Customer Reviews


222 Reviews
5 star:
 (121)
4 star:
 (56)
3 star:
 (26)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Laugh After Another!!!
I LOVE this film!!! It's not smart ... it's not mysterious ... it's Akroyd and Chase doing slapstick reminiscent of the Bing and Crosby "On the Road" movies. If you're a "Fletch" fan, you'll enjoy Chevy Chase as his usual wisecracking self.
Produced during the Reagan '80's when "Star Wars" defensive and offensive systems were being...
Published on November 20, 2000 by here_is_your_review

versus
15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A fun and entertaining 90 minutes
This movie definitely doesn't rank as Chevy Chase's or Dan Akroyd's best film, but it holds its own. There are some great bits, and classic Chase physical comedy. The plot is predictable, but there are some fun ideas about Government hideaways and secrecy. I picked this up in a bargain bin for $5, and don't regret it. It takes me back to my childhood, when I watched...
Published on October 16, 2004 by Glynn Clapsaddle


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Laugh After Another!!!, November 20, 2000
This review is from: Spies Like Us [VHS] (VHS Tape)
I LOVE this film!!! It's not smart ... it's not mysterious ... it's Akroyd and Chase doing slapstick reminiscent of the Bing and Crosby "On the Road" movies. If you're a "Fletch" fan, you'll enjoy Chevy Chase as his usual wisecracking self.
Produced during the Reagan '80's when "Star Wars" defensive and offensive systems were being explored, the boys head into Russia and unwittingly launch an ICBM against the United States. Stars Akroyd's real life wife, "Bosom Buddies"'s Donna Dixon. Look for Matt Frewer of "Max Headroom" and Jim Staahl of "Laugh Trax".
The test-taking scene with Frank Oz ("Blues Brothers") is nothing short of hilarious (as is the videotaped scenes afterward). Some of the special effects are so-so but most of the cinematography is great and the animation and minatures are excellently done for the most part. And the beautiful Vanessa Angel shows up as a Russian soldier (wow).
Sure it's silly but it's a great popcorn movie and has enough site gags to keep most of the family amused. The scene with Akroyd and Chase performing surgery while reading from a manual is a real crack-up. Lotsa fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A fun and entertaining 90 minutes, October 16, 2004
This review is from: Spies Like Us (Snap Case) (DVD)
This movie definitely doesn't rank as Chevy Chase's or Dan Akroyd's best film, but it holds its own. There are some great bits, and classic Chase physical comedy. The plot is predictable, but there are some fun ideas about Government hideaways and secrecy. I picked this up in a bargain bin for $5, and don't regret it. It takes me back to my childhood, when I watched this movie a hundred times in a month, as it was the only VHS tape I owned.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Doctor...., October 28, 2005
This review is from: Spies Like Us (Snap Case) (DVD)
This film is great. Chevy Chase and Danny Aykroyd are two fantastic comedic actors and the film follows the traditions of the old Bing Crosby and Bob Hope duo pics. Amazon.com reviewer Marshall Fine is a complete tool. Okay, it's no Animal house- but it's still very funny and entertaining. Don't listen to his fodder, go get the movie yourself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Horrible DVD of a great film, February 13, 2010
This review is from: Spies Like Us (Keep Case Packaging) (DVD)
I first saw Spies Like Us when I was a kid, when Chevy Chase was my favourite actor. I must have seen it about fifty times since then and I am almost word-perfect on the script. However, I've never owned the DVD since Warner have never released it in its original 1.85:1 aspect ratio. Thankfully it is currently available in HD on the PlayStation network.

Emmett Fitz-Hume and Austin Millbarge (Chase and Aykroyd) are two lowly government workers who are suddenly promoted to the elite GLG-20 spy status after they are caught cheating on a test. What they don't know is that they are just decoys to draw heat away from the real spies and are promptly dumped straight into enemy territory.

Chase and Aykroyd have great chemistry together and I'm surprised they didn't work together much after this (although they did hook up for The Couch Trip, Caddyshack 2 and Nothing But Trouble). There's loads of fun to had in watching them bumble from one zany situation from the next. And, as this is a Landis film, there are director cameos all over the place. Keep a lookout for Terry Gilliam, Martin Brest, Joel Coen, Sam Raimi etc.

Despite the fanbase, Warner have never showed this film any respect or given special treatment of any kind when it comes to the home video market. As I already said, as of yet the only DVD available is the fullscreen version from 1998. Even the HD version I watched was from a very murky print and has terrible sound. If Warner make a Blu Ray from this master it's still not worth buying.

Give it a rent unless a proper remaster is done. Which is unlikely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Instant Classic, October 16, 2002
By 
Keith E Schaeffer (FPO, AP United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Spies Like Us (Snap Case) (DVD)
If you are a comedy movie person, this better be in your collection. Chevy Chase and dan Akroyd are a pair that will that no older person will never forget. Both men play "spies" or what they think they are, but actually they are both decoys for another group of spies. This movie has it all, laughs, women, men(for the ladies) and even bob hope!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars John Landis not yet fading!, October 18, 2005
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Spies Like Us (Snap Case) (DVD)
Wow, these guys really hit the spot!

Classic, duo-film, what can I say, just so much fun!

Love everything about it except perhaps the too sugarsweet,

happilyeverafter end!

For the fans a must, go buy it, now!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great Movie - shame about the DVD, March 26, 2002
By 
This review is from: Spies Like Us (Snap Case) (DVD)
Well it would seem that Warner Bothers have failed again to utilize the DVD format to it's fullest! The picture transfer is poor - in some places it's obvious that they haven't even taken the time to clean up the original print. Don't be fooled - 1985 wasn't that long ago! So this movie shouldn't look like a VHS rental copy on DVD! The sound is very much below par and there are no extras; no director's/actor's commentary, no cinema preview, no music clip by Paul McCartney etc (He did the song for the movie!). Overall, if you want a laugh and you see this version of the movie for a cheap(!) price - buy it. However, if like me you love this movie, I would recommend that you wait and hang on to your VHS copy in the hope that we get a 'Collectors Edition'. Maybe we will get lucky and someone from Warner Brothers will actually read these reviews!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


49 of 66 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Pan & Scan killed the DVD, August 25, 2005
This review is from: Spies Like Us (Snap Case) (DVD)
This is a GREAT Chevy Chase/Dan Aykroyd classic, but because it's only availible in PAN & SCAM (yes, I said SCAM) I'd give this DVD a score of ZERO if that were an option.

WE DEMAND THE ORIGINAL WIDESCREEN PRESENTATION!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars San Jose memories, December 7, 2001
This review is from: Spies Like Us (Snap Case) (DVD)
When I was in junior high, my friends and I would ride the bus to the Go-Skate skateboard shop, harass the workers into giving us free stickers, and then go to Thrifty's with our loose change for some $0.35 ice cream. We'd top off the afternoon with a second-run movie at the Almaden Twin.
Spies Like Us was one of those movies. And with Chevy Chase's fart scene (maybe the best ever on film), damn, a kid that age would bust the biggest gut laughing! The entire foreign service exam scene, the training camp, the doctor doctors, the missles...dude, this movie has it all.
Go-skate has moved, ice cream is about a dollar now, and they carved up the Twin into 6 living rooms that hardly qualify as theaters, but Spies Like Us is still HELLA funny!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Back when Chevy Chase was funny, but bad DVD, July 2, 2003
By 
This review is from: Spies Like Us (Snap Case) (DVD)
It's simple, a five star movie with a one star DVD rating. That's three stars!!!
This movie is a CLASSIC and is very funny. This is classic Chevy Chase long before he did that terrible television show. Dan Aykroyd is fantastic as well. They just don't make movies like this anymore.
The DVD isn't worth it. No special features, the picture quality is sub-par, and the sound didn't sound as good as it could. I kept thinking I was watching a VHS the entire time. If that version is cheaper, then get it on VHS instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Spies Like Us (Keep Case Packaging)
Spies Like Us (Keep Case Packaging) by Chevy Chase (DVD - 2010)
$5.97 $4.48
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.