Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars more of the same - and that's awesome!, December 20, 2010
This review is from: Speaking Spanish Like a Native: The Sequel (Perfect Paperback)
If you liked Speaking Spanish like a native, then you will love the sequel. One very interesting section of the book is "Language Learning Survival Tips" where the author Brad Kim and Erika Dominguez give practical advice on learning Spanish with the Ten Commandments of Learning Spanish. Including, "Thou shalt not worry too much about being judged a gringo." Which basically means Spanish speakers know you are a gringo so they don't expect you to speak perfect Spanish so it is OK if you make mistakes. Another one of the Ten Commandments that I liked in this book is Thou Shall Not Kill The Spanish Accent. This one emphasizes the importance of learning proper pronunciation which so many of us overlook when learning a foreign language.

There is also a helpful section called All In The Family where you will learn the Spanish words for aunt, brother, brother-in-law, cousin, daughter, father, father-in-law, granddaughter, grandfather, grandmother, grandson, mother, mother-in-law, nephew, niece, etc.

There is also a chapter that I found helpful called Crash Course in Common Courtesy where you will learn words such as adelante (go ahead), con gusto (with pleasure), con permiso (excuse me), disculpa (excuse me), igualmente (same to you), etc.

If you did not purchase Speaking Spanish Like a Native, I would advise buying it before investing in the sequel.
But you should be aware that this book does cover a lot of Mexican Spanish. So this book may have you speaking Spanish Like A Mexican. That may be great if you want to travel to Mexico or if you live in the south western part of this country. But for others who are interested in South American, Caribbean or European Spanish, this book may "no sirve" (not work).

Now I would like to leave you with my list of 7 favorite products for learning Spanish that I think will help anyone who wants to learn or improve their Spanish. As you can see from many of my recommendations, I enjoy reading stories in Spanish because I believe reading stories really make the language stick in your head.

1. Easy Spanish Reader w/CD-ROM: A Three-Part Text for Beginning Students (Easy Reader Series) I enjoy learning Spanish by reading because I believe reading helps make the language stick. Make sure that you get the version of this book that comes with the additional CD which contains recordings of passages from the book so that you can download them to your Ipod or mp3 player and improve your ability to understand the language when you hear someone speak it.
2. Spanish Stories / Cuentos Españoles (A Dual-Language Book) (English and Spanish Edition) This is my second favorite Spanish reader.
3. Short Stories in Spanish: New Penguin Parallel Text (New Penguin Parallel Texts) (Spanish and English Edition) Another great book for anyone who likes to learn a language by reading.
4. First Spanish Reader: A Beginner's Dual-Language Book (Beginners' Guides) (English and Spanish Edition) A very popular book for learning the language by reading that I also enjoyed immensely.
5. Verbarrator Version 1.1 (Windows Version) This fun and interactive software has been a tremendous help for me in allowing me to now master what was once the most hardest part of learning Spanish for me (learning how to conjugate Spanish verbs).
6. Spanish for Reading: A Self-Instructional Course This book has done wonders to help my Spanish reading comprehension.
7. Correct Your Spanish Blunders: How to Avoid 99% of the Common Mistakes Made by Learners of Spanish If you are studying Spanish on your own and not with the help of a Spanish instructor, I strongly recommend that you get a copy of this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Way to go!, June 10, 2008
By 
C. Yetts (Dallas, TX, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Speaking Spanish Like a Native: The Sequel (Perfect Paperback)
This is another terrific book written by Erika Domínguez and Brad Kim. Their first book was excellent and this sequel just picks up where the first one left off. In this book, you will find a ton of words and expressions that most Spanish books (and textbooks) never touch upon--words and expressions that will propel you way ahead of the average student learning Spanish. Another hit worthy of 5 stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Speaking Spanish like a native, June 15, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Speaking Spanish Like a Native: The Sequel (Perfect Paperback)
This book is written for Spanish learners who have advanced past the beginner's stage. I found it very interestingly written and helpful in my quest to learn Spanish. Worth the money. Certainly it is the "real" everyday Spanish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review of Speaking Spanish Like a Native, the Sequel, October 13, 2012
This review is from: Speaking Spanish Like a Native: The Sequel (Perfect Paperback)
Length:: 4:14 Mins

I'm Natalia Vélez, Spanish instructor from eLearnSpanishOnline where I give free video Spanish lessons and free podcast Spanish lessons. I am now also teaching free learning-Spanish Webinars (web-based seminars).

"The Sequel" which is a continuation of "Speaking Spanish Like a Native" is a book that will teach you Spanish words and phrases that you will only learn if you live in a Spanish speaking country. And just like the first book in the series, this book is written in a playful and entertaining style which makes it lots of fun to learn Spanish with this book. The author says that he is able to understand what native Spanish speakers are saying in their private conversations when they are waiting in line at the store. He says that this is a very exhilarating feeling and that he wants you to also be able to experience this feeling.

This book has several very interesting chapters to read. In the "Language-Learning Survival Tips" chapter there is a section called "The Ten Commandments of Learning Spanish." This section gives 10 rules or tips for learning Spanish that are very helpful. For example,

"Thou Shalt Not Worry Too Much About Being Judged a Gringo"

This rule or this tip says that Latinos or Spaniards know that Spanish is not your first language. So it is OK if you make mistakes while speaking Spanish. Maybe you will conjugate a verb incorrectly. Or maybe you will use "tú" when you should be using "usted." But this should not stop you from speaking Spanish. Because the only way that you will learn is by making mistakes. Of course, you should also strive to correct your mistakes and make improvements with your Spanish.

Another rule or tip that he gives is that "Thou Shalt Use It or Lose It." Although with some hobbies, such as physical fitness, it is a good idea to take a break. But not with Spanish. You should practice Spanish every day by speaking, listening and learning the language.

My favorite rule or tip that he gives in "The Ten Commandments of Learning Spanish" is that "Thou Shall Take a Trip to the Promise Land."

Here, the author advises the reader to take a trip to the Spanish speaking country of his or her choice. The author says that even if you don't have much money or time, if you truly want to be fluent in Spanish you will find a way to take a trip to a Spanish speaking country. By the way, if you are interested in improving your Spanish while visiting a very beautiful city with pleasant spring-like weather all year long, then I encourage you to visit my home, Medellin, Colombia.

Another very interesting chapter in this book is the chapter called "Sticks and Stones." In this section you will learn lots of Spanish adjectives and nouns that you can use to talk about people. Some of the words are affectionate, others are offensive, and many are neutral. Some of the words that you will learn in this section are:

Atento - attentive, thoughtful
Llorón - crybaby
Claridoso - blunt. But In Colombia, we use the term "frente" to describe someone who speaks his or her mind at the risk of offending others. And in some Spanish speaking countries they use the term "franco."
Aburrido - boring
Amigo con derechos - friend with benefits
Desgraciado - wretch

I highly recommend this book for anyone who wants to learn Spanish as it is spoken in Latin America, especially for someone who does not have the time or money to do much traveling. But I want you to be aware that a lot of the Spanish words and phrases taught in this book are Spanish words and phrases that you may only hear spoken in Mexico.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Required, July 13, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Speaking Spanish Like a Native: The Sequel (Perfect Paperback)
If you want to speak spanish this book should be required reading! After learning basic grammer and the dreaded subjunctive, this book will take you to a new level. Fluent spanish speakers will be amazed that you have mastered their language after you have mastered the content of the book. And no: I am not related to the authors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Written in the vein of another favorite of mine, August 9, 2013
By 
KAS (Boston, MA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Speaking Spanish Like a Native: The Sequel (Perfect Paperback)
I've learned a lot from the original version (which sadly is no longer in print) and this sequel. I don't think you can read these books cover to cover and absorb everything - you need to revisit them over time. They have solved a number of mysteries for me. They remind me of one of my all time favorite Spanish instruction books - "Breaking out of Beginners Spanish" by Joseph J. Keenan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book helps fills the conversational gap, June 1, 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Speaking Spanish Like a Native: The Sequel (Perfect Paperback)
Wonderful book that fills the gap between speaking classroom spanish and true conversational spanish. You will learn commonly used phrases and sayings that you did not learn in the classroom. Very enjoyable book and a great tool!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Speaking Spanish Like a Native: The Sequel
Speaking Spanish Like a Native: The Sequel by Brad Kim (Perfect Paperback - February 5, 2008)
Used & New from: $8.60
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.