewSouth Books on Amazon in paperback on on Kindle.

An award-winning novelist and writer, Davis is the recipient of the Fiction Award in the inaugural PEN Southwest Book Awards in 2005 for Corina's Way (NewSouth Books, 2003). The novel is described by Kirkus Reviews as "a spicy bouillabaisse, New Orleans-set, in the tradition of Flannery O'Connor or John Kennedy Toole: a welcome romp, told with traditional Southern charm."

Davis is a member of the Texas Institute of Letters (TIL) and the National Book Critics Circle (NBCC).

Davis also is author of American Voudou: Journey into a Hidden World (UNT Press, 1998, paperback, January 2000), a study of West African religion in the United States. It was selected as one of the "Exceptional Books of 1998" by Bookman Book Review Syndicate.

A six-part series on the Texas-Mexico border, "A Rio Runs Through It," appears in "Best American Travel Writing 2002," the annual anthology from Houghton-Mifflin. His PEN/Texas-award-winning essay, "The Fate of the Texas Writer," is included in "Fifty Years of the Texas Observer" (Trinity University Press, 2004). His Texas Monthly story, "Wal-Marts Across Texas," is included in "True Stories by David Byrne."

An award-winning journalist and editor, his work has appeared in numerous publications including Southern Magazine, Boston Globe Magazine, Los Angeles Times, Playboy, Men's Journal, Texas Monthly, Destination Discovery, The Texas Observer, The Progressive, San Francisco Bay Guardian, Biography, Yankee, Coastal Living, Texas Parks & Wildlife, Old Farmer's Almanac, and Bon Appetit.

Davis served as executive editor at Cooking Light, a Time, Inc. magazine, and is a former editor of the critically acclaimed The Texas Observer and also a former editor of American Way, the magazine of American Airlines. He has been a senior editor at Houston City and D Magazine, a reporter for The Rocky Mountain News, and an editor at The Associated Press, as well as Associate Director of the Texas Film Commission and travel editor at the San Antonio Express-News. Formerly managing editor of the Teaching Tolerance project at the Southern Poverty Law Center, he is now director of the Veterans Support Office of The Texas A&M University System.

National professional honors range from a fellowship at the Yaddo colony to a Eugene V. Debs Award for investigative reporting to Gold and Silver Awards for feature writing from the City/Regional Magazine Association (CRMA).

He received an M.A. in Government from Louisiana State University and studied further at the University of Virginia before joining the Army in 1970, serving as a first lieutenant in South Korea. He has taught writing at the University of Texas at Austin and Southern Methodist University in Dallas. He lives in Texas.

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
3
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
See all 5 customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful By Si Dunn on May 5, 2014
Format: Paperback
Sometimes, a simple act of kindness can get you into deep, deep trouble. That's what happens to Jack Prine, the central character in this gritty and well-written new mystery novel. Prine lives in New Orleans and is, in his own words, "trying to figure out a line on my future...." Meanwhile, he is "doing some freelance writing and the occasional unlicensed PI investigation for a divorce lawyer/ex-Army buddy...." Early one Sunday morning, Prine has nothing on his mind but a hangover and a need for a cup of Guatemalan coffee. But while he is walking to get the coffee, he discovers a dead body and dutifully calls the police. The victim has been clubbed to death. Later, Prine gets a phone call from the victim's sister, and she convinces him to meet her, so he can tell her more about what he saw and show her where her brother died. Once they do meet, attractions develop fairly quickly. And Prine soon finds himself drawn into circumstances and dangers that he could never have imagined when he first heard Elle Madison's voice on the telephone. Suddenly, the "unlicensed PI" finds himself having to be both a hard-boiled detective and a fugitive from the Dixie Mafia as he and Elle race through Alabama and Mississippi on their way back to New Orleans, where no safety awaits them. "South, America" is an engrossing tale that is alive with thugs, violence, family secrets, voudou, art treasures, racial tensions, sex...and love. And the book's ending offers an excellent setup for the next Jack Prine novel from Rod Davis.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
South, America was a book that was hard to put down. There were a lot of twists and turns that made it difficult to guess what would happen next - just the kind of book I like. The only reason I gave it four stars is the ending. Once the problem was solved, the rest of the book was anticlimactic. I loved it up until then.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Wendy Lang on June 22, 2014
Format: Paperback
Brilliant novel he knows the South.. If you want intrigue .. Read this.. Grab a Pimms cup and enjoy folks
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Format: Kindle Edition
I've read this book faster than any other book in recent memory. It's full of deep color and texture. This murder mystery inundates you, submerses you in the South...a South I though I knew. I loved it.
I'm anxious to see what Jack Prine will do next.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
By pete turco on August 31, 2014
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Na
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Customer Images