Customer Reviews


56 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An unforgettable adventure
In this fifth installment of the Tunnels series, most of the main characters are back on the earth's surface. Will, Chester, Elliott and Drake are stationed at a secure remote location, waiting for the next plan of attack. While Will and Chester train physically and mentally under the strict eye of Drake's father, Elliott is embracing her feminine side for the first time...
Published 24 months ago by KidsReads

versus
10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars but wait, there's more!!
This series is turning into one drawn out infomercial. Every time it should end the writers come back with "but wait, there's more". Are they under some sort of contractual obligation to produce 6, or heavens forbid, even more books out of this one story, so that they have to keep dropping old plot points and introducing new ones?

The real shame is that the...
Published on May 10, 2012 by Y. Murrell


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An unforgettable adventure, July 17, 2012
By 
KidsReads (New York, NY) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Spiral (Tunnels Book 5) (Hardcover)
In this fifth installment of the Tunnels series, most of the main characters are back on the earth's surface. Will, Chester, Elliott and Drake are stationed at a secure remote location, waiting for the next plan of attack. While Will and Chester train physically and mentally under the strict eye of Drake's father, Elliott is embracing her feminine side for the first time in her life. But the blessed quiet and recuperating time won't last long. The Styx army is about to enter a new phase...

The evil Rebecca twins are busy organizing the next step in their plans to take over the world. They are entering the Phase, a special time for their people that only comes around every once in a great while. The first step is to secure a safe and remote location. The second is to use the Dark Light treatments on hundreds of unsuspecting humans to control their minds. The Phase is a messy process, best done without witnesses or resistance. The Styx are building their army to finally stomp out the human race.

But a handful of Styx soldiers don't believe in what their leaders are doing. Eddie, Elliot's father, and his rebels have broken free of the Styx army and are willing to help Drake, Will and the rest defeat these blood-thirsty monsters. They inform our heroes about the upcoming Phase and together organize a plan. Unfortunately, there is a traitor in their midst, someone who will bring demise and danger to the group, leaving them buried alive and slowly running out of oxygen. They struggle and pool all of their meager resources to escape their death tomb. But even then, it's far from finished. In order to save the human race, Will may have to face his fears and return to a place he never thought he would see again: back down the Pore and into the "Land of the Second Sun" located in the very center of the earth.

Roderick Gordon and Brian Williams are gaining a bit of a reputation for dropping staggering bombshells of shock and surprise, and SPIRAL may be the mother lode. The newly introduced Phase is the ultimate shock wave, a grotesque, monstrous atrocity that will rivet readers to the bloody pages in horror. As for the rest of the book, just like the others in the series, it offers nonstop action in the most imaginative plot possible, a quest for both the mind and the heart. They are masters of building suspense, and the torturous wait is always worth it when the truth is finally revealed. The solid and colorful characters are the second stars of the show: vivid, diverse, heroic, brave, daring, evil, twisted, devious, and even a few oddballs. We meet some new personalities, but there are a few goodbyes as well; no one is safe under the hands of these talented and unpredictable authors.

Gordon and Williams also leave some of our heroes dangling in some sticky situations at the end, thus leading up to the series finale, which promises to be a bittersweet farewell to an unforgettable adventure.

Reviewed by Chris Shanley-Dillman
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Series, September 28, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Book #5 did not disappoint. There was a lot more action and losses and your learn a very creepy item about the Styx race. Can't wait till Book #6 comes out to find out what happens in the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Addition to the Tunnels Series!, February 21, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a great addition to the Tunnels Series. I would recommend this good read to anyone who has read the prior Tunnels Series books and enjoyed them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars but wait, there's more!!, May 10, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Spiral (Tunnels Book 5) (Hardcover)
This series is turning into one drawn out infomercial. Every time it should end the writers come back with "but wait, there's more". Are they under some sort of contractual obligation to produce 6, or heavens forbid, even more books out of this one story, so that they have to keep dropping old plot points and introducing new ones?

The real shame is that the writers write well and could have woven many more stories out of all the plot details they put into just this one. If you've gotten this far then it's too late to save yourself, you'll buy the next (and next and next?) to see how the story ends, just like a smoker who can't quit even as he dies of cancer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wow..., June 14, 2012
By 
This review is from: Spiral (Tunnels Book 5) (Hardcover)
So I have been following the Tunnels series for about three years now and I'm a huge fan. I don't know where Spiral came from. The authors have really strayed from the family friendly writing that was evident in the other 4 books. There is cursing, inappropriate content, girls trying to seduce guys, Will and Chester talk about getting drunk, ect. Even though the Styx are insects it is still quite disgusting in several parts. Although the plot was epic and the storyline awesome, I was disappointed. Several of my family members and a lot of my friends are all into the series and we were all kinda shocked at the book. My little sisters haven't read it because of the content. If you set aside the negative issues, it is an awesome book. It was gritty and quite gruesome at some parts but all in all was pretty good. It was a little more on the short side though. Only like, 430 pages. I'm sorry but this book just wasn't as up to par with the others. Please make it up in the last book Roderick Gordon! :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, April 21, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
cool book - different from the others but I enjoyed the new twists. now I need to get my hands on the final book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful and exciting., April 15, 2014
By 
Evelyn R. Carl (Colorado Springs, Co) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Tunnels #5: Spiral (Paperback)
Great series. Am enjoying reading and anticipating the next move. Hard to put the book down and can't imagine what's coming
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars expanding school library, March 27, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
School money only goes so far and with all the budget cuts, so I bought this for the school library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Spiral the fifth book in the tunnels series, July 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great bookmarking book and I would recommend it to anybody who likes adventure.this is my favorite book in the series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Wow, has this series gone downhill., May 25, 2014
By 
Susie (Southern Colorado) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Spiral (Tunnels Book 5) (Hardcover)
I was very disappointed with this book. Our whole family were great fans of the series. We loved "Tunnels", "Deeper" and "Closer" and were so excited to get "Spiral" we even pre-ordered it. The whole plot went in a very strange direction and without revealing too much, they kill off several main characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Spiral (Tunnels Book 5)
Spiral (Tunnels Book 5) by Roderick Gordon (Hardcover - May 1, 2012)
$18.99 $15.29
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.