Customer Reviews


1,014 Reviews
5 star:
 (674)
4 star:
 (195)
3 star:
 (73)
2 star:
 (28)
1 star:
 (44)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


62 of 68 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All-Around Great Spoof
Spaceballs is perhaps the best Sci-fi spoof of all time. It has already been mentioned that it spoofs Star Wars, Star Trek, Planet of the Apes, but it really spoofs nearly every big Sci-fi movie ever. Star Wars, Star Trek, Planet of the Apes, Alien, 2001: A Space Odyssey ("...they've gone to plaid!") and many more. Some of the best sequences are the...
Published on March 9, 2001 by Adam Dukovich

versus
17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars We needed more Schwartz in the Collector's Edition!
The movie itself is pure Mel Brooks. I really enjoy how Mel brings hilarious havoc to the sci-fi genre, spoofing movies from Flash Gordon and Buck Rogers to Star Trek and Star Wars. I am surprised that MPAA had originally given this movie a PG rating instead of a PG-13 rating since the movie is heavy on adult humor, language, and sexual innuendos - not exactly what I...
Published on May 3, 2005 by Humble Pi


‹ Previous | 1 2102 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

62 of 68 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All-Around Great Spoof, March 9, 2001
This review is from: Spaceballs [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Spaceballs is perhaps the best Sci-fi spoof of all time. It has already been mentioned that it spoofs Star Wars, Star Trek, Planet of the Apes, but it really spoofs nearly every big Sci-fi movie ever. Star Wars, Star Trek, Planet of the Apes, Alien, 2001: A Space Odyssey ("...they've gone to plaid!") and many more. Some of the best sequences are the "ludicruous speed" scene, the "instant video" scene, and the whole Yogurt part. Mel Brooks plays the spoof of Star Wars' Yoda who is the guardian of the Schwartz and is also heavily into Spaceballs Merchandising, including the Spaceballs flamethrower. ("The kids love this one.") Rick Moranis, of course, is the Darth Vader spoof, and I have to congradulate the casting department, because Rick Moranis and Darth Vader have to be as close to being polar opposites as you can come. Although I have heard it called unfunny and lame by others, I think it is a very funny movie and deserves to be watched not only by Sci-fi fans, but by anybody looking for a good laugh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars SPACEBALLS THE BLURAY, July 17, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Spaceballs is one of my all time favorite films and I eagerly awaited it's bluray release and even put in my preorder months in advance. Now that the bluray is here it is still one of my all time favorite films but i must admit the transfer is not demo material.

The transfer itself is solid and without any unnecessary tampering (digital noise reduction, edge enhancement, etc) and it is the best this film will probably ever look on home video however the film itself will never wow anyone with detail.

On the audio side we get a 5.1ch track that does it's job as well as the source material allows... just like the video it's not demo material but it's still a solid track. Also included is the original dolby stereo track along with a rather large collection of languages (and subtitles as well)

The bonus features are the same as the previous DVD edition, I haven't really dug into all of them but in Fox bluray tradition features that need a play all option (in this case the film flubs) don't get that much needed option.

The included DVD is the older flipper disc with the 4:3 pan&scan on one side and the non-anamorphic 1.85:1 version on the other.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


56 of 63 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everything we already have but in Blu, June 10, 2009
I love the film so it was a no-brainer to get it for the store, and my slight disappointment is offset with showing what a high storage capacity can do for this product.

The package comes with both the BD and the standard def discs and included are all of the special features we know from the 2005 release. So what's changed? Nothing except for the languages: Dubbed in DTS for six languages (including Castilian, German, Italian and French) and Mono or Dolby for three others, and subtitled in nine languages (incl. Danish, Swedish and Norwegian). None of the supplements have been upgraded but that DTS always sounds awesome during the main feature. The picture has not been cleaned up from the transfer so there is plenty of artifact, hair and random film discolorations. I enjoyed watching some of the same special features again, including the John Candy memorial and the Mel Brooks conversation. The ludiricous speed is just as lame as before.

The menu is a killer if your player is not tuned up (or older). It becomes painful when trying to watch those flubs sequences as there is no play all option. It is Spaceballs, it is Mel Brooks - so it makes it a worthwhile purchase if you did not already upgrade a few years ago to that special edition DVD (especially with both included here). I would normally rate this lower but there is so much here I had to go up one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars We needed more Schwartz in the Collector's Edition!, May 3, 2005
The movie itself is pure Mel Brooks. I really enjoy how Mel brings hilarious havoc to the sci-fi genre, spoofing movies from Flash Gordon and Buck Rogers to Star Trek and Star Wars. I am surprised that MPAA had originally given this movie a PG rating instead of a PG-13 rating since the movie is heavy on adult humor, language, and sexual innuendos - not exactly what I would call a flick for the whole family. Enough about the movie; this review is about the newly released Collector's Edition (CE), especially the bonus material.

The Dolby 5.1 sound quality has been enhanced compared to the original 2000 DVD release, but I will need to confirm this. I'm glad MGM offers a DTS track on disc 1. I have not yet compared Mel's commentary on the CE to the original release. I did make some limited comparisons of the picture quality: The colors are more vibrant (perhaps too much on the red?) and the picture is clearer to my eyes; the skin tones look correct to me. Since the video presentation is not THX quality, you will see some specks and film blemishes. The aspect ratio on the CE (1.85:1 for 16x9) is the same as the original 2000 release, but on my Sony monitor (4:3) the CE widescreen version is "slightly" zoomed in more than the 2000 widescreen released version.

I am disappointed in the Special Features. Why? For one reason, it does not include Rick Moranis. He is mentioned but is not interviewed at all - how can Mel not include Dark Helmet! In addition, you will not find any behind-the-scenes coverage (other than still photos) such as those found on the 2000 DVD release. Mel did not include any deleted scenes or bloopers (no, the film flubs don't count). However, there is a well-produced 29 minute documentary that includes the other main actors and crew members. You will learn that the actors and crew members had more laughs making this movie than the audience had watching it. If this is true, Mel should have included some of those comical moments in the Special Features. Also missing on this CE is a featurette about special-effects. The conversation between Mel and co-writer Thomas Meehan is rather boring, but the tribute to comical genius John Candy is commendable, touching, and about time.

The CE is a 2-disc DVD set. It is a shame that MGM and Mel could not/would not include more about this classic comedy. Overall I give the CE version a 3/5. The movie gets 4/5!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars what's the matter Sanders?... Chicken?, February 14, 2003
This review is from: Spaceballs (DVD)
Spaceballs was one of the truly towering movie experiences of my youth. Forced to read during one of those interminable home room "quiet reading" times of my sixth grade school year, I first encountered the novelization of this movie. It was pretty funny...but it was not the movie (which I later rented).
The comedy of Mel Brooks has always been sheer buckshot. There are no "smart bombs" in his arsenal. He throws everything he's got out there and if it hits, so be it.
Spaceballs hits consistently.
From Druish Princesses, Colonel Sanders, and Schwarz jokes (which inspired some pretty stupid crank calls-before caller I.D.) to Dark Helmet and Pizza the Hut-this movie is hilarious. Even Joan Rivers has some good lines.
This movie specializes in the kind of one-liner that you will find yourself quoting (often inappropriately) for years to come. I would place Spaceballs somewhere between Monty Python and the Holy Grail and The Princess Bride in my Pantheon of "quotable" movies. I have never been able to confront plain yogurt without my thoughts drifting to this movie.
For those of you wondering whether you should upgrade from a VHS copy to a DVD the answer is a definite yes. The commentary alone is worth the price of admission. The menu screen is priceless.
Before I go, I must make a nod to Rick Moranis. Spaceballs is probably his second best movie after Strange Brew. The role of Dark Helmut shows him at the height of his comedic powers. The final battle with (as he says it) "Loooone Star" still leaves me rolling with laughter.
God has a sense of humor. Otherwise we wouldn't have movies as great as Spaceballs. Get a copy today and share in the cosmic laughter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spaceballs, May 28, 2002
This review is from: Spaceballs (DVD)
The Planet Spaceball has a problem; They're slowly running out of air. However, they have a plan; Capture Vespa(Daphne Zuniga), the Princess of their peace-loving neighbor planet Druidia, which would force their father, King Roland(Dick Van Patten), to give them the combination to the air shield, which underneath contains 10,000 years of fresh air. Instead, the Princess and her droid Dot Matrix(Voice of Joan Rivers), running away from her wedding to Prince Valium(JM J.Bullock), they find her. After being offered $1 million spacebucks, which they need to pay off gangster Pizza the Hutt(Dom DeLuise), space pirate Lonestarr(Bill Pullman)and his half dog/half man sidekick Barf(John Candy)go to stop the evil Lord Dark Helmet(Rick Moranis)and Spaceball President Skroob(Mel Brooks)and along the way, Lonestarr learns the ways of the Schwartz from the everlasting know-it-all Yogurt(Mel Brooks)
This movie, along with "DRACULA DEAD AND LOVING IT" is Mel Brooks at his best. It's fricking hilarious!! Bill Pullman is great as Lonestarr, a spoof combination of Han Solo and Luke Skywalker, Daphne Zuniga gives her all as Princess Vespa, John Candy is hilarious as Barf, Joan Rivers is decent as Dot Matrix, Rick Moranis is downright classic as Dark Helmet, a wimpy puny spoof of Darth Vader(He's the funniest guy on this movie!!!)and the rest of the cast is average.
Highly recommended as one of Mel Brook's best and with lines like "I am your father's brother's nephew's cousin's former roommate", "You are to refer to me as idiot, not you captain!", you won't stop laughing. So see this film.
AND MAY THE SCHWARTZ BE WITH YOU!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "May the schwartz be with you!", May 1, 2005
Following the multi-million-dollar success that George Lucas enjoyed with his original "Star Wars" trilogy of films released in 1977, 1980 and 1983, comedic actor/writer/director Mel Brooks was inspired to create one of his most outlandish films in 1987 entitled "Spaceballs". The film begins on the dark planet of Spaceball, which no longer has a breathable atmosphere. There, President Skroob (Mel Brooks) wants to steal another planet's atmosphere and transport it back to planet Spaceball, so he orders Colonel Sandurz (George Wyner) and Dark Helmet (Rick Moranis spoofing "Darth Vader") to take a giant military spaceship (much much larger than any of Lucas' spaceships, except for the Deathstar) to planet Druidia to kidnap Princess Vespa (Daphne Zuniga spoofing "Princess Leia") and hold her for ransom. On planet Druidia, Princess Vespa is scheduled to marry the very boring Prince Valium (JM J. Bullock) as arranged by her father, King Roland (Dick Van Patten). However, when Princes Vespa has cold feet, she runs from the Druidic church with her android, Dot Matrix (voice of Joan Rivers spoofing "C3PO"), and takes off from planet Druidia in what was to be her honeymoon spaceship. In space, she is encountered by the giant Spaceball ship, but is rescued by the trader/smuggler Lone Starr (Bill Pullman spoofing "Han Solo") and his sidekick Barfolemew 'Barf' (John Candy, 1950-1994, spoofing "Chewbacca") in a space-worthy Winnebago RV. As with the constant love-hate relationship that Princess Leia and Han Solo had in Lucas' "Star Wars" trilogy, so too do Princess Vespa and Lone Starr have a similar relationship. Along the way though, Lone Starr finds out from a mysterious Yoda-like character named Yogurt (Mel Brooks again) that he's really a prince and sets out to rescue Princess Vespa who had eventually been captured by Dark Helmet. It is from Yogurt that we hear those immortal words, "May the schwartz be with you," spoofing Lucas' creation of the Force in "Star Wars".

With hilarious one-liners, a classic Mel Brooks storyline, good actors and reasonable special effects, "Spaceballs" is a truly funny comedic sci-fi spoof. Rick Moranis' portrayal of Dark Helmet is one of the funniest roles, especially since he can't always keep his visor open. Also funny are George Wyner and Joan Rivers. Overall, I rate "Spaceballs" with 4 out of 5 stars and highly recommend it to anyone that enjoys a great spoof by Mel Brooks, sci-fi and a good laugh. Even product merchandising isn't free of being spoofed by Mel Brooks in this hilarious film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spaceballs on DVD?!? Sign me up., December 6, 2000
By 
Jay Moore (Manassas, VA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Spaceballs (DVD)
What can I say, this is yet another one of those DVD's you have to have in your collection. Mel Brooks is a master at doing parodys and site gags, and this movie shows it. While not being as good as Blazing Saddles, the DVD is still scoring extremely high. I've owned this movie on every format excluding LaserDisc and including Beta, and I must say, this is the best transfer I've seen. The original transfers had a "washed-out" look to them, and the audio was sub-par. The DVD is absolutely amazing, the picture is clear and sharp, the colors are much better, you can even see Dark Helmet spit coffee on the camera, something I hadn't seen before. This dual-sided DVD features the 4:3 Pan-and-Scan (for you old fogies who want a full screen) and the wide screen presentations, including audio commentary by Brooks recorded in 96, and a wonderful Dolby Digital 5.1 audio track which was mastered extremely well. If you know someone who likes Brooks, pick the DVD up as a gift, trust me, they'll love you for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars May The Shawartz be with you..again, August 15, 2000
This review is from: Spaceballs [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Someone just had to say it. This film is a hilarious satire with tons of Star Wars references not to mention crude humor. Is there anything Mel Brooks can't do? He even makes the film feel like a serious sci-fi film at times, but then the mention of something like a maid "sucking and blowing" the air out of a planet sets you back into top comic wrap speed.
The cast is great with the quick zingers but mostly it is Rick Moranis as Dark Helmet. He's a finny little guy and his quick witty lines are cleverly timed. Let's get into the story which is leads us to the Planet Drewida where the Princess is about to be married off to an uncaring prince. At the same time planet of people know as the Spaceballs plan to take the air of the Planet. Leave it up to Bill Pullman and John Candy playing a Han Solo and Chewbacca like characters respectively to save the day. They decide to help the princess (played by Daphine Zaniga) and her sassy robot gal pal (voiced by Joan Rivers) out in order to get out of debt of Pizza the Hut. The insanity doesn't end there as the villains try to find out that the Princess has escaped the planet and to help their cause for stealing Drewida's air.
So there is the story. And basically a bunch of chaos insues, but the movie plays like an actually action movie with a few spoofs quality. The jokes are so adult (not necessarily sexual, but adult) that I think the film plays as a satire rather than a silly spoof with cheap little sight gags that kids will love. What surprises me is the fact that there is so much swearing and ethnic jokes and the movie only got a PG rating. Mel Brooks is a genius and his jokes of promotion of the movie in the movie are too funny and very typical of the timing of the release (1987). I must say that if you love silly stuff and are an adult, you're going to love this movie. Not those that are easily offended though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my favorite movies, May 5, 2005
This review is from: Spaceballs [VHS] (VHS Tape)
I have watched this movie from begining to end so many times that I have lost count! As a clear spoof of all things sci-fi, Spaceballs goes all the way with the references to all the most popular science movies like Star Wars, Star Trek and even Alien. It's technical crew included many of the greats who worked on the original movies that it spoofs. The story is about Lone Starr and his friend Barf who is a half-man, half dog. (He's his "own best friend".) They are on a quest to rescue a runaway spoiled Druish princess who has come too close to the Spaceballs who are trying to steal the pure air from her home planet, Druidia. It is a great story that stands all on it's own without leaning too heavily on the movies that are beinging spoofed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2102 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Spaceballs (25th Anniversary Edition) [Blu-ray]
Spaceballs (25th Anniversary Edition) [Blu-ray] by Rick Ducommun (Blu-ray - 2012)
$14.99 $14.94
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.