Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


103 of 107 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very beginning Spanish
There is always the possiblity of using doubt when a language-learning material states 'the easy way', 'magical' or another fun phrase for adding attraction the the 'why' of purchasing a certain title. Catch, surely, but are you going to apply yourself to really, really using it to completion?!

"Speak in a Week," individually or the complete set, it is...
Published on December 12, 2005 by P. Nelson

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars CD is not easy to learn from.
The phrases and words are repeated only twice making it difficult to learn. The word(s) or phrase(s) should be said once repeated, then combined with other words, then used again. Otherwise it is necessary to keep rewinding continuously.
Published 15 months ago by Marina J LaBelle


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

103 of 107 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very beginning Spanish, December 12, 2005
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Spanish Complete [With (4) 240-Page Softcover Books] (Speak in a Week) (Spanish Edition) (Audio CD)
There is always the possiblity of using doubt when a language-learning material states 'the easy way', 'magical' or another fun phrase for adding attraction the the 'why' of purchasing a certain title. Catch, surely, but are you going to apply yourself to really, really using it to completion?!

"Speak in a Week," individually or the complete set, it is intended to get you hooked on learning and speaking Spanish by encouraging you to repeat phrases right from the beginning. It is easy to get started and if you stop, it is easy to find a beginning place again, and with dedicated purpose, you will be speaking Spanish!

While the focus of this series is speaking Spanish, there are some grammar explanations and presentations of the how and why of the structure, along with lists of vocabulary.

The books hold a small ringbinder with pages designed like index cards full of hints and ideas for expanding the use and memorization of Spanish. It requires the user to dedicate time and memorization techniques, but the practice is made easier by the style of the drawings and the ease of using the cds.

With a sense of humor the intended meanings of vocabulary, verbs and expressions depicted by the characters and the things they do make it easier to comprend the Spanish. The Mastery Exercises are not written in the book, so the students does need to accomplish mastery of lessons one through eight for the final four or five to be useful.

This presents a good challenge with fun and enjoyment! You can learn a lot of Spanish with 'Speak in a Week"! ¡Buena suerte!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Real good for learning Spanish, January 3, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Spanish Complete [With (4) 240-Page Softcover Books] (Speak in a Week) (Spanish Edition) (Audio CD)
I found this book/series very easy to follow and understand and it was fun too with all the picutres and remarks in it. Highly recommend it to Spanish learning Aspirants.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very good, August 22, 2006
This review is from: Spanish Complete [With (4) 240-Page Softcover Books] (Speak in a Week) (Spanish Edition) (Audio CD)
I am married to a costa rican and we are moving in 1 month to live in costa rica. So I needed to learn more than the basics. I needed to learn how to speak in sentences,I knew plenty of words but I coudnt put them together. So I talked like a baby.This is a great set very easy to follow. The books are great in the begining but when I start to get the cd pretty good I will put it on while I am cleaning and work like that. I don't think my spanish will be perfect after this, that will take alot more time. But if you stick with it, you wiil get a very good base.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Speak in a week hahahaah, August 9, 2006
By 
This review is from: Spanish Complete [With (4) 240-Page Softcover Books] (Speak in a Week) (Spanish Edition) (Audio CD)
I found it easy to follow and very easy to understand. The book went right along with the CD...but like anything else, you have to practice, practice, practice and my accent sucks!!!But it is a great product to use for a beginer and my husband has gotten many hours of laughter out of my practicing!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to learn Spanish program., August 9, 2006
By 
Carol L. Zdeba (Ridgecrest, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Spanish Complete [With (4) 240-Page Softcover Books] (Speak in a Week) (Spanish Edition) (Audio CD)
I have reviewed a lot of Spanish programs and I believe that this is probably one of the easier to learn Spanish programs.

If you have ahd trouble with other programs , then this is the one for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super language learning series, May 12, 2007
By 
Carlyle Mallory (Chesapeake, OH USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Spanish Complete [With (4) 240-Page Softcover Books] (Speak in a Week) (Spanish Edition) (Audio CD)
Having taken Spanish over 40 years ago in high school and needing to stir up my memory cells some, I ventured into buying the Penton Overseas Learn in a Week series. The 4 books were attractively put together with clear pictures and text and the lessons built on each other superbly. I learned it is never to late to improve your memory by relearning a language. Super series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The basics and beyond., July 9, 2008
This review is from: Spanish Complete [With (4) 240-Page Softcover Books] (Speak in a Week) (Spanish Edition) (Audio CD)
This series is great. I started as a total beginner, and can now communicate with Spanish speaking people very well. Weeks one, two, and three will teach you a lot of the basics and once you get to week four you'll be speaking quite a bit of Spanish. Beyond the main grammar lessons, there are also lists of useful vocabulary, expressions, and conjugations of irregular verbs in various tenses. You'll see that by the end of week four you'll know how to say some pretty advanced stuff. Just be aware, unless you're spending 8 hours a day on the Speak in a Week, it's going to take you a lot longer than 4 weeks. Also, if you're trying to learn exclusively in your car, this probably isn't the right package for you. I found that learning the grammar rules using the book and then testing myself with the cd was the best method for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great for parents who want to teach Spanish, October 14, 2007
By 
This review is from: Spanish Complete [With (4) 240-Page Softcover Books] (Speak in a Week) (Spanish Edition) (Audio CD)
As a teacher and adviser, I recommend this to all the parents who want their young children to learn Spanish - after listening to this for a week and working through the book work just a bit, the parents always have more confidence to lead their own students through Flip Flop Spanish: Ages 3-5: Level 1 and other workbooks for kids.

Learning a language yourself is the best way to ensure success in your child's endeavors! This is a wonderful basis, especially for the investment. Four stars only, because not everything is as well-explained as I would hope, but that's to be expected in a product that is sort of "crash-course" in methodology. Also good for those who like to jump right in!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Easy, August 16, 2007
This review is from: Spanish Complete [With (4) 240-Page Softcover Books] (Speak in a Week) (Spanish Edition) (Audio CD)
These tapes are very thorough. They are also easy to use and very colorful. They would be great for a child, though I am 20 and find them quite handy. It is a little frustrating at first and you may have to pause the disc to give yourself enough time to say the words and phrases without being cut off. It moves a little quickly. Still a great buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this box set, April 9, 2008
By 
Goldenroom (Amherst, MA United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Spanish Complete [With (4) 240-Page Softcover Books] (Speak in a Week) (Spanish Edition) (Audio CD)
These are great books for anyone (children and adults) who want to learn Spanish. The problem I find with most language teaching tools, is that they focus on the traveler (instead of the student) and teach the bare minimum. These books however really teach the language. These books are also great because they teach you how to properly pronounce the words, and lessons are taught at a desirable pace. If you're still unsure that you're saying the word correctly, you can easily listen to the audio CD that accompanies each lesson.

Actually, as an adult, I would rather learn from this set then from a standard class. I like learning at my own pace and I don't have to worry about grades.

Don't hesitate to buy this set for yourself or the kids. I will certainly buy these set's again when I want to learn a new language.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Spanish Complete [With (4) 240-Page Softcover Books] (Speak in a Week) (Spanish Edition)
Used & New from: $34.95
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.