Customer Reviews


140 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (38)
3 star:
 (40)
2 star:
 (16)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SciFi Action with Sex Appeal
Don't be mistaken, the focus of this movie is to entertain. Mission accomplished! If your looking for a deep meaningful movie forget it. If your offended by nudity forget it. If action, gun play, and horror offend you forget it.
Species is a SciFi\Action thriller with sex appeal. From the opening to the close of the movie your senses are bombarded with the...
Published on August 11, 2000 by Mart

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Classic?
Species has undergone so many VHS/DVD releases, repackaging ... that it's really hard to arrive at a decent opinion on this Blu-ray release.

The very same weakly-acted alien story that played in theatres presents itself on this Blu-ray release. The transfer, however ... is almost embarrassing. I've been treated to some sweet Blu-ray transfers (Ratatouille,...
Published on December 14, 2007 by Trevor Adams


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SciFi Action with Sex Appeal, August 11, 2000
By 
Mart (Tampa, FL USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Species (DVD)
Don't be mistaken, the focus of this movie is to entertain. Mission accomplished! If your looking for a deep meaningful movie forget it. If your offended by nudity forget it. If action, gun play, and horror offend you forget it.
Species is a SciFi\Action thriller with sex appeal. From the opening to the close of the movie your senses are bombarded with the goings on of a very sexy and very often nude Natasha Henstridge's fight for her alien life. The story line is solid and cohesive, with a few twists and turns thrown in this classic SciFi tale. Species is filled with: great actions sequences, excellent sound, very high quality production, and good acting from a superb cast. A classic mix of SciFi and Action required viewing for any true SciFi buff and an excellent choice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blu-ray Quality Review, June 11, 2007
This review is from: Species [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
While the film itself is a love it or hate hit kind of thing (as far as the story and actors and whatnot), I would like to rate the actual quality of the disk and what separates it from the dvd version.

The Blu-ray version of this movie is much better than all the other version. Better quality images, better quality sound, and you even get a cool glimpse into Giger's creative process with a extra on the blu-ray that shows him creating the "evil train" sequence.

Personally, I liked the movie - but I think what most people want to know is, is it worth buying the blu-ray version vs. the dvd version and the answer to that question is DEFINATELY!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 49 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Mating Game, October 25, 2004
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Species (Special Edition) (DVD)
For years we humans have been looking for signs of life other than what's on this great, greasy mud ball we affectionately know as Earth. We've sent probes, satellites, and signals out into that vast darkness...we've searched the heavens with powerful telescopes and listened with highly sophisticated equipment design to detect anything that could point to the possibility of intelligence other than our own...and for all our efforts we got...squat...that is, until now...

Directed by Roger Donaldson (I was a bit wary here, as this was the man responsible for awful films Cocktail and Cadillac Man, but he did a really good film in that of No Way Out, so I'm torn...), Species (1995) stars certainly an interesting cast including the very busy Ben Kingsley (Ghandi), who slated to appear in a whopping seven films in 2005 (I think he's trying to compete with Gene Hackman and Michael Caine for the title of most prolific actor), Michael Madsen (Reservoir Dogs, Kill Bill Vol's 1 and 2), Alfred Molina (Doc Ock in a little film called Spider-Man 2), Forest Whitaker (I'm still highly annoyed with this guy, who I generally like as an actor, for appearing in John Travolta's ego stroking pet project Battlefield Earth...damn you John Travolta!), Marg Helgenberger (CSI), and introducing every sci-fi nerd's wet dream, the highly curvaceous and infinitely squeezalicious Natasha Henstridge (I can't help wonder if this film would have done as well had they chosen another actress, say Rosie O'Donnell? I suppose not...)

Anyway, it seems all of our efforts to find intelligent life in space has finally paid off, as a message was received, one detailing plans regarding re-sequencing human DNA to create a human/alien hybrid. The gooberment project, headed by Xaiver Fitch (Kingsley) has succeeded, creating a new life form in that of girl known as Sil (who later becomes Henstridge, due to a rapid, internal development process). Now, I would have thought it unwise to screw around with space DNA, as who knows what you'll get, but they also received instructions for a limitless energy supply from the same source, so they assumed the aliens who sent the message were friendly...gullible fools. After it's decided that Sil is progressing too quickly, and may become dangerous, the secret group agrees the best course is termination, but Sil disagrees, and escapes. Since it's not feasible to announce to the general public that there's a dangerous human/alien hybrid on the loose, one created by our own gooberment, in the newspapers and on TV, Fitch assembles a specialized team to track and kill Sil before she reaches her full potential, something they are still unsure of...but here's a hint...it involves making with the boom boom and the pitter patter of tiny little feet...or claws, or whatever...

I saw this film with a married couple when first released, and my friend and I thought it was pretty darn good, but his wife felt different. When asked why she didn't like the movie, she said "There was too much nudity." At that point I left well enough alone rather than try to explain how, since Sil was unfamiliar with our customs, clothing, at times, was optional for her. I will agree there was a whole lot of nekkidness, but hey, I'm a guy, and I'd be lying if I said I didn't like to see beautiful nekkid women. Obviously Henstridge was chosen for her assets, and her willingness to display them, but she did say much later that the role opened many doors for her...I'm sure it did...the plot, a group of diverse specialists gathered together to deal with an unusual problem, smacks of any number of Michael Crichton stories, as they all play out this way, but it's not done quite as well here as it is in a Crichton story. The actors do well enough with what they're given, but there was shallowness in each of their characters. I suppose this matters little, as the film is meant to be just fun and exciting, and not an in depth character study. I did find Whitaker as Dan the empathic character a bit annoying at times, as his abilities seemed to work with pinpoint accuracy at times, but conveniently fail at critical moments. Madsen, as the gooberment `liquidator' brings nothing we haven't seen in a handful of his other roles, making me think he graduated from The Keanu Reeves School of Acting with honors. The plot has its problems, but it seems to care little as it rolls along at a fairly speedy pace, and does keep the audience engaged. I thought some of the characters were a bit too `hands on', specifically Fitch, especially since he seemed to have a whole lot of resources available to him (as we all know, the gooberment has the deep pockets, and seem to care little for how they throw our tax dollars around). The special effects do look really good, and the distinctive H.R. Giger (Alien) influences are very apparent (he actually design the human/alien hybrid creature) and entirely worth any fan of Swiss auteur's surrealistic work to check this film out.

The wide screen picture on this DVD looks really good, and the audio is available in three formats DTS 5.1, Dolby Digital 5.1, Dolby Digital 2.0 Surround. I'm not entirely sure what qualifies this as a `special edition', other than two separate commentary tracks, one featuring director Roger Donaldson and actors Michael Madsen and Natasha Henstridge, and a second with director Roger Donaldson, producer Frank Mancuso Jr., visual effects supervisor Richard Edlund, and creature and special makeup effects creator Steve Johnson. There is a trailer for this film, along with a few others for other MGM releases, and a sneak peek into Species 3 (which I think is going to be a direct to video release), but not a whole heck of a lot else. I just thought the popularity of the film would have meant more...like a Giger video sketchbook or something...oh well...

Cookieman108
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Love Drive..., November 7, 2004
This review is from: Species (Special Edition) (DVD)
Poor SIL (Natasha Henstridge), she's just a gal on the hunt for l-o-v-e. Too bad she's a human / alien hybrid who slaughters more people than a runaway threshing machine! Raised in a glass cage in a top secret facility, SIL found out as a young girl that her creators (led by Ben Kingsley) had scheduled her for termination. So, she promptly escaped, hopped a cargo train, killed a pervert who tried to attack her, hopped a passenger train, killed the ticket-lady, spun herself into a gooey coccoon; and entered adulthood like any other citizen. Now on the loose, SIL is being tracked by a team of scientists (Kingsley, Alfred "Doc Oc" Molina, and Marg "CSI" Helgenberger), an empath (Forest Whitaker), and a government "exterminator" (Michael "Kill Bill" Madsen). SIL does whatever it takes to survive and mate, dispatching many unsuspecting males and females in the process! Henstridge is to SPECIES what Arny is to THE TERMINATOR. She is driven toward a goal and will let nothing stand in her way. Gorey but intelligent, I liked this one a lot. Check it out...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Classic?, December 14, 2007
This review is from: Species [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Species has undergone so many VHS/DVD releases, repackaging ... that it's really hard to arrive at a decent opinion on this Blu-ray release.

The very same weakly-acted alien story that played in theatres presents itself on this Blu-ray release. The transfer, however ... is almost embarrassing. I've been treated to some sweet Blu-ray transfers (Ratatouille, Pirates 3, and 300, to name a few) and this, my friends, is not one of them. When the screen should be black, it's gray and splotchy. Compression artifacts spoil the image throughout the film. The audio is nothing to write home (or to Amazon) about. This is one generic, zero-effort transfer and I hope to never see this bland of a transfer again on Blu. The film is not unwatchable, mind you ... it just seems like it's the DVD, blown up to 1080p. That's not my idea of high-definition.

My opinion: Stick to new Blu releases only ... or releases of old films with some sort of indication on the box that the film has been remastered for high-definition.

So, keep your original DVD copy and spend your money on something else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great Concept, Poorly Executed, June 18, 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Species [VHS] (VHS Tape)
The idea of aliens sending DNA to earth, ostensibly as a good will gesture, but actually as a "stealth" attack is a good one. The idea that this DNA would be hybridized with that of humans to create a hybrid species which would colonize earth is also a good one. It is certainly a good idea to have Natasha Hentridge play the alien "breeder". This is exactly the way you would want the creature to look.
Unfortunately, good initial ideas don't always result in a good movie. The script is horrible, the acting stilted, and even the special effects aren't all they should be. One of the biggest problems with the film is the scientists are made far too stupid. Example: One of them says "We made it a female because females are easier to control." Just like the black widow spider! Another example: The Alfred Molina character knows the creature is disguised as a gorgeous blonde. He then meets her and decides to have sex with her, anyway. Ben Kingsley's performance is certainly the low point of his career, although he didn't have much to work with.
And yes, Natasha looks great naked, but that's not enough to carry the movie. In less clumsy hands, this film might have become a classic of science fiction. As it turned out, it is a second rate thriller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent sci fi with some gore., February 10, 2011
By 
Michael Dobey (colorado springs) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Species [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I would ignore the one star reviews on this one.
This was not a B movie at the time it was released, in fact it was a A movie that did quite well and provided some good chills. It does have a few scenes that are gory and upset some of the non horror fans out there. Those type of people don't like to mix horror and sci fi , too bad for them. The blu ray print is clearer than the dvd's for certain. this wasn't shot on the best film stock like todays films so you can't expect to look like todays movies on blu ray. One reviewer who is oblivious to film stock didn't know this. I would say that they should have put species two on here too. In fact if they do release species two on blu, I would hope the others on are on it too. This was a great intro flick for the talented lead actress here as well. So if you are a horror and sci fi fan this one should wet your appetite, however this isn't for younger kids in the least. There is nudity and some real gory violence in this movie so it's not wise to put your preteens in front of this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars How did they get Sir Ben to make this one? lol, January 8, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Species [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Moderately entertaining sci-fi with transparently commercial premise: alien in form of astoundingly gorgeous and frequently naked Natasha Henstridge mates with humans to create hybrids which will destroy the planet.

The biggest mystery is how they EVER got Ben Kingsley involved in what is ultimately a cookie-cutter role as the team leader who tracks the alien down.

"Species" probably isn't one of Forest Whittaker's proudest moments either, although he does a competent turn as the psychic and "empath" who can read the alien's mind and sometimes anticipate her moves.

Bottom line: If you like women, Henstridge in the starring role is worth the price of admission by herself. She's almost as beautiful as Grace Kelly in "Rear Window" and every bit as sexy as Elisha Cuthbert in "Girl Next Door," even during the approximately half of Natasha's screen time where the script calls for her to have her clothes on (hint, hint). Richly deserves the "R" rating.

Hey, they don't ALL have to be Shakespeare, right?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars she's a predator . . . her eyes are in front, July 17, 2010
This review is from: Species (Special Edition) (DVD)
A science fiction based adventure with a fresh premise, Species (1995) is still probably most remembered for Natasha Henstridge's provocative performance in her feature film debut. With a background in fashion and modeling, the shapely twenty one year old was very comfortable with her body, and had few inhibitions about nudity. These factors would prove to be quite helpful, in the role of a sexy looking alien, seeking to reproduce. In addition to Henstridge, the film directed by Roger Donaldson (Thirteen Days), features a stellar cast that includes Ben Kingsley (Ghandi), Michael Madsen (Kill Bill), Marg Helgenberger (CSI), Forest Whittaker (The Last King of Scotland), Alfred Molina (Spider-Man 2), and Michelle Williams (Dawson's Creek).

As part of the SETI (Search for Extraterrestrial Intelligence) program, the US Government receives information from an alien race about how to create a new form of life. A research team headed by Xavier Finch (Kingsley) successfully produces a female alien named Sil, who escapes from a lab in Utah, when an attempt is made to terminate her life. Looking like a teenager, young Sil (Michelle Williams) escapes aboard a freight train, and then switches to a passenger train bound for Los Angeles. Aboard the train, Sil transforms into an adult (Henstridge), and hits LA eager to find a mate.

The Government organizes a team to hunt down the alien. Biologist Laura Baker (Helgenberger), anthropologist Stephen Arden (Molina), expediter Preston Lennox (Madsen), and empath Dan Smithson (Whitaker), are recruited to join the team led by Fitch. Tracking Sil, the team finds a bloody trail of those she has rejected as mates. As the group closes in, Smithson emerges as one of the keys to being able to locate Sil. The alien is quickly learning skills that help her to survive, and she does eventually find a mate, before escaping into the sewer system to give birth.

Although the film features special effects at key points, there isn't an overreliance on CGI. The affects are generally done pretty well, and Species does not appear too dated. Sil doesn't have a lot of dialog, and the character is heavily defined by her actions, as well as Natasha Henstridge's physical attributes. Her naked body is amply exposed at various times, but the nudity is tasteful, and appropriate to the story, which is constructed better than your average monster flick. Henstridge's performance has an uninhibited innocence, and makes for an impressive debut. Madsen, Helgenberger, and Whitaker also assume lead roles, and help to bring the film to an exciting climax.

Recorded some ten years after completion, a commentary track featuring director Donaldson, and stars Madsen and Henstridge, is informative, lively, and entertaining. Everyone is on good terms, and seems to be in a candid mood. Henstridge seems to have no regrets about making the film, and recalls how she was robbed while out on a date with one of the cast.

The success of Species has inspired as least three sequels, with Henstridge starring in Species II (1998), and making a cameo in Species III (2004). The franchise may have finally run its course with Species: The Awakening (2007). Well written, with sharp dialog, the original film is far and away regarded by most, as the best of the series, and strongly recommended to fans of science fiction and action movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Average Sci-Fi Flick With Sexy Alien, December 3, 2007
This review is from: Species (Special Edition) (DVD)
Species (Special Edition)

I have to admit that even though this flick is pretty dumb, I actually found it entertaining. What it lacked in intelligence was compensated in gore. The movie doesn't have the creepiness of Alien nor does it have the action of predator, but somehow it managed to keep my attention for the whole length of the picture. The movie starts in a top secret laboratory where scientists have found an alien life form that can be genetically mutated with our human DNA. The result is a beautiful female alien named Sill; who looks human on the outside but in fact is tentacle/ugly looking alien in the inside. Anyway this alien manages to escape her compound and run away. Now the government and a group of scientist are looking for her before she mates and creates the ultimate species. The movie isn't that realistic... But hey it's science fiction so it is excusable. If you are looking for a movie to watch over the weekend where you don't need that many brain cells to comprehend the thin plot go an rent SPECIES.

MY PERSONAL RATING: 2 ˝ OUT OF 5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Species
Species by Roger Donaldson (DVD - 1997)
$14.98 $7.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.