Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unique Packaging and No Extras
Unlike the first Speed Racer DVD in the series, this third installment comes with absolutely no extras. I watched the whole thing. It just has the episodes. If you have the first two, this one is more of the same.

The packaging for this DVD is unique. Instead of a traditional DVD case, the disk comes in a round, steel container. Inside is a piece of foam to...
Published on May 29, 2005 by N. Lim

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not the same quality as the first 2 seasons
Just a short feedback. I have the first 2 discs, their quality is OK, given the fact that this is an old cartoon. The second package is brilliant, very nice with the musical cover.

But this one, what a mess. Lousy package and bad video quality. What happened? The picture is not sharp, there are artifacts and the video is somewhat degraded. Are the originals...
Published on June 23, 2005 by Spookie


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unique Packaging and No Extras, May 29, 2005
By 
N. Lim (Santa Clara, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Speed Racer , Vol. 3 - Episodes 24-36 (DVD)
Unlike the first Speed Racer DVD in the series, this third installment comes with absolutely no extras. I watched the whole thing. It just has the episodes. If you have the first two, this one is more of the same.

The packaging for this DVD is unique. Instead of a traditional DVD case, the disk comes in a round, steel container. Inside is a piece of foam to protect the disk from scratching. During shipping, the disk rattles around in the container, which I think may still scratch the disk. The container sits on top of an open piece of cardboard box. The whole thing is shrink-wrapped to keep it all together.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not the same quality as the first 2 seasons, June 23, 2005
By 
This review is from: Speed Racer , Vol. 3 - Episodes 24-36 (DVD)
Just a short feedback. I have the first 2 discs, their quality is OK, given the fact that this is an old cartoon. The second package is brilliant, very nice with the musical cover.

But this one, what a mess. Lousy package and bad video quality. What happened? The picture is not sharp, there are artifacts and the video is somewhat degraded. Are the originals ruined or did they just change the supplier, to a cheap and low quality one?

As I don't see anyone complaining, I wonder if I had bad luck and my disc is defective.

Please, if someone else reads this and agrees, please leave a feedback, so others can know about the quality before buying.

In any case, it was good to see those episodes once more. I hope they do better in the next volume.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great cartoons, but DVD has some deficiencies, August 27, 2005
This review is from: Speed Racer , Vol. 3 - Episodes 24-36 (DVD)
The cartoons are terrific, cheesy or both depending on your point of view, but they're pure Speed Racer so if you like nostalgia or sharing these old cartoons with your children, be sure to add this to your collection. I would give this set a higher rating just for the cartoons, but the packaging is a real issue for this volume in the Speed Racer collection, hence my 3-star rating.

All the problems with this release relate to the packaging, which does not live up to the quality and inventiveness of the previous two volumes. The packaging does not adequately protect the DVD and the fact that there are no extras is a real shame. It would be GREAT if the producers of this DVD collection would put the orginal Japanese version of the theme song and opening titles on one of these volumes as an extra feature. Instead, there are no extras at all, fun or not, on this release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Speed RULES!!! --- but WHERE ARE THE JAPANESE EXTRAS?!, September 14, 2005
By 
This review is from: Speed Racer , Vol. 3 - Episodes 24-36 (DVD)
Speed Racer was my favorite cartoon growing up. I would pass up an after school KickBall game to watch Speed and the Coolest Car on Earth. I always laughed myself onto the floor watching Spritle's tears spraying out like a fountain. These cartoons were crude ... but they had a unique character and spirit that made refined art, sound, and production irrelevant. In fact the mismatched mouth movements (seemingly due to more than translation) and coarse animation only added to it's unique charm. I've waited a long time for a collection like this.

HOWEVER, I agree with other reviewers in that Lion's Gate should include the ORIGINAL JAPANESE theme song, and it would be GREAT to have a whole episode in Japanese as it aired in Japan. That would make this a much better collection.

Also, they should put forth some effort to improve the video quality. I have a VHS tape that provides better image quality. It's as if they are not using original masters. However, it's not BAD by any means.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not so much a review, but correcting errors made by the site, May 29, 2005
By 
Aaron Miller (La Porte, IN USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Speed Racer , Vol. 3 - Episodes 24-36 (DVD)
I am a big fan of Speed Racer and I have managed to get volumes 1 - 3 and the "movie," so, you can just assume I'm in love with this edition. Actually, I would have to say that the episodes in this volume get much better than the previous editions. They finally begin to slightly develop Racer X's character.

Anywho, the amazon speed racer vol 3 site says that it has 3 disks at 600 minutes. It only comes with one disk, and is only 300 minutes. also, the box art picture on the page is incorrect. The disk itself is inside a circular tin, which comes with a posterboardish stand.

Anywho, those are the corrections. I'd advise anyone to look into this volume, especially if you are already a fan.

PS I understand the guideline states not to point out mistakes and such, however, I already emailed you guys at amazon, and you haven't fixed them, yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excitement, Fun, and good role models for Girls and Boys, May 16, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Speed Racer , Vol. 3 - Episodes 24-36 (DVD)
Speed Racer was one of my fav cartoons as a little girl, and so I naturally bought the series for my own 6 year old daughter. Need I tell you she loves it?

These are exciting stories, terrific animation, and I feel I should say that it offers good role models for women. Many of the women in Speed Racer are daredevils themselves, and Trixie always stood up tall in her role as well. Speed Racer does have somewhat of a violent undertone (that my mother hated), but I feel it's no worse than any other cartoon violence you have seen anywhere else. It doesn't seem at all gratuitous, either, but is used to carry the story.

I loved the names of the characters, too. In the first episode of this Vol. (#24), we meet Prince Jam, Prince Sac-Charin, and further references to sugary sweets in the names. I think this adds to the charm and also makes Speed Racer equally fun for the adult viewer.

My favorite episode of all times is on this Vol. - Man on the Lam. It starts out with a man escaping from prison, and then meeting a blind little girl. A few twists and a surprise ending are in this story. Holds up well over time! I think if you grew up on Speed Racer, you will enjoy watching this again, and introducing it to your own kids, either boys or girls.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars He's jammin' down the pedal like he's never comin' back....., May 9, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Speed Racer , Vol. 3 - Episodes 24-36 (DVD)
Speed is back! In volume 3, Speed's exploits keep him in the driver's seat, laying waste to his competition! Supporting him, and keeping the Mach 5 in top racing form, is Pops Racer, Trixie, Sparky, Spritle and Chim-Chim (where do they get these names!). Villains abound, as Speed races the Mach 5 to defeat evil plans!

The 13 Thrilling episodes are:

The Royal Racer (part 1)

The Royal Racer (part 2)

The Car Hater

The Race Against Time (part 1)

The Race Against Time (part 2)

The Snake Track

The Man on the Lam

Gang of Assassins (part 1)

Gang of Assassins (part 2)

The Race for Life

The Supersonic Car

Crash in the Jungle (part 1)

Crash in the Jungle (part 2)

Speed has his hands full! Well, it's on to volume 4, as Speed takes the Mach 5 to the winner's circle, once again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Speed Racer, Volume 3......., March 3, 2009
By 
blackaciddevil (in the USA somewhere.....) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Speed Racer , Vol. 3 - Episodes 24-36 (DVD)
Originally running from 1967 to 1968 in America as a children's cartoon show, Speed Racer found its' place in our culture. The series was originally released in Japan by Tatsunoko Productions under the name "Mach Go Go Go", which itself was a manga published in Shueisha's 1958 Shônen Book. Mach GoGoGo was first created and designed by anime pioneer Tatsuo Yoshida (1932-1977). The actual manga was inspired by Yoshida's earlier, and most popular automobile racing comic, "Pilot Ace". Yoshida got the idea for his story after seeing two films that were very popular in Japan at the time, "Viva Las Vegas" and "Goldfinger". By combining the look of Elvis Presley's race-car driving image from the time and James Bond's gadget-filled Aston Martin, Yoshida had the inspiration for Speed Racer.

Volume 3 contains episodes 24-36. They originally aired between December 8, 1967 and January 19, 1968. Just in case you're just coming on board to the whole Speed Racer thing, here's a little recap...Speed Racer is the world's greatest racer, thanks to his car- the Mach 5. Along with his family and friends, Speed gets into all types of crazy adventures. Most of the episodes are two-parters, while there are some that are stand-alone stories. Racer X makes his appearances in this set as well.

Admittedly, the video quality on this set is a bit lower in comparison to the first two sets on DVD. The episodes themselves look abit grainy. While the grainy look is glaringly obvious, it doesn't take away too much from things. As for special features, sadly- there are none to speak of. You'd think with Speed being part of our american culture as much as it is, you'd see more. Unfortunately, there are none.

Overall, the third set is a great addition to your collection of Speed Racer cartoons, despite the aforementioned comments. It's well worth grabbing if you're a big Speed Racer fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good episodes, but no extras and bad packaging, July 29, 2008
This review is from: Speed Racer , Vol. 3 - Episodes 24-36 (DVD)
This DVD contains episodes twenty-four through thirty-six of the Speed Racer anime series. Because thirteen episodes were crammed onto the disc, the video quality is noticeably lower when compared to the first two DVDs. In fact, when I was watching some of the episodes, the picture was noticeably fuzzy, and this made it harder to enjoy the episodes. Also, with thirteen episodes on the disc, there are absolutely no special features included.

The copy I purchased of this DVD came in a circular tin that is supposed to resemble a tire, and a cardboard slipcover slides over the tin. Unfortunately, there is no hub in the tin to hold the DVD steady, so the disc just slides around in the packaging. This means that there's a greater chance that the DVD could become damaged if it's left in that packaging.

I'm at a loss as to why thirteen episodes were crammed onto this disc, especially since the last two volumes only contain eight episodes each. If it had been up to me, I would have split it out this way: disc one would have had 11 episodes, the second disc would have had ten episodes, disc three would have had eleven episodes, and discs four and five would have had ten episodes each. Also, I would have tried to spread the special features across all of the discs a little more evenly.

If you're a Speed Racer fan that wants to have all of the episodes on DVD, then you need to pick this up. However, be prepared to be disappointed in the video quality and the lack of special features.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I HAVE A GREAT IDEA AND IT WORKS, June 9, 2005
By 
This review is from: Speed Racer , Vol. 3 - Episodes 24-36 (DVD)
Go to any store that sells CD and DVD accessories and get MAXELL "SLIMS".It costs $2.00 plus tax for five cases. You get assorted colors pick your favorite. Now here's the painful part, You'll have to cut the case (thus removing the hinged section) as round as possible.Put your dvd in the plastic(top part optional) then put that in the tin and your disc is protected.Two dollars isn't a lot of money. But I wish F.H.E. had the consideration to do this since they saved a ton of money on giving us NO EXTRAS.not even subtitles.Also the tin steering wheel doesn't have the letters.One more volume to go to complete the series. A simple cardboard slipcase to hold five discs, four for the series, and one for the bonus features would be very proper.Anyway you get 13 great episodes.There are 52 in all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Speed Racer , Vol. 3  - Episodes 24-36
Speed Racer , Vol. 3 - Episodes 24-36 by Katsuji Mori (DVD - 2005)
$14.98 $4.79
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.