Industrial-Sized Deals TextBTS15 Shop Men's Hightops Learn more nav_sap_SWP_6M_fly_beacon Fidlar $5 Off Fire TV Stick Shop Popular Services hog hog hog  Amazon Echo Starting at $99 Kindle Voyage Nintendo Digital Games Shop Back to School with Amazon Back to School with Amazon Outdoor Recreation Deal of the Day
Southern Charm: A Novel and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Buy Used
$4.48
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Solid used copy with visible wear to covers. May contain underlines or highlights. Ships directly to you with tracking from Amazon's warehouse - fast, secure and FREE WITH AMAZON PRIME.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Southern Charm: A Novel Hardcover – May 1, 2012

58 customer reviews

See all 11 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Hardcover
"Please retry"
$2.99 $0.01
Multimedia CD
"Please retry"

Best Books of the Month
See the Best Books of the Month
Want to know our Editors' picks for the best books of the month? Browse Best Books of the Month, featuring our favorite new books in more than a dozen categories.

Editorial Reviews

Review

“A pink Ladurée macaron of a novel.” (The New York Times)

“Readers will delight in watching Minty sweetly take on the Big Apple.” (Publishers Weekly)

“Tinsley Mortimer's first book, Southern Charm, is just that: CHARMING! It’s like a mint julep—sweet, sassy and with a kick, all set against the glittering backdrop of the New York social scene—a modern day fashion fairy tale!” (Carson Kressley)

Southern Charm will remind you of who you were before you became a jaded New Yorker.” (Kelly Rutherford)

“A delicious journey. . . . It was exactly the escape I was looking for. In the vein of Plum Syke's Bergdorf Blondes, Southern Charm gives a pinhole into a world most will only dream of or read about in Page Six.” (Examiner.com)

About the Author

Tinsley Mortimer grew up in Richmond, Virginia and is a graduate of the Lawrenceville School and Columbia University. Known for her self-proclaimed “girly girl” style, Tinsley has since been featured on the pages of Vogue, WWD, Harper’s Bazaar, and Marie Claire magazine, to name a few. She is frequently featured in celebrity publications, such as Us Weekly, OK!, Life & Style, and In Touch. Tinsley has also served as a “Beauty Ambassador” for Christian Dior and helped to create a lip gloss called Tinsley Pink for the brand. She designs a line of handbags for the Japanese company Samantha Thavasa and is currently working on her own ready-to-wear line available only in Japan. She has starred in the reality television show High Society, and has appeared on Dr. Phil, America’s Next Top Model, Extra, Access Hollywood, E!, E True Hollywood Story “Society Girls,”  Bravo’s The Fashion Show, Gossip Girl, Germany’s RTL, LXTV, Good Day New York, Good Day LA, and CW11 Morning News.

See all Editorial Reviews
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

The Good Neighbor by A. J. Banner
"The Good Neighbor" by A. J. Banner
From a phenomenal new voice in suspense fiction comes a book that will forever change the way you look at the people closest to you. Learn more | See author page

Product Details

  • Hardcover: 256 pages
  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster (May 1, 2012)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1451627475
  • ISBN-13: 978-1451627473
  • Product Dimensions: 6 x 1 x 9 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 14.4 ounces
  • Average Customer Review: 3.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (58 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #833,040 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful By Jessica Ziparo on May 17, 2012
Format: Hardcover
This was a great, fast read. It will be perfect for the beach this summer. Southern Charm is not my typical genre of book, but it was recommended to me by a friend and I devoured it in a day and a half. You will root for Minty from the very first page and be sad to leave her when the book ends.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful By Kharabella on November 15, 2012
Format: Hardcover
I purchased the book second hand, and was quickly VERY ingrossed, and read it within a few days. It is more a story of Minty Davenport's adventures and strength than a love story -- she really spends only a paragraph giving the history of each of the romantic relationships here, which isn't enough to allow the reader to root for either contender. But you can root for her. I am a southern girl, though not an affluent one by any means. (My ancesters would have cleaned her house, not visited as guests.) But the values and charm of southern girls are not class specific, so I found myself smiling a lot, for example when Minty Davenport simply smiled when she didn't know what else to do or say to someone!

The surprise, for me, was that the story, though short and fluffy, was cohesive. The story held together, and didn't have a fairy tale ending. I know nothing about Tinsley Mortimer -- I had never heard of her or her show, but clearly, when she set her mind to writing a novel, she stayed at it until she had a clear plot and story, and I really respect that!

I agree with the other reviewers -- a great weekend/vacation read!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful By Laura Street on July 21, 2012
Format: Hardcover
I am truly a sucker for a cute book! And this book was no exception to that rule. I'm not sure whether it was because the main character in this book is from Charleston, SC or because the cover was amazing, or perhaps it's because it was written by Tinsley Mortimer, but it was such a great read!

There is a whole sloppy mix of reviews on this book, some bad and some good, but mine is a good one. Promise! I feel as though someone looking for a good, sweet, short summer read would really love this book.

Minty Davenport, main character of Southern Charm and daughter of Scarlet Davenport, is from Charleston, SC. She grew up on a true Southern plantation and like any other southern belle was a debutante. After graduating from a well known university, her long time boyfriend Ryerson breaks her heart and Minty finds herself following her dreams of becoming a fashion designer right up to New York City.

Minty's obsession of the City began as a child when her mother took her on a surprise trip to Manhattan. Minty, like any other eight year old girl, was on the hunt to find Eloise, her favorite fictional character who lived at The Plaza, right where Minty and her mother were staying on their trip.

After being in NYC for only a short amount of time Minty finds herself being photographed and on the pages of Women's Wear Daily. Not long after landing a job for a ruthless PR vixen does Minty find herself face to face with long time ex-lover Tripp.

The relationship isn't easy, especially when Minty becomes an "It Girl" in New York society. Her photos begin frequenting Page Six and it's not much after that that the rumors begin swirling about Minty and her newly rekindled love with Tripp.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful By Courtney W. on May 14, 2012
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Tinsley Mortimer's Southern Charm was exactly the type of book I was looking to dive into after a stressful semester of heavy textbook reading. Based on what I know about Tinsley from Page Six, her now-defunct reality show High Society (which was my complete guilty pleasure) and various other articles & columns, this book seems to be a thinly veiled autobiography. However, I did truly enjoy the sweet story about NYC newcomer Minty and navigating her way through the New York City social scene. Minty's boss recalls a bit of Miranda Priestly, a la "The Devil Wears Prada" and her PR gig echos Weisberger's "Everyone Worth Knowing". Clearly, this is chick lit, but it is enjoyable. Overall, this was light read, perfect for laying next to the pool in the sun and immersing myself in the lives of an NYC socialite.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful By Gloria Frankowski on January 9, 2013
Format: Hardcover Verified Purchase
This is low rent chick lit. I wanted to give Ms. Mortimer some credit for being able to write her way out of a paper bag--Columbia graduate that she is. When I found out that she had a "friend" help her write this book, I was rather disgusted. The one kind thing I had to say about this novel was that it was written surprisingly well considering the weak content, character development and plot, but since Ms. Mortimer appears to have outsourced that task, I consider this a total fail. A collection of Ms. Mortimer's Page 6 and gossip rag exploits would have been more entertaining. If she wasn't going to write the book herself, scrap-booking the thinly disguised "real-life" inspirations for this novel would have provided the reader the same experience...with the added bonus of being able to actually see the designer clothing she rambles on about incessantly.
1 Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Winston on August 7, 2012
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I bought this book because of the amazing ratings it had received on Amazon. While it was good, it felt contrived - I feel like I have seen this movie. The characters are ridiculous (as most socialites are) and most of the good plot lines are not developed heavily enough to be intriguing. All in all, this is fluff, an average summer read, but nothing more.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Most Recent Customer Reviews


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Want to discover more products? Check out this page to see more: urban books paperback