Customer Reviews


76 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


89 of 92 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love this movie, but where is the DVD?!
I saw this movie a long time ago on British TV and have often wondered if I had just imagined how good it was. But, seeing it again on cable it has all the magic that I remember and also the gorgeous Lesley-Anne Down. Where, oh where is the DVD?! Please release this fun movie on the format.
The movie centers around the search for a stolen mummy and leads Down as...
Published on June 4, 2004 by Darren Harrison

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Entertainingly silly and resolutely undemanding old-fashioned hokum at best
One of those it-seemed-like-a-good-idea-at-the-time movies, 1981's Sphinx was one of those pictures that looked so much more promising on paper than it did on screen: based on a novel from the author of Coma, which had been a smash hit a few years earlier, directed by Franklin J. Schaffner, who was responsible for Patton and Planet of the Apes, and dealing with the search...
Published on September 20, 2010 by Trevor Willsmer


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

89 of 92 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love this movie, but where is the DVD?!, June 4, 2004
This review is from: Sphinx [VHS] (VHS Tape)
I saw this movie a long time ago on British TV and have often wondered if I had just imagined how good it was. But, seeing it again on cable it has all the magic that I remember and also the gorgeous Lesley-Anne Down. Where, oh where is the DVD?! Please release this fun movie on the format.
The movie centers around the search for a stolen mummy and leads Down as archealogist Erica Barron into danger as she enters a world of corruption, smuggling and murder. The shots of Egypt are simply breathtaking and the movie serves up a generous portion of suspense from Erica attempting to flee a team of assassins towards the beginning of the movie to attempting to evade capture after escaping from a crypt in the second half of the picture.
Adding to the superb calibre of this movie are a number of very recognizable faces. In addition to Frank Langella (who had played the title role in DRACULA just a couple of years previous) to John Rhys-Davies (who would go on to play Sallah in RAIDERS OF THE LOST ARK) there is also Sir John Gielgud (who was perhaps best known to American audiences at that time as the butler in ARTHUR).
The movie actually opens in a prelude to the main story. We are in ancient Egypt and a group of thieves are attempting to break into the tomb of one of the Pharoah's. Captured, they meet terrible fates.
Fast forward to the 20th century and we meet Baron, who is writing a paper on the man who captures the thieves in the prelude, the advisor to Pharoah Seti 1 of the 19th Dynasty of Ancient Egypt.
Upon arrival in Egypt she is shown a rare statue of Pharoah Seti 1 by Gielgud's character (Abdu-Hamdi) before he is brutally murdered.
Nobody is quite as they seem and the game of trying to sort out true allegiences will keep you guessing to the closing minutes.
Highly recommended.
UPDATE: There is a VCD available of this movie that was released earlier this year (it includes a trailer of Halle Berry's CATWOMAN movie) and appears regularly on auction sites. Until this movie arrives on DVD that will allow fans of this movie to watch it on our DVD players.
UPDATE: Warner promised a DVD in early 2007, however nearly three years later and the movie has still to appear in the format. At this rate Warner might as well skip over DVD and release it on Blu-ray given the surge in popularity of the high definition Blu-ray format.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


54 of 57 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A wondorous and exciting journey to Egypt and its mysteries, July 7, 2002
By 
Simon Davis (Melbourne, Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Sphinx [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Most of the reviews I have read of "Sphinx' have been savage in their condemnation of its quality as a motion picture referring to its "mummy like performances and hysterical leading lady" however I believe it is a terrific adventure story and being a history buff I can see the attention to detail and the painstaking research that went into its making to ensure that everything was as it should be when tackling such an awesome topic as Egypt and all her mysteries.
"Sphinx" tells the story of Erica Baron, an Egyptologist writing a paper on a rather unknown advisor to Pharoah Seti 1 of the 19th Dynasty of Ancient Egypt. She arives in Cairo to begin her work only to find herself engulfed in the sometimes extremely dangerous Black market in Egyptian Antiquities. She is shown a rare and very beautiful statue of Pharoah Seti 1 which is from his tomb which was supposedly robbed in ancient times. What develops is a very exciting and action packed adventure as Erica tries to unravel this great mystery, in the process finding herself almost sealed up for life in a hidden catacomb, shot at, the target of assasins, and finding herself on the run and not knowing who to trust.
The pace of the story really never lets up as she is thrown into one situation after another until through the lucky discovery of an ancient papyrus that came from Tutankhamun's tomb she discovers the truth about the still lost tomb of Seti 1 which contains treasures that make Tutankhamun's like insignificant.
Lesley-Anne Down, a fine British actress plays Erica and has , I believe, rarely had such an action oriented role in her career. She is great as the intrepid Egyptologist who will not be frightened off by threats or personal danger in her quest to find out the truth about this lost treasure. She is most ably supported in this production by the very talented Frank Langella, perhaps best known for his role of Dracula. He plays Ahmed Khazzan a mysterious and sophisticated Egyptian in charge of ferreting out the Black market dealers only to be revealed as one himself as he also knows the whereabouts of Seti's magnificent tomb and with his family has been systematically robbing it for years. Ahmed however personally see's the tomb as his private santuary rather than a source of income and it is this that finally allows Erica to discover the truth. The film also has alot of points of value to say about the sacred quality of Egypt's past and how it must be saved from corrupt dealers intent on selling their heritage. Those points alone make the film a good case for ensuring Egypt's treasures remain in Egypt where they rightly belong.
"Sphinx" benefits greatly, as I stated before, by the great research that went into the production. The beautiful and historically accurate reconstruction of Egyptian treasures for the scenes inside Seti's tomb are nothing short of brilliant and I might add, breathtaking. The film having been filmed entirely on location in Egypt also helps immensely. The Cairo markets in all their squalor and excitement are there for the viewer to see. The scenes at the Pyramids and in the Valley of the Kings are matchless and the film crew had the great distinction of being allowed to film inside the famed Cairo Museum and so for the first time Tutakhamun's treasures are featured in the early scenes as Erica does her research in the museum files. The earlier flash back scenes to the time of the robbery of Tut's tomb are also excellent and give us a grisly indication of what ancient Egyptian justice was like for Tomb robbers!
The film tells an exciting story that never lets up for one moment. Erica comes close to death many times and we as the audience are kept on the edge of our chairs for almost the whole films running time while savouring all the scenic delights that Egypt has to offer. For Arm chair travellers or mystery buffs or individuals interested in Egypt's spellbinding past, you can't go by the excellent "Sphinx". You wont be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Frank Langella at his sexiest!!!!, September 19, 1999
This review is from: Sphinx [VHS] (VHS Tape)
A very suspenseful movie, with the wonders of Egypt as scenery. Lesley-Anne Down is wonderful as the egyptologist who gets in way over her head, and Frank Langella (at his most handsomest) as the enigmatic Dr. Khizzan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Crowd pleasing cheese, January 22, 1999
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sphinx [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Bad script: yes. Stunning scenery: Wonderful. Having been to Egypt several times, the fun of watching this film is seeing familiar sites; the Khan al Khalili, Valley of the Kings, the Serapeum, the Egyptian Museum. The movie was shot on location and is a fun romp along the Nile. Egyptophiles will have a good time with this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, October 13, 1997
This review is from: Sphinx [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Of course, in consideration of Egyptology, this story does have some vague accurate references to Egyptian history. Also the base line of the story about the antiquity black market can only be the tip of the iceberg. But the story itself is a good one. Frank Langella's character is intense and very appropriate for his stature and persona. Lesley Anne Down also plays her role well, but I've often wondered if they picked her for that role because she screamed well. The cinematography is very well done. The sights of Ancient Egypt are very awe-inspiring. The props used for the scenes are some of the best remakes of antiquities that I've ever seen. The movie made me want to jump on a plane to Egypt immediately. I thoroughly enjoyed this movie. END
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ATTENTION ALL EGYPTION BUFFS!!, November 13, 2000
By 
Kathryn Rice Higbee "kat" (Wilmington, NC United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sphinx [VHS] (VHS Tape)
LET YOURSELF BE WHISKED AWAY FOR A COUPLE HOURS TO THE BEAUTIFUL LAND OF EGYPT AND IMAGINE YOU ARE ONE THE CHARACTERS IN THIS FASCINATING MOVIE, THAT PRODUCES PLENTY OF GOOD OLD FASHIONED EYE CANDY AND THE MUSIC GOES SUPERBLY WITH THE BREATHTAKING SCENERY. THIS MOVIE PROVIDES INTERESTING INSIGHT INTO THE EGYPTION BLACK MARKET ALONG WITH LITTLE SUPRISES AROUND EVERY CORNER. YOU WILL WATCH THIS MOVIE MORE THAN ONCE! I GUARANTEE IT.
BE SURE TO READ THE BOOK AS WELL BY ROBIN COOK: AUTHOR OF COMA, OUTBREAK AND MANY OTHERS
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sphinx, June 21, 2005
This review is from: Sphinx [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This movie stars Frank Langella & Leslie-Anne Downe. Beautifully shot with plenty of mystery, thrills,and excitement all set on location in Luxor,and other ancient sites. It should be on DVD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful movie, January 26, 2004
By 
K. Beck (Battle Creek,, Mi. United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sphinx [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This is a great movie. I won't embellish on the other reviews...except where's the dvd!!!?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SPHINX IS ON THE WAY. by Eric Glasby, New South Wales, Australia, January 15, 2007
Warner Video held a recent Internet poll for fans to pick their choice from several titles mooted for possible DVD production. Thankfully, the obvious popularity of 1980's SPHINX has resulted in the great news that SPHINX is on the way via the DVD format.
SPHINX is beautifully photographed and the whole cast is perfect with excellent moody performances befitting such a mystical subject. The aerial shots above the pyramids are magnificent and there is lots of tension, romance and adventure and enough lovely settings to satisfy fans of films set in timeless Egypt.
The beautiful music score by Michael J. Lewis also adds much to the general atmosphere.
Having watched many times, the Pan and Scan TV version on VHS, it will be most satisfying to have this title in a pristine 2.35 to 1 Panavision transfer.
Thanks so much, Warners, on behalf of all the fans of SPHINX.

September, 2008, twenty months later, and still no release date for SPHINX.

Warner Home Video, could you please advise us when this much-sought title will be available?

Thanking you,
Eric Glasby

"JULY, 2009, AND THE ANTICIPATED SPHINX DVD IS STILL NOWHERE TO BE SEEN".

Does anybody out there have any current information, PLEASE?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If You Haven't Visited Egypt, You'll Want To After Seeing This Movie!, February 26, 2006
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Sphinx [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Ever since my first visit to Egypt last fall, I've been on the lookout for all things Egyptian. Had a vague recollection of a book by Robin Cook and borrowed it from my local library. Then decided to check out Amazon.com for a movie and voila! Just bought the video & watched it this weekend. IT IS BETTER THAN THE BOOK!! Probably because the movie is a visual feast. Also, the heroine is less pathetic than in the book and there's no jerk of a boyfriend to cloud things up! I found it interesting to see how dated the male actors looked (hair, clothes) but Lesley Ann Warren was stunning and up-to-date elegant. The movie is a complete treat for those fascinated by ancient Egyptian history and artifacts. And the scenes in the Cairo Museum are marvelous. And the feluccas sailing in the Nile so beautiful and romantic. AND..on and on! Enjoy one and all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Sphinx
Sphinx by Franklin J. Shaffner (DVD-R - 2010)
$17.99 $10.49
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.