Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great buy for the price
I have been studying Spanish as a hobby for about six months now and I can honestly say that this book has accelerated my learning by leaps and bounds. This book alone will not teach a complete beginner how to speak Spanish. Having said that however, this book is a great compliment to any Spanish textbooks or someone taking a class. Every time I pick it up, I learn...
Published 10 months ago by Ray Ruhman

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pocket sized reference to Spanish grammar
Pocket sized grammar that could be carried around easily. There are no exercises, but the size outweighs that. This is a reference for grammar that has already been studied with some other book or method. It would have helped to know what to expect if the dimensions had been given. It's smaller than the average paperback novel. This should be a great help when I get a...
Published 7 months ago by M Cooper


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great buy for the price, August 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Spanish Grammar (Barron's Foreign Language Guides) (Paperback)
I have been studying Spanish as a hobby for about six months now and I can honestly say that this book has accelerated my learning by leaps and bounds. This book alone will not teach a complete beginner how to speak Spanish. Having said that however, this book is a great compliment to any Spanish textbooks or someone taking a class. Every time I pick it up, I learn something new. So many topics here that don't seem to be covered in any of the textbooks or classes I have taken. The section on idioms is especially helpful and this book really cleared up my confusion with regards to the "subjunctive mood." Beginners and intermediate students with a basic working knowledge of Spanish will gain a lot here, but even advanced students and native speakers can benefit as well. Any student of Spanish simply cannot pass this up, easily worth double the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great tool, but some previous knowledge of Spanish is required., December 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Spanish Grammar (Barron's Foreign Language Guides) (Paperback)
This not your typical Spanish tutoring book. This is not Spanish for Dummies, which by the way I was not impressed with. This is a book about grammar, which is tutoring above and beyond translation S to E or E to S. This is a book that teaches how sentences should be put together and more. How to use de and del or other inticasies. You really need to know some Spanish, then hope to advance beyond just vocabulary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Useful, Handy, and Informative, April 22, 2012
This review is from: Spanish Grammar (Barron's Foreign Language Guides) (Paperback)
This is a small book; not much bigger than a man's wallet. Yet, its 237 pages are filled with useful information about the Spanish language. Each point the authors make is succint, with three or four examples included for each.

You will need to have some understanding of Spanish before adding this book to your collection. As such, some of the content won't be new to the reader, but the authors lay it out in a way that ties everything we've learned about Spanish together.

What I like about this book is that the authors tackle some of the nuances and trickier parts of speaking Spanish in a simple, easy-to-read manner. Thus, they help the reader understand the subtle differences between words like campo/pais/patria/nacion; hora/tiempo/vez; bueno/mejor/el mejor; etc.).

The Special Phrases/Idioms chapter is great. The chapter on Antonyms (words with opposite meanings) is extremely helpful. Again, we know many of these words (bajar/subir, aqui/alli, antes/despues), but it's nice seeing the comparisons and distinctions side-by-side.

This is a great addition to my arcenal of Spanish books and I'm glad I stumbled upon it (found it at a bookstore, however, and could have gotten a better price on Amazon. Oh well, gotta suport the independent booksellers, as well :>)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT BOOK!!!, July 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Spanish Grammar (Barron's Foreign Language Guides) (Paperback)
MY NIECE NEEDED A SPANISH GRAMMAR BOOK TO HELP WITH HER HOMEWORK & THIS ONE HELPED HER BEYOND BELIEF. HER GRADE IMPROVED AS WELL.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I liked it because it is very thorough and builds into complexity., April 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Spanish Grammar (Barron's Foreign Language Guides) (Paperback)
There is a certain basic simplicity at first and then it moves into the comparisons of English to Spanish. It gives different scenarios of comparing Spanish to English. It is clear and decisive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars spanish, September 4, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Spanish Grammar (Barron's Foreign Language Guides) (Paperback)
This book help me to understand the grammar so much better. English and Spanish Grammar is so different. Loved this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great little reference to carry around., January 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Spanish Grammar (Barron's Foreign Language Guides) (Paperback)
I love the way it is organized and it gave me lots of ideas for creating activities for all levels of Spanish. Best of all, it is tiny, light and you can take it anywhere you go - you never know when you may need to consult something.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great learning resource, May 7, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Spanish Grammar (Barron's Foreign Language Guides) (Paperback)
Good if you have some knowledge of the Spanish language and want to know more. If you simply want a book on tourist phrases, there are probably better ones out there. But for grammar this works very well. It covers nagging issues like direct versus indirect pronouns and also which article goes with the verb. Pocket sized, but packs a lot of info into a small space.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great book, April 27, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Spanish Grammar (Barron's Foreign Language Guides) (Paperback)
Very helpful for me to learn the language better. It helps me learn the structures of words, and try to speak as a native speaker would.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great source, April 23, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Spanish Grammar (Barron's Foreign Language Guides) (Paperback)
I found this book to very handy source of Spanish grammar - concise and well organized. I would recommend it to all beginning and intermediate levels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Spanish Grammar (Barron's Foreign Language Guides)
Spanish Grammar (Barron's Foreign Language Guides) by Christopher Kendris (Paperback - September 1, 2011)
$6.99 $6.64
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.