Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If You're Into Morrissey, There's No Good Reason Not To Love This!
This album has been unfairly slagged and I'm not sure why, but I'm glad to see some fans on this forum are sticking up for it. SOUTHPAW GRAMMAR is one of Morrissey's most rockin' albums and it's musically ambitious with two songs breaking the 10-minute mark. "The Operation," my favorite one here, is nearly 7 minutes long. I noticed that everyone has different favorites...
Published on January 21, 2006 by Rich Latta

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars SOUTHPAW GRAMMAR : punches pulled
the brilliantly titled Southpaw Grammar was such a confusing album when it was first released due it's shift in style that caught many Morrissey fans off guard and left many puzzled. it's certainly not an instantly likeable album...but it has grown better over time, i think. the confusion begins early with the 11:15 album opener The Teachers Are Afraid Of The Pupils...
Published on April 14, 2006 by J. Holmes


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty Good, but let's face it..., May 28, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Southpaw Grammar (Audio CD)
....Your Arsenal was his best solo work, period. I have to say that in terms ov overall quality, Maladjusted is amazing, a really fresh outing for him, without losing his sound. Good album, buy it, but DO NOT PASS GO if you don't already own your Arsenal. Hell, buy two copies-- you might wear one out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the all time greats, July 5, 2005
By 
D. Turek (wilmington, nc usa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Southpaw Grammar (Audio CD)
This album is fast and loud unlike any other by Morrissey. He made this at the height of his depression and the nadair of his career. Nevertheless he managed cranked out one awesome record.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rock !, January 28, 2007
By 
Jerry Caffarello (NEW YORK, NEW YORK United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Southpaw Grammar (Audio CD)
this is by far Morrissey's hardest rocking album. while most of his namby pamby fans hate this album, I think its great, even with that goofy drum solo !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's a fine line between clever and stupid..., March 13, 2000
This review is from: Southpaw Grammar (Audio CD)
SOUTHPAW GRAMMAR is good rush-hour driving music. However, I have enough of that in my collection without Morrissey releasing such a thing. It's actually kind of a fun album in a lot of ways. Moz really seethes at his targets (cf. "The Boy Racer" and "Reader Meet Author"), and the hard-rock sound suits the songs well. But the first and last songs are each 10 minutes long, and there's just no excuse for that-- I'll listen to Yes if I want epics. And while the lyrics are, as usual, loads of fun, one gets the feeling after awhile that Moz decided to make a self-parody after the comparatively challenging VAUXHALL AND I. This is alright, but it is kind "spinal tap," knowhutimean?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sleep transports sadness, March 23, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Southpaw Grammar (Audio CD)
Now this CD helped me survive a couple of allnighters at the computer lab, so I can't but give it 5 stars. But look at this: ** Customers who bought titles by Morrissey also bought titles by these artists: The Smiths, Nick Cave, R.E.M., Madonna, U2. ** Wonder what Mozzer would have to say about that...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, November 14, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Moz.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good album, GR8 title..., September 21, 2001
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Southpaw Grammar (Audio CD)
I really do like this album but it could have been stronger. Boy Racer is just THE BEST. I also like D. Dave and I LOVE the last 8 minute EPIC. It must have been hard following up Your Arsenal and Vauxhaul but Morrissey has givin us so much. Just The title Southpaw Grammer is Genius. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A so-so showing from one of the greats, July 30, 1998
By 
copieboy@aol.com (Cumberland, Rhode Island) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Southpaw Grammar (Audio CD)
Not what it could have been. While showing glipses of his usual brilliance i.e the last track, this album seem a to be a forced after-thought. As if someone said "hey Morrissey we need an album, got anything hanging around?" One would do better to look to the lavish "Vauxhall and I" or the playful "Bona Drag" as a first encounter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars 'What Difference Did He Make..?', May 28, 2008
By 
This review is from: Southpaw Grammar (Audio CD)
Morrissey's still quite funny and entertaining but he never quite got over the fact that the Smiths were brilliant and DID NOTHING WITH IT!!
Wasted the lot in front of thousands of blind 'worshippers in aircraft hangars', and, more importantly, the legacy of their good stuff is constantly obscured by wretchedly bad live albums and singles compilations - and this irks the ageing Moz. He doesn't want to be remembered for that.

He's an intelligent, influential man, but knows he missed an opportunity - THE opportunity.
He's just thrashing around now, living on former glories. Still capable of the odd brilliant line, a startling hook, but because the world no longer hangs on his every word, it's all meaningless.
So much grumpy-old-man hot air.

Some of his more recent work is passable enough in isolation but compared to giants like 'Accept Yourself', 'William it Was Really Nothing' or even later gems like 'the Boy With the Thorn in His Side' or 'Paint a Vulgar Picture' you can't help but realise how pale and weak it plainly is.

Sadly, no-one's taken up the mantle. No-one's carrying the Wildean literary strangeness baton; the disarming melodic thrust.
All his acolytes seem content to plough the angsty guitar pop furrow. Concentrating blandly on whine instead of shine. Small 'c' conservativism instead of flames and brains. Again, this is forsaken and awful. The pupils can't even upstage their rotten teacher. (perhaps THEY'RE afraid....?)
Watch your spirits DIVE when a promising looking young combo are asked who their influences are, and they mumble.. 'the Smiths'. You just know it's downhill from there-on.

'Southpaw Grammar' is his worst album. Even 'Quarry' has a good song ('Gang') but this is a total, grim, gormless failure. The music itself has become squalid:
Loud 'rock'..... will he never learn?

The well-known maxim, that the most intelligent of people sometimes lack common-sense is painfully true in Mozzer's case. He's got squealing electric guitar, drum solo's, insipid strings and a few lines of choice verse, and just chucked the lot in a blender. The results are insulting. Kid's stuff.

For him, things shouldn't be this difficult. He should sail through his solo career with acres of talent to spare. He should mellow into a Quentin Crisp type satirist. Do stand up. Go on tour with Attila the Stockbroker and Dollar. Write his own vegetarian cookbook. Have his own chat show (the tv companies would be frenzy incarnate!) Be the new Simon Cowell! (wouldn't he be FAB at that?) Anything, just as long as he stays away from this awful caveman music.

I would cry myself to sleep at night at the thought of Morrissey being remembered for this and not 'Reel Around the Fountain' or any number of crazy, funny, ingenious songs that his name SHOULD be synonymous with.
'Southpaw Grammar' wouldn't look good on Sting's CV, and that's the cruellest thing I've ever written in a review.

It's an unlikeable, busting carbuncle of an album. It's kind of nowhere-man punk rock, an ostentatious death-rattle of a talent that was, but now everybody (including him - he IS intelligent I tell you.) can see - isn't.

'Southpaw Grammar' despite it's blustery title and gritty Northern England connotations, (he just won't let that lie will he?) couldn't knock the skin off a rice pudding.
And would probably knock itself out trying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Morrissey's best work, but still OK., November 9, 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Southpaw Grammar (Audio CD)
The first song on this album, "Teachers are afraid of the pupils" is arguably the worst song Morrissey has ever made in his career, it's painfully long and seems like he's venting. I hope he felt better! "Reader meet author" is an excellent song and is the album's best. "The operation" is another good song and is also quite humorous. I personally find "Boy Racer" and "Dagenham Dave" to be very annoying songs and all the other songs to be much more listenable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Southpaw Grammar
Southpaw Grammar by Morrissey (Audio CD - 1995)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.