Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really well-done documentary
This is really a terrific documentary, about the South's own hairy hominids, featuring such notables in the Bigfoot community as Loren Coleman, John Bindernagel, Chester Moore, Craig Woolheater, Rob Riggs, Patrick Trumble, Lee Murphy, Dr. Vaughn Bryant and author Sallie Ann Clarke. It takes a look at the different varieties of hairy hominid in the South, such as the Fouke...
Published on January 14, 2010 by H.M. 2005

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent
I was a nice overview of the the history of Bigfoot in the southern states. One thing I wished to correct is that the TBRC (Texas Bigfoot Research Conservancy), despite the fact that I believe the video indicates differently, now has a, "pro-kill" stance regarding Bigfoot. Any discrepancy may be related to the fact that the documentary was produced several years ago,...
Published on June 27, 2012 by Windigo


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really well-done documentary, January 14, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: "Southern Fried Bigfoot" (DVD)
This is really a terrific documentary, about the South's own hairy hominids, featuring such notables in the Bigfoot community as Loren Coleman, John Bindernagel, Chester Moore, Craig Woolheater, Rob Riggs, Patrick Trumble, Lee Murphy, Dr. Vaughn Bryant and author Sallie Ann Clarke. It takes a look at the different varieties of hairy hominid in the South, such as the Fouke Monster, the Lake Worth Monster, the Skunk Ape and the Honey Island Swamp Monster. It also offers theories from the different researchers and authors as to what these creatures could be. There is also a section for Extras, 45 minutes of unused footage and outtakes and bloopers. I would say get this one. 4 1/2 out of 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bigfoot & Wild Man Legends from the South, February 26, 2012
By 
Admiralu "admiralu" (Camarillo, California United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: "Southern Fried Bigfoot" (DVD)
This documentary was a treat. It featured some creatures that I had heard of (Honey Island Swamp Monster, Fouke Monster) and one I had not (Lake Worth Monster). There are interviews with experts, members of organizations that track the elusive creatures and this documentary does a good job of presenting differing points of view, such as kill vs no kill, hoaxers and why hasn't more evidence been found. It is a well rounded documentary with great narration, but short on what I most love, stories of encounters. The main documentary is about an hour long, but there is a great collection of extras, one of which is one of the scariest encounter stories I have ever heard. The southern Bigfoots are more confrontational than their northern counterparts (especially the Fouke Monster) Here is a listing of chapters:

The Main Documentary:
Bigfoot in the South (Often called variances of Wild Man, the term Bigfoot was not used until recently)
The Fouke Monster
The Lake Worth Monster
The Honey Island Swamp Monster
The Skunk Ape
Beating the Bushes for Bigfoot
The Big Question
The Big Picture

Extras:
Fouke Monster Tale
Legends of the Big Thicket Wildman
The Wallace Controversy (a famous Hoaxer)
Sounds of Bigfoot
Summer of the Lake Monster
North vs South
Texas Bigfoot Hoax
Bigfoot and Conservation
Something Lurks in Honey Island Swamp
Something's Outside the Tent - Very scary encounter tale, should have been in the main documentary-highlight of this disc for me
Pacific Northwest Investigations
Bloopers and Outtakes

While this documentary covers a broader array of topics some are mentioned, (Honey Island Swamp Monster and the Skunk Ape) I have seen more in-depth coverage in other DVDs. The Honey Island Swamp Monster has a DVD of its own and I have seen episodes of Unsolved Mysteries with more coverage of the Skunk Ape. If you really want to learn more about the sounds and habits of Bigfoot, watch the excellent Finding Bigfoot show on Animal Planet. I give this documentary four stars for a wide variety of topics and the extras. It misses one star for me because of scarcity of encounter tales. It is still an entertaining DVD for Bigfoot fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Southern Bigfoot hunting, August 1, 2010
By 
This review is from: "Southern Fried Bigfoot" (DVD)
Finally somebody has down a behing the scenes story to the cult classic "the Legend of Boggy Creek". The Bigfoot in the western US is over rated. This DVD will make you want to grab your camera and go out on a Bigfoot Hunt. The southern states are rich in Bigfoot history and the this DVD show just that. The DVD is well down and well researched. This is a must or any Bigfoot researcher or hunter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Bigfoot Film, August 2, 2010
This review is from: "Southern Fried Bigfoot" (DVD)
I Laughed, I Cried, It was Better than "Cats"....Seriously, I saw this film at the Texas Bigfoot Conference a few years ago and was blown away. Great production, Great Flow, a truly entertaining and thoughtful film about the "Southern Culture" of Bigfoot. Kudos to the Director for his perspective on bringing these stories to film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than most of the Bigfoot documentaries out there, February 2, 2012
By 
Timothy Haak (Buffalo, NY USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: "Southern Fried Bigfoot" (DVD)
I have been intereested in the paranormal and specifically Sasquatch for a number of years. I have purchased most of the available material from Amazon, and found this to be one of the better documentaries that is available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Documentary., August 1, 2010
This review is from: "Southern Fried Bigfoot" (DVD)
Very informative. Living in the Florida Keys, I was most intriqued with the Florida Everglades creature, the Skunk Ape. SFB is a well done documentary on the various bigfoots of the South. Enjoyable and interesting due to the level of research behind the scenes and the film crew's ability at taking the viewer along on the excursions. I would recommend this DVD to anyone that enjoys the South with all its facts, fiction and lore about the possibility of bigfoots living among us in the wild areas of the South.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good documentary, April 6, 2013
By 
sda "sda" (Lockport, NY USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: "Southern Fried Bigfoot" (DVD)
This is a good, comprehensive look at the bigfoot legends of the US south east. Lots of intelligent comments and interesting looks into the various legends. The skeptics and believers alike are well-spoken and come across as normal people, and not nut cases who believe every sound in the woods is a "squatch" (anyone who follows bigfoot shows knowns who THAT is). Much better than the one hour edited version shown on tv. I've already watched it a number of times and find something new each time. Highly recommended for bigfoot enthusiasts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent, June 27, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I was a nice overview of the the history of Bigfoot in the southern states. One thing I wished to correct is that the TBRC (Texas Bigfoot Research Conservancy), despite the fact that I believe the video indicates differently, now has a, "pro-kill" stance regarding Bigfoot. Any discrepancy may be related to the fact that the documentary was produced several years ago, while it is my understanding that the TBRC has just altered there position recently. If true, I will no longer associate with the TBRC, or support their endeavors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good for someone new to the subject, January 4, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I love anything regarding Sasquatch so this was a no brainer.
Someone who is new to the subject will find this show most informative, myself, it didnt teach me anything i didnt already know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Different Take On The Sasquatch Legend, November 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: "Southern Fried Bigfoot" (DVD)
This is a great documentary. No-nonsense, just various interviews about the sasquatch/bigfoot reports of the southern states. If you're into Bigfoot, you should own this. This DVD also has some fun interviews that are not in the main documentary. Definitely worth having.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

"Southern Fried Bigfoot"
"Southern Fried Bigfoot" by Sean Whitley (DVD - 2009)
$17.00
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.