Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Spice and Wolf: Season 2 (Blu-ray/DVD Combo)
Your Garage Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer roadies roadies roadies  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Best Camping & Hiking Gear in Outdoors

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars60
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$64.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 21, 2011
It is fantastic that Funimation has decided to release the second season of the brilliantly calm Spice and Wolf. Coupled with their re-issue of the first season on blu-ray, the two sets will look beautiful both next to each other on your shelf and on your television.

The story continues as Holo and Lawrence make their way towards Yoitsu, Holo's homeland. Where the first season focused on the budding, flirty relationship between Holo and Lawrence, this season finally admits it outright. It does not, however, forget the economics and intelligence that made it such a charming series.

The first season had intriguing plots about different currencies and the principles of economics applied on a large scale. This season continues that, to a degree, but the episodic nature of the first season is not maintained. The story of season two is more cohesive throughout. Without spoiling anything, the relationship between Holo and Lawrence takes the forefront, while Holo's continuing education and intuition regarding the laws of economics is also portrayed. Indeed, though Lawrence is the alleged expert in the field, Holo's scheming and discretion is what saves the day on more than one occasion. Imagine the suspense of a battle anime, like Naruto or Bleach or Hajime no Ippo, only the battleground is the world of money, coercion and intrigue.

The dubbing Funimation employed for the first season was very well done, and as always the set will include the original Japanese dub for those who enjoy subtitles. The recent development of anime on Blu-ray will ensure that the series looks as good as it possibly can as you watch, and while this series is not the most beautiful anime around, it is certainly not poorly drawn. Watching it, you will have wonderful characters with whom you can connect, plots that will allow you to think through the deals and economics, and the satisfaction of having watched an anime truly different from others you have seen.

Will there be a third season? There are many who hope so. The light-novels, off of which this anime is based, are being released by Yen Press. So if you cannot wait to continue the adventures of Holo and Lawrence, opportunities will be open to you. If the episodic format of the first season turned you off to the series, this season should draw you back. There are only two main storylines throughout, with a few small side plots. Watch the relationship between two very believable (yet fantastic) characters develop naturally, and with all the charm in the world, as they navigate themselves through an inventive medieval world.
88 comments|62 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 30, 2011
Whether its the anime, novel or manga, the Spice and Wolf series is just something so unique and different in its own way. Some may not like it, everyones perspective varies. But if you're a fan of anime, it's absolutely something you should look into and see if it might spark an intrest in you, it sure did in me. Watching the anime on Netflix made me buy it on DvD, and also the books which I am very pleased with(considering I never read haha). I'm very happy to see the second season available now, and hope they keep it going.
11 comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 4, 2011
Season Two starts off slow, but picks up speed starting with the third episode. Then it turns out the slow portion was in fact, highly detailed setup and foreshadowing that reaches clear back into the last couple episodes of Season One.

Most of Season Two is taken up with a powerful lesson in how commodities markets work. Whoever wrote this series has worked in the commodities market and understands their flucuations in exquisite detail.

Strong characters, detailed plot with solid real-world foundation, beautiful artwork. "Spice and Wolf" is more than great anime. It is great literature.
22 comments|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 10, 2011
This awesome anime was anticipated for a long time i know since i saw spice and wolf 1 2 years ago and i was waiting xD
when i heard spice and wolf 2 was coming out dubbed after i saw it subbed i couldnt wait and i thought no matter what i am buying it to support the show and be behind it 100%
spice and wolf III is next i hope <3
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 17, 2012
Spice and Wolf is a very unique anime. It seems to be set in a sort of european middle ages type of world. Lawrence is a traveling merchant who happens across a wolf diety. They begin to travel as partners after he promises to take Holo, the wolf diety, back to her birthplace in the north. They encounter many trials such as the inquisition and thieves taking them for their money. All these trials strengthen their bond and they eventually fall for each other. I cant think of a single bad thing about this anime. The art is beautiful, the soundtrack is amazing the voice actors are top notch, and the overall atmosphere of the show is great. It's nice to escape to another world with this dynamic duo. Spice and Wolf is a very unique anime. I really love it. You probably will too.

Season 2 is just more of the same Spice and Wolf, but that's why people love it. It's a one of a kind anime. The drama gets a little more intense in this series as Lawrence and Holo become closer. The ending is very open. It may very well end with this season, but then again you never know. Personally I want more. If you like season 1 then you need season 2. One of the better new animes I've seen.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 3, 2011
...But that opinion is based solely on personal preference; looking at it objectively, the whole second season is very well done in every respect, and that's why I think it still deserves five stars. Giving it anything less would be unfair to all the people who put so much work into producing something of such high quality.
If you want to know why I personally don't think it's as good as season one, it's because Horo is not in it as much.
Seriously. There are far too many instances of Lawrence going around and doing his own thing, to the point where by the final episodes, you almost roll your eyes - I think there might be one or two episodes where Horo practically does not even speak a single line, because the story is so focused on Lawrence and his side of their difficulties.
That being said, the anime's quality in itself has not diminished in any sense, and this season does have a couple of very beautiful scenes...it's just that I'm personally not very happy with the things the story was focused on at times. It's like, who even watches Spice and Wolf to see Lawrence? Seriously.
There are also a couple really interesting characters that are introduced in this season, but regrettably, they don't get as much screen time as I would personally have liked, and instead, the story focuses on the more annoying or uninteresting characters and their influence on the story.
Finally, the ending for this specific season feels a bit too abrupt and even anti-climatic. Looking at it rationally, it's pretty obvious that the story isn't over, that Horo and Lawrence's journey will continue, and that hopefully, we haven't seen the last of them, but I've read a couple comments and opinions around the internet, to the effect that the ending for this specific season could have been more satisfying, and I personally agree with them.
In summary, Spice and Wolf continues to be a great anime if you evaluate season two objectively, but depending on what you are expecting or hoping to see, you may or may not be disappointed.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 10, 2011
Can't recommend Spice and Wolf enough! If you're the type of anime fan who enjoys falling in love with the characters and don't really need all the action or mecha and junk there destroying the storyline then Spice and Wolf is for you. Just make sure you watch the first season first!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 27, 2011
What a great series. It took a long time for season 2 to arrive but it was well worth the wait. You are left feeling like there will be a season 3 to continue the journey because wolf has not arrived at her final destination. The same voice actors are in this series and that makes it doubly good. What is so enjoyable about this series is the journey and the towns that the main characters find themselves in. The people are always different because the towns and items that are to be traded are different. I do give it 5 stars because of the formation of the relationship and friendship that happens between Spice and Wolf and the complications of relationships with 2 people with their own agenda to reach.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 2, 2011
After having waited so long I was happy to finally see season 2. I could not have watched it because I loved season one so much. It was a small disappointment though as the animation as well as the english dub seemed just a bit less than season 1.

The story is continued in the same style as season 1 and nothing in season 2 damages the tale (tail? Harhar!), it is a bit more subdued as the writers resist the temptation to have Holo solve all of Lawrence's problems (though she would if he asked). Holo, though still devoted to Lawrence seems preoccupied with things in her past and worried that she will become the cause of grief to Lawrence though it's not exactly clear why. The writer seems to be pacing the story by the seasons with a winter snow and gray background ending the collection. It left me anxious about the future, feeling slightly cheated that it ended where it did and hoping that FUNI will release a season 3 more quickly than they did 2! It was not a very satisfying ending place.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 30, 2012
Although I admit having a hard time following the plot line (seeing it concerns being a merchant with money from an entirely different time period and understanding the stock market), it's a pretty good story involving a hapless merchant who stumbles upon a wolf girl and they slowly become friends. They eventually fall in love.

A great buy for ANY anime fan!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.