Southern Charm: A Novel and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Qty:1
  • List Price: $25.00
  • Save: $3.05 (12%)
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Only 3 left in stock.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com.
Gift-wrap available.
Add to Cart
FREE Shipping on orders over $35.
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by My Books Online
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Eligible for *FREE* Super Saver Shipping! Excellent customer service, qualifies for Amazon A to Z satisfaction. Pages and dust cover are intact and not marred by notes or highlighting. The spine is undamaged.
Add to Cart
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Southern Charm: A Novel Hardcover – May 1, 2012


See all 10 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
Hardcover
"Please retry"
$21.95
$0.36 $0.01
Multimedia CD
"Please retry"
$116.17

Frequently Bought Together

Southern Charm: A Novel + The Darlings: A Novel
Price for both: $32.73

Buy the selected items together
  • The Darlings: A Novel $10.78

NO_CONTENT_IN_FEATURE

The Good Girl by Mary Kubica
Discover an addictive, suspenseful debut thriller filled with twists and turns that will keep you engrossed from start to finish. Learn more

Product Details

  • Hardcover: 256 pages
  • Publisher: Simon & Schuster; 1ST edition (May 1, 2012)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1451627475
  • ISBN-13: 978-1451627473
  • Product Dimensions: 9.1 x 6.2 x 1.2 inches
  • Shipping Weight: 15.2 ounces (View shipping rates and policies)
  • Average Customer Review: 3.9 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (45 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #858,158 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Editorial Reviews

Review

“A pink Ladurée macaron of a novel.” (The New York Times)

“Readers will delight in watching Minty sweetly take on the Big Apple.” (Publishers Weekly)

“Tinsley Mortimer's first book, Southern Charm, is just that: CHARMING! It’s like a mint julep—sweet, sassy and with a kick, all set against the glittering backdrop of the New York social scene—a modern day fashion fairy tale!” (Carson Kressley)

Southern Charm will remind you of who you were before you became a jaded New Yorker.” (Kelly Rutherford)

“A delicious journey. . . . It was exactly the escape I was looking for. In the vein of Plum Syke's Bergdorf Blondes, Southern Charm gives a pinhole into a world most will only dream of or read about in Page Six.” (Examiner.com)

About the Author

Tinsley Mortimer grew up in Richmond, Virginia and is a graduate of the Lawrenceville School and Columbia University. Known for her self-proclaimed “girly girl” style, Tinsley has since been featured on the pages of Vogue, WWD, Harper’s Bazaar, and Marie Claire magazine, to name a few. She is frequently featured in celebrity publications, such as Us Weekly, OK!, Life & Style, and In Touch. Tinsley has also served as a “Beauty Ambassador” for Christian Dior and helped to create a lip gloss called Tinsley Pink for the brand. She designs a line of handbags for the Japanese company Samantha Thavasa and is currently working on her own ready-to-wear line available only in Japan. She has starred in the reality television show High Society, and has appeared on Dr. Phil, America’s Next Top Model, Extra, Access Hollywood, E!, E True Hollywood Story “Society Girls,”  Bravo’s The Fashion Show, Gossip Girl, Germany’s RTL, LXTV, Good Day New York, Good Day LA, and CW11 Morning News.

More About the Author

Discover books, learn about writers, read author blogs, and more.

Customer Reviews

It's well written, light and fun and is the perfect beach read for the summer.
MMS
I would definitely recommend this to anyone living in New York (or any new city) as a young adult trying to fit in both professionally and personally.
Skydizzle
The characters are ridiculous (as most socialites are) and most of the good plot lines are not developed heavily enough to be intriguing.
Winston

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful By Jessica Ziparo on May 17, 2012
Format: Hardcover
This was a great, fast read. It will be perfect for the beach this summer. Southern Charm is not my typical genre of book, but it was recommended to me by a friend and I devoured it in a day and a half. You will root for Minty from the very first page and be sad to leave her when the book ends.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful By Kharabella on November 15, 2012
Format: Hardcover
I purchased the book second hand, and was quickly VERY ingrossed, and read it within a few days. It is more a story of Minty Davenport's adventures and strength than a love story -- she really spends only a paragraph giving the history of each of the romantic relationships here, which isn't enough to allow the reader to root for either contender. But you can root for her. I am a southern girl, though not an affluent one by any means. (My ancesters would have cleaned her house, not visited as guests.) But the values and charm of southern girls are not class specific, so I found myself smiling a lot, for example when Minty Davenport simply smiled when she didn't know what else to do or say to someone!

The surprise, for me, was that the story, though short and fluffy, was cohesive. The story held together, and didn't have a fairy tale ending. I know nothing about Tinsley Mortimer -- I had never heard of her or her show, but clearly, when she set her mind to writing a novel, she stayed at it until she had a clear plot and story, and I really respect that!

I agree with the other reviewers -- a great weekend/vacation read!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful By Laura Street on July 21, 2012
Format: Hardcover
I am truly a sucker for a cute book! And this book was no exception to that rule. I'm not sure whether it was because the main character in this book is from Charleston, SC or because the cover was amazing, or perhaps it's because it was written by Tinsley Mortimer, but it was such a great read!

There is a whole sloppy mix of reviews on this book, some bad and some good, but mine is a good one. Promise! I feel as though someone looking for a good, sweet, short summer read would really love this book.

Minty Davenport, main character of Southern Charm and daughter of Scarlet Davenport, is from Charleston, SC. She grew up on a true Southern plantation and like any other southern belle was a debutante. After graduating from a well known university, her long time boyfriend Ryerson breaks her heart and Minty finds herself following her dreams of becoming a fashion designer right up to New York City.

Minty's obsession of the City began as a child when her mother took her on a surprise trip to Manhattan. Minty, like any other eight year old girl, was on the hunt to find Eloise, her favorite fictional character who lived at The Plaza, right where Minty and her mother were staying on their trip.

After being in NYC for only a short amount of time Minty finds herself being photographed and on the pages of Women's Wear Daily. Not long after landing a job for a ruthless PR vixen does Minty find herself face to face with long time ex-lover Tripp.

The relationship isn't easy, especially when Minty becomes an "It Girl" in New York society. Her photos begin frequenting Page Six and it's not much after that that the rumors begin swirling about Minty and her newly rekindled love with Tripp.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Winston on August 7, 2012
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I bought this book because of the amazing ratings it had received on Amazon. While it was good, it felt contrived - I feel like I have seen this movie. The characters are ridiculous (as most socialites are) and most of the good plot lines are not developed heavily enough to be intriguing. All in all, this is fluff, an average summer read, but nothing more.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful By stcroix on May 17, 2013
Format: Hardcover
I bought this book to take on vacation since some of the reviews said it was a good quick beach read. Well, although not a good read, it was a quick read alright-- mainly because I couldn't wait to finish it. Very poorly written, almost dashed off quickly. It was as if the author (or her ghost writer) read The Devil Wears Prada then simply applied some of Tinsley Mortimer's experiences written in the same fashion. One thing that irked me in TDWP was the main character always answering a question with,"Um,I don't know." or "Um, something else" SO indecisive for a suposedly smart woman. Tinsley Mortimer uses the same hesitant 'um..' over and over.

A quarter way into the book I had to glance at the back cover to see who this Tinsley Mortimer person was and why she felt she could write a book-- AND actually got it in print. I was shocked to see this dull and petty book was based on her life! What a meaningless life. And how she fell into one 'amazing' thing after another is totally beyond me. From her picture she appears very normal looking. What was her special appeal that had photographers eager to put her in prominent magazines and a designer taking her under his wing to be his spokesperson and eventually letting her design her own name brand purse collection?! This amazes me.

I'm very curious about all the 5 star ratings this book recieved.... Wish I'd looked closer and realized it was only reviewed by a handfulof people. Very suspicious. This book is going straight to Goodwill, with a warning review posted in the front cover:Read only if desperate!
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again

Customer Images

Most Recent Customer Reviews

Search

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?