Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Great Piece of Sci-Fi
Space Skimmer is a very good, at times thought provoking, piece of science fiction. It starts out as Mass'-- a short, but

immensely strong young man from a high gravity world-- search for the Empire. Sometime long before this story begins, the galactic Empire had collapsed almost over night and nobody seemed to know the answer why. But when Mass' quest across...
Published on February 10, 2006 by Orion E. Hubbard

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lighthearted cross-galactic romp filled with New Wave digressions
I've found that the science fiction trope reconstructing a fallen empire/meandering in the wreckage of an empire one of the most seductive of the genre. The idea of a disconnected landscape filled with the ruins of empire -- giant edifice ever more consumed by vegetation, technology unable to be used, spaceships empty in space -- is so transfixing that I pick up every...
Published 23 months ago by Mithridates VI of Pontus


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Great Piece of Sci-Fi, February 10, 2006
By 
Orion E. Hubbard (Portland, Oregon United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Space skimmer (Paperback)
Space Skimmer is a very good, at times thought provoking, piece of science fiction. It starts out as Mass'-- a short, but

immensely strong young man from a high gravity world-- search for the Empire. Sometime long before this story begins, the galactic Empire had collapsed almost over night and nobody seemed to know the answer why. But when Mass' quest across the worlds of the fallen Empire leads him to the Space Skimmer, Mass soon learns why the Empire has fallen.

I won't be giving anything critical away to say that the Skimmers were an unique type of spaceship designed to revolutionize communications and commerce within the Empire, but things went wrong as Mass discovers. As he travels from world to world, Mass acquires a crew that he really doesn't want and friends that he wants even less.

Gerrold tells a really good story here of what happens to Mass, his journeys from one exciting world to another, and of the Space Skimmer itself, another character in itself. This is a fun read for all science fiction fans and shouldn't be missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best book I have ever read period., May 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I first read this book over 30 years ago in printed form. My copy was falling apart. I found a kindle version downloaded it immediately. When I re-read the book again I couldn't put it down. My original copy doesn't have the book one subtitle that Kindle has. I am very hopeful that David Gerrold would write at least one or possibly many more sequels to this fantastic story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read!, March 30, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
As with many of his other books, this was one of those you can't put down once you get started!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Man tries to escape, finds himself, June 7, 2008
By 
James Jones (Clive, IA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Space skimmer (Paperback)
Mass, a Streinveldtian, is looking for one of the fabled starships from a time when civilization was far more connected. He finds it, but to make use of it ends up with a crew he'd just as soon dump, including one person trying to take the ship away from him.

Space Skimmer is a very good story--and looking back at it, is a kind of reaction to Star Trek, for which Gerrold wrote the justly famous and hilarious "The Trouble with Tribbles." Space is big enough that there simply can't be a homogeneous civilization like ST's Federation; even with a common human ancestry, different parts will change in strange and different ways. (One has to wonder whether the group-mind Homolkans here gave rise to the Borg.) The trip Mass and the companions he picks up take is fascinating for that reason.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lighthearted cross-galactic romp filled with New Wave digressions, August 20, 2012
This review is from: Space Skimmer (Mass Market Paperback)
I've found that the science fiction trope reconstructing a fallen empire/meandering in the wreckage of an empire one of the most seductive of the genre. The idea of a disconnected landscape filled with the ruins of empire -- giant edifice ever more consumed by vegetation, technology unable to be used, spaceships empty in space -- is so transfixing that I pick up every example published before 1980 that I find. Unfortunately, works like David Gerrold's Space Skimmer (1972) and John Brunner's collection Interstellar Empire (1976) are evidence that seductive trope or not, the delivery is often less than delectable.

I must confess that I picked up the novel because of the cover blurb: "The ultimate spaceship in the hands of a barbarian..." And the intriguing Dean Ellis cover... (Ballantine 1972 edition) Little did I know the blurb should read "the ultimate spaceship in the hands of a barbarian who spouts endless streams of bad poetry, an annoying little prince, random androids who want to be human, and a puff-puppy." Unfortunately, many of the most interesting aspects of the work are "borrowed" (to quote author's thank you blurb) from Larry Niven.

Brief Plot Summary (limited spoilers)

Space Skimmer takes place in a once vast empire comprising of 11,000 worlds. Extremely complicated communication systems were developed (Oracle devices) to facilitate communications across the vast expanse. In the waning days of the empire, advanced spaceships were invented which could travel across the empire at shocking speeds. Gerrold's description of the skimmer is fascinating (a spherical field surrounds a constantly modulating -- on command of the pilot -- interior):

"A core of silvery shimmering vanes, flashing all colors, diamond-bright; they reached outward in all directions, some father than others, but almost all ended in planes set at odd angled, no two the same. There were suggestions of platforms and hints of terraces, stanchionlike shapes arced smoothly across from one vane to another. On one of them, he thought he recognized curving steps, but they were upside-down."

The ship is recharged by flaying into suns or soaking up water. One would suspect that the empire would become more closely controlled, communication would be facilitated, and the empire expanded. But suddenly, the empire collapses -- the reasons are not altogether apparent.

The narrative follows our Klingon-esque/space viking hero Mass is from the planet Streinvelt -- more than twice the gravity of Earth with harsh conditions. It was settled by genetically modified humans. Mass is shorter, broader, and stronger than most humans. He sets off to discover one of the famed skimmer spaceships with the goal of searching for what remains of the empire. After searching 30+ planets he finds a skimmer!

After he learns to control the vessel, he picks of a variety of characters including a biological robot constructed to be the skimmer's pilot (each cell is designed and grown when needed) connected to a hive mind. A large portion of the interactions between Mass and Ike concern the nature of being an individual, long epic songs, etc. Mass also meets an annoying prince with hemophilia and a silly puff-puppy. The prince is a good luck symbol for his society (people bred for luck is one borrowings from Niven) -- unfortunately, he has proved to be the most unlucky prince from his planet.

Along with various other characters who join Mass' crew, they sets off to discover the nature of the empire's collapse and cure the prince of his affliction. Also, along the way our heroes overcome their differences and become friends.

Final Thoughts

Space Skimmer is really a lighthearted/comedic romp across the wreckage of empire for younger readers. David Gerrold is famous for his story which was turned into the Star Trek: Original Series episode, Trouble with Tribbles. I can definitely discern his obsession with small, annoying, fluffy animals, and Klingon-esque barbarians. Interspersed amongst the are cringe-worthy attempts at New Wave prose replete with italics, UPPERCASE, !!!, !!, !, -- which all comes off as a poor imitation of more successful experimental works. For example:

"Another rustle -

-light!! Blazing light!! Glaring and white!!

DAZZLING BRIGHT BRIGHT LIGHT!!!

ALL WAS WASHED IN SHADES OF WHITE!! (14)

And, of course, on the nature of becoming an individual:

"--point of view--

--position--

--individual perspective--

--specific--

--the new concepts: I! You! Me!--

--Individual!--

--SEPARATE AND AWARE!-

--I--I am--I think--I exist--I think I exist; therefore, I exist! I!!

--ME!-"

Gerrold's work is a fun example of young adult fiction. However, many younger readers might not appreciate/tolerate the numerous indulgent digressions into pseudo-New Wave prose are tend to be awkward at best although it does give the story a certain zany quality. The main failing of the novel is present in the second half. The focus shifts from Mass and his quest (which should have been the focus of the novel) to finding a cure for the prince. Explanations for the collapse are present but sadly, secondary to painful moments of mind-melding along with yappy puppy-thoughts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Space Skimmer
Space Skimmer by David Gerold (Mass Market Paperback - September 12, 1981)
Used & New from: $0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.