Your Garage Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it PME Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AllOrNothingS1 AllOrNothingS1 AllOrNothingS1  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars14
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:$8.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 16, 2011
This is a sequel to Hard Fall which is one of my favorite books by James Buchanan. It does just fine as a stand alone novel. Lovers Deputy Joe and parole Kabe live in small town Mormon Utah. Well done country boy feel. Spiritual but ex-communicated Deputy Joe is still trying to adjust to the idea that he gets to have love in his life. He has spent his life avoiding intimacy to try and meet his religion's requirements. So he tries to deal with solving a murder, investigations into his behavior unbecoming a policeman, small town prejudice and while being part of a couple for the first time in his life. He is dominant with his young lover but Kabe stands his ground when Joe screws up. It is a mystery /romance but more John Wayne than sweet.
22 comments|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 14, 2015
Joe and Kabe are as charismatic and volatile as ever. Even after spending months with Kabe, Joe is still mostly stuck in his old mindset, that he has to shelter everyone else and handle his problems alone. He doesn't understand the impact on Kabe and their relationship and Kabe is angry and frustrated. While going through his hearing for misconduct with Kabe, Joe is also investigating a murder. The murder case is interesting and adds another layer to the overall story. Joe gets eye-opening advice from old friends and begins to understand what his attitude could cost him The sex is as rough and hot as ever. Nothing vanilla for these two. It's an interesting dichotomy. While still holding onto his Mormon faith, even though he's excommunicated, he's also seriously kinky in the bedroom. I can't wait to read the next one. Expensive books for Kindle but I think they're worth it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon September 13, 2012
I so loved the first book - Hard Fall and felt that I really understood Joe and Kabe's connection. But in this book Joe changed. Instead of being a good and sensitive man, he became domineering and controlling, and not in a sexy fun way. And Kabe seemed to lose all personality, and became more of a place holder. Both books were told only from Joe's point of view, but Kabe felt like a three dimensional person in the first book, but I guess here Joe was thinking of him like a doll to position as he wills, and Kabe lost his spark in the writing.

I'm actually sorry I read this, because Hard Fall is one of my all-time favorite m/m books, and this left me with a bitter aftertaste.
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 18, 2014
Deputy Sheriff Joe Peterson, the young, hunky, and deeply religious t(and excommunicated) Mormon, comes to grip with another murder in this sequel, one that is not even suspected at the start when a body is discovered in the snow covered mountains surrounding his Utah community.

Setting up another series of conflicts between Joe and the church and close-knit town of mostly Mormons, between Joe and his now boyfriend Kabe Varghese (and integral part of what may be the ultimate destruction of Joe's professional career), author Buchanan underscores a pattern he established in "Hard Fall": weaving chapters of adventure, outdoor life, incredibly descriptive sex, murder mystery and soul searching into a smooth, exciting and eye-opening journey where love and trust must challenge convention and authority. Breathtaking every step of the way.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 20, 2013
This was a good follow up to Hard Fall and continues the story of Joe and Kabe approximately 3 months after the end of the first book.

Their relationship continues to intensify, as do the consequences of Deputy Joe becoming involved with Kabe, who is currently on probation. Joe is looking at further disciplinary proceedings which could wind up costing him his job and Kabe is settling in to his life in Utah. They know that being together is not going to be easy and Joe, who has never been in a relationship, really struggles. The pain play and D/s nature of their relationship ramps up a bit in this book as well.

The mystery is more a part of this book than it was in the first one, but the main focus is really on Joe and Kabe trying to move the relationship forward while dealing with the serious outside factors that affect it.

I'd love to see the next book focus a bit more on Kabe. So far we have a good grasp on Joe, but only fleeting knowledge of where Kabe is coming from. He is such a fresh, fun character and I would really like to get to know him better.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 15, 2013
Once again I struggled a little with this story but for a different reason this time. Here in book #2 of the series has Joe still living in his fantasy world that he is an island, a rock and he doesnt need anyone for anything. Basically he's living in la-la land because its so easy to read between the lines (no pun intended) and see that he's in love with Kabe but absolutely terrified of admitting any of his emotions to himself. A crisis happens which causes a strong rift in their relationship. And, Joe continues being a stubborn mule-headed idjit! Right when I was starting to really be concerned, James Buchanan pulled it out again and "relief" was totally in sight!
This is a great series and shouldn't be missed!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 23, 2011
Spin Out
Deputy Joe Peterson has three major dilemmas to contend with at the same time. He is in a relationship with ex-con Kabe Varghese. He is in the middle of searching for the killer of a local boy and he is in jeopardy of losing his job.

Spin Out is the sequel to Hard Fall. The setting is a small town in Utah; most of the residents are Latter Day Saints. The plot illustrates the influence prejudice has on the character's psychological state. When the community discovered Joe is gay, he was excommunicated from the church. Some of the people refuse to even acknowledge Joe when they see him in public. The plot has an element of mystery, with Joe conducting a murder investigation of a young man first reported missing. Joe and Kabe found the victim while they were out deer hunting. The plot details crime solving procedures including building a profile of the victim and highlighting the personalities of others involved in the case. More suspense is added with a formal hearing by the Police Officer Standards and Training Council to address the issue of Joe engaged in a sexual relationship with Kabe and did so knowing that Kabe was on probation at the time. Although under the guise of standard legal procedures, the hearing clearly exhibits a homophobic overtone.

The detailed characters are believable. Living in a small town ruled by religious bigotry it is easy to understand why Joe chose to hide his sexuality. At the time Kabe came into his life, Joe was lonely, as well as at the end of his emotional rope. Being in a relationship with Kabe helped Joe find purpose in his life again. Kabe has a chip on his shoulder, as a result of making poor choices in the past that landed him in jail for two years. Kabe's relationship with Joe has had a positive influence on his personality as well as his outlook for the future. In Kabe's mind, Joe is the best thing that ever happened to him.

James Buchanan has created an excellent saga I found extremely captivating. I particularly enjoyed the focus on the legitimate points of discrimination the state's legal system so conveniently disregarded.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 22, 2011
This book wasn't a bad read, although not a fabulous read, but I was truly irritated by the number of typos, especially given how much the book cost.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 28, 2011
If'n you all like to fill your noggin with m/m romances, then this'n here is fine and dandy for a read I reckon.

Okay. Okay. I found the hillbilly slang a little unpalatable, especially for a college educated, obviously bright, law enforcement agent in Utah. Usually, characters with this type of vocabulary are from the South, so I must admit to feeling some personal pleasure( Southerner here!) at the Western setting of this novel. I just got tired of the inflections and the numerous typos ( those may have been deliberate , though).

Otherwise , an okay story.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 16, 2012
Sequel to and set several months after Hard Fall, Spin Out tells the continuing story of Deputy Joe as he faces the repercussions of his actions from the summer, finds a new murder case on the mountain, and works through the kinks (sexual and otherwise) in his ongoing relationship with ex-con Kabe.

Like in Hard Fall, I really enjoyed reading Joe's very distinctive narrative voice, and I give props to Buchanan for doing such good job with it and making it read so consistently "Joe" throughout. (I'm not sure how to describe it..."Realist folks-y"?) The mystery that he and Kabe (literally) stumble upon on the mountain was interesting and layered, and I appreciated following Joe as he pieced things together.

Kabe and Joe's chemistry is also still pretty hot. (I'm not so into the pain play that Kabe digs, but I do find it hilarious that Joe is basically taking on the Dom role without really knowing anything about it--he just naturally gravitates towards it, so in that way, they're very compatible.) It's also nice to see how their relationship deepens along with how each of them grows, like with Kabe finding work while also training to be an EMT. At the same time, you see Joe struggling with how to be in a relationship, something he's never really had before, and his attempts to shield Kabe from his worries are admirable, but ultimately unsuccessful. Thankfully, spitfire Kabe is just as stubborn, even when he's feeling hurt.

Between the two books, I think Hard Fall is still my favorite, although I'm hard-pressed to explain why. But the mystery seemed better balanced with the main story in this book, and I liked how Kabe played a part in Joe's investigation. It made me feel that they really are in each other's pockets, even when they're mad at each other.

So, if you enjoyed Hard Fall, you'll probably dig this continuation of Joe and Kabe's story. I would not recommend Spin Out if you haven't read the first book though--you probably could get by, but you would be missing a lot of the "reasons" for what results you see laid out here. Anyways, I'll looking forward to checking out the forthcoming third book, and hey, there's even a Joe&Kabe Christmas story still to read in Light Me Up (MLR Press Story A Day For the Holidays 2011). How festive!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$5.99
$5.38

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.