Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Speak with perfect speech!
I am a theater student at Cornish College of the Arts in Seattle, Washington. This book is required in my speech class and it is amazing. This book teaches one the fundamentals of how to read and write in phonetics. It also has many pages full of drills one can use to perfect their speech. Easy to follow and a handy book to use.
Published on April 9, 2000 by Sean Morrone

versus
14 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Misguiding book title and image
This book item is not only improperly titled but also has the incorrect image. It is so misguiding that one might think they are purchasing the actual paperback version of the real book together with the cassette. But NO! It turns out to be a tiny booklet of like 40 pages. I would have purchased some other item if this is not so misguiding.
Published on August 4, 2007 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 41 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Speak with perfect speech!, April 9, 2000
By 
Sean Morrone (Seattle, Washington, USA) - See all my reviews
I am a theater student at Cornish College of the Arts in Seattle, Washington. This book is required in my speech class and it is amazing. This book teaches one the fundamentals of how to read and write in phonetics. It also has many pages full of drills one can use to perfect their speech. Easy to follow and a handy book to use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Speech book not voice book, August 8, 2007
This is a great book for the speech student, although I would not rely on it for vocal production. That was never the intension of this text. Skinner has made the understanding of the International Phonetic Alphabet accessable to the average speaker and the experienced actor alike. The text consists of a very,very basic breakdown for the creation of each phonome and some great practice sentences, but very little is said or done about creation of sound, connection of voice to breath, resonation and everything else which helps to create proper phonation and pitch range and the portions on the difference between broad, narrow, and very narrow transcription are not put together well and difficult to understand. The above are mentioned in passing and never delved into, so the student has little to go on. It is not that she says anything "wrong" about phonation, it's just passed over very quickly. A good text for the academic linguistic or accent and dialect teacher but not for the actor without the guidence of an instructor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best book and it's scientific!, May 15, 2005
This book is understandable and well-organized. I am international and people had a hard time understanding my English. After studying this book thoroughly with assistance from my great tutor, my spoken English has dramatically improved! People do not ask me to repeat my words any more.

This book made readers understand how to pronounce all the vowels and consonants in scientific way! Please read and you will like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a classic, March 20, 2002
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book is a must have for anyone who wants to increase their voice skills. this is a textbook for my vocal production and audition class. it's necessary for actors to pronounce words correctly. for the everyday person, we must be understood. this book teaches the international phonetic alphabet that covers all the possible sounds spoken in the american language. it is a how to manual that guides you through each sound. this book is invaluable to anyone that wants to improve one's voice. there are plenty drills and exercises in the book for one to practice. the coolest thing about this method is that it teaches you exactly where to place your tongue to make the appropriate sounds. i don't know you but that is very useful. in schools we were taught to imitate and mimic through repeatition. i find it much more easier to learn voice when one know how sounds are produce instead of trial and error. this is a classic book for anyone to get because we all communicate. my teacher and i'm sure many others, call this the bible of voice training. anyone that requires voice for their livelihood must get this book, especially a hypnotherapist or a presenter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A MUST, May 25, 2007
By 
Ann Geller (Los Angeles, CA, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I was thrilled to discover that "Speak with Distinction" had been reprinted and was available. My copy, acquired when I was a student of Edith's at Carnegie Tech, and is little more than bound together mimeographed pages, was barely useable. At Elocution Solution we find it an invaluable resourse when working on voice and speech improvement with actors and other professional voice users. Edith was a master at providing detailed decriptions for the production of speech sounds, with extensive practice materials. Although it focuses on speech for classical theater, e.g. lack of postvocalic r's, it is also useful for acquiring general American speech.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The actors guide to speech!, September 9, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book is a MUST have for any actor or public speaker. It goes over the phonetic alphabet and teaches you how to say all the vowels and consonants spot on. It helps you shape your mouth and your tongue for proper sounds. It teaches you how to write and read phonetics. If you want to speak well or use a dialect well, this book is needed. This book should be in every actors home! NO EXCUSES! Amazing. Written by the one and only Edith Skinner. Look her up if you do not know her. OWN THIS BOOK!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for waking up lazy diction!, June 16, 2009
A classic for English-speaking actors, this book is full of wonderful diction exercises. It's a great way to wake up a lazy tongue! I used the book with my speech therapist when I was trying to improve my diction for singing. I was amazed at how helpful the exercises are. Many of them are designed to repeat troublesome letter combinations over and over. Two years after I first encountered this book, I receive regular comments on my clear diction. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE definitive work, October 24, 2009
This review is from: Speak With Distinction (Textbook and CD) (Paperback)
For students around the world, Edith Skinner's Speak With Distinction is the absolute authoritative text on American spoken English for the stage. Some may find it a bit dated in some of the choices and others will respect her standards. The language evolves and I am sure that a new edition will be written by the editors to reflect that. But those are insignificant compared with the incredible precision that Skinner offers for learning creation of the phonemes of the International Phonetic Alphabet. I use it all the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential reference volume for pronounciation, June 1, 2007
There is no other book like this. For actors, teachers, public speakers, or anyone who wants to work on an accent or remove one, this is a one-of-a-kind, vital resource.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Insightful!, November 30, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Speak With Distinction (Textbook and CD) (Paperback)
I heard about this book after taking a speech class for my acting course. This is a great book full of examples and details. A definite must read for all those interested in speech!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Speak With Distinction (Textbook and CD)
Speak With Distinction (Textbook and CD) by Edith Skinner (Paperback - May 1, 2000)
$49.99 $35.83
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.