Kindle Price: $9.99

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Flip to back Flip to front
Audible Narration Playing... Paused   You are listening to a sample of the Audible narration for this Kindle book.
Learn more

Sphinx's Queen (Princesses of Myth) Kindle Edition

4.6 out of 5 stars 23 customer reviews

See all 7 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
$9.99
Unknown Binding
"Please retry"

Length: 370 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Age Level: 12 and up Grade Level: 7 and up

Raging Sea
The Undertow Trilogy
For fans of Rick Yancey and Marie Lu, "Raging Sea" is the latest electrifying addition to this much-anticipated trilogy from author Michael Buckley. Hardcover | Kindle book

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your email address or mobile phone number.


Editorial Reviews

From School Library Journal

Gr 6-9–Friesner continues the story of young Nefertiti, betrothed of Prince Thutmose but friend (and, later, wife) to Prince Amenophis. In Sphinx's Princess (Random, 2009), Nefertiti is falsely accused by Thutmose of blasphemy for killing his cat, sacred to the Egyptian goddess Bast. As this story opens, she has escaped from prison with the help of Amenophis and her Hebrew (“Hebiri”) servant, Nava. Nefertiti is unhampered by religious orthodoxy, reflecting a very modern sensibility. She and the other characters reach their greatest humanity when they tear aside priestly hypocrisy and political intrigue and make peace with one another despite the adults' machinations. All of this is done in fine prose that expresses the questioning of religion that most young people experience as they approach maturity. A statement made by Amenophis after he has impersonated the goddess of truth (Ma'at) and saved Nefertiti could, with little revision, come from any human era: “If the gods have any real power, why do they stand by and allow us to buy and sell their voices? If Ma'at is the goddess of truth, why does she remain silent and permit so many lies to flourish?” This deeply moral book tells a good story; or, rather, this good story reveals deeply moral truths.–Corinne Henning-Sachs, Walker Memorial Library, Westbrook, MEα(c) Copyright 2010. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

From Booklist

Picking up where Sphinx’s Princess (2009) left off, Nefertiti is escaping Thebes with her secret love, Prince Amenophis, and her slave girl Nara. The three are sailing to Dendera to reunite with Nefertiti’s family, hoping they can save Nefertiti from her charges of treason. The villainous crown prince Thutmose, Nefertiti’s betrothed, relentlessly pursues the trio. Turns of events leave the door open for Nefertiti and Amenophis to finally be together, and Nefertiti is still the same strong-willed, independent girl based on the mysterious Egyptian queen. This sequel does not stand alone, but fans of the first book will want to know Nefertiti’s fate. Grades 6-9. --Shauna Yusko

Product Details

  • File Size: 880 KB
  • Print Length: 370 pages
  • Publisher: Random House Books for Young Readers (September 28, 2010)
  • Publication Date: September 28, 2010
  • Sold by: Random House LLC
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B003F3FJXW
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Lending: Not Enabled
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #602,850 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images or tell us about a lower price?

Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Paperback
I must admit, I was slightly wary of this book in the beginning. I don't tend to read many of the books aimed at girls my age because, despite a seemingly intriguing plotline, they usually degenerate into sappy romances, which I deplore. This, however, was different. It was a romance, yes, but it was about so much more than that! It was about Nefertiti and her growth from a girl running away from her life to a woman strong enough to stand her ground and face it.
One of the best aspects of this book, in my opinion, is the characters. There is such a wide cast, and I grew to love all of them in the end, even Thutmose, who began as the most annoying, spoiled brat. There's Nava, the Jewish slave, who often testifies her faith in the One, Amenophis, who is sweet and gentle and wise, Sitamun, who, like her mother, Queen Tiye, is a strong, persistent woman, and of course, Nefertiti herself, a girl who is beautiful, intelligent, and courageous enough to stand up for herself even when Pharaoh, the god-on-earth, is doubtful of her word and her aunt would destroy her at the first opportunity.
Nefertiti's journey throughout the book is one of danger and excitement, love and loneliness, doubt and victory, revenge and forgiveness. She's a remarkable character, and the love of her circle of friends is her greatest source of strength.
Then there was the story...I laughed and I cried, and the author even managed to coax a gasp out of me at parts. I was hooked, and for the most part, didn't put the book down until I had finished it.
It was a great read, and definitely one that I would recommend!
Comment 3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Hardcover
Nefertiti and Amenophis are on the run. They're desperately trying to escape from Prince Thutmose. Together with an ex-slave, they're floating down the river in an attempt to reach the Pharaoh.

They must reach the Pharaoh in order to clear Nefertiti 's name. After much hardship and a little luck, they reach his side, only to discover that Prince Thutmose has beaten them there. Now, Nefertiti must stand before the Pharaoh and clear herself from the false charges thrown her way by the Prince.

It doesn't help that she has fallen in love with Amenophis - the Prince's brother. It also doesn't help that the Pharaoh himself is in awe of her beauty. She must prove herself before the gods.

How will Nefertiti prove her innocence? With so many people against her, is it possible for her to have a happy ending?

I love Esther Friesner's strong historical female characters, and Nefertiti doesn't disappoint readers. For much of the book, Nefertiti remains isolated, even heartbroken. Still, she manages to gather strength for herself and to instill strength in others. Despite all the hardships she must endure, the author imagines the character as both powerful and vulnerable.

Reviewed by: Jennifer Rummel
Comment 3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Hardcover
I am so glad that I finally gave this series a try. Back in December I finally got around to reading and reviewing the first novel and this one turned out to be my second read of 2013 and it really kicked off the year for me.

This book continues exactly where the first book Sphinx's Princess left off, and I mean exactly, the two novels flowed seamlessly from the first book to the second which I really appreciated because it sucks to have to pick a story back up again when the author has lost the flow.

Anyway, in book two we find Nefertiti still running for her life and battling the feelings she has for her fiance's brother as well as the responsibilities to a young slave girl who depends on the two of them for her very survival. Ancient Egypt was no place for a nine year old to be running around lost and alone so Nefertiti and Amenophis try to hide their feelings for each other for her sake.

The journey that they're on proves to be hazardous and fraught with danger, deception, betrayal, love and adventure. I loved that there was so much happening in the book and that the whole novel was a delight to read. I really enjoyed the historical aspect of it since I've always enjoyed Ancient Egyptian history.

Sphinx's Queen was an exotic, entertaining and extremely well developed piece of young adult historical fiction. I thought the characters had a lot more dimension to them than they did in the first book. Nefertiti and Amenophis' relationship evolves dramatically in this book and both of them mature rather quickly in terms of their characters.

What I think I liked most about the book though was the fact that Nefertiti was represented as a strong willed, independent and intelligent young woman who would risk anything for justice to be upheld.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
The sequel to Sphinx's Princess, Sphinx's Queen picks up right where the previous novel left off with Nefertiti, Amenophis, and Nava on the run from the palace and Thutmose. They are on their way to Dendera to seek an audience with Pharoah, who will hopefully pardon Nefertiti for the crimes she's accused of and allow her and Amenophis to have a romantic relationship. Nefertiti soon realizes however that she shouldn't underestimate the ambition of her Aunt Tiye and the lengths she will go to in order to secure the throne for her son, Thutmose, and that everything will not be resolved as easily as she had hoped.

I enjoyed this book more than the first one, as this one has a lot more action in the plot and takes the reader to different locations in Egypt. While still written for a younger audience, this one held the older reader's attention a bit more with some romance, as well as Nefertiti growing up herself and choosing her life's path in the face of adversity. A great way to start younger teens on history and historical fiction.
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Recent Customer Reviews


Forums

There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?