Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magnificent Performance, but, Alas, Poorly Remastered
When I saw that Sony Classics had reissued this CD in May of 2009, I was hoping that it was a new transfer/remastering to compact disc of this enduring and (potentially) magnificent sound recording from 1949. Unfortunately, that does not appear to be the case. This appears to be the 1998 transfer/remaster, but now packaged in an eco-friendly cardboard digi-pack instead of...
Published on September 17, 2009 by Great Faulkner's Ghost

versus
20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Try and find the 1988 CD Release
I have just listened to a copy of the first CD release of this score. I am told this first CD release was transferred from the 78 masters (must have been acetates because there is next to no surface noise). The mastering (uncredited as far as I can tell) is superb. On this older CD the recording sounds better than many tapes from the early to mid 1950's, and can be truly...
Published on January 23, 2010 by Publius


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magnificent Performance, but, Alas, Poorly Remastered, September 17, 2009
This review is from: South Pacific (Audio CD)
When I saw that Sony Classics had reissued this CD in May of 2009, I was hoping that it was a new transfer/remastering to compact disc of this enduring and (potentially) magnificent sound recording from 1949. Unfortunately, that does not appear to be the case. This appears to be the 1998 transfer/remaster, but now packaged in an eco-friendly cardboard digi-pack instead of the old plastic case. Other than that, it's the same.

So, what's the problem with the 1998 remaster? The problem is that the first CD release of this, from 1988, sounds SO MUCH BETTER! The 88 release is one of the most natural, rich, and "analog" sounding compact discs in my collection, quite amazing for the early compact disc era, when compact discs were themselves not yet a mature technology. The 88 appears to be a relatively straight transfer of the master tape. In contrast, the 98 version has a decidedly brittle sound, which several people have remarked upon in their review of the 1998 release, apparently unaware of how good the 88 sounds The root of the problem appears to be that the 98 mastering seems to have used rather cold sounding electronics for the transfer from tape to digital, and perhaps some digital processing, which has made the sound tinny and "synthesized." What we really need now is a flat transfer of the 1949 tapes,using proper analog mastering equipment. Until then, the release you want is the first release on compact disc (1988; Columbia CK 32604; DIDP 70263; Barcode: 7464-32604-2). The 1988 CD has the same cover as the mid-1950s LP release, the close-up of the Ezio Pinza and Mary Martin instead of the anchor pattern.) The 1988 compact disc does not have the extra cuts of the 1998 transfer, but the sound is so much better, but it's well worth looking out for. I hope that some day Sony will consider releasing this again with a sensitive and respectful remaster. The performance, quite apart from the medium, is magnificent and deserves the best possible archival restoration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Try and find the 1988 CD Release, January 23, 2010
This review is from: South Pacific (Audio CD)
I have just listened to a copy of the first CD release of this score. I am told this first CD release was transferred from the 78 masters (must have been acetates because there is next to no surface noise). The mastering (uncredited as far as I can tell) is superb. On this older CD the recording sounds better than many tapes from the early to mid 1950's, and can be truly considered one of the first mass-market, high-fidelity recordings. This was also the first original-cast LP to be issued in both the then-standard "album" of 10-inch 78 rpm discs, and also in Columbia's new LP format. The Sony/Columbia transfer of the 1947 Finian's Rainbow is good (although there is surface noise that probably could have been eliminated), but not this good. South Pacific was, I believe, also the first to be recorded using both the standard method of direct-to-disc cutting and on magnetic tape (a medium that became known only after WW II).

I am told that up to the current remastering, all previous releases of this recording had used the 78 transfers, not the tape. Now I know why. The sound is not only better, it is SIGNIFICANTLY better on the earlier CD release. On the new release the frequency range is quite limited; on the earlier release you get the full range up to 20K hz. Further, the grainy, harsh sound on this newer release, and some tape drop outs, are either due to a significant deterioration of the tape over 50-60 years, or the fact that tape technology was still rapidly evolving, and this was Columbia's first serious foray into the medium, or both. Apparently the technology for the 78's was significantly improving as well, but that medium was doomed, due to the limitation of the length of a side, and the fact that one could edit tapes.

Comparing the two CDs:
The First Release: Wonderful Sound. Downsides: Slight amount of reverb added, no bonus tracks, and on one track, You've Got to Be Carefully Taught a phrase right at the end of the song is cut, which is jarring to those who are used to it being there, and the song as written and performed has it. Why it is missing is a mystery.

The "Remastered Release: Mediocre sound, that's harsh on the ears. Bonus tracks: The ones by Martin and Pinza are nice to have (especially Loneliness of Evening, and My Girl Back Home which had been cut during the tryouts). The Suite complied by Robert Russell Bennett, however, is just a medley and musically pretty forgettable. My Girl Back Home was put back in the movie and the current Broadway revival. Loneliness of Evening has found its way into staged versions of R&H's Cinderella, where it fits.

If you love the score and also think that the original is still one of the, if not the, best recordings, see if you can find a used cc of the earlier CD release somewhere. It is out of print now.

You can reference it here:

[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I doesn't get any better, May 16, 2012
By 
This review is from: South Pacific (Audio CD)
Mary Martin and Enzio Pinza! I know some of you are probably too young to remember Mary Martin but beyond the fact that she's the real life mother of J.R. Ewing (Larry Hagman), she was also the first for many broadway shows. She was the original Nellie Forbush in this broadway production which is pure delight. The cd has been digitally remastered and has no pops or clicks. Just the lovely voices of Mary Mary, Enzio Pinza and cast. Did I mention Mary was also the original Peter Pan too? Thankfully, there is a tv film of that production on dvd. Sadly, Mary was always twenty years out before Hollywood decided to make film versions of shows she had starred in. With South Pacific she was too old so the role when to Mitzi Gaynor. She was too old for the Sound of Music when a film version was made so the role when to the very lovely, Julie Andrews. Can you imagine the film version with another actor? Enzio Pinza, the great Italian actor, was virtually unknown here when he took the role of Emile de Becque. Enzio had made a few films in Italy and a few american language films. One notable one with Anthony Quinn. Look up Enzio. He had a classically trained voice and was truly and amazing actor. One of my true sorrows in life is that I was born too late to see either of these two amazing actors on broadway in theis musical.

Did I mention that South Pacific swept the tony's the year it was on broadway?

Best Musical Won
Best Performance by a Leading Actor in a Musical Ezio Pinza Won
Best Performance by a Leading Actress in a Musical Mary Martin Won
Best Performance by a Featured Actor in a Musical Myron McCormick Won
Best Performance by a Featured Actress in a Musical Juanita Hall Won
Best Producer Oscar Hammerstein II, Richard Rodgers, Leland Hayward and Joshua Logan Won
Best Director Joshua Logan Won
Best Libretto Oscar Hammerstein II Won
Best Original Score Richard Rodgers Won
Best Scenic Design Jo Mielziner Won

Probably not. Well, listen to this amazing broadway cast album and allow yourself to be whisked away for an hour or so to the South Pacific. This is, and always will be, one of my favourite recordings of South Pacific. So, do yourself a favour and buy this album. It's worth every cent that you spend on it and it will be a cd you will be proud to pass on to your children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not To Be Missed, A Masterpiece, October 25, 2010
By 
H. F. Miglino "bert miglino" (Old Bridge, New jersey United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: South Pacific (Audio CD)
I am no expert on singing or music, just a fan. I saw the Lincoln Center production and it was great, I bought the CD from that produuction. This CD is also great, Mary Martin and Ezio Pinza what else can one say. The music is fantastic, the singing is great. On this CD there are a few added extras including a song called Lonliness of Evening which I think is one of the best songs on the CD but was not put in the play. It is a beautiful song, also Mary Martin sings My Girl, instead of Lt. Cable. Also included is the Philadelphia Pops version/overture which is great. If you are lucky enough to have the touring company come through your city go see it, it is the best. Otherwise buy BOTH CDs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 13, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: South Pacific (Audio CD)
Son wonderful to have the original cast, to hear Pinza andMary Martin and all the cast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of my favourite Broadway shows!!, May 31, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: South Pacific (Audio CD)
I own both this CD and the film soundtrack on vinyl. I also have a digital copy of the film. This show will always have a special place in my heart, because it was the first Broadway show that I've ever seen. It arrived two days ahead of schedule, and I'm typing this not even 30 minutes after receiving it. Haven't got the chance to listen to it yet, but I'm sure it will sound amazing!

*UPDATE*

Listened to it yesterday (2 JUNE 2014) and sounded amazing, as I thought it would.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The performance is unequalled - but it used to sound better, April 29, 2014
This review is from: South Pacific (Audio CD)
There's never been a greater score for a Broadway musical than this one, and it receives its best performance ever right here. Ezio Pinza brings a voice of awesome majesty, resonance, and beauty. Mary Martin combines a likeable personality and perfect diction with a sense of the meaning of the words that no one else matches. William Tabbert sings more beautifully than any other Lt. Cable - and his youthful vulnerability reminds you that, Marine lieutenant or not, Cable is a kid from Princeton who has to figure life out for the first time and hasn't got long to do it. As for Juanita Hall, she has always been Bloody Mary, period.

However, as other reviewers have noted, the sound was significantly better on Sony's earlier CD release (1988) - fuller, more lifelike, with more midrange and more natural bloom on the voices. The sound here is a little shrill and harsh. This release was made from the tapes, the earlier one (like the LP always was ) from the acetate discs recorded at the same time. But tape was still a new medium in 1949, and the acetates sounded better. Maybe the acetates have become worn over the years and that's why Sony used the tapes for this release - but the older one sounded better. (Even the liner notes for this disc cautiously say only that it was made from the "presumably superior" tapes. "Presumably," maybe, but if the tapes yielded as good sound you'd think someone would have used them before this.)

One mistake is corrected on this one, though - the earlier release used an alterrnate take of Tabbert's "Carefully Taught," an alternate that omits one phrase at the end. Here it's the take that was originally used on the LP.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An added bonus, April 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: South Pacific (Audio CD)
I ordered the original cast recording of South Pacific because I was going to see the timeless classic production at a local theater. The added bonus was that I was pleasantly surprised to find out that I also received it on my Cloud player on my kindle fire HDX. I got to listen to South Pacific immediately before I received the CD. The recording is wonderful, both on my kindle and the CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for my mom, April 1, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: South Pacific (Audio CD)
I bought this for my 84-year-old mother, who saw the original Broadway production, and she is reliving her youth by listening to this CD. She loves it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Still great after all these years., February 12, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: South Pacific (Audio CD)
This is the recording of South Pacific I grew up on and it still sounds fantastic. And there are two new songs that weren't on the original LP. At first I didn't like the new songs, but I quickly grew to love them!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

South Pacific
South Pacific by Original 1949 Broadway Cast Recording (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.