Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your email address or mobile phone number.

Buy Used
$3.96
Condition: Used: Acceptable
Comment: Fast Shipping - Safe and Secure Bubble Mailer!
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Southern Charm: A Novel Hardcover – May 1, 2012

3.6 out of 5 stars 59 customer reviews

See all 10 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Hardcover
"Please retry"
$2.98 $0.01

The Queen of the Night by Alexander Chee
"The Queen of the Night" by Alexander Chee
In Second Empire Paris, what did it take to rise from courtesan to diva? From a ferociously talented writer comes a blazing portrait of a woman who creates her own fate. Learn more | See author page

Editorial Reviews

Review

“A pink Ladurée macaron of a novel.” (The New York Times)

“Readers will delight in watching Minty sweetly take on the Big Apple.” (Publishers Weekly)

“Tinsley Mortimer's first book, Southern Charm, is just that: CHARMING! It’s like a mint julep—sweet, sassy and with a kick, all set against the glittering backdrop of the New York social scene—a modern day fashion fairy tale!” (Carson Kressley)

Southern Charm will remind you of who you were before you became a jaded New Yorker.” (Kelly Rutherford)

“A delicious journey. . . . It was exactly the escape I was looking for. In the vein of Plum Syke's Bergdorf Blondes, Southern Charm gives a pinhole into a world most will only dream of or read about in Page Six.” (Examiner.com)

About the Author

Tinsley Mortimer grew up in Richmond, Virginia and is a graduate of the Lawrenceville School and Columbia University. Known for her self-proclaimed “girly girl” style, Tinsley has since been featured on the pages of Vogue, WWD, Harper’s Bazaar, and Marie Claire magazine, to name a few. She is frequently featured in celebrity publications, such as Us Weekly, OK!, Life & Style, and In Touch. Tinsley has also served as a “Beauty Ambassador” for Christian Dior and helped to create a lip gloss called Tinsley Pink for the brand. She designs a line of handbags for the Japanese company Samantha Thavasa and is currently working on her own ready-to-wear line available only in Japan. She has starred in the reality television show High Society, and has appeared on Dr. Phil, America’s Next Top Model, Extra, Access Hollywood, E!, E True Hollywood Story “Society Girls,”  Bravo’s The Fashion Show, Gossip Girl, Germany’s RTL, LXTV, Good Day New York, Good Day LA, and CW11 Morning News.
NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE


Product Details

  • Hardcover: 256 pages
  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster (May 1, 2012)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1451627475
  • ISBN-13: 978-1451627473
  • Product Dimensions: 6 x 1 x 9 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 14.4 ounces
  • Average Customer Review: 3.6 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (59 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #876,540 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Hardcover
This was a great, fast read. It will be perfect for the beach this summer. Southern Charm is not my typical genre of book, but it was recommended to me by a friend and I devoured it in a day and a half. You will root for Minty from the very first page and be sad to leave her when the book ends.
Comment 6 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Hardcover
I am truly a sucker for a cute book! And this book was no exception to that rule. I'm not sure whether it was because the main character in this book is from Charleston, SC or because the cover was amazing, or perhaps it's because it was written by Tinsley Mortimer, but it was such a great read!

There is a whole sloppy mix of reviews on this book, some bad and some good, but mine is a good one. Promise! I feel as though someone looking for a good, sweet, short summer read would really love this book.

Minty Davenport, main character of Southern Charm and daughter of Scarlet Davenport, is from Charleston, SC. She grew up on a true Southern plantation and like any other southern belle was a debutante. After graduating from a well known university, her long time boyfriend Ryerson breaks her heart and Minty finds herself following her dreams of becoming a fashion designer right up to New York City.

Minty's obsession of the City began as a child when her mother took her on a surprise trip to Manhattan. Minty, like any other eight year old girl, was on the hunt to find Eloise, her favorite fictional character who lived at The Plaza, right where Minty and her mother were staying on their trip.

After being in NYC for only a short amount of time Minty finds herself being photographed and on the pages of Women's Wear Daily. Not long after landing a job for a ruthless PR vixen does Minty find herself face to face with long time ex-lover Tripp.

The relationship isn't easy, especially when Minty becomes an "It Girl" in New York society. Her photos begin frequenting Page Six and it's not much after that that the rumors begin swirling about Minty and her newly rekindled love with Tripp.
Read more ›
Comment 3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Hardcover
I purchased the book second hand, and was quickly VERY ingrossed, and read it within a few days. It is more a story of Minty Davenport's adventures and strength than a love story -- she really spends only a paragraph giving the history of each of the romantic relationships here, which isn't enough to allow the reader to root for either contender. But you can root for her. I am a southern girl, though not an affluent one by any means. (My ancesters would have cleaned her house, not visited as guests.) But the values and charm of southern girls are not class specific, so I found myself smiling a lot, for example when Minty Davenport simply smiled when she didn't know what else to do or say to someone!

The surprise, for me, was that the story, though short and fluffy, was cohesive. The story held together, and didn't have a fairy tale ending. I know nothing about Tinsley Mortimer -- I had never heard of her or her show, but clearly, when she set her mind to writing a novel, she stayed at it until she had a clear plot and story, and I really respect that!

I agree with the other reviewers -- a great weekend/vacation read!
Comment 4 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Hardcover
I bought this book to take on vacation since some of the reviews said it was a good quick beach read. Well, although not a good read, it was a quick read alright-- mainly because I couldn't wait to finish it. Very poorly written, almost dashed off quickly. It was as if the author (or her ghost writer) read The Devil Wears Prada then simply applied some of Tinsley Mortimer's experiences written in the same fashion. One thing that irked me in TDWP was the main character always answering a question with,"Um,I don't know." or "Um, something else" SO indecisive for a suposedly smart woman. Tinsley Mortimer uses the same hesitant 'um..' over and over.

A quarter way into the book I had to glance at the back cover to see who this Tinsley Mortimer person was and why she felt she could write a book-- AND actually got it in print. I was shocked to see this dull and petty book was based on her life! What a meaningless life. And how she fell into one 'amazing' thing after another is totally beyond me. From her picture she appears very normal looking. What was her special appeal that had photographers eager to put her in prominent magazines and a designer taking her under his wing to be his spokesperson and eventually letting her design her own name brand purse collection?! This amazes me.

I'm very curious about all the 5 star ratings this book recieved.... Wish I'd looked closer and realized it was only reviewed by a handfulof people. Very suspicious. This book is going straight to Goodwill, with a warning review posted in the front cover:Read only if desperate!
Comment 3 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Tinsley Mortimer's Southern Charm was exactly the type of book I was looking to dive into after a stressful semester of heavy textbook reading. Based on what I know about Tinsley from Page Six, her now-defunct reality show High Society (which was my complete guilty pleasure) and various other articles & columns, this book seems to be a thinly veiled autobiography. However, I did truly enjoy the sweet story about NYC newcomer Minty and navigating her way through the New York City social scene. Minty's boss recalls a bit of Miranda Priestly, a la "The Devil Wears Prada" and her PR gig echos Weisberger's "Everyone Worth Knowing". Clearly, this is chick lit, but it is enjoyable. Overall, this was light read, perfect for laying next to the pool in the sun and immersing myself in the lives of an NYC socialite.
Comment 3 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Recent Customer Reviews


Want to discover more products? Check out this page to see more: urban books paperback