Customer Reviews


262 Reviews
5 star:
 (131)
4 star:
 (74)
3 star:
 (30)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


100 of 105 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a must buy.
At first glance, Spec Ops: The Line appears to be an incredibly generic game. The trailer shows a soldier standing in front of various war scenes while an ominous narrator talks about "dramatic" things. The name itself makes it sound like it is part of a series of cheap knock-off games you could find in Walmart for 10$. The boxart brings out the cliche black and white...
Published on July 5, 2012 by BAITness

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars its ok.
story was garbage imo. the way it ends was a cop out. only purchased because it was on sale. wouldnt recommend
Published 3 months ago by Michael


‹ Previous | 1 2 327 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, not great, July 1, 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Spec Ops: The Line - PC (DVD-ROM)
I only wish it was longer. Story wise, I havent played another game like it. Has a killer story, that has I think 3 possible outcomes.
Only 7ish hours to beat....I wish it took 10 or more but a solid game for those 7.

Haha blame steam for your "review", or lack of...GJ buddy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An emotionally engrossing experience., April 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Spec Ops: The Line [Download] (Software Download)
What happens when a violent video game makes you stop and wonder "maybe I should stop playing"? Not because the game is bad, but because you need to stop and think about wtf just happened. This game made me ask out loud "did that just happen? In this game that I am playing now, did that just happen?" On the gameplay front, the game is a competent third person shooter. Get in cover, aim down sights, and gun down bad guys. The thing though is that by the time you finish the game, it makes you question just who were bad guys really are. The game is depressing to the point of genius. This is a game that every gamer must finish. Not just play, but finish to the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best FPS Story I've had in a while, December 14, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Spec Ops: The Line [Download] (Software Download)
I will keep this brief. If you want a game with a refreshing outlook on FPS single player campaigns, then look no further. Not only are the graphics better than COD, but there game play and story are so much more rewarding. Trust me, if you play this game from start to finish, you will feel that your money was really well spent. This game was recommended to me by a friend, and I could not agree with him more. I don't want to give away too much of the game, but I will say that your choices matter on some parts and the amount this game engages your psyche and moral values is astonishing. This game reminds us of what a really good campaign story really is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This is a MUST Play for any Shooter game Enthusiats., December 7, 2012
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Spec Ops: The Line - PC (DVD-ROM)
To give one word describing Spec Ops the Line's release into an over saturated military shooter game market, is none other than "wonderful." Now, I know you are thinking "wait, why wonderful? Wouldn't that word be pertaining to something positive or gleeful nature? Not some 3rd person shooter that shows the horrors of Post Traumatic Stress Disorder and war in general?" It would yes, but the developers Yager and publisher's 2K games unleashed a single player experience that needs to be played at some point for the violent military shooter game enthusiast.

The main thrill of Spec Ops The Line's firefights are pretty much hit or miss. Where it misses, the game immediately makes it up in the dark, gritty narrative presentation. At first you think this trio of Delta squad operatives are going to hint at the typical cockiness we've seen in games like Gears of War or other first person shooters. But as the story progresses into it's Heart of Darkness theme, the main characters start to show very realistic emotional and physical responses to what they do to enemies and civilians in Dubai. The dialogue is once again top notch with Nolan North in probably one of his best motion captures and voice overs. Please note that this game's content is very Mature rated. Profanity is abundant and the violent imagery is tremendous. The scenery of post sandstorm Dubai is beautiful. Lots of debris "invisible walls" persist, but the amount of detail to various locations are displayed dramatically and strangely beautiful. When playing on PC, the in game character models are very well done. Most notably is the transition the main characters endure and how their models change as the story goes on. Sand plays as the new destructive barrel gimmick and I welcomed the idea of shooting glass to have sand crashing down burying enemy soldiers. The music soundtrack helps the atmosphere while in game with very familiar tracks by well known artists. The original score created by the development team adds the perfect desperate and "time is running out" mood. Players who watched Apocalypse, Now! will notice these music elements fit perfectly. Spec Ops the Line is officially the "Silent Hill" of military shooter games.

The most discussed subject of criticism this game received was it's very lackluster multiplayer. I did not touch one bit of it because my intent was to play the campaign. In honesty, they should have taken it completely out. Not every game that involves shooting has to have the element of multiplayer. Most cases, it can't help a game's longevity, especially if you direct your marketing to the single player portion. Yager could have focused more on the single player to polish up loose ends and add more play time. The biggest issue I had was with the control. It handled okay on PC. My hiccups were sometimes trying to aim right while messing with cover and sprinting. It felt weird, but it is was a small issue. The AI for this game will not be like Call of Duty or Battlefield variety. Sometimes it will be easy to dominate, other times you will be aggravated at the random difficulty increase of trying to flank while being barraged by bullets. It did get old watching the screen change color with the sound muffling mechanic when close to death. I've never been a fan of these, but 3rd person shooter developers (Naughty Dog or Sucker Punch for example) love to include these annoying effects. The strangest moment I had was after reading a loading screen tip about a certain sniper rifle able "to kill any enemy no matter what location," and a direct chest and head shot on an heavy soldier didn't allow that. The final gripe I had was the quick slow down in time after getting a random head shot that the developers thought would add to the grittiness in game. The over the top gimmick of a headshot resulting the head completely blown off from a single bullet be if from a M1A4 assault rifle or M-9 pistol was not needed. This mechanic fails when you look at a body model's lack of design effort. It's just weird.

The story gets dark and morbid fast, and it's nice to see how your squad mates react to the destruction you wrought upon enemies and Dubai itself. This is a rare gem in these days of shooter video games. I loved how Yager wasn't afraid to show how screwed up a militaristic action could go then take the action seriously. Killing is never easy and the justifications of what is murder and righteous start to blur each other out. If you thought the airport level/scene in Call of Duty Modern Warfare 2 was shocking, just wait till you experience certain parts in Spec Ops The Line. The game version I played had Steamworks support, which is an immediate plus in my book. I personally would not have paid full price for this game. If on a Steam or Amazon sale, I would consider purchasing it for a weekend play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent game with real storyline., December 6, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Spec Ops: The Line - PC (DVD-ROM)
The graphics and the game play were good but it is the storyline that really makes this game shine. It really does make you think about the consequences of your actions as well as face the reality that even good motives can lead to totally unexpected results. This is certainly true in war as well as a lot of aspects of life. The game was very enjoyable. The only real criticism I have is that the single player mode was a little short. If you are into FPS I would definitely recommend this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love this game., December 3, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Spec Ops: The Line [Download] (Software Download)
I like that I could download it and instantly play it. The game play is awesome as well. A must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, November 15, 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Spec Ops: The Line - PC (DVD-ROM)
Amazon asked me "how much fun is this game?" I gave it 5 stars because I want to praise the game, but it should be noted that a game should not necessarily be judged by how "fun" it is, and expecting all games to be "fun" is holding the medium back. How can a tragedy be "fun"? It's like requiring that all movies and books be "fun" for them to be considered good. Come on, Amazon.

To get right into it, this game is not "fun". The developers had created this with a message in mind: pointing a finger directly at games like Call of Duty, which glorify war by making it into something you play for fun or a sense of accomplishment. Spec Ops slaps Call of Duty in the face for this. War is not fun. War is horrible, and this game does an incredible job of demonstrating just how terrifying war can be, and it also explores the effects of PTSD on soldiers who have to endure this hell.

If ever there were a tasteful "game" depicting war and murder, Spec Ops: The Line is it.

There is no sense of "accomplishment" to this game. Everything you do results in horrible consequences, and every wrong you attempt to right only sucks you into a downward spiral for which there is no bottom.

This game is worth buying for story alone. I would even recommend this game to people who aren't "gamers"; just turn the difficulty down and try it. Games with a plot like this don't come along very often. It is worth noting that you *need* to play this game, not watch someone who is playing it. A big part of the experience is you, the player, doing things and then suffering intense guilt for having done them; merely watching the game takes out a significant element of the experience. YOU are playing a role, and the role affects you just as much as it affects your character in game. It is worth noting that you actually have a surprising degree of freedom in this game, but you might not know it if you're used to conventional "video game logic".

Side note: if any game can be better experienced by playing rather than watching it be played, then that game is a rare gem: this requires significant and expert interweaving of mechanics and theme and story, and no, open end RPGs do not automatically count, if anything it's significantly harder to achieve this because you can easily lose control over theme by giving the players too much choice.

It should be noted that the developers were forced to include multiplayer in this game, against their will. Publishers have this stupid notion that multiplayer makes a game sell better. That's time and resources wasted into a meaningless component that could have gone into improving the game itself. Regardless of the numbers, the inclusion of multiplayer in this game actively goes against the game's own theme (and one of the lead directors mentions this and how furious he was at being forced to implement it). War is hell, but in multiplayer you kill others for fun! Yeah, no. I'm not going to play the multiplayer, I recommend others don't either. The game's mechanics don't really work for PvP multiplayer anyway.

Speaking of mechanics, it is true that there are some design choices that I question, and after beating the game I still wonder if I misunderstood how to use the sprint/cover button correctly. In Mass Effect 3, there is one button for sprint, take cover, and vault. You hold the button to sprint, if you're sprinting and run into a wall you take over there, and if you in cover and are pressing forward when you press the key again, you'll vault/jump over the cover. In Spec ops, sometimes you can hold the sprint key and automatically take cover when you get somewhere? Sometimes you need to press the button again... and the game claims you don't need to hold down the sprint key, but I don't know if I trust it, and I don't even know how to stop sprinting; I just sort of awkwardly slow down and maybe stop past where I wanted to, usually resulting in my death. Then there is a separate button for jumping, which would be fine if I weren't used to Mass Effect 3's setup. Now that I think of it, Mass Effect 3 had a lot of bugs centered around the system trying to understand what you want to do with about 4 possible actions assigned to one button that you hold down at all times, and Spec Ops logically approaches this correctly... but it certainly wasn't intuitive. Another problem with Spec Ops is if you are in cover and strafe while looking around, you're going to stand up and die. The game won't lock you into cover (again, it sounds like they were trying to avoid some of Mass Effect's flaws), so if you press left and face left o look where you are going, you're going to start walking away from your cover. Took me a while to get used to this. Also I think there were some other bugs that annoyed the heck out of initially me, but I can't for the life of me remember what they were since the plot *blew my mind*.

I give this game a 10/10 despite the flaws. Why? If a game sets out to do something, and does what it sets out to do so extraordinarily well that it might be considered perfect, then who cares about a bug here and there? Unless you are physically prevented from playing the game, then it shouldn't matter. The focus is not in the mechanics, but in the plot and player choice, The creators had an idea and in creating this game, the idea is so perfectly realized and communicated to the player that gameplay bugs seem irrelevant. I guess it's kind of like, I think it's stupid when reviewers break down a game into music, gameplay, plot, visuals, give each a rating over ten and then average the rating to come up with the final score. What the hell kind of logic is that? There was a song in it that didn't particular suit you so the whole game gets marked down for it? Or the graphics aren't quite up to par, and somehow that makes the game itself worse?

This game is not without its flaws, but it is certainly more than worth a look; hell I don't care who you are, if you appreciate a good story or meaningful literature, GET THIS GAME.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, July 4, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Spec Ops: The Line [Download] (Software Download)
If you like Gears of War style gameplay this is the game for you. A must buy for $25 for pc owners.
Pros
-great story
-great gameplay
-7-8 hours of campaign

cons
-multiplayer sucks

Great game at a great price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mac (Get it cheaper!), December 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Spec Ops: The Line [Download] (Software Download)
This is a good solid shooter, the gameplay is good and rewards patience and care - you can't go in all guns blazing. The cover system was a annoying at times, not sticking when you really needed it to, but by and large it worked very well. The story and the tone were good for a change, and genuinely shocking at points - you may find yourself not liking your character though.

The game has a choice mechanic in it, with you choosing what to do faced with various ethical challenges. The game's still linear though, but you might find some decisions tough to make ethically - which lends itself to the greater message of the game : War is hell, and sometimes it presents choices where there is no right decision.

LAST TIP : This is a steam universal game, so you can buy the PC version but then download the mac version (Amazon normally sells the PC version cheaper, sometimes by $10/$20). To get the mac version, just buy the PC version on amazon and download steam (google 'steam powered'). Then open steam, go to 'add game' in the bottom left of your library, choose activate steam product, then paste the CD Key which Amazon will give you (it's displayed in your Amazon Games Library). You'll then be able to download the Mac version and save yourself the dough.

NB: This is possible because Amazon sells the Steam DRM version of the game, check that this tip is not out of date by looking at the DRM listed at the top of the product page (scroll right up, it's next to the title by DRM).

Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ***Good Little Game w/plenty of Action***, December 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Spec Ops: The Line - PC (DVD-ROM)
I really like FPS and this one was on sale. It activates through Steam so you'll know and initially it wouldn't play but found through forums that it was a missing .dll causing the problem. If anyone is having the same problem there is a fix. Can't remember off hand the exact .dll that caused it but do know it had to be copied and pasted in the game itself even though it is a Steam game (usually not a problem) and did find the answer on the Steam forum covering this game. BTW my OS is Win7x64.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 327 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Spec Ops: The Line [Download]
$29.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.