Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Pink Floyd Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro STEM

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 4, 2008
I have read two other books by the author (Neal SEAL workout, and Master Level Fitness) and this is by far his best book to date, and I rate it BEST IN CLASS. There are so many "SEAL" fit-type books in the marketplace and I have read them all, but this is the very best of all of the ones available to the reader. The book is well-organized, is broken up into separate workouts depending on which branch of service you want to emulate. Workouts are progressive and even though most are based on bodyweight calesthenics, there is an alternate workout that combines weights with calesthenics.
Overall I am very pleased with the book and it was worth the wait.
Kirk Taylor, Fort Worth, TX
0Comment| 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon January 24, 2010
This is an excellent set of workouts. They are mostly body weight exercises, so relatively cheap to do at home, but there are a number of weight routines to suppliment them.

It would be easy to get wrapped up in the Special Ops hype or equally easy to be put off by it, but once you actually read past the brief descriptions and histories of the various military units, the book settles down to a first rate discussion of fitness, a set of exercise routines based on different special operations units and their specific needs, and thorough descriptions of all the exercises. The book is written for a 'user's level', so there is not a lot of sports medicine or detailed anatomy, but this makes it easier to use (for me).

The most important point I came away with was that you do not need to spend a lot of money on equipment or gyms, you do not need to join a club, and you do not need a vast range of exercises to get into shape or stay in shape. You need the perservence and the self-discipline to make exercise part of your daily life, and the strength of character to avoid cop outs like "it's boring", "I couldn't get to the gym" or "it's hard"

This is an excellent program for someone who does not have any medical issues, but wants a clear roadmap from where they are with their fitness to where they can go.

E. M. Van Court
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 16, 2008
AWESOME book!! You don't have to be a Navy Seal, Army Ranger, etc. to enjoy this book, or to utilize the information in it. The author puts it all in easy to understand terms, lots of pictures, and thorough descriptions of all the exercises. From begginer to camando, this book will help you out, get you in shape, and make you feel better physically and mentally. He even includes workout forms to track your progress, and charts to lay out the perfect plan for you.
I would highly recommend this book to anyone interested in improving their health, look and feel bettr.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 13, 2015
I have been a personal and team trainer for years, and have
always tried to find new ways to challenge my trainees, and
I have added much of what is in this book to my program.
There is an old fitness saying, Always make sure first, that
you can lift your own body weight.
And that is what most of these exercises are......lifting your
own body weight......over and over, or pulling up your own
body weight.......over and over.
How many times have you watched a huge muscled guy at
the gym try to do a few pullups?
You won't see it often, because they can not do more than one.
Sure they can curl a 60lb dumbell 10 times, before they take a
break.
That looks good, but does little for them out in the real World.
I am not saying, stop lifting weights, keep them in your total
"fitness program", but don't get locked on doing just weights.
Try this program, along with everything else that you do.
And remember.....Push Yourself And Never Be The First One
To Stop.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 12, 2009
I've used Mark De lisle book "Navy Seal Workout" and gained 7kg of muscle rather quick! I loved the book, it's exercises, the style and intensity! However doing the same workout over and over again isnt good
so I decided to buy this book that he also wrote! I must say that these workouts are excellent and has more information on training the legs. It's great for muscle development to switch exercises and intensity!
Since I've been doing the Navy Seal Workout for months I started off with the Army Ranger workout and aim to complete that level and then moving to a more demanding workout for the upperbody!

As always with these kind of workouts! Do no not underestimate it even if it might seem like "easy workouts" they are everything but easy and takes alot of stamina, strength and endurance both mentally and physically!
It is the combination rather then individual exercises that leads up to impressive results! As I've said I gained 7kg. The only thing that is missing is information on what to eat after the workouts! I recommend milk and bananas as close to the workout as possible, I would also recommend to stretch after the workouts and not only before.

/Pontus
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 15, 2009
This is a good book, but its meant more for someone who has little to no experience with working out.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon July 31, 2010
This book is filled with good hard fundamental workouts. Other reviewers have critized the workouts for lack of variation but there is only so many different ways to put push-ups, pull-ups, sit-ups, and leg exercises together. I thought there were a bunch of good exercises in here. I use it as a reference book and mix and match from the various exercises presented. Admittedly, some of the exercises I knew already (I've been at it for 20 years now), but this book had a enough good stuff to make it worth it. As a bonus, the physical fitness tests of the various military units are presented within.

Note that most of the exercises are body-weight exercises. Although there is a smaller section on weight lifting, I wouldn't use this book as a reference for that. Note also that the workouts in the book are high level, high intesity workouts.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 17, 2012
I would recommend this book to those with a baseline knowledge of working out with weights and body weight excercises. There is some sketchy adivce in the beginning of the book telling you "Don't listen to your body! Push through the pain!," which may be great adivice if you're actually trying to get into the SEALS or P.J.'s, but in reality, that's pretty horrible advice. So, if you're smart enough to know that and recognize your capablilites, then this book is great!

The things that I like about it is that it has an overview of the Special Ops themselves, such as the SEALs, Rangers, P.J.'s, Marine Force Recon, and Delta Force. That part was cool to me. Then it went on to describe the phyiscal fitness aspects of the minimum qualifications of getting into these elite groups and their typical daily excercises.

Even though I have a pretty good knowledge of excersises and lifting, I enjoyed this book. It is mostly body weight excersises, and the pictures that demonstrate them are pretty clear and easy to understand. There is enough variety to keep things interesting. There are pages of blank forms to track your progress. This book is motiviating in the fact that if you are wanting to challange yourself to see if you have what it takes to do the physical aspects of joining our elite special operations! Recommended to those who have a basic understanding of working out, body physiology and correct technique. Probably not a good first book for someone who has little or no experience.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I have always had a passion for fitness books, especially military fitness manuals. What I really like about this one is it has specific routines taken from all the special operation services such as Navy SEALS, Delta Force, Marine Force Recon and Army Rangers.

This text is organized into three sections. Section one provides an overview of the material being covered such as striving for peak performance, history of special operations, special Ops training and mental attitude. Part two explains how to use this book, the importance of stretching and exercise routines of the Air Force Para-rescue, Army Ranger, Green Beret, Marine Force Recon, and Navy SEALs. It also has an alternate workout program using weights.

The final part of this manual shows the specifics of every single exercise in this program. It shows with clear photographs how to do the jumping jacks, Iron Mikes, Chest Stretch, Side to side stretch, Groin stretch, Quad stretch, various types of Pull-Ups, different ways to do the Push-Ups, the Eight-Count Body Builders, Crunches, Flutter kick and numerous other movements that are part of the Special Ops exercise routines.

Besides the illustrated exercises there are endurance type routines that are unique to the particular branch of service. For example, the Army Rangers are known for their long walks carrying equipment. The Navy SEALS and Marine Force Recon are known for their long swims.

In conclusion, as the author advises, begin slowly and work up to the actual Special Ops exercise routines explained in the book. This book will be of interest to anyone who is into combat fitness programs.

Rating: 5 Stars. Joseph J. Truncale (Author: Predator Hunter: A Warrior's Memoir).
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 11, 2010
This is a great book for someone looking for a good workout routine.
It has great workout schedules and has many different workouts with pictures to show how to perform them correctly.
This book has more then enough info to help you get buff.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse