Customer Reviews


401 Reviews
5 star:
 (225)
4 star:
 (121)
3 star:
 (28)
2 star:
 (12)
1 star:
 (15)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


71 of 72 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Right Size
This suit is sized correctly. I'm glad that I did not order a size larger as was suggested elsewhere for Speedo suits. It is not the "longs" that go to the knees or below that younger guys seem to think of as shorts. I'm 66 years old and remember when shorts were indeed shorts! Remember what basketball shorts used to look like! Now they're almost basketball pants - not...
Published on August 24, 2011 by N.H. Old Guy

versus
24 of 30 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Personal review
I ordered these shorts in size Med in the Classic Blue color. I received the item only 2 days after placing the order. The color of these shorts is very nice, we didn't get the black due to the heat of wearing black in the summer. However, the construction of these shorts leaves a lot to be desired. I expected much much more from a name brand company like Speedos...
Published on June 18, 2012 by Skye


‹ Previous | 1 241 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

71 of 72 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Right Size, August 24, 2011
By 
N.H. Old Guy (Concord, NH USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This suit is sized correctly. I'm glad that I did not order a size larger as was suggested elsewhere for Speedo suits. It is not the "longs" that go to the knees or below that younger guys seem to think of as shorts. I'm 66 years old and remember when shorts were indeed shorts! Remember what basketball shorts used to look like! Now they're almost basketball pants - not much shorter than the warm-ups! So, if you are older and remember what shorts really are, you'll love this suit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great swimsuit, July 7, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Speedo Surf Runner Volley Short (Apparel)
I'm an older guy who never got used to baggy, knee length swimsuits that cling to your legs when wet. Compared to the swimsuits I had been wearing, it seemed pretty short at first (the inseam is only about 3") but it reminds me of the swimsuits I wore as a teen. I do like the shorter length and I especially like the feel of the fabric, its lack of cling and the quick drying of the water repellent fabric. So much so, I've ordered a second.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


56 of 61 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Speedo Roofer has pockets, June 3, 2009
This review is from: Speedo Surf Runner Volley Short (Apparel)
John, what you want is the Speedo Roofer, Style number 7320167. It has two normal front pants-type pockets and a right rear hidden zip pocket, perfect for a drivers license, credit card and perhaps a bit of cash wrapped around it.

Otherwise the style is nearly identical to this one. The store that sounds like a 1 cent coin used to stock it every year, but this year they're carrying something a little longer.

Update: Now the Rally V Volley is the Speedo Trunk with two front pockets and a zipped back pocket. The Roofer has been discontinued. I think the Volley is 1" longer than the Roofer (19" vs. 18", sigh.) Why do folks think that shorts should hang down to the knees?

Dec. 10, 2012 Update: The Rally or Rally Volley, both style number 7840110 is now the model with two front pockets and a zipped rear pocket. The inseam is still 19" instead of the Roofer's 18". The Surf Runner (7320256) has a 14" inseam. If only it had pockets. Sigh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent all around swim short @ decent price, July 11, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I buy two pairs of these each summer and swim in them practically every day all summer and then several days a week the balance of the year. They perform great (casual and workout) as they are cut short enough that they don't get in the way of a strenuous swim; yet are comfortable enough to wear around the pool and not feel like you are wearing a speedo (if you know what I mean) even though you are. They also keep their color and hold up very well. At the end of a year you will notice your suit is a few shades lighter from the chlorine in the pool and frequent was cycles. Great short -- decent price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect fit and looks great!, February 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It was hard to find a nice fitting swim suit, it seems all that is out there are baggy sloppy looking shorts that go past the knees. This one from Speedo has the traditional look and fit I wanted. I wear size 34 pants and the Medium was a perfect fit. Quality is top notch, I am ordering a second one. Love it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Colorfast and durable, February 28, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Speedo Surf Runner Volley Short (Apparel)
This is a great suit for someone who doesn't want a speedo brief. No pockets to create drag if you swim distnace.
The polyester is colorfast and one of the only suits that I have gotten that doesn't rot in < 3 months of daily use, in either salt or clorine pools.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars love it, April 12, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Speedo Surf Runner Volley Short (Apparel)
This is a nice quick drying suit for the guy who isn't trying to show off his package but likes to swim laps without feeling like he is dragging a diaper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 30 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Personal review, June 18, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I ordered these shorts in size Med in the Classic Blue color. I received the item only 2 days after placing the order. The color of these shorts is very nice, we didn't get the black due to the heat of wearing black in the summer. However, the construction of these shorts leaves a lot to be desired. I expected much much more from a name brand company like Speedos.

First, the shorts aren't as short as I expected them to be. Measured from the waist to the bottom of the leg is 14 3/4" on the outside of the leg and 16" on the inside.(I bought these because they are short for unrestricted swimming. However I did expect to have to hem them a little for my husband). He is 5'6" and they are mid-thigh on him. This part wasn't a big deal since I already expected to have to hem them.

The worst part about these shorts is that they are quite baggy in the butt area and the legs. (at least twice what is needed). When swimming, they were super annoying to my husband because they would balloon up and if he was standing still but other people are swimming around him, they would constantly feel like something was taking off with his shorts.

In addition, the external crotch area hangs extremely low, almost two widths of my husbands hands and it is sewn nowhere near the internal crotch lining. This was also something that annoyed my husband. The internal crotch area in the lining is perfect and I could see the external crotch area being slightly lower but not two hand widths.

I am only keeping them because I can fix them with the sewing machine however, if you are not interested in hemming them, you may search for another product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Men's speedo bathing suit, June 18, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The swimsuit is a fine for a conservative man - which I am. My big complaint is that is doesn't have a pocket of any kind, either side or hip. There is a key holder inside the suit, but nothing on the outside.

It should have one side pocket, and a zipper close hip pocket large enough to hold a waterproof wallet device, etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great fit and feel., January 22, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I'm so tired of the down to the knees look. They cause allot of drag when your swimming. These swim trunks are great. They give you more freedom and you can get some tan on your legs also.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 241 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Speedo Surf Runner Volley Short
$30.00 $15.99 - $42.47
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.